We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

The Historic Union Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Union
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Historic Union Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 41: English reviews
Portland, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our kids love this hotel. They love the stories, with a wink and smile, of the hotel's haunted past. After a long and arduous backpack, we check in, then sit down to dinner in the hotel's dining room - quality and quantity! We are doing it again! Family memories and traditions help keep us together. The Historic Union Hotel is,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nathan L
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

I came as part of a birding group of 16 people. We were nicely accommodated in historically-decorated no-frills rooms, mine with an adjoining bath between mine and my friend's room. The perfectly functional clawfoot tub/shower and period toilet added to the fun. The bed was clean and comfortable, but I got cold when the steam radiator system shut down for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mary H
Charlie M, Owner at The Historic Union Hotel, responded to this review

So glad the blanket solved your chilly night! Each room does have a small electric heater in the wall that you can control if needed when the boiler temperature drops for the night. I wish I had known you were uncomfortable! Thanks for staying with us and for your feedback More 

Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015

As a single woman traveling for business I felt completely safe in this old hotel. The owner and his dog were present in the lobby and the hotel, City of Union, and surrounding landscape were a life enriching experience.

Helpful?
Thank melody_henricks
Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

This is a really neat hotel built in the 1920's. The Davies Room has a huge wooden paneled shower with 2 shower heads which could hold at least 8 people..... if they were inclined to bathe together! And the dinners and breakfasts were excellent. They're "bicycle friendly" too; will store your bike safely in the basement. Highly recommend this place.... More 

Helpful?
Thank matkat7
Dexter, OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

We've stayed in the Historic Union Hotel twice now, both times after extended backpacking trips. We arrived tired and dirty, and were warmly welcomed. Our rooms were clean and comfortable and the old-time atmosphere authentic. What other hotel has a library and cozy reading room...as well as a large public room with board games and a warm fireside? We enjoyed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Wylda C
Camas, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015

Check their website and see the rooms they have available. The pictures you see are exactly what you get. (That isn't usually the case.) Each room is charmingly decorated in a special theme, i.e. SW, garden, 19th hole. Each room has a private bath and most have claw footed tubs with shower, and each room has its own individual air... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alyce R
Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
294 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

This is the second time we’ve stayed at this hotel. Our son lives here so we stayed three nights. I was late making my booking and the only room available was the Hoffman Suite. In reality, this is an apartment with a bedroom with a queen bed, a living/sleeping room with two twin beds, a kitchen and a bathroom (see... More 

Helpful?
Thank jspace63
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
184 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

A restored hotel in the grand style of the past. Ruth, Charlie, Amber and Rosie the dog will accomodate your every need, from a bike room to an early breakfast (6 am) or a late lunch or dinner. They even let us keep our things in the room the nite were were gone. The place has a collection of restored... More 

Helpful?
Thank soloman9993
Olympia, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

This is an old seedy hotel - flies in the lights - nothing charming about this place! The mattress was shot and bent inward ... We could and should have gone to a best western and had clean rugs, a room that wasn't smelly etc. blankets on the bed looked worn and dirty. No tv, no ice no amenities ...... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank AliGator55
Charlie M, Manager at The Historic Union Hotel, responded to this review

We are sad to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We were half full during the Thanksgiving weekend. Our website clearly states that there are no TVs in our rooms; we do have a TV room, free WiFi and a small library for our guests. Ice, drinks, snacks, irons and hair dryers are available from the front desk. We... More 

Cove, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

We booked this hotel for visiting friends. They upgraded to a room that was supposed to accommodate five people. Upon their morning showers, they were told that they could not all shower in their room, and would have to use the shower room down the hall. This was an unexpected inconvenience, especially for the logistics of the children/comfort in the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank catmcd2014
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union
13.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rama Inn & Suites
13.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Sandman Inn
14.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn La Grande
Rodeway Inn La Grande
#5 of 8 in La Grande
3.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
La Grande Travelodge
La Grande Travelodge
#8 of 8 in La Grande
3.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
13.1 mi away
Super 8 LaGrande
Super 8 LaGrande
#2 of 8 in La Grande
3.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
12.6 mi away
Quail Run Motor Inn
Quail Run Motor Inn
#3 of 8 in La Grande
3.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about The Historic Union Hotel

Address: 326 N Main St, P.O. Box 522, Union, OR 97883-8901
Location: United States > Oregon > Union
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
The Historic Union Hotel Oregon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing