We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Black Horse Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Black Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

308 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 306: English reviews
Start your review of The Black Horse Inn
 Click to rate
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our second visit to the restaurant and the food really is excellent,even the bread and butter is special.You are made to feel welcome when you go in and the service is attentive and prompt without being pushy.The atmosphere is quiet and relaxed. I had the Lamb shepherds pie and my wife had the Chicken Ham and Leek,we both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location for me, office is about 10mins away, very quiet, very comfortable with great food. Great. Breakfast also really good freshly cooked with NO buffet. Will now use on a regular basis I would also recommend the Flat Iron Steak. Perfectly cooked with fries. Its not your usual cut, but I was very impressed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in the Black Horse Inn whilst on a business trip in February. I was made to feel so welcome by the staff before I even arrived to make sure I had everything I needed despite the late arrival, was shown my room and made to feel comfortable. Superb attention to detail in the rooms which contained everything I needed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank es488
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear es488 Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased we are now your 'home away from home'. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Kind regards from the team at The Black Horse Inn.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I've never been one to stay at chain hotels so always look for character pubs with rooms where possible. This is an example of exactly why I do! The pub is outside of the main town of brighouse, has a bar and restaurant with bags of character. The rooms are all different, stayed in two rooms here recently and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ottershaw-Massive
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ottershaw-Massive Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive and comprehensive review. We very much appreciate your kind words which we will share with the staff here. We hope you have the chance to dine with us in the evening at some point in the future when you're next in the area. Kind regards from the...

Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 20, 2017 via mobile

We made our first visit to the Black Horse on Saturday evening and we weren't disappointed.The greeting was friendly and we were invited to get a drink at the bar and have a look at the menu. The food service and ambiance was all very good if a little pricey but if want a special night out this is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CLIVE B
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear Clive B Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards from the team at The Black Horse Inn.

Cheadle, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 17, 2017

Pleasant restaurant but, apart from the smoked haddock, the food today was distinctly average and rather expensive. The chips were tired and the battered haddock was not particularly tasty. Unfortunately a recipe for indigestion which was not helped by the fact that, on returning home and studying the bill more carefully, we found that we had been overcharged! A disappointing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear David B We were sorry to hear you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. We always value feedback and are very happy to resolve matters if they are brought to our attention at the time. If there is a mistake on your bill that is a genuine error on our part and we apologise. If you have...

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 17, 2017

Spent a really enjoyable evening here.The atmosphere in the restaurant was very inviting.Food was presented beautifully and our waiter Damien was very attentive without being intrusive.Will look forward to going again in the near future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarie L
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear Rosemarie L Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards from the team at The Black Horse Inn

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 5, 2017 via mobile

Wow what a lovely place. Amazing atmoshere with lovely surroundings. Had a lovely hand pulled pint sat at yhe bar. With definatly be popping back again for a meal in the future. The place has a great courtyard and the rooms looked very comfortable. Maybe even stay over.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mark D Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere and a pint in our bar. Sometimes we have live music on a Sunday afternoon - it's worth checking the website for dates. We hope you will return to us for a meal or an overnight stay. Kind regards from the team at...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 1, 2017

Booked 2 rooms last Saturday for a get together with a friend. Helpful reception staff showed me to my room above the courtyard which i was told had been recently renovated..Small, very clean room but renovation didn't look to be that recent as carpet had stains and the bathroom sink was cracked...after saying that ,no other complaints. cosy lounge with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reallytripping
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear reallytripping Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Being an old coaching inn some of our rooms are cosy and we are mid way through refurbishing many of our bedrooms. We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay (and breakfast) and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards from the team at The...

Gomersal, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 10, 2017

I decided to have a quick sandwich with my son here at the black horse. The food is rather pricey but the quality is good. The Fish Finger Sandwich was Excellent, the Beef Sandwich was okay, the Beef was tough. A portion of Chips is £3.50 extra cheeky!!!!!!!!!!!! Especially when it cost me £17.00 for 2 sandwiches. Expensive main courses...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ali735
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear ali735 Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and to hear that you enjoyed your lunch especially our Posh Fish Finger sandwich. Kind regards from the team at The Black Horse Inn

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighouse
1.0 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
#10 of 17 in Huddersfield
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Olde worlde 17th-century inn located in the quiet village of Clifton, AA rosette restaurant, beautiful rooms converted from cottages. M62 just 1/2 a mile, away from it all yet close to everything. We are located in an ideal place for touring the scenic beauty spots of Yorkshire, the historic City of York and scores of Country Houses and Parks. Leeds, Bradford & Huddersfield are all less than twenty minutes drive away which makes us a convenient centre for traveler's on both business or for pleasure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Address: Westgate, Brighouse, Huddersfield HD6 4HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield > Brighouse
Price Range: $72 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Black Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, HRS, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Hotel Brighouse
The Black Horse Inn Brighouse, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Black Horse Inn staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Leeds, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Sunderland, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Black Horse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Single bed rooms perfect for the solo business traveller”
 of 5 bubbles es488, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Have a lazy morning and let the traffic on the M62 clear, breakfast is worth taking slowly, it is good!”
 of 5 bubbles jwlasseter, Nov 21, 2016 | Read review
“Take earplugs and eye mask.”
 of 5 bubbles C_GNorthYorks, Oct 25, 2016 | Read review
“Go for the larger rooms, some are quite small”
 of 5 bubbles 775kingarthur, Oct 20, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the Champagne House away from the road.”
 of 5 bubbles S1310EWdebbies, Aug 21, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question