We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Solstice

AscendHotels$85*
View Deal
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Solstice
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

312 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Solstice
See the most recent reviews
Showing 311: English reviews
Prospect, United States
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Our room had a broken bed and 2 holes in the walls, the hotel was full so they did not fix it and could not move us to another room (they did give us 1 night free but made no effort to fix or replace the bed). The breakfast had frozen milk, a broken waffle iron, stale cereal, the wrong...

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debra R
CarlsonRezidor, Online, Customer Support at Solstice, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services with the condition of our guest rooms and breakfast. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations. If you would like to discuss your...

Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were told they had cribs right at check in and then had to call several times before they brought a broken pack n play. We were told that was all they had so had to sleep with baby. The carpeting and sofa in our suite was very dirty and breakfast was a bit chaotic with things running out. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheri P
springville, United States
Reviewed August 18, 2014

If you like a hotel with a fresh smell you won't like this place. It stinks... literally! After a few hours I had an upset stomach that didn't go away until I was clear of the hotel. The smell makes you wonder is it Mold, cleaner or both.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
CarlsonRezidor, Online, Customer Support at Solstice, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations. If you would like to discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.

Punxsutawney, United States
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Good location, nice hotel, our second morning breakfast wasn't that great this time and there were never any free cookies in the cookie display, I mean like NEVER> They said they couldn't keep up with them but I didn't see very many people around and I know they only take 12 minutes to bake a batch.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed at this establishment approx. 11 years ago when it was new and was very pleased. This was a mother/daughter shopping trip and as we pulled up to the building we became concerned by the crocked shutters on several outside windows. Entering the lobby we were meet with the strong smell of chlorine from the pool which was at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellen L
CarlsonRezidor, Online, Customer Support at Solstice, responded to this review

We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.

Reviewed August 17, 2014

We love Country Inn & Suites and have always had enjoyable stays in the past, that is until Erie. The hotel is in need of some serious cleaning and could use a fresh coat of paint. The hotel was dirty and so was our room. The walls were scuffed up, the towels were dingy and our bed spread had stains...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith G
CarlsonRezidor, Online, Customer Support at Solstice, responded to this review

We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.

mississauga, Canada
Reviewed August 15, 2014

this hotel is dirty and the breakfast was terrible no waffle mix for 2 days -stale muffins-no fresh fruit for 3 days pool area was dirty...do not go in whirlpool...very dirty front desk manager just said sorry we are short on cleaning staff- my reply...then hire some

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
CarlsonRezidor, Online, Customer Support at Solstice, responded to this review

We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.

Pittsburgh
Reviewed August 15, 2014

No cookies upon check in.... Pool heater does not work. Freezing water. Same dirty old bandaid someone dropped in pool area was there in the same spot all 3 days. Not to mention that the same dirt and huge hairball floating in the pool were there all 3 days. Can you say health hazard? Our room was dirty. Broken mirror...

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank SamBamBam
CarlsonRezidor, Online, Customer Support at Solstice, responded to this review

We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Thankfully we only stayed here one night. There was a hole in the wall with all sorts of wires exposed. We had to cover it with something so our two children didn't bother it. The door in the bathroom was falling apart and we could clearly see mold on the ceiling in the shower. I expect more when I spend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jens2279
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Solstice, responded to this review

Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of your room, including a hole in the wall and the bathroom door. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns and Suites by Carlson standards.

Pittsburgh, PA
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Our second stay in a year and the conditions have not improved. Room carpeting was filthy, towels dingy gray. The second of two ice makers out of order STILL. Could not stay connected to the internet, with marginal assistance from staff, repeated "resetting" necessary. Keys of several guests had to be reset throughout the weekend. Breakfast items in short supply,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MREELL
CarlsonRezidor, Online, Customer Support at Solstice, responded to this review

We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
06/04/2017 06/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#29 of 38 in Erie
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Erie, PA
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
1.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Solstice features an indoor pool and a fitness center. High-speed wireless Internet access is complimentary. A complimentary breakfast is offered each morning. This family-friendly hotel also offers complimentary newspapers in the lobby, a fireplace in the lobby, and dry cleaning/laundry services. Onsite self parking is complimentary. Solstice is a smoke-free property. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Solstice

Address: 8040 Oliver Rd, Erie, PA 16509-4620 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Erie South)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Price Range: $84 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Solstice 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Solstice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Erie South Hotel Erie
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson Erie South
Country Inn Erie South
Erie Country Inn
Country Inn Suite Erie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Solstice staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Solstice staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I would recommend calling first to make sure the renovations are done. When I asked how long this was going on, they said a year!”
942wendib, Apr 11, 2017 | Read review
“We liked the 1st floor. The pool was a few doors away and the little ones loved that and so did we.”
787phyllisc, Aug 22, 2016 | Read review
“We were on the 3rd floor near the elevator & vending machines_Quiet. 1st floor had extra padding under the carpeting.”
CrunchandMunch17, Aug 21, 2016 | Read review
“I would not stay again”
mortaleffect, Jul 11, 2016 | Read review
“Pick another hotel”
W3607HWrebeccaf, Mar 11, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
AscendHotels
$85* /night
View Deal
Priceline$100
TripAdvisor$85
Expedia.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates