We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Silver Birches Resort

Save
Share
205 Route 507, Hawley, PA 18428-7026
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
6 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$149
Priceline$149
Hotels.com$149
FindHotel$149
Agoda.com$149
Travelocity$149
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (263)
360
Panoramas (33)
Room & Suite (191)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 09/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Silver Birches Resort
Updated 09/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 7 hotels in Hawley
Everything old is new again. After extensive renovations, Silver Birches is ready to welcome you back to Lake Wallenpaupack and back in time to when folks gathered at the lake - to celebrate the joys of a cannonball splash off the dock or a champagne toast to drink in the sunset. To hook the big one at the end of our dock or paddle across the lake in one of our canoes or kayaks. There is something special about an old-fashioned resort with cozy cottages and romantic inns with rambling porches, and everywhere you look an impressive view of Wallenpaupack from expansive lawns with Adirondack chairs and camp fires. Our Waterfront resort is set among the scenic lake region where you can expect beautiful views on your vacation. Lounging poolside or lake side. Laid back or active. Every room has a picture window. As one of the only Poconos luxury resorts in Hawley, PA, our property is composed of thirteen historic structures dating back to the 1920s. We offer several types of Lake Wallenpaupack lodging options, including five different types of guest rooms, a bunkhouse, several cottages, and three houses on our property. Each of our guest rooms invites you into a relaxing retreat at this Poconos resort. As one of the best Lake Wallenpaupack hotels in the area, you can choose from a variety of different well-appointed rooms and cottages to make your stay enjoyable on Lake Wallenpaupack. Unlike other Hawley, PA hotels, we offer luxurious amenities during your stay. Many accommodations include fine linens, flat-screen TVs with cable in each room, Keurig coffee makers to help start your morning refreshed, and complimentary Wi-Fi. We are also a premier family resort in Hawley, PA. Our outdoor activities are great for family vacations. Enjoy our seasonal pool, a game of shuffleboard, several lawn games and lakefront activities, and fire pits. If it's relaxation you're looking for at our Waterfront resort, you can request a special in-room massage or order a bottle of champagne. Whatever it is you're looking for, you'll find it here at one of the best Poconos luxury resorts. While staying at one of the best Lake Wallenpaupack hotels in the area, you'll find many things to do in Hawley, PA. From the several family fun parks to museums and wildlife attractions, Silver Birches is set in the heart of several attractions. When you're looking for places to eat near Lake Wallenpaupack, head back to The Dock on Wallenpaupack, our Silver Birches restaurant and enjoy seafood dishes and comfort foods while listening to live music. You'll feel right at home at this Hawley, PA resort. Whether you're looking to have a romantic getaway, a honeymoon retreat or a family vacation, Silver Birches is the perfect resort in the Poconos. As one of the few Hawley, PA resorts, this is a place where couples on a romantic retreat can revel in watching a family play on the beach and where grandparents take an active role in the activities of the day. Jump in and come up for air. We are waiting for you!
Read more

Location

Full view
Contact
205 Route 507, Hawley, PA 18428-7026
Getting there
Wilkes-Barre Intl Airport29 miSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
230Reviews9Q+A61Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 143
  • 54
  • 18
  • 9
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kenjoydavis wrote a review Sep 9
Longwood, Florida8 contributions11 helpful votes
Multiple lights burnt out. Party decorations from previous guests left around. Most upsetting was a pair of dirty underwear & shorts left in one of the bathrooms & socks on the floor in the other one.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah O'Fee, Guest Services / Front Office at Silver Birches Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Kenjoydavis, We are surprised to read your comments. Each guestroom or rental property undergoes a thorough cleaning between stays. Additionally, a manager conducts an inspection of the space before check-in. We will relay your comments to our team and address the matter right away. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for any inconvenience this experience caused. If you would like to discuss anything further, please reach out directly to our manager Rose at RJanisheski@settlershospitality.com
Read more
Lena B wrote a review Sep 6
Brooklyn, New York3 contributions7 helpful votes
Poor, poor customer service. I booked a bunkhouse on Expedia this past weekend. The same accommodations were listed on several sites ( hotels.com, booking.com etc) as available. As matter of fact it showed that 2 bunkhouse were available. Right after I booked 1 bunkhouse thru Expedia , I got a call from Silver birches directly telling me that they were overbooked due to a wedding but that they can offer me a cabin 2 min away instead. As I was speaking to a rep and she was looking into what the cabin had as far as sleeping arrangements, the call got cut off. When I called back I kept getting transferred to different people who had no idea (seemed like ) what I was talking about. The last person I spoke to told me they can give me a 3 person cabin where they knew I had 4 people in my party. Sounded like such a scam and completely unprofessional. Could’ve told me right away that they had to cancel my reservation instead of wasting my time like that. How do you show 2 bunkhouse that fit 4 people on major travel sites but then claim they don’t have it . Sounded fishy and unacceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah O'Fee, Guest Services / Front Office at Silver Birches Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear J323TElenab, We apologize for the confusion with your booking and sincerely regret any inconvenience it caused. Multiple properties at Lake Wallenpaupack are part of Silver Birches Resort. Sometimes when there is no availability at the main resort, we do try to accommodate guests at another of our locations. We’re sorry that we did not have anything to meet your needs. The miscommunication you experienced is truly regrettable and does not meet the standard with which we have been doing business for over 40 years. Your feedback is important to us and we will address this with our team to ensure it does not happen in the future. If you would like to discuss this further, please reach out directly to our manager Rose at RJanisheski@settlershospitality.com
Read more
Chris R wrote a review Sep 5
1 contribution
+1
I cannot thank mark , rose, and all of the silver birches staff for such a wonderful visit. From check in, Mark and Rose took care or everything and helped plan my engagement proposal. The resort was an immaculate romantic getaway, that made you feel at home right on the lake. Breakfast and dinner at the dock were perfect as was our visit. We cannot wait to return!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah O'Fee, Guest Services / Front Office at Silver Birches Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear W2376ZLchrisr, Congratulation on your engagement! We're so honored to have been a part of this special occasion. Thank you for your kind compliments. We will be sure to share them with our staff. We're glad you enjoyed the accommodations, atmosphere and dining at The Dock. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
Brock13 wrote a review Aug 2021
Midlothian, Virginia2 contributions1 helpful vote
I was a little nervous about my trip here after reading recent reviews, but had a good time. I was traveling with my 8 year old son to the area where I grew up. We had a 2 double bed in Lakeshore and it was ready to go when we checked in at 3 and looked updated like the pictures online. Also contained a pretty large fridge and keurig. All staff (and other customers) we encountered were very nice. It is an old fashioned type resort, which was what I was looking for and also knew we'd be doing a lot of things offsite. Everything is a super short walk away and the area was clean and well maintained (no goose poop or trash.) the most used item were the free use of kayaks and paddle boards which was great. Everything is within feet of lake's edge. The biggest issue I had was the weekend vibe. Obviously there are more people staying on the weekend and the lake itself is much busier with boats (so you need to be more alert paddling.) But on Friday night there was a special live music event. We had been traveling all day and my kid was exhausted but could not get to sleep due to the loud music. There is also live music in the afternoons on the weekend. This brings in a lot of non- resort guests that take up a lot of space, and I could have done without the music. Additionally there were weddings all weekend which had the guests all over the fire pits and chairs down by the water. It's just loud and busy and not relaxing and peaceful like I had hoped. I was not able to ever get a seat by the fire during this time and we had to walk around a lot of people drinking to get to the rec booth. The weekdays we were here were wonderful - plenty of places to sit, quiet, non- party atmosphere. The music noise continues to be an issue if you stay close to The Dock. The weddings, coupled with late night music and music inexplicably played in the mornings had me hearing a base beat almost constantly. Some people may really enjoy this - but it's not what I was looking for here. My only other comment was that no one practices safe COVID protocols. Not a single staff member was masked, and maybe it's just the area because I saw no guests masked either! We experienced this in other establishments in the area as well, and it was very jarring and shocking to us compared to our home city. I didn't really feel super comfortable indoors with an unvaccinated kid, so if you care about that, I may avoid.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah O'Fee, Guest Services / Front Office at Silver Birches Resort
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Catading, Thank you for sharing a review. We’re thrilled you enjoyed your getaway to Lake Wallenpaupack. Weekends do tend to be a bit busier, especially during the summer. We apologize if you were disturbed at all. Your feedback is important to us and we’ll be sure to relay your comments to our team. The well-being of our staff and guests is paramount. We closely monitor CDC and state guidelines regarding COVID protocols. Pennsylvania does not currently have any mandates regarding face masks. Should that change, we will promptly revise the policy for our employees and guests. Please come again. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
jean9989 wrote a review Aug 2021
Washington, New Jersey11 contributions2 helpful votes
First let me start by saying we love Silver Birches. We rented The Fairview House the last week in July for our family, which was my husband & I our 3 kids their spouses & our grandkids. The house was huge & beautiful & so much room for all of us. But the house needed to be cleaned better than it was. There was alot wrong with the house maintenance wise & for the money we paid I expected much better. We started by trying to get into the house & the lock, the only door you could get into was broke, maintenance was there when we got there "fixing the lock" but it never got fixed they had to put a new lock on & we had one key the whole time for 8 adults. There was a broken window with no lock on the first floor bedroom that kept blowing open. The dryer vent on the first floor was broken off so we didn't use it. Not all of the fans in the pool room worked & they were very very dirty. Most of the lounge chairs in the "movie room" were broke you couldn't even plug them in. There was a huge bees nest under the deck so we couldn't even use one side of the deck. The kayak that came with the house to use was behind a wood fence in a wooded area & it was absolutely filthy. We did tell the person that checked us in about all of this & he put it all in the computer. I understand they are probably short staffed but like I said for the money we paid I expected the house to at least be clean & the maintenance to be kept up a little better. We did have a great time & we loved the house itself but we were a little disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah O'Fee, Guest Services / Front Office at Silver Birches Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Jean, Thank you for sharing a review. We’re glad you enjoyed your family getaway to Silver Birches. We’re sorry to hear you were disappointed in the condition of the Fairview House. As you said, staffing is an ongoing challenge, especially during the busy summer season. But we regret if it affected your experience. Your feedback is important to us and we’ll be sure to relay your comments to our staff. Please know the issues you describe are not typical. Guest satisfaction is a top priority. We regret that we have fallen short. Please come again. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
Previous
123456
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Ehrhardt's Waterfront Resort
LOCATION
United StatesPennsylvaniaPocono Mountains RegionHawley
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Silver Birches Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Silver Birches Resort?
Nearby attractions include Harmony Presents at the Hawley Silk Mill (2.8 miles), Costa's Family Fun Park (3.1 miles), and Penny Lane Candies & Candles (3.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Silver Birches Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Silver Birches Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Silver Birches Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Silver Birches Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Silver Birches Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Settlers Inn, The Boat House Restaurant, and Glass Wine. Bar. Kitchen..
Are there opportunities to exercise at Silver Birches Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Silver Birches Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.