We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

George Hotel

Expedia.com$84*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 247: English reviews
Start your review of George Hotel
 Click to rate
Helsingborg, Sweden
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

ordered a £69 doubleroom december3 2016, got a confirmation + a reminder some week before arrival, get there may19 2017, they didn't have a room, even if i showed their confirmation, after long discussion they offered a room for £89, an' whan i said their sign outside said they have doubleroom for £59 they said something about "just weekday's", finally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Albin A
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It is a nice pub/hotel. An OK Breakfast is included and staff are friendly. The room: we could see the funny side but there was not a flat surface anywhere. The floors were all over the place so everything had a distinct lean and not all in the same direction. The bathroom is tiny. Rooms are clean and warm and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy L
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We used this as a base while we were at the British touring cars at Thruxton. Amesbury is a great little town and the George epitomises the it really well. If you love old buildings this will be for you. It creaks as you walk on the floors and there's hardly a straight wall in the building which is really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
Patong, Thailand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for a night whilst visiting the area. Staff are super friendly and helpful. Room I stayed in was clean and cosy and the bed was very comfortable. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate AND biscuits provided in room. Shower was nice and hit with good pressure. Breakfast was buffet style and very nice with so many options. Great value for money....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kkelly23456
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here this week on our way to Cornwall (we stayed here before in October last year 2016) Gone is the friendly welcome and warm atmosphere the staff appear to be mainly the same but have no time or interest in the guests whatsoever. The food was at best below average we used to get fabulous fish and chips...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank st0kestraveller
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a room with a Four Poster Bed and got a poor, pokey room! Food was acceptable but defiantly Pub Grub. As this was a special holiday I had booked a special room, but without any explaination we were allocated another. I did not want to make a fuss as this was a very special occasion for my wife...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George C
Paul H, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello , I am sorry that you were not allocated the room booked , I am unsure as to why this did happen, I sincerely regret you not having a word with a member of the team during your stay as I would have liked to think we could have dealt with this for you. The Hotel has changed after...

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 14, 2017

Popped into this pub for lunch after a visit to Stonehenge. Very quiet, but service and food was very good and reasonably priced - A varied menu with good portion size cooked to order - well recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larry G
Paul H, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr G Thank you for your kind review, I will pass on your comments to all those on duty. We have a New menu being introduced in the very near future, if you are ever in the area, please call in and see how we are doing Thank you Paul Hill

wolverhampton
Reviewed April 13, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here Fri 7th April in room 29 (triple room) with my sister. First impressions were good, lots of free parking and nice old building, which had been there since 13th century. Check in was easy and friendly. The hotel has lots of small corridors and creaky floorboards, which myself and my sister loved....others might find them a little claustrophobic....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mojo2301
Paul H, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

As previously replied on your e mail, I apologize for the disturbance caused by the music from the public bar, which as I pointed out should have been mentioned on arrival. Thank you for the other positive and nice comments and we look forward to seeing you in the near future. regards

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 11, 2017

On arrival it took about 5 min to find a staff member to check me in, I booked for 1 night but my work was extended so I was going to extend my stay all I can say is I'm glad I didn't. The room was clean ish very dated with damaged furniture and very run down, the wifi is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank westwelldesignstudio
Paul H, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Afternoon Sir, Thank you for your review however it would be appreciated if you could furnish me with more details of your date of stay and which Room you were allocated. I am disappointed to read your comments and that your stay was cut short, to which I apologise, I would be more than happy to discuss your comments and...

Herstmonceux, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile

A big old hotel on the high street with exposed beams. Very warm welcome. Friendly staff. Plenty of free parking. Not too expensive. A bit of peeling wallpaper here and there. But clean rooms beding and bathroom in nearly new condition. Good range of beers and family friendly. We didnt eat there appart from the included full english breakfast which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
Paul H, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Sir Thank you for your review , I am pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay. We have a new menu being implemented in the next few weeks so we look forward to serving you and your family when next in the area Regards Paul Hill Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (47)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amesbury
0.1 mi away
The Antrobus Hotel
The Antrobus Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
295 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
3.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel
7.3 mi away
King's Head Inn
King's Head Inn
#3 of 16 in Salisbury
737 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairlawn House
Fairlawn House
#1 of 3 in Amesbury
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: 19 High Street, Amesbury SP4 7ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Amesbury
Price Range: $79 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“guess there ain't NO good rooms here - will NOT recommend to any”
80albina, 2 days ago | Read review
“Make sure you check what you have booked when you arrive.”
883georgec, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Room 6, four poster bed very peaceful atmosphere.”
helmoore, Dec 12, 2016 | Read review
“room 22 a good one”
gabby472, Sep 5, 2016 | Read review
“There are some noisy areas near the sports bar but the staff are well aware and advise of this.”
BonnieKent, Aug 28, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Expedia.com
$84* /night
View Deal
Booking.com$85
Priceline$85
Orbitz.com$84
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates