We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tree Top Bed & Breakfast

Traveler (9)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (1)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This home was built "Green" in 2006, with all the latest energy efficient technology & renewable resources, on a tranquil Mt. top. We enjoy a fantastic 30 mile view of the countryside with small towns and farmland. During the summer, we are surrounded by over 300 acres of green, mature trees. The quiet street is 600' away, and no close neighbors, so you can enjoy the sounds of birds singing. We offer 6 spacious guest suites (some with fireplaces), each uniquely decorated, with a private bath. Most have big whirlpool tubs and showers. 2 are on the 1st floor, wheel chair accessible. Most can sleep 3 or 4 people. Guests have shared use of the common areas - kitchen, dining room, living room, large screened porch, deck, and grounds. w/ pool, gazebo, and fire pit area. You can also rent the "House" as a vacation home rental, incl. the 1st & 2nd floors, and grounds. Sleeps 20 max. Availability posted here is not accurate. Please check availability on our personal website.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room features
Refrigerator in room
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
32Reviews
17Photos
0Q+A
2Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 16
  • 9
  • 2
  • 1
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We were so looking forward to spending the weekend away. We were in the area for a wedding and have stayed at many bed and breakfast establishments. To say we were disappointed is an understatement. When we arrived, it was not quaint, cute, or clean. It was hot in the house.
Read more
Response from TreeTopBB, Owner at Tree Top Bed & Breakfast
Responded Dec 1, 2018
Ranee,, I am sorry your time here was not all you expected. I do remember you, because you arrived wearing a heavy sweater, on a beautiful June day. Temps were in the mid 70's outside, so windows were open, with inside temps also in the mid 70's. When you mentioned AC, I suggested you would be more comfortable if you removed your sweater. I guessed you had the AC in your car turned to COLD. By late evening, outside temps had fallen to below 70, and I would have had to set the inside thermostat to 68 degrees to get the AC to function very long. With central AC, and windows open in most rooms, this was not an option. My website shows a photo of the Peace suite, and description that states there is a queen and a double bed. Why would you expect a king bed? A curtain separates the bedroom from the bathroom, blocking any view. I keep the "Daily Shower Cleaner" spray bottle in the shower, as many people like to give the shower a quick spray after each use, to keep it clean & sanitary. If you prefer to not touch it, just ignore it. Out high elevation makes it impossible for anyone to see into the 2nd floor windows, so more than sheer curtains are not needed for privacy. We are 2 miles from Rt. 222. The traffic "noise" from it is not loud. There is very little traffic on our street. The cats are rarely in the 1st & 2nd floors of the house - usually outside. The outside air here on the mountaintop is cleaner/clearer than most places. My website shows a picture of Casper (cat) and the surrounding woods. Someone has allergies to plants/trees/ cats would be wise to take an allergy pill on arrival, or stay elsewhere. I usually cook the eggs & toast after the guests have been seated, and serve them directly from the pan - hot. Bacon is room temp, cut in half to make it easier to cook/eat. A fly does occasionally come in, and die. I clean/vacuum after all guests have gone for the day. So, a dead bug in the late afternoon will still be there til late morning the next day. I must confess, I was busy, and unaware that you were "so unhappy". and not staying for the 2nd night. Many people love to wake to the sound of bird song coming in the open windows.
Read more
I booked with place which such high hopes as it "looked" great online and had so many options for kids. First we get to the house and it was dirty, especially the fridge (I took pictures that's how shocked I was) Also, she must have cats and let them in as there was cat hair
Read more
Response from TreeTopBB, Owner at Tree Top Bed & Breakfast
Responded Dec 1, 2018
Isabel, I am sorry your were not happy with the property. I would have replied sooner, but am just now seeing this review, more than a year after you were here (Labor Day weekend 2017). I usually do the cleaning myself, so I know the house was not "dirty". If you had told me then, I would have gladly cleaned whatever spot you found. I do have 2 cats, who are usually outside, or in with me on the ground floor overnight. The sofa cushion covers, on the 1st floor, are all washed at the beginning of summer, so I'm sure they were not covered in cat hair. Sometimes people wo live in a city have allergic reactions to the pollen that is prevalent in the woods & country - lots of trees and plants. Yes, the pool was cloudy, after 6" of rain 2 days before you arrived. I thought it better to have the chemicals weaker than ideal, rather than heavily dose the water to get it clear again. This is a private pool, not used by many people, so unlikely to be contaminated. My grandkids and I had been playing in it that day - perfectly safe. I have never had that happen before, or since. It was not the desired appearance, but not unsanitary. The pool was located about 300' from the house, as I had told them before they reserved. It has since been moved to 30' from the house. We have a 40'x 60' level area with several inches of sand on it, and a pile of sand about 2' high. It is not covered, so there may be a spider & earth worms in it. Probably a few weeds have popped up in it, some leaves & sticks fell on it. This is a country home in a natural setting, in the woods. Not a manicured resort with many groundskeepers. Quite suitable and safe for kids to play in. My grandkids play in/on the trampoline every time they are here, so I had the leaves cleaned out before you arrived. There were only a few falling at end of Aug. Again - I regret that the pool water was not sparkling & clear when you arrived. It was the day before all the rain, and chemical levels were right on. This was beyond my control. I explained this to you, but you chose to not touch the water.
Read more
My husband and I rented the apartment for 2 months in the Spring culminating in our F&M attending child's graduation. We were delighted with the amenities which allowed us to cook our own homemade meals, wash our laundry and relax in a scenic area of Ephrata and Lancaster
Read more
If you're looking for a reasonably priced place to get away from the city and decompress in the country, the Tree Top Bed and Breakfast is the place to go. We stayed in the "Peace" room on the second floor for 3 nights and had a very quiet, relaxing stay. When you come to Tree
Read more
My husband and I had never stayed at a Bed & Breakfast before. I have only seen them in movies. I must say that I was impressed! I enjoyed the home and property!! It was a great place to stay and will definitely stay there again if we are ever in the area. It was close to
Read more
Response from TreeTopBB, Owner at Tree Top Bed & Breakfast
Responded Oct 17, 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed your time here. We put a lot of work into providing a nice place for you to relax, and it's good to know that it's appreciated. We will enjoy seeing you again.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Bedroom view - Love Suite
Bedroom window view - Love Suite
Bedroom - Love Suite
Bathroom - Love Suite
Bathroom - Love Suite
PreviousNext
12
"Run don't walk to another place"
"Place is horrible"
LOCATION
United StatesPennsylvaniaEphrata
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing