We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge Clairton

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1303 Clairton Blvd, Clairton, PA 15025 (Formerly Starlite Motel)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Clairton
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
GOTHA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015 via mobile

This chain is a motel and not a hotel. Access is from where you park, not inside like a hotel. Rooms were good size with the bathroom off (deeper in). As advertised, breakfast is continental- cereal, pastries, muffins, waffles, coffee and juice. Staff was friendly.

Helpful?
Thank spyderman_O
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2015

This motel had very comfortable clean rooms. The wifi was good and the breakfast room was clean and comfortable for a self service continental breakfast. This hotel was good value for the basic service it provides. We did have a minor difficulty finding the entrance off the fairly busy highway 51 maybe a new sign would help. There seemed to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yakstrom
econo408, Manager at Econo Lodge Clairton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Manny P.... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015 via mobile

It says it is pet friendly! They are not! Went to there for a night with my fiancé and puppy paid for the room and then the Indian owner very rude told the front desk we could not stay there due to us having a dog. So we had to get refunded and find a different place to stay. Was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cory S
econo408, Manager at Econo Lodge Clairton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience your dog may have caused you. you did not inform any of the staff when booking the room that you had a dog. We ARE pet friendly but we can not take the risk of a pet of any kind in our Jacuzzi room. we had other rooms that were... More 

holiday, florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015 via mobile

This hotel advertised pet friendly bit don't let that fool you. The Indian run/owned hotel does not like pets. We received many dirty looks and comments from the staff about the 5# puppy traveling with us. Then the manager called and demanded we check out prior to our time because of the dog and charged us two times for the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jmccomis
econo408, Manager at Econo Lodge Clairton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to hear about your Experience concerning your pet. Yes we are a pet friendly hotel. However, we do require a pet fee for each night of the stay and were not paid that through your third party booking choice. If you have any questions regarding our pet policy, PLEASE feel free to call me at... More 

Ocala, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015 via mobile

Not the worse place I have ever stayed but I sure don't recommend it. Can't believe this is the most expensive hotel we have stayed at on our trip and also the worse. Front desk clerk was very nice but wouldn't let me get out of my reservation. Stained carpets, cracked and hole filed walls. Looks like a place primarily... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor H
econo408, Manager at Econo Lodge Clairton, responded to this review

Dear Trevor, We are sorry to hear that your were not happy with your recent stay. Our cancellation policy is 4pm and your arrived much later after that. However, you will be please to know that we have had many updates and renovations to our rooms and would like to invite you and your family to stay with us on... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015 via mobile

My mother in law, and father in law stayed there. This place is horrible. Stink bugs in the room, the toilet leaned to one side. Couldn't take a shower, when you ran the water, the sealing would start to fall in. Couldn't sleep, because of the room next door, called the front desk twice, they did nothing. Oh, and there... More 

Helpful?
Thank pittsburgh67
econo408, Manager at Econo Lodge Clairton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry that you were so displeased with your recent stay with us. Most of all, I would like to assure you 100% We DO NOT condone any type of illegal activity at our establishment, including any type of prostitution. We would have like to of known of your suspicions so that we could have resolved the... More 

Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

We booked a weekend stay in the Econo Lodge and were pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, and the beds very comfy. While the lodge is directly off of 51, you don't hear too much noise from the road itself even but it's in a great location. The rooms also appear to have been redecorated recently and are certainly nicer... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jray2436
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

This is a terrible place to stay. When we first arrived we requested a non-smoking room, the lady at the front desk saw fit to inform us that we could not smoke in a non-smoking room. Really? I had no idea! The night before checkout we called the front desk and requested a late checkout (at noon) and were told... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tierney C
econo408, Manager at Econo Lodge Clairton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, You will be happy to know that we have recently added new house keepers to our staff. We would like to apologize for your experience and have you stay with us on your next trip to the Pittsburgh area so that we can provide you with the quality that all of our guest deserve. Sincerely, Amy S More 

Augusta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

For me it felt very homey and comfortable. If i had to choose to live in a hotel, it would probably be this one. The beds were comfortable, it was quiet, the staff was nice and friendly. I would stay there again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Great selection of TV channels, comfy beds, good breakfast, excellent price. The way an Econo Lodge should be! One of the nicest bathrooms in a hotel ever. The bathrooms here are VERY large, bright, and are simply the cleanest I have ever seen. I mean they are CLEAN. You couldn't find a scratch, or speck of dirt anywhere in that... More 

Helpful?
Thank JKF56
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clairton
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 5 in West Mifflin
3.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
2.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Pittsburgh - West Mifflin
15.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/West Mifflin
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Mifflin
2.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites West Mifflin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay