We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Brandywine River Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Brandywine River Hotel
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

330 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 329: English reviews
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
217 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The property was quite nice, which makes it especially unfortunate that the Manager was so unprofessional when I checked in. She seemed utterly disgusted that someone was there to check in, and then she hit the roof when I told her I was traveling with my dogs. I booked the room online, and my confirmation didn't say anything about calling... More 

Helpful?
Thank droppinout
daysspringfield, Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry you felt I was unprofessional, I know you had to wait while I checked in 9 guests and you were running late for a wedding and were upset to begin with. As for the dog rooms I did not hit the roof, I just explained that we only have 5 dog rooms that we allow the pets to... More 

Madison, Georgia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A dingy and depressing dump. The 1950's decor of the rooms--outdated furniture, granny wallpaper, bad bathroom fixtures, etc.--needs a complete overhaul, and the quality of the pillows and sheets was horrible. The continental breakfast is mediocre and there is no "wine and cheese" hour due to the lack of a liquor license. But worst is the attitude of the (almost... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
daysspringfield, Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review

I'm surprised you felt the hotel was old and the wallpaper depressing, we just had all that renovated including the rugs. The guests like the colonial feel since it is an historical era. We never advertised a wine and cheese hour, we have tea and cookies from 4:30-6:30 which everyone seems to enjoy. As for the check in agent, she... More 

Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our booking was messed up: I booked, long in advance and directly with the hotel, two rooms and called on the eve of arrival to confirm that we had two rooms reserved, but at arrival it turned out that only one room was booked. Fortunately, the receptionist found another room. While choosing this hotel, I relayed on "certificate of excellence"... More 

Helpful?
Thank Olga K
daysspringfield, Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review

I am truly sorry if you felt I was confrontational, you were visibly upset that the internet was not working, we had Comcast in the first day and they told us the problem was solved, again that evening it went down and Comcast came back the next day and put in a new router (which had a problem). As long... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This location was convenient for a business trip, closest hotel to the conference location. It was quaint and cute from the outside. Restaurants within walking distance and a cute little spa in front. The hotel is quite older, smells a little musty (but I sort of expected that from the other surroundings). The decor and fixtures and everything were older,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan M
daysspringfield, Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review

I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay and I can only apologize for the front desk agent who didn't call out on Sunday. She did call out Mon & Tues. Had I been aware (my day off) I would not have allowed her to work the desk, so for that I'm truly sorry. Thank you for the honest review and... More 

Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Peaceful, quiet and affordable. A little tucked away but conveniently located near shopping, restaurants, the Brandywine River musuem, the beautiful Longwood Gardens, Winterthur and local municipalities. All rooms have replacement windows that you can open to let in fresh air. A true gem.

Helpful?
Thank lewisn112016
daysspringfield, Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for your review and happy that you enjoyed your stay. Longwood at Christmas is magnificent so come back and see us again. Lisa/Office Manager More 

Bloomsbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A small, very quiet hotel. There is an elevator. The bathroom was smaller than most, but adequate and clean. The air-conditioning was quiet and effective. A mini fridge can be rented and coffee makers are available upon request. All rooms are non-smoking. Cookies and tea are available in the afternoon in the breakfast room, which has cloth tablecloths and napkins.... More 

Helpful?
Thank chateaurouxgirl
daysspringfield, Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for your review and hope to see you back again soon. Lisa/Office Manager More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was in a convenient location for our visit, had a large bathroom (but very small shower) and good-sized bedroom. It was clean but decorated in a homey manner. The free breakfast was laid out very well and the breakfast room was nice and welcoming. The staff seemed to keep to themselves and not very open to conversation.

Helpful?
Thank T K
daysspringfield, Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry you felt the staff was not very open to conversation. A few of my new agents are new so I think they are just feeling their way around the guests, hopefully when you return they will be ready for that conversation. Lisa/Office Manager More 

Dawsonville, Georgia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I had read of problems on Trip Advisor with the check-in process where the front desk staff hassled patrons for using Expedia to book the hotel. So, I went out of my way to avoid booking it that way. Apparently, I failed in that endeavor because I was ridiculed by the witch at the front desk when I checked-in. This... More 

Helpful?
Thank David M
daysspringfield, Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry you felt like your check in experience was very unpleasant. I remember your checking in and don't remember being a witch. You were upset that Expedia got you again and you seem to take it out on the front desk. Any questions that were asked were answered although I don't remember you asking for any recommendations or to... More 

home
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is older but recently upgraded to a comfortable facility. The rooms are large and clean although the TV is still several years old (pre flat screen) if that matters to you. Staff are very friendly and the breakfast is a diverse continental style with several kinds of muffins/breads, cereals, yogurt, waffles, and even hard boiled eggs. This is... More 

Helpful?
Thank jotenn
daysspringfield, Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You very much for the nice review we truly strive to make your stay a happy one. Please come visit us again Christmas at Longwood is spectacular. Lisa/Manager More 

Blue Ash, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Yes, older, but home-like, pleasant, easy to get to, convenient to local tourist destinations, not at all crowded, and quiet. Counter person was efficient and friendly. Only stayed one night. All was clean and working. Plenty of outlets. Jacuzzi was fine. Perfect for our Longwood Nightscape visit.

Helpful?
Thank Dave C
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chadds Ford
3.0 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
4.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
5.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Concordville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on a hillside in the heart of the Brandywine Valley, the Brandywine River Hotel offers distinctive European style lodging for both leisure and business travelers, capturing the unique charm and tranquility of the Brandywine in a stylish, colonial setting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Brandywine River Hotel

Address: 1609 Baltimore Pike, Building 300, Chadds Ford, PA 19317-7395
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Chadds Ford
Price Range: $123 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brandywine River Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Brandywine River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay