We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University

Save
Share
1450 Providence Ave, Chester, PA 19013-5715
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Earn a Free Night!
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
BestWestern.com
Snaptravel
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (58)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (4)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 11/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 11/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 4 hotels in Chester
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Best Western Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University is the perfect hotel for your visit to Philadelphia and its suburbs. The hotel is located just minutes from Philadelphia International Airport, providing 24-hour Airport shuttle service. We are also located across from the campus of Widener University, and just minutes from Swarthmore College. Only 1 mile from Harrah's Casino and the closest hotel to PPL Park (Home of Major League Soccer's Philadelphia Union). The hotel provides complimentary 24-hour shuttle service, continental breakfast, free parking, free high speed wireless and wired internet access, daily newspapers and much more. Also featuring fitness and business centers. Stay at the newest, greenest, and most friendly Best Western hotel in the Philadelphia area!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn a Free Night!

Location

Full view
57Somewhat walkable
Grade: 57 out of 100
24Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
0Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
548Reviews6Q+A44Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 170
  • 155
  • 104
  • 57
  • 62
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jdmelvin wrote a review Nov 2020
Madison, Wisconsin1 contribution
Room was in terrible shape: door wouldn’t open due to ripped carpet, bathroom floor was sticky, bed had hair and stains all over it, radiator falling apart, terrible cigarette smell, desk leg falling off. The hallways had torn up carpet and the walls were falling a part.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest, I hope you are staying safe and healthy. I wanted to personally address the complaint of your stay at our hotel. We take such claims very seriously. Our housekeeping protocols are very important to us and we make sure that we inspect all of our rooms before check in. It is not like us to deliver poor accommodations and we will work our hardest to get back to the standard we are known for. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Read more
tlord2020 wrote a review Sep 2020
Baltimore, Maryland1 contribution
If you have to sleep at night and go to work alert the next day, forget about staying here. Other guests hanging out in the hall, yelling, slamming, and banging. My headboard was shaking from the banging doors. People banging on the walls too. Damn! The neighborhood is noisy as hell too.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University
Responded Sep 22, 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am very sorry for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. Know that your voice is of tremendous importance to us and we are confronting each of the issues that you mentioned especially with the condition of the bed to ensure that no guest has this experience in the future. I hope you will change your mind about seeking out new accommodations in the area and that you'll give us another chance to restore your faith in our hospitality and service.
Read more
DES wrote a review Sep 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel staff are completely rude. General Manager does not return calls or emails. Front desk provide attitude. Reservations are not honored as confirmed. Elevator not working and we had a disabled person with us. Homeless person approached us for money. Room was disgusting. We complained several times and have still not heard from anyone. This hotel needs to be shut down. There is no belief in customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Do not stay here - you will regret it - no matter the price.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University
Responded Sep 10, 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the situations you encountered during your stay. Please know, your description of your stay is highly unusual and does not represent the high standards we aim to achieve. In regards to the front desk staff member, I will address your concerns and make sure this behavior doesn't happen. Hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience
Read more
Angela R wrote a review Aug 2020
11 contributions3 helpful votes
Needed a place to stay before flying out of Philly. Trusting that this was a Best Western PLUS, I wasn’t too concerned with the quality or location. I was SO wrong. The hotel is difficult to get into. Parking area felt very unsafe. Area is not the best. The room was disgusting. There was a smell inside the room that was very offensive. It seemed to come from the very old window a/c unit so who knows what the smell actually was. The shower in the bathroom had mold and the shower floor was filthy. Bedding was old. It did not appear to be clean sheets on either bed as there was hair on the pillow and stains on the comforter. Bathroom towels were dirty and soiled. We had no back up toilet paper and the roll that was in the bathroom was almost gone. We had to request more towels and toilet paper which the front desk ask that I come and get myself. I did not feel like this hotel was taking the Covid 19 cleaning requirements seriously whatsoever. The elevator was filthy, and nothing looked sterile. I’m sorry, this is NOT a Best Western Plus property by any means. This is more in line with a Motel 6 or a very budget hotel. Spend the extra money and stay elsewhere. We learned our lesson. Room 340 needs major attention and a serious remodel, especially the shower. GROSS!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina M, General Manager at Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University
Responded Aug 11, 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience and I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Your feedback is very important to us, and I am saddened to hear that you had issues with housekeeping during your stay. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences. Here at Know that we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Read more
VinnieM8511 wrote a review May 2020
St. Thomas17 contributions3 helpful votes
I booked online, for a layover, and called for a pick up at the airport, only to be told the shuttle service was not running. The excuse was unacceptable. You should not advertise what you can't deliver. I paid $40.00 for round trip transport. The hotel deal turned out not to be such a good deal. The elevator was filthy. The room on entry smelled like mothballs. One hour later when I went down the elevator it still had not been clean. On return who ever cleaned the elevator did such a bad job the floor was sticky. Big mistake!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University
Responded May 26, 2020
Dear Valued Guest, I sincerely apologize for the issues with the shuttle service and the condition of the hotel at that time. It is not like us to deliver poor accommodations and we will work our hardest to get back to the standard we are known for. We are forever working to improve upon the guest experience and I hope you will remember our attributes and return to see how we have improved to impress you even more. Thank you.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$84 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western philadelphia airport south at widener university hotel chester, best western chester
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
BEST WESTERN PLUS Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University
LOCATION
United StatesPennsylvaniaChester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University
What are some of the property amenities at Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University?
Conveniently located restaurants include Upland Diner, Phatso's Bakery, and Lee's Market.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Does Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Chester.
Are pets allowed at Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Morton Morton House (4.0 miles) and William Penn Landing Site (1.2 miles).
Is Best Western Plus Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.