We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hostel Surfing Donkey

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Hostel Surfing Donkey
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 88: English reviews
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2016

It was a good hostel if you wanted a party atmosphere. It was often loud. 24hr security gave an added sense of security. The beds were clean but the pool was not, it had a great roof top patio with views of the city. It was a little too upbeat for us coming from the relaxing island of Ometepe.

Helpful?
1 Thank Leon K
New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016

Very relaxed hostel, it has clean bathrooms and beds and such. The dorms are a little tight but it's okay. They have a pool and a good bar. They also have a nice balcony which is a nice place to have a beer and look out over san juan. Their staff is super helpful and can help you with anything... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ashley D
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2016

Went here off and on for a couple of weeks in San Juan. Had a pretty chilled atmosphere and good pre drinks for the night out. The hostel/bar shut down at 10pm every night which was good if you wanted to sleep but the security guard was a very "interesting" person and i had alot of trouble with him while... More 

Helpful?
Thank IgnorantBrent
Calgary
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2016

I really enjoyed this hostel. It was pretty quiet and they had 24-hr security to let you in and whatnot. The pool was awesome as well as their little rooftop hangout spot. Dorms were clean and comfy. The only setback was when I tried to take a shower and apparently sometimes SJDS loses water so I couldn't take a shower... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mai L
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016

Myself and 2 others stayed at The Surfing Donkey for 3 nights at the end of June. We really enjoyed this hostel and considered it one of the best during our week vacation in Nicaragua. You can really tell maintenance is a priority at this hostel with workers cleaning the gardens and pool and painting the walkways. This place was... More 

Helpful?
Thank 87Globalgirl
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

I found the staff to be nice and friendly the dorm I was in was huge. Nice location walking distance from everywhere. Two criticisms though...they charge you to refill your water bottle from the large water dispenser at the reception which is totally acceptable apart from the fact I caught the caretaker filling it up from the tap beside the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colin H
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

Very, very dissapointing hostel. I got to the hostel and stayed for 2 nights. The last day, me and my 2 friends where leaving at mid day, so we went out to the local market, that is 5 minutes away, to buy some souvenirs. We were all saying in the same room, whith just another backpacker who wasn't there at... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Simón G
The_Surfing_Donkey, Owner at Hostel Surfing Donkey, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear about your experience, losing things is never fun! Unfortunately theft happens often in large hostels, even with all the security measures we have in place to prevent them, which is why we always recommend for guests in a shared room to keep things locked up or charge them at the reception desk. Even with the cameras,... More 

Travelers are raving about these San Juan del Sur hotels

San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016

I would not recommend staying more than one night here. First off this place is filthy! Bed bugs and fly's covering the kitchen and dorms. Secondly, every morning you will be awaken by the same loud club songs that play on repeat until 10 pm. All but one of the staff members at the front desk are rude and greedy,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ellitrelly
The_Surfing_Donkey, Owner at Hostel Surfing Donkey, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, and we're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay at our hostel! To address your concerns: - Bed Bugs: As can be seen by the string of reviews in late June/ early July, one of our private rooms had a temporary issue with bed bugs. We take many precautionary measures, but it's never possible... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016 via mobile

We had intended to stay at Surfing Donkey for two nights, in the private room number 5 with a double bed and ensuite bathroom. Went to bed around 11 and realised it was full of bed bugs. Reception was closed and the guard couldn't help us, so we had to find another accomodation after midnight which was obviously tricky. Went... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Signe S
The_Surfing_Donkey, Owner at Hostel Surfing Donkey, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, and we're sorry to hear about the issue during your stay! Bed bugs, as scary as they sound, tend to be a common problem in both hotels and hostels in Central America. Even with fumigation and proper cleaning, all it takes is one guest to bring them in, then the beds need to be treated... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

originally booked to stay at the surfing donkey for 3 nights, on the first night my friend got absolutely covered in bed bug bites! the staff member at the desk was incredibly rude but allowed her to move beds (after a lot of convincing) on the second night, my friend and I also got bitten and had to sleep on... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Miriam E
The_Surfing_Donkey, Owner at Hostel Surfing Donkey, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, and we're sorry to hear about the issue during your stay! Bed bugs, as scary as they sound, tend to be a common problem in both hotels and hostels in Central America. Even with fumigation and proper cleaning, all it takes is one guest to bring them in, then the beds need to be treated... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.4 mi away
Hostel Pachamama
Hostel Pachamama
#15 of 68 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Javier's House sjs
Hostal Javier's House sjs
#20 of 68 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Tadeo San Juan del Sur
Hostel Tadeo San Juan del Sur
#55 of 68 in San Juan del Sur
3.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chale's House
Chale's House
#22 of 68 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Maracuya
Hotel Maracuya
#14 of 68 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
1.7 mi away
Porta Do Sol Hostel
Porta Do Sol Hostel
#38 of 52 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Surfing Donkey is the best new social hostel in San Juan del Sur, only two blocks away from the city center with a large pool, cheap bar, full kitchen, yoga, and events like group BBQs and pool parties. We balance our social activities with a strict quiet policy before 9am and after 10pm, so guests can have fun and sleep well on the new premium mattresses. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostel Surfing Donkey

Address: One block south of Central Park and church, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $20 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Surfing Donkey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Surfing Donkey Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay