We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
205 Route 507, Hawley, PA 18428-7026
7 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$385
Hotels.com$385
Travelocity$385
Priceline$357
Agoda.com$357
Orbitz.com$385
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (277)
360
Panoramas (33)
Room & Suite (198)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 03/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Silver Birches Resort
Updated 03/04/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 7 hotels in Hawley
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.1
Everything old is new again. After extensive renovations, Silver Birches is ready to welcome you back to Lake Wallenpaupack and back in time to when folks gathered at the lake - to celebrate the joys of a cannonball splash off the dock or a champagne toast to drink in the sunset. To hook the big one at the end of our dock or paddle across the lake in one of our canoes or kayaks. There is something special about an old-fashioned resort with cozy cottages and romantic inns with rambling porches, and everywhere you look an impressive view of Wallenpaupack from expansive lawns with Adirondack chairs and camp fires. Our Waterfront resort is set among the scenic lake region where you can expect beautiful views on your vacation. Lounging poolside or lake side. Laid back or active. Every room has a picture window. As one of the only Poconos luxury resorts in Hawley, PA, our property is composed of thirteen historic structures dating back to the 1920s. We offer several types of Lake Wallenpaupack lodging options, including five different types of guest rooms, a bunkhouse, several cottages, and three houses on our property. Each of our guest rooms invites you into a relaxing retreat at this Poconos resort. As one of the best Lake Wallenpaupack hotels in the area, you can choose from a variety of different well-appointed rooms and cottages to make your stay enjoyable on Lake Wallenpaupack. Unlike other Hawley, PA hotels, we offer luxurious amenities during your stay. Many accommodations include fine linens, flat-screen TVs with cable in each room, Keurig coffee makers to help start your morning refreshed, and complimentary Wi-Fi. We are also a premier family resort in Hawley, PA. Our outdoor activities are great for family vacations. Enjoy our seasonal pool, a game of shuffleboard, several lawn games and lakefront activities, and fire pits. If it's relaxation you're looking for at our Waterfront resort, you can request a special in-room massage or order a bottle of champagne. Whatever it is you're looking for, you'll find it here at one of the best Poconos luxury resorts. While staying at one of the best Lake Wallenpaupack hotels in the area, you'll find many things to do in Hawley, PA. From the several family fun parks to museums and wildlife attractions, Silver Birches is set in the heart of several attractions. When you're looking for places to eat near Lake Wallenpaupack, head back to The Dock on Wallenpaupack, our Silver Birches restaurant and enjoy seafood dishes and comfort foods while listening to live music. You'll feel right at home at this Hawley, PA resort. Whether you're looking to have a romantic getaway, a honeymoon retreat or a family vacation, Silver Birches is the perfect resort in the Poconos. As one of the few Hawley, PA resorts, this is a place where couples on a romantic retreat can revel in watching a family play on the beach and where grandparents take an active role in the activities of the day. Jump in and come up for air. We are waiting for you!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Canoeing
Banquet room
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Poolside bar
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Family
234Reviews9Q+A62Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 145
  • 55
  • 18
  • 10
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Erica M wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
We just returned from a really disappointing stay at Silver Birches. We booked “the Big House” at a hefty price tag of $3,000 for 3 nights over Memorial Day weekend. The condition of the house left a lot to be desired. Several of the blinds were broken in the DOWN position so we could not see the lake (we used rubber bands to try to tie them up again). Many of the window cranks were broken so the windows didn’t open, and many of those that did open had missing or broken screens. (Why rent a lake house if you can’t see the lake or open the windows?). Stains on the carpet, water marks on the ceiling, not enough flatware in the house to accommodate the 10 people the house sleeps, closet doors that were off track, deck furniture dumped in a pile and not set up for us, a grill that was so dirty it caught on fire when I tried to make dinner, broken furniture, nametags still stuck on doors I guess indicating assigned rooms for the previous renters??... I could go on – but the most upsetting part was the response from senior management. The manager on duty and the groundskeepers informed us that a group of college students had rented the house just before us and held a house party with more than 50 people sleeping over. They said the kids “destroyed” the house and Silver Birches wasn’t able to address all of the issues before our stay. I told them that I understood their predicament but that I didn’t think I should be expected to pay full price when the home was not in the condition it should be. The manager understood and called the CEO (COO?) to see what could be done. According to her, his response was, and I quote, “Absolutely not…things happen…there are no refunds or reimbursements.” She reminded him of the house party and he said, “I will not take that into consideration.” I’m sorry, what? Seriously? Other notes – communication around the place is problematic. When you call the “front desk” you are first directed to a call center not on the property and then bounced to the main desk (where frequently no one answers). When we called about the scheduled live music we were alternately told “it’s happening outside now” (it wasn’t); “there is no music scheduled this weekend” (there was); “it was canceled” (it wasn’t); “it’s been moved to the restaurant” (bingo). The one and only restaurant reservation we could get mysteriously disappeared from their books and I had to beg them to accommodate us on our final night. The place is dog-friendly and not all guests pick up after their dog so in addition to all the geese poop there’s dog poop lying around too. If you are mobility-impaired and not staying at the Inn or the close-in cottages, you’ll have a lot of trouble navigating the extremely steep hill b/c there are no pathways. The place boasts a lot of activities but heads’ up that they own multiple properties and not all of the activities actually take place at Silver Birches. The sunset toast which was scheduled to happen never took place (I waited for it). Again, I could go on. It was just overall an (extremely costly) disappointment with a shockingly rude COO. On the positive side – beds, sheets, and towels were comfy. Paddleboards and kayaks were fun. View from the bar area was stunning. Too bad we couldn’t really see it through the broken blinds from our overpriced lakefront house.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah O'Fee, Guest Services / Front Office at Silver Birches Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Erica, We’re sorry you were disappointed in your stay at Silver Birches. Be assured, every accommodation is inspected prior to a guest’s arrival, and everything was found to be in order at “the Big House.” As you know, we did try to address your concerns as quickly and efficiently as possible when brought to our attention. We’re sorry it seems it was not resolved to your satisfaction. With 40+ years in business, Silver Birches prides itself on exemplary hospitality and service. We regret if we have fallen short in this instance. Your feedback is important to us, and we’ll relay your comments to our team. If you would like to discuss anything further, please feel free to speak to our manager, Rose directly at RJanisheski@Settlershospitality.com
Read more
cbarnyt wrote a review May 2022
New York City, New York77 contributions24 helpful votes
Just spent a weekend at Silver Birches for a small corporate retreat. To a person, everyone loved the accommodations. The lakeside setting is exquisite. We stayed in several houses on the property, and they were absolutely lovely. Every single person in our group commented about how nice it was. And the beds were very comfortable. I can hardly wait to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: The Big House on the Lake is amazing
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah O'Fee, Guest Services / Front Office at Silver Birches Resort
Responded May 9, 2022
Hi cbarnyt, We're delighted you had a wonderful corporate retreat. Thank you for choosing Silver Birches. It's great to hear you enjoyed the accommodations and lakeside location. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Read more
Lillian R wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Beautiful, comfortable, well appointed rooms with gorgeous views. Sherri at the front desk was remarkable. Sherri catered to my needs and wants with such good cheer and kindness. Thank you to Silver Birches and to Sherri!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah O'Fee, Guest Services / Front Office at Silver Birches Resort
Responded May 9, 2022
Hi lillianr389, We're delighted you had a wonderful getaway to Silver Birches. It's great to hear you enjoyed the lakeside location, accommodations and service. We'll be sure to share your kind compliments with Sherri. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please come again. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
missjfoxx wrote a review Oct 2021
New York City, New York101 contributions32 helpful votes
+1
Stayed for a weekend, clean, friendly for an outdoor resort cabin stay. I brought the pup so we stayed in the single cabins with a kitchen. Loved the fire pit & the view of the lake. The bathroom was super clean, the TV did give us issues though. I took a star off because the food wasn't stellar when we went to the restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah O'Fee, Guest Services / Front Office at Silver Birches Resort
Responded Nov 1, 2021
Dear missjfoxx, We're thrilled you had a wonderful getaway to Silver Birches. Thank you for sharing a review. It's great to hear you enjoyed the accommodations, location and amenities. We're sorry you were disappointed in dining at The Dock on Wallenpaupack. We hope you return and have the chance to see what makes the restaurant a favorite in the Lake Region.
Read more
Kenjoydavis wrote a review Sep 2021
Longwood, Florida9 contributions11 helpful votes
Multiple lights burnt out. Party decorations from previous guests left around. Most upsetting was a pair of dirty underwear & shorts left in one of the bathrooms & socks on the floor in the other one.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah O'Fee, Guest Services / Front Office at Silver Birches Resort
Responded Sep 13, 2021
Dear Kenjoydavis, We are surprised to read your comments. Each guestroom or rental property undergoes a thorough cleaning between stays. Additionally, a manager conducts an inspection of the space before check-in. We will relay your comments to our team and address the matter right away. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for any inconvenience this experience caused. If you would like to discuss anything further, please reach out directly to our manager Rose at RJanisheski@settlershospitality.com
Read more
Lena B wrote a review Sep 2021
Brooklyn, New York3 contributions7 helpful votes
Poor, poor customer service. I booked a bunkhouse on Expedia this past weekend. The same accommodations were listed on several sites ( hotels.com, booking.com etc) as available. As matter of fact it showed that 2 bunkhouse were available. Right after I booked 1 bunkhouse thru Expedia , I got a call from Silver birches directly telling me that they were overbooked due to a wedding but that they can offer me a cabin 2 min away instead. As I was speaking to a rep and she was looking into what the cabin had as far as sleeping arrangements, the call got cut off. When I called back I kept getting transferred to different people who had no idea (seemed like ) what I was talking about. The last person I spoke to told me they can give me a 3 person cabin where they knew I had 4 people in my party. Sounded like such a scam and completely unprofessional. Could’ve told me right away that they had to cancel my reservation instead of wasting my time like that. How do you show 2 bunkhouse that fit 4 people on major travel sites but then claim they don’t have it . Sounded fishy and unacceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah O'Fee, Guest Services / Front Office at Silver Birches Resort
Responded Sep 13, 2021
Dear J323TElenab, We apologize for the confusion with your booking and sincerely regret any inconvenience it caused. Multiple properties at Lake Wallenpaupack are part of Silver Birches Resort. Sometimes when there is no availability at the main resort, we do try to accommodate guests at another of our locations. We’re sorry that we did not have anything to meet your needs. The miscommunication you experienced is truly regrettable and does not meet the standard with which we have been doing business for over 40 years. Your feedback is important to us and we will address this with our team to ensure it does not happen in the future. If you would like to discuss this further, please reach out directly to our manager Rose at RJanisheski@settlershospitality.com
Read more
Chris R wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
+1
I cannot thank mark , rose, and all of the silver birches staff for such a wonderful visit. From check in, Mark and Rose took care or everything and helped plan my engagement proposal. The resort was an immaculate romantic getaway, that made you feel at home right on the lake. Breakfast and dinner at the dock were perfect as was our visit. We cannot wait to return!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah O'Fee, Guest Services / Front Office at Silver Birches Resort
Responded Sep 6, 2021
Dear W2376ZLchrisr, Congratulation on your engagement! We're so honored to have been a part of this special occasion. Thank you for your kind compliments. We will be sure to share them with our staff. We're glad you enjoyed the accommodations, atmosphere and dining at The Dock. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
Brock13 wrote a review Aug 2021
Midlothian, Virginia3 contributions2 helpful votes
I was a little nervous about my trip here after reading recent reviews, but had a good time. I was traveling with my 8 year old son to the area where I grew up. We had a 2 double bed in Lakeshore and it was ready to go when we checked in at 3 and looked updated like the pictures online. Also contained a pretty large fridge and keurig. All staff (and other customers) we encountered were very nice. It is an old fashioned type resort, which was what I was looking for and also knew we'd be doing a lot of things offsite. Everything is a super short walk away and the area was clean and well maintained (no goose poop or trash.) the most used item were the free use of kayaks and paddle boards which was great. Everything is within feet of lake's edge. The biggest issue I had was the weekend vibe. Obviously there are more people staying on the weekend and the lake itself is much busier with boats (so you need to be more alert paddling.) But on Friday night there was a special live music event. We had been traveling all day and my kid was exhausted but could not get to sleep due to the loud music. There is also live music in the afternoons on the weekend. This brings in a lot of non- resort guests that take up a lot of space, and I could have done without the music. Additionally there were weddings all weekend which had the guests all over the fire pits and chairs down by the water. It's just loud and busy and not relaxing and peaceful like I had hoped. I was not able to ever get a seat by the fire during this time and we had to walk around a lot of people drinking to get to the rec booth. The weekdays we were here were wonderful - plenty of places to sit, quiet, non- party atmosphere. The music noise continues to be an issue if you stay close to The Dock. The weddings, coupled with late night music and music inexplicably played in the mornings had me hearing a base beat almost constantly. Some people may really enjoy this - but it's not what I was looking for here. My only other comment was that no one practices safe COVID protocols. Not a single staff member was masked, and maybe it's just the area because I saw no guests masked either! We experienced this in other establishments in the area as well, and it was very jarring and shocking to us compared to our home city. I didn't really feel super comfortable indoors with an unvaccinated kid, so if you care about that, I may avoid.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah O'Fee, Guest Services / Front Office at Silver Birches Resort
Responded Sep 6, 2021
Dear Catading, Thank you for sharing a review. We’re thrilled you enjoyed your getaway to Lake Wallenpaupack. Weekends do tend to be a bit busier, especially during the summer. We apologize if you were disturbed at all. Your feedback is important to us and we’ll be sure to relay your comments to our team. The well-being of our staff and guests is paramount. We closely monitor CDC and state guidelines regarding COVID protocols. Pennsylvania does not currently have any mandates regarding face masks. Should that change, we will promptly revise the policy for our employees and guests. Please come again. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
jean9989 wrote a review Aug 2021
Washington, New Jersey11 contributions2 helpful votes
First let me start by saying we love Silver Birches. We rented The Fairview House the last week in July for our family, which was my husband & I our 3 kids their spouses & our grandkids. The house was huge & beautiful & so much room for all of us. But the house needed to be cleaned better than it was. There was alot wrong with the house maintenance wise & for the money we paid I expected much better. We started by trying to get into the house & the lock, the only door you could get into was broke, maintenance was there when we got there "fixing the lock" but it never got fixed they had to put a new lock on & we had one key the whole time for 8 adults. There was a broken window with no lock on the first floor bedroom that kept blowing open. The dryer vent on the first floor was broken off so we didn't use it. Not all of the fans in the pool room worked & they were very very dirty. Most of the lounge chairs in the "movie room" were broke you couldn't even plug them in. There was a huge bees nest under the deck so we couldn't even use one side of the deck. The kayak that came with the house to use was behind a wood fence in a wooded area & it was absolutely filthy. We did tell the person that checked us in about all of this & he put it all in the computer. I understand they are probably short staffed but like I said for the money we paid I expected the house to at least be clean & the maintenance to be kept up a little better. We did have a great time & we loved the house itself but we were a little disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah O'Fee, Guest Services / Front Office at Silver Birches Resort
Responded Aug 30, 2021
Dear Jean, Thank you for sharing a review. We’re glad you enjoyed your family getaway to Silver Birches. We’re sorry to hear you were disappointed in the condition of the Fairview House. As you said, staffing is an ongoing challenge, especially during the busy summer season. But we regret if it affected your experience. Your feedback is important to us and we’ll be sure to relay your comments to our staff. Please know the issues you describe are not typical. Guest satisfaction is a top priority. We regret that we have fallen short. Please come again. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
Jennt414 wrote a review Aug 2021
Green Lane, Pennsylvania85 contributions65 helpful votes
We stayed in the Lakeside Cabins which are about 1/4 of mile away from the resort. They offer a complementary shuttle to and from the resort which was great. The cabins were very nice with all the modern conveniences. Only negatives are the cabins are located along a very loud, busy road. and lakeside is deceiving. There are many trees on a sloped hill between the cabins and the lake. The resort itself was very beautiful. We enjoyed sitting by the pool while our children swam. There was ample seating by the pool. The resort offers seating along the lake which we enjoyed both days. However, it was a little difficult on the Saturday to get a seat. There was a large group of young adults who overtook the seating and games. It was a little frustrating because they weren't even sitting in the lawn chairs but their personal items were holding their place. They finally realized they were monopolizing the areas and freed up some seating. WE had discover that three weddings were taking place over the weekend which added more bodies to the property. The resort has a bar area near the pool. It was nice to enjoy a few beverages by the pool and lake. The only negative is that the resort parking lot is very tight and spaces are limited especially if events are taking place on the property.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah O'Fee, Guest Services / Front Office at Silver Birches Resort
Responded Aug 30, 2021
Dear Jenn, We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing a review. It's great to hear you took advantage of all the amenities including the complimentary shuttle service. We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to share your comments with our team. Please come again. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$272 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ehrhardt`s waterfront hotel hawley
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Ehrhardt's Waterfront Resort
LOCATION
United StatesPennsylvaniaPocono Mountains RegionHawley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Silver Birches Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Silver Birches Resort?
Nearby attractions include Harmony In The Woods (2.8 miles), Costa's Family Fun Park (3.1 miles), and Penny Lane Candies & Candles (3.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Silver Birches Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Silver Birches Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Silver Birches Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Silver Birches Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Silver Birches Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Settlers Inn, The Boat House Restaurant, and Glass Wine. Bar. Kitchen..
Are there opportunities to exercise at Silver Birches Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Silver Birches Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.