Langley Castle Hotel
This might be the best view of a hotel you'll ever have.
Traveler (1655)
Radcliffe Room
Room & Suite (370)
Langley Castle Hotel
Videos (1)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Only 5 left at
$171
$159
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hotels in Langley-on-Tyne
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.6
Value
4.2
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
An authentic 14th Century Fortified Castle, in Its own woodland state. All rooms In The castle have private facilities, four poster beds, window seats set into 7ft thick walls. Some Rooms also have private “features” such as a sauna, semi-sunken bath, double air-bath and open fireplaces. Castle view, located within the castle grounds, offers an additional 18 rooms, all with private facilities and Wonderful views of the castle. The magnificent drawing room with blazing log fire, compliments the intimate Josephine restaurant
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Chapel / shrine
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Seating area
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TheAA: The Automobile Association.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English

Location

A686, Langley-on-Tyne, Hexham NE47 5LU England
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 39 out of 100
39
Newcastle Airport
23.4 mi
See all flights
Carlisle Lake District Airport
21.9 mi
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles1,762 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Langley Castle Hotel is a heralded retreat that blends historical allure with modern comforts, according to guests. The spacious rooms, lauded for their comfort and charm, complement the luxurious atmosphere and pristine cleanliness celebrated by many reviewers. While the dining experience and professional staff generally meet high expectations, some visitors feel the cost does not always match the quality. Nevertheless, the hotel's prime location makes it a popular base for exploring Northumberland's rich history.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Luxurious
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
1,762Review29Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,286
  • 262
  • 121
  • 54
  • 40
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Billythefish1 wrote a review Nov 2023
Southport, United Kingdom1,427 contribution469 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely place and very comfy rooms. Great meals and service. Lots of history and very interesting stories on the place. No lifts but a magnificent staircase. Lovely grounds.Good car park and close to Hexham.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: converted rooms in stables easy to climb.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Langley Castle, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel
Responded Nov 29, 2023
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding the team and the service you received whilst staying here at Langley Castle. We are delighted you enjoyed our beautiful grounds. We hope you get the opportunity to return soon. Best wishes to you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian H wrote a review Mar 2020
Bradford, United Kingdom33 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed on a deal offered direct by the Hotel, they easily matched the well known booking sites best deals. Our room in the actual Castle (The Percy Rm 5) was the best way to experience the real castle feel, big stonework feature walls, stained glass windows, comfy four poster bed amongst complimentary furniture and drapes.
The huge Drawing room with real fire and ample sofas was a perfect setting for relaxing and chatting with other guests as you wish and for pre dinner drinks.
The Restaurant also had a good ambience, the food was really good and the table service perfectly attentive. The young female waiting on was brilliant and very worthy of this individual call out - faultless service. Next mornings breakfast was from a wide choice, presented to a notable standard and all perfectly cooked including fish selections and eggs.
Just prior to check out we joined an informative tour of the Castles main features which included an in depth narrative of its history.
Overall a lovely experience and so long as you accept that it was always a "Castle" first, then you should enjoy.

My only adverse comment...the music in the restaurant. In the evening although the volume was just right for dining it was sombre orchestral almost depressing. At breakfast there was nothing, just an uncomfortable silence whilst several tables had whispered conversation to themselves.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: In Castle rooms are fab so long as you remember it's a hotel converted from an ancient castle.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Langley Castle, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel
Responded Mar 22, 2020
Dear Ian H Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Percy Room, it does have all the features you would expect, from a room in a genuine 14th. century castle. I am pleased you enjoyed the food in the Josephine Restaurant, and you were well looked after by our staff. I am delighted you joined the battlement tour, it does give a very interesting insight into Langley's varied history, I have noted your comments regarding the background music, and this is being investigated. I do hope we shall have the opportunity to welcome you back to Langley in the not too distant future. Best Regards Elaine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Fiona L wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom27 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We choose Langley Castle for my husbands 40th birthday celebrations and we were very pleased we did. The location is beautiful of course, being a castle with an authentic historical story on the heart of Northumberland, but the staff are the ones who make it a really memorable experience for their guests.
The team here were polite and professional, as well as being genuinely excited about our special occasion. Thank you for the thoughtful card on arrival.
Castle Rooms are fit for a Queen/King, with traditional castle decor & elegantly decorated, drapes and tapestries galore, it was the four poster bed that I personally loved the most with a comfortable mattress (very important).
The team take great pride in their service and the restaurant was expertly managed with very well presented food - portions were good - highly recommend the Mushroom Risotto & Flat iron steak. The upper bar team kindly made me a rose champagne when they run out of peach Bellini mix, it was so delightful I would recommend you add this rose cocktail to the menu, just a thought.
I won’t give too much away as you really should go and experience it for yourself, but do so knowing you will have a wonderful time feeling like part of the Langley Castle family.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Langley Castle, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel
Responded Mar 17, 2020
Dear fifilangton Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay with us. Comments such as yours are so important as feed back to the team, and I will ensure your kind comments are passed on. I note in particular your enjoyment of your restaurant experience, I must admit the Mushroom Risotto is one of my favourite dishes. I am so pleased you both enjoyed your husbands special birthday, I do hope you visit us for many more. Best Regards Elaine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
judeloc wrote a review Jul 2021
Chesterfield, United Kingdom480 contributions226 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Without doubt the approach to this establishment is lovely but on arrival, having been directed to the Castle View Suite in the newer Stone complex I was very surprised to find the room was quite dusty & the bathroom, although clean, had mould around the shower tray & in the grouting. The covid policy was that no staff would enter the room for the duration of our stay & towel replenishment would be left in the hallway but I had expected that the room be cleaned prior to our arrival. There was a pre-order the night before rule for meals & my husband had chosen yoghurt, fruit compote & Full English for breakfast. I had ordered the fruit salad. On arrival at the table we found 3 very small ramekins containing the chilled items . As the fruit salad was my main breakfast I had expected a more substantial portion. The cooked breakfast was mediocre also.
The following day having ordered only continental breakfasts we waited 40 minutes for tea & coffee & after a further 10 minutes waiting we abandoned breakfast lodging a complaint with reception & also cancelled the following day breakfast. We had also cancelled an evening meal. I appreciate that we are going through some very trying times currently and do sympathise with the situation the hospitality trade are suffering but nevertheless, when paying what I feel is an expensive rate I would have hoped to have received a good standard of service and I feel this was greatly lacking. This is not an establishment to which I would return or recommend any one visit.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Langley Castle, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel
Responded Jul 27, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to comment. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Our breakfast fruit salad's are usually served as part of the breakfast and not the whole breakfast. We would have happily given you more fruit had you have asked for more. Our housekeeping team work very hard every day to maintain high standards I am sorry on this occasion you felt they did not meet your standards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DAP39 wrote a review Jan 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom79 contributions57 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you want to experience staying in a 14th Century castle and yet have up to the minute luxury then Langley Castle is for you. Staying in the castle itself means really interesting if quirky rooms with all mod cons but you need to be aware that access might involve lots of stairs or even a spiral staircase and sometimes the shower is over the bath. Although there is a lift, it is a service lift and you must be accompanied by a member of staff, so if you have mobility issues you will probably be better in the castle view rooms. We stayed in Room 22 which is just lovely, easily accessible and has a seperate bath and easy access shower. The food is good and although it is not stated on the menu, the staff are happy to cater for allergies and intolerances. The hotel usually provides feather bedding. If you ask, they can change the pillows for anti allergy but if you require an anti allergy duvet, you need to bring your own. The staff were brilliant. Do not miss the castle tour at 10.15am each morning.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Castle view rooms on the ground floor are easy access. You need to specify requirements when you...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Langley C, Manager at Langley Castle Hotel
Responded Feb 4, 2020
Dear DAP39 Thank you so much for your kind review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear your room was to your liking. Although these rooms are not within the main castle they do provide every comfort. I note your comment about the Castle tour, this is enjoyed by so many of our guests, and give a real insight into the history of the Castle. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Langley in the very near future. Best Regards Elaine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JVT wrote a review Mar 2020
Sunderland, United Kingdom215 contributions240 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We revisited the castle and stayed for one night after many years ago.

We arrived for champagne afternoon tea which was excellent and very decent value for money.

Staying in the De Lucy feature room, we were very impressed by the very high ceiling, the deep and beautiful window seat and the stained glass upper window. The arch door to enter the room was mirrored by the same distinctive historic door to the bath room and again repeated into the shower - very lovely.

The four post bed was pretty and was nice to look down to from the elevated window seat area.

The room could do with a little TLC (small things like wallpaper coming off above the window seat wall, broken drawer handle and dust on the radiator (I know it’s a castle but dust should be tended to). My wife thought this was the ‘groupon’ room, referring to the deal we had bought via groupon.

The drawing room was charming and a lovely place to relax pre dinner ) and where we enjoyed afternoon tea).

The restaurant is also a lovely feature room and evening meal was alright. A tad haute cuisine-esq and whilst well prepared and tasty was rather meagre.

On the other hand, the breakfast was 11/10 - fabulous.

All staff were pleasant and it is a place we will rerun time in the summer next time around.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Langley Castle, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel
Responded Mar 17, 2020
Dear 391JohnT Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I am delighted you enjoyed the De-Lucy Room, it is a favourite with a lot of our regular guests, especially those who enjoy the walk-in wet room. I note your comments regarding the small issues with the décor, the wallpaper has now been repaired, we have ordered a new set of drawer handles. Housekeeping have been made aware of the issues with the dust. I am pleased you enjoyed your afternoon tea, the Drawing Room setting is perfect for such a treat. We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer. Best Regards Elaine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kate9639 wrote a review Sep 2021
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom32 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited for afternoon tea for a friend’s birthday and it was just lovely!! From the very first email sent to enquire about booking the service was exemplary.
Every part of the Afternoon tea was delicious. The service was excellent - the staff member even coming over to apologise when there was a slight delay in providing further pots of tea.
Afternoon tea consisted of 4 finger sandwiches, 2 scones and 4 mini deserts (lemon cake, brownie, macaron and panacotta).
Tables were well spaced out in a large room so felt covid-safe.
Only very slight gripe was that a 10% service charge was automatically added on to the bill which I’m not a fan of (and as it happens I would have actually given a higher tip if this hadn’t been automatically added!!)
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: We found plenty of parking. We were able to book by just emailing the hotel. Afternoon tea was...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Langley Castle, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel
Responded Sep 14, 2021
Many thanks for your kind comments Kate I will certainly pass them onto the team both the kitchen and the restaurant teams. I'm pleased you felt safe regarding covid. Thank you for your comments regarding the 10% gratuity we appreciate your constructive comment. It is discretionary and it's not a problem to remove it however we appreciate you would have preferred to deal with it separately. We look forward to welcoming you back to the castle.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachel wrote a review Feb 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself and my partner had a weekend booked as a Stay was present from family. We had planned to stay Friday and Saturday. Unfortunately due to illness we could not make the Friday. My partners sister who arranged the booking called up Langley and asked to move the weekend. Langley said not possible which i totally understand and accept as it was short notice. As a result we cancelled the Friday night. By the Saturday we felt well enough to go so my partners sister gave another call to say we would attend. The whole weekend was prepaid as it was a gift. At this point the lady on the phone said that we would not be able to stay as the room had been cancelled. This was not true. It appears that Langley had just decided to resell the room and get the money twice! Well after three angry phonecalls Langley decided we could stay in the room already paid!!
So we arrive and room is very nice and we go for drinks and dinner. For starter i ordered scallops and was given precisely 1.5 scallops and they were very small. I then had the monkfish, which would have fitted on a teaspoon. I am a petite and slim female and do not have a huge appetite. This is the first time in my life i have been shocked at portioning! We ordered a 2017 chardonnay to have with the meal. What was given was the 2018, after a bit of research we found the 2018 vintage is a fraction of the cost. Sneaky Langley! All in all meals and drinks cost £250. Myself and my partner love good food and will happily pay for an amazing meal. I recognise the skill it takes to make great food and the cost of quality ingredients but this was simply not worth the money. We were also the first table filled in the restaurant yet we were placed in the worst location, right beside the servers station where we felt uncomfortable even speaking to each other! I should also point out the drinks in the bar are extortionate and when i ordered a double gin and tonic i was charged £12.60? The double gin was around £6 so where did the other £6.60 come from??
So cut to breakfast, well it was a sunday So as you can imagine most guests had a lie in. Breakfast was from 7:30am-9:30am. We arrived at 9am as had most of the other guests. This should not have been a surprise. We waited around 30 mins for food which was not too bad but we witnessed tables around us who had ordered before us and waiting 45 mins plus for breakfast!
All in all a real disappointment but I have to commend the staff who we spoke to that were extremely friendly and helpful. The issues are not with the staff themselves but it seems it must be the management and way the hotel has been run.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Langley C, Manager at Langley Castle Hotel
Responded Feb 10, 2020
Dear Martinrach477777 In response to your trip advisor review, you appear to have missed out some very important facts. You have omitted to say this was your second booking, as your first booking was cancelled at short notice at the end of January. You will note that Groupon vouchers state no modification or cancellation allowed after booking has been confirmed with hotel. It was indeed management who allowed Groupon's terms and conditions to be over ruled to your benefit. Your second booking, you tried to cancel on the day of arrival, and we did say this would not be possible as this would be the second time you cancelled the booking, allowing us no time to resell the room. At no point did we cancel any rooms and indeed the room on the Friday night was available for your use, it was not resold. You mention three angry phone calls, we can confirm the receptionist on duty was very shaken up because of your manner towards her. The 2017 and 2018 Chardonnay are exactly the same price, which can be confirmed with our vintner. Having gone through your bar bill, I can confirm that the Gin you chose was £5.20 for each single measure, with the addition of a tonic, the price was correct. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff. Best Regards Elaine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SouthWestTyke wrote a review Feb 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom71 contributions35 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed the experience, we booked it in December 2019 for a holiday at the end of January 2020.

The accommodation was good, we had one of the better rooms in the hotel

The internal decorations of the hotel are a little tired, but I think that the establishment eats cash, so I understand the pressures of reinvestment by the owners.

The restaurant was good, worthy of four stars, like our stay.

This review would be four stars, however on the tour of the castle we chatted to a few of the guests who had booked their break with Hotels.com, and we were very disappointed to learn that they had booked with Hotels.com and got a much better rate than that of our own which was booked directly.

When i factored in that Hotels.com charge a commission,and those guests were not using the restaurant, it left me feeling that our business was not as valued as it should have been.

We have been in contact with the hotel who have offered us an extra discount if we choose to stay again, which if we are in the area in the future, we will, however, the fact remains that we were, in our minds not rewarded for our direct booking nor our loyalty eating at the restaurant and taking in the whole experience unlike other guests who got the penny and the bun, (i.e. just cheap luxury accommodation).

My advice is to stay, but check Hotels.com before you book, as the variances in price are material, (circa 30%), and I was under the illusion that we were being looked after on price with a Hadrian's Wall experience package, which proved to be a false narrative, and there was little sympathy shown by the hotel management.

Perhaps if we are passing sometime in the future, we will be repeating the stay, but this time at the correct price, and clawing back some of our 'over payment'.

In summary a four star experience, trimmed down to three stars because of the hotels chosen pricing strategy.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Only Book on Hotels.com, do not book directly, as you will get a better room for your money
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Langley Castle, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel
Responded Feb 29, 2020
Dear SouthWestTyke Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. I am pleased we have had the opportunity to discuss with you personally, the issues raised, and been able to come to a resolution. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Langley, we will ensure you have an enjoyable return visit, and I feel sure you will give us that 4 or even 5 star review. Best Regards Elaine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bacchus68 wrote a review Jul 2021
Cheshire, United Kingdom68 contributions45 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a fantastic experience and we can now tick off our bucket list the wish to stay in a castle!

We stayed in the Cadwallader Room which was spacious, had a bathroom the size of which could have accommodated a party and a divinely comfortable four-poster bed.

Without exception, all members of staff were friendly, approachable and had a 'can do' attitude which given, in the main, their relative youth was welcome and perhaps surprising. They are all a credit to the hotel.

The food is just wonderful. The menus, both breakfast and dinner, do not change. The dinner menu has a choice of five starters, mains and puddings which, currently, one has to choose a couple of hours in advance of one's dining time. The quality of the food and its presentation is superb. It is almost churlish to choose favourites as they are all so delicious but the pigeon breast starter, cod loin main and tropical pudding just nudge it for me.

We also took afternoon tea one day. This was also excellent but very filling so choose your time wisely to allow it to digest before dinner!

At this time, housekeeping is not being allowed inside rooms to service them so fresh towels, toiletries etc are left outside the room. This practice contradicted that in a hotel we stayed in immediately after this one where our room was serviced everyday. I am unsure why there is different practice in different hotels; but hopefully the need for it will become obsolete in short order.

I close my review with the caveat that I only ever grant a hotel five 'stars' if absolutely everything is perfect. There was one element which prevents the ultimate accolade: the seats and tables outside are not cleared and cleaned of the detritus and consequences of being placed around or under trees which, given the attention to detail inside the castle, we found surprising.

Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: A room in the castle itself makes the whole experience so much better.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Langley Castle, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel
Responded Jul 7, 2021
Thank you for your marvellous comments particularly concerning your meals whilst at the castle. Chef and his team are delighted that you have described his food as 'superb'. We take on board your comments concerning the tables under the trees. We hope you get the opportunity to visit again without the need for all of the covid policies. Until then our best wishes to you both.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mickledale asked a question Jun 2022
York, United Kingdom13 contributions1 helpful vote
What time is check in?
Answer from tractorboy59
Lymington, United Kingdom328 contributions161 helpful votes
??
everton55 asked a question Nov 2020
Chester, United Kingdom7 contributions19 helpful votes
Do you have a lift in Castle for customers who struggle with stairs?
Answer from David L
1 contribution1 helpful vote
no
JC-DC-69 asked a question Jul 2020
Whitehaven, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
Do you have a Castle bridal suite 4 poster room that has a jacuzzi bath?
Answer from TravellerfromMIT
New York City, New York8 contributions4 helpful votes
Yes, usually the Greenwich room is used as Bridal Suite. See our web site (TripAdvisor did not allow me to insert link.) It not only has a 4 poster and a large jacuzzi bath, it has a separate bride's room for putting on make-up with big lighted mark-up mirror and lights and high hooks for holding gown. If you have more questions, you can contact castle directly via email or (01434) 68 88 88.
Answer from Lynmichelle W
Sunderland, United Kingdom18 contributions5 helpful votes
It's a lovely walk just a couple of miles
Answer from Mike
Manchester, United Kingdom42 contributions39 helpful votes
I think you would need two rooms, the castle view suites do have a pull out bed but I dont think it would be comfortable for two teenagers. It was great for our 10 year old daughter but tat's about it really.
trevw69 wrote a tip Yesterday
Essex, United Kingdom64 contributions43 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lots of stairs within the castle, if you have mobility issues stay in the castle view rooms or ask for a feature room on a lower floor."
Read full review
Heather W wrote a tip May 23
Saint Louis, Missouri51 contributions28 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ample parking available. Hard to find anywhere nearby to drop off laundry for wash and fold service. Breakfast was underwhelming."
Read full review
David R wrote a tip May 15
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is no lift and all rooms are up at least one flight of stairs. Staff will help with bags."
Read full review
C F wrote a tip Apr 2024
25 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book a room in the castle rather than the grounds. Worth the extra. Do the tour "
Read full review
Chris G wrote a tip Apr 2024
North Walsham, United Kingdom13 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Top tip - stay here for a wonderful experience!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Langley-on-Tyne area.
PRICE RANGE
$151 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel langley castle, langley castle hexham, castle langley, langley castle hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandNorthumberlandHexhamLangley-on-Tyne
NUMBER OF ROOMS
27
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LANGLEY CASTLE HOTEL $155 ($̶2̶0̶6̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Langley Castle Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Langley Castle Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Alpaca Encounters (4.7 miles), Vindolanda (4.7 miles), and Housesteads Roman Fort - Hadrian's Wall (4.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Langley Castle Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Langley Castle Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Langley Castle Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Langley Castle Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Langley Castle Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Carts Bog Inn, General Havelock Inn, and Bardon Mill Village Store and Tea Room.
Is Langley Castle Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Langley-on-Tyne.
Are any cleaning services offered at Langley Castle Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Langley Castle Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Langley Castle Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Vindolanda (4.7 miles), Housesteads Roman Fort - Hadrian's Wall (4.8 miles), and Sewingshields Wall (1.4 miles).
Does Langley Castle Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
All Langley-on-Tyne HotelsLangley-on-Tyne Hotel DealsHotels near Langley Castle Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars