We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Black Horse Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Black Horse Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

273 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 272: English reviews
Barrow upon Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This was our second night staying at the Black Horse Inn in 2 months, the first was a Travelzoo offer of dinner, bed and breakfast for £89 in June, the second night was in August on the same offer that was given to us by the hotel on leaving provided we returned within the 3 months. This was truly a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This advertised as a restaurant with rooms, this does not do the hotel or the rooms justice.Our room round the wonderful courtyard was very spacious, colourful and comfortable. The only problem was the very low door going into the bedroom from the hallway, this is a hazard for anyone over 5ft 5In tall. The courtyard in good weather is a... More 

Helpful?
Thank patsylandin
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just eaten in the restaurant. We had 2 courses from the Al a Carte menu. Starters we had soup Green pepper and Chilli absolutely gorgeous. Really creamy with a warm aftertaste. For mains we both chose the Ribeye steak that was cooked to perfection. Acompliments were chunky chips garlic mushroom vine roasted tomatoes lambs lettuce. Very generous portions. Starters were... More 

Helpful?
Thank GBW9
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered the fish cakes and stuffed chicken breast from the fixed price menu (£23 for two courses). I expected a nice dinner but was served a truly memorable meal - very tasty indeed. My friend had the scallops and duck from the main menu and was also impressed. Great food and great service.

Helpful?
Thank slb66
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place is really a hidden gem. First class service from reception to the bar staff. Rooms very well decorated and very pleasant, spotless. The restaurant is fantastic, the food is amazing and as I said the service is second to none! The beer garden is a lovely area well worth a visit. Great place well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Stewartfraser
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for one night on a travelzoo deal. Decent room perhaps needing a little tlc in some areas. Wifi worked ok when we switched the booster on! Dinner was included and we paid extra to order off the a la carte menu which was pretty good especially the cheese board. Enjoyed breakfast even more - very friendly service. Seemed to... More 

Helpful?
Thank princewobblebottom
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Black Horse Inn in July16 having got a deal on travelzoo for evening meal B&B. We were accommodated in the cottage! Very disappointing the room décor and furnishings were very tired and could have been cleaner. I suppose the moral is if you don't pay a proper price you don't get a good room!! I went... More 

Helpful?
Thank worrall1
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear worral1 Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are sorry to hear you did not like the courtyard room you were given. We are in the middle of refurbishing many of our rooms and if you voiced your unhappiness to a member of the team, we would have happily moved you. We are delighted to... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We checked in with a pleasant lady who showed us around and told us where the restaurant and bar was and then took us to our cottage room which was across the road from the inn. It was charming with all the usual amenities, plenty of space to move around, comfy bed. Bathroom was spacious with bathrobes provided, which was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank linda g
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear linda g Many thanks for your charming review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your birthday with us and it was our pleasure to organise a little birthday treat for you. We also appreciate your kind words about our staff and we shall be sharing your positive comments with all the team here. We look forward to welcoming... More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016

This is a lovely and charming restaurant theres little rooms where you can have a private meal with friends or family .there is a good al a cart menu also a fixed price 2 &3 course set menu..The food on both are well presented and of good quality,the haddock and chips is like a whale but there is a smaller... More 

Helpful?
Thank 11oyd
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear 11oyd Thank you for your review. We love your analogy of our haddock being like a whale! This is one of our most popular dishes and you can see why we offer a smaller portion! We hope it's not too long before you visit our restaurant again. Kind regards from the team at The Black Horse Inn More 

Aberdeen
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

Stayed for a night and had an evening meal and breakfast. Had one of the courtyard rooms, which was nicely decorated, beams were a nice touch. Staff were very friendly and food was very good, would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Swannie67
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear Swannie67 Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your overnight stay with us and that you'd consider staying with us again. We look forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards from the team at The Black Horse Inn More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighouse
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
1.0 mi away
Waterfront Lodge
Waterfront Lodge
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
4.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
3.7 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
0.0 mi away
Pinfold Guest House
Pinfold Guest House
#4 of 27 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Olde worlde 17th-century inn located in the quiet village of Clifton, AA rosette restaurant, beautiful rooms converted from cottages. M62 just 1/2 a mile, away from it all yet close to everything. We are located in an ideal place for touring the scenic beauty spots of Yorkshire, the historic City of York and scores of Country Houses and Parks. Leeds, Bradford & Huddersfield are all less than twenty minutes drive away which makes us a convenient centre for traveler's on both business or for pleasure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Address: Westgate, Brighouse, Huddersfield HD6 4HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield > Brighouse
Price Range: $103 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Hotel Brighouse
The Black Horse Inn Brighouse, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay