We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Casa Ariki

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Casa Ariki
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 92: English reviews
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked two rooms for two nights but we only slept one. The bathrooms were dirty as well as the rest of the house...bugs on the floor. The roof of one of the rooms was leaking all night, soaking one of the beds. It wasn't the first time that happened that is for sure. The manager just turn the mattress!!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nilof22
CasaAriki_SJ, Owner at Casa Ariki, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your feedback. There had previously been a leak in that room which we had hired someone to fix. When it rained the night you stayed, and leaked over the bed, then we knew it had actually not been fixed. We did not purposely let you stay in a room with a leak and are very... More 

Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

Two friends and I stayed at this location in June 16. We stayed in a three bed room with a bathroom, a/c, and television. The bathroom was just fine, nothing special. The beds were pretty dated. The cleaning crew never really checked our room. They did have wifi and free drinking water available. The location is in town but far... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GiggaMan
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2016

I can't rate this place as we did not get a chance to stay there as they cancelled our reservation before we arrived. I booked this place through a online booking website, I received an email back that afternoon that the reservation had been confirmed. We had a early shuttle out of Leon to San Juan del Sur the next... More 

Helpful?
Thank AshleyDawn84
CasaAriki_SJ, Owner at Casa Ariki, responded to this review

Hello Ashley! Thank you for your feedback. As we are a very small hotel (only 5 rooms), it is sometimes hard for us to honor last-minute bookings such as yours. Unfortunately, the booking site you used does not allow us to not allow last-minute bookings. We work very hard to accommodate our guests and as you mentioned in your post,... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

I've stayed at Casa Ariki for three months earlier this year. The owners Sarah and Baldo are amazing. They were always thinking with me when I decided to go to Costa Rica or Mexico for a bit and wanted to leave my bag at their place. They are very flexible and they can tell you all about SJDS. Baldo knows... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lilian E
Uhlstadt - Kirchhasel, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015

We stayed in Casa Ariki for 6 nights. The staff was really nice and helpful. The room was ok, but we missed fly screen on the windows. We didn't use the A/C because it would have cost 15 $ more. It was a bit warm during the night but ok. In the kitchen you can find everything you need, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anja G
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015 via mobile

Stayed two years ago excellent room and large kitchen clean and tidy. Family owned and good staff Nice balcony upstairs to read or chill. Stayed again twice in downstairs room with ac and tv with private bathroom.only comment would be that our room was in need of a facelift but a nice hostel in good central location.

Helpful?
Thank 07jenny752
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015 via mobile

I'm so happy to have checked out of this location, it caused me sadness knowing I had to return there for 2 nights to sleep. I'm not sure which improvements the managers are talking about, our room looked like a prison cell. Felt dirty and dingy. The curtain was barely hanging on and was transparent, people could see directly into... More 

Helpful?
Thank aphillips28
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015

I absolutely recommend Casa Ariki for anyone traveling and staying in San Juan. The owners are so nice and friendly, it is clean, there is a security guard at night, it's close to the beach and town, rooms are air conditioned, there is a kitchen, a balcony, a hammock. What more could you want? Great price! I stayed here with... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank arieljohnston
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015

Stayed there for a night (room 5) and we were a bit disappointed as the ratings were rather high. Even though everything was clean and the price was low, the decoration/atmosphere of the room was terrible and we felt a bit like in a prison cell. Consider getting AC (optional) if you have problems supporting the heat. Upgrading a few... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dominic D
CasaAriki_SJ, Owner at Casa Ariki, responded to this review

Hello Dominic, Thank you for your feedback. We have recently performed quite a few home improvements - especially in Room #5! - and unfortunately your stay was right before this happened. We actually had to wait for high season to be over before we could work on the rooms and paint the house. We hope to continue the improvements over... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015 via mobile

Ideally I'd like to give this place a 3.5 (good) review because it's better than average but not quite very good in my opinion. But it's definitely a good place to stay. Pros: - really nice owners and staff - good kitchen, filtered water, free coffee - good WiFi - great location - very clean Cons: - everything needs a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mirrimaria
CasaAriki_SJ, Owner at Casa Ariki, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your feedback! I wanted to let you know that we have recently performed quite a few home improvements - we actually had to wait for high season to be over before we could work on the rooms and paint the house. We hope to continue the improvements over the next few months. We will soon... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.1 mi away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#6 of 24 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 24 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#13 of 24 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
HC Suites Hotel
HC Suites Hotel
#18 of 52 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Pacifico Hotel
El Pacifico Hotel
#8 of 52 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.7 mi away
HC Liri Hotel
HC Liri Hotel
#1 of 52 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located only two and a half blocks from the municipal market of San Juan del Sur and only three blocks from the bay, Casa Ariki is a home away from home. With five private rooms and beds for up to 17 people, we offer a laid-back environment to relax and enjoy your time in San Juan del Sur to the fullest! In addition to comfortable accommodations, Casa Ariki has free Wi-Fi, a guest kitchen, a common area with boardgames, books and magazines to borrow, a balcony on the second floor with an incredible view of the town's rooftops, free coffee from Matagalpa and friendly staff. Want to rappel down a cliff, surf, ride horses or view the ocean from the tree tops? No problem! Our staff can set up rappelling tours, surf lessons, beach transport, horseback riding, canopy (zip line) tours, fishing and much more! We're sure that when the time comes to check out, you will leave Casa Ariki reluctantly, wanting to come back again and again. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Casa Ariki

Address: From the Municipal Market, 2.5 blocks South | Del Mercado Municipal, 2.5 cuadras al Sur, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $24 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Ariki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Ariki Nicaragua/San Juan Del Sur
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay