River Inn at Seaside

River Inn at Seaside

Traveler (230)
Room & Suite (213)
Pool & Beach (12)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#8 of 26 hotels in Seaside
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.7
Value
4.3
Stay at Seaside's Newest Hotel - The River Inn at Seaside is perched along the soothing Necanicum River and centrally located, just one block from downtown or two blocks to the beach. The River Inn at Seaside is the ideal hotel for all who enjoy the atmosphere and ambiance of the Northern Oregon coast, offering the comforts of home, in a convenient location.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Kids stay free
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast buffet
Game room
Board games / puzzles
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Family
Languages Spoken
English

Location

531 Avenue A, Seaside, OR 97138-5725
1,946Review14Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,311
  • 441
  • 101
  • 52
  • 41
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lord John Horne wrote a review Jul 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I hate to say how great this place is, because I would love for it to stay a hidden gem. That being said, the customer service and amenities are beyond phenomenal. First, customer service. Aimie and Tammara were so warm, welcoming, and accommodating. We arrived on Friday, and Aimie welcomed us with top notch hospitality service. She filled us in on all the amenities, and made us feel right at home. Throughout Friday night, each time we passed the front desk, she made sure we had whatever we needed, even giving us recommendation on places to go and to eat. We were supposed to check out on Saturday, bound for another hotel in Seaside because we had wanted to try 2 hotels on our trip because of the high ratings. However, at the last minute, right before the noon checkout time, the second hotel had to cancel all reservations due to plumbing issues.(let me just say we love the noon standard checkout time). We were in a bit of a shock because, where were we going to find a room last minute when Seaside was so busy with travelers. We feared we would have to cut our trip short and go home. Tammara was working the desk that morning at River Inn. We explained our misfortune, hoping that there may have been a cancellation. She was so accommodating and calming, and she could sense we were worried about having to leave early. She quickly looked into things, and assured us that they had one room, for emergency use, that we could rent for the night. Because we were just with them the night before, she said she would much rather make sure we were taken care of. We were told it may take a few hours before we could move our things into the new room, but housekeeping got right on cleaning the new room, and we were in the new room within 45 minutes. Now, the amenities. With the current COVID situation, we understand people fears and social distancing. River Inn made sure that people felt comfortable and safe while using the pool and spa by having reserved time slots. The same with the gem. They have complimentary bikes to use, and outdoor fire pits on the river. We would hope that more hotels begin using these safety measures to bring comfort to their guests. We would have loved for them to have reservation time slots for the fire pits, because some people were spending hours upon hours using the 2 pits they have, not allowing others time. We managed to use one for about 5 minutes on Saturday night before we felt bad for a family that just wanted to make some s'mores. We gave up our pit, and within just a couple of minutes they we dismissed because the pits had to be turned off for the night. Otherwise, as much as we would love to keep this our hidden gem, we just had to compliment the great staff, the way the hotel accommodates the guest, and of course the prime location. We appreciate everyone at River Inn, and we will definitely see you again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sherry McCroskey, Owner at River Inn at Seaside
Responded Aug 2, 2020
Thank you for the great review. I will be sure to pass on the kudos to Amie and Tammera. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Love the Oregon Coast wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I highly recommend the River Inn at Seaside.

During numerous trips to Seaside the past decade, my family and friends stayed at Inn at Seaside, which is very similar to the River Inn at Seaside, in terms of ownership, staff, amenities, complimentary breakfast, clean and decorative rooms, etc.

This trip was an opportunity to try the River Inn at Seaside, after hearing so many positives about this hotel. We found the staff to be friendly, amenities to be excellent, loved the view of the river from our balcony, the complimentary breakfast, comfy bed, frig in room, tv/dvd player, coffee and tea in room, the very clean and spiffy rooms, and much more!

Enjoy the outdoor fire pit, outdoor and indoor seating, pool, bikes, etc.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for an East-facing or river-viewing room. Upper floor.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Masudur Khan, Owner at River Inn at Seaside
Responded May 30, 2020
I am so glad you decide to give our hotel as try and that we were able to WOW you with our service. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
yetanothervince wrote a review Aug 2020
Seattle, Washington
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was our first road trip since COVID started and we were a bit worried. When we checked in to River Inn, Aime greeted us and made us feel comfortable. It’s good to see the hotel separating clean pens from dirty pens when signing our paperwork and they did a great job ensuring that guests were wearing their masks. Our room was next to the nearby creek and we got a peaceful view from the balcony. The main road in downtown is just a 5 minute walk and we enjoyed our stay at the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sherry Mccroskey, Owner at River Inn at Seaside
Responded Sep 13, 2020
Thank you for the great review. I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and share you great comments with Amie. We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Seaside.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Savannah H wrote a review Jul 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is the epitome of false advertisement. I understand there is a current pandemic and facilities are unavailable, staff cannot enter rooms until guests leave, etc. Staff at front desk were rarely seen wearing their masks.. if they were present. Upon arrival there is a hand sanitation station that staff was enforcing to be used upon entry. This sanitizer was empty. Once we got into our room, there were stains all over the carpets from previous pets. I even found white course dog hairs embedded into the couch in room 207, my dogs are not white and do not shed. My one year old son did drop his sippy cup, spilling a small amount of water. When I went to clean it up with one of the provided towels, the towels turned black from the carpets. DISGUSTING! The carpets were THAT filthy. Room 207 has a nice view of seagulls poop and a closed Dairy Queen, and our AC temperature control screen is broken. Not worth the money, a total rip off. Stay somewhere else :)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sherry McCroskey, Owner at River Inn at Seaside
Responded Jul 19, 2020
I sincerely apologize for the breakdown in our usual high level of service. All of our staff are required to wear masks and we will be sure that this policy is being enforced. Sanitizer stations are full at this time but we are sorry that it ran empty during your stay. I will be sure to check the carpets in the room that you stayed in, the carpets were shampooed in March but maybe ready to shampoo again. I am sorry that you did not like the location of your room, in future you can book a river view room that would better suit your needs. I regret that we were unable to address your concerns during your stay. Thank you for your feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ezrasdad wrote a review Mar 2021
klamath falls
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Clean and tidy with some quaint amenities. Overall, the staff was super kind. Especially Joanna whose customer service qualities seemed to come natural. She was the first person we got to interact with when we arrived, and wish she was there when we left. Checkout was on a Saturday and the manager was training another younger lady, who was also quite nice. The manager on duty was not super friendly and not super helpful when we circled back to see if we had left something in our room. Given she was our last impression will make us think twice about returning. Overall, we loved the proximity to the beach, the fires along the river, the pool and hot tub, and the free bike rentals, which just gave an average hotel more Ive a personal touch. For being in the middle of a pandemic, they managed the to-go breakfast boxes and pool scheduling fairly well. Although the scheduling policy seemed inconsistent with the first-come, first serve policy. They said we couldn’t reserve a 30-minute window until the next day at 7:00 am and when we called at 7:00, they said the morning of our checkout was already booked. Only after questioning the accuracy of the information were they all of a sudden able to find some open time slots. I recognize traveling and working in hospitality isn’t ideal during a pandemic, so they were doing the best they could to try and accommodate all the guests who wanted pool time, it just would’ve been disappointing to my 10/yo son if we had a total of 2 short pool times during a four day stay. If I was the owner, I’d promote JoAnna to management or at least have her train new hires in guest services and hospitality. She was a gem.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sherry Mccroskey, Owner at River Inn at Seaside
Responded Apr 24, 2021
I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I have shared your kudos with Joanna. I know the pool times go fast and guest are consistently changing their reserved time, I am sorry for any confusion when trying to reserve. I have also spoken with our guest service manager regarding your comments and apologies for the breakdown in our usual high level of service. We appreciate you for taking time to provide your review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joe K wrote a review Feb 2022
Bellevue, Washington
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is an amazing PNW treasure. My wife and our seven year old daughter and two multipoo dogs stayed for 3 days at this wonderful hotel. Right on the river in Seaside, our suite on the 4th floor had a family room where my daughter slept with a kitchen and the other room had the bathroom and my wife and my, king size bed. Both rooms had a beautiful balcony with nice sitting chairs overlooking the river. You could also look down and see the two firepits and the playground next to it. There was a 25 dollar dog fee, which is usual and includes both dogs. The pool was indoor and had a little spa as well that we all loved and got some great family time swimmining. The hotel included a breakfast of breads, pastries, coffee and a few other things which was perfect to start the morning. The staff was so friendly and helpful and the hotel has everything that a family with dogs could need. At night we could sit by the firepits while watching our daughter since the playground was right next to them. There is a little relief area for the dogs at the side of the hotel as well. A perfect, inexpensive hotel that is perfect and we WILL be back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Seaside Lodging LLC, Owner at River Inn at Seaside
Responded Feb 28, 2022
Thank you for the great review. We are glad that you will choose to stay with us again and look forward to hosting on your next trip to Seaside.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Awainwright9 wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Have stayed here before but the girl that helped us at the front desk for check-in was amazing. I believe her name was Tamra? (We checked in 12.9.19) She informed us of the returning guest discount and had great recommendations for us for dinner as well. Also helped us out with the pool. Always impressed with how clean it is and the taffy in each room is such a cool bonus. We'll be back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from _GeneralManager503_, General Manager at River Inn at Seaside
Responded Jan 3, 2020
Thank you so much for this fantastic review! We will pass your compliments to Tammara who will be delighted to hear that she is doing a wonderful job. We look forward to welcome you back in the next future. And for your next stay be sure to book direct for our lowest rates online at riverinnatseaside.com use code: TRIPAD. Thanks again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vacation56 wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Family day there in seaside I loved all the amenities you guys had the room was so nice I just loved the bed it was so comfortable! Carmen at the front desk was so amazing she was so understanding about everything she did have to come into the pool area once and the kids finally calmed down and listened to her and after that it was just so relaxing. Then after that I had a little problem and she fixed it she’s just so amazing you guys have a very good co worker. But the other front desk worker tamara seemed like she was just in a bad mood I asked her if she could help me with a situation and she just gave me this ugly look and said she would have to call maintenance but Carmen handled the situation so I don’t know if she was just lazy and didn’t want to help but overall I loved the stay and thank you Carmen for giving us a good stay you made it 10 times better (:
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Masudur Khan, Owner at River Inn at Seaside
Responded Mar 9, 2020
Thank you for this fantastic review! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at River Inn, and I am very happy to hear that Carmen did a fabulous job with you during your stay. We will pass your compliment to Carmen who will be delighted to hear that she is doing a wonderful job. We hope to have you with us soon again, we’d love to host you again! And for your next stay, be sure to book direct for our lowest rates online at riverinnatseaside.com use code: TRIPAD. Thanks again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
B3STAM wrote a review Jul 2020
San Francisco, California
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this hotel based on the reviews and the images shared via various websites. The images capture the rooms to be blemish free, modern and clean. Unfortunately, this was not the case as we encountered chipped paint on the furniture, box springs exposed on the mattress and soap/conditioner dispensers barely filled (similar to with the hand sanitizer issue from prev review). We went to experience the Oregon Coast for the first time to celebrate my fathers birthday and he ended up with a bruise (luckily nothing more serious) from this exposed box spring. I've emailed the hotel with these concerns prior to writing this review and they failed to respond back to me and this was several days ago. My father shouldn't have had any type of these incidents occur on his birthday. Perhaps, there is a lack of care or concern which is unfortunate. I feel bad for making this reservation as it was my choice, but if I had another chance, I'd look elsewhere.

-The lone positive, the hotel is located near a lot of restaurants that are of walking distance, however there are also several options closer to the beach. I'd spend a little bit more and move closer to the beach next time around.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: rm caters to a lot of families, I'd suggest getting the highest floor o/w you'll hear a...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sherry McCroskey, Owner at River Inn at Seaside
Responded Aug 2, 2020
I am sorry our hotel did not meet your expectations. I was off for several days but was informed of the issue with the bed frame in your room. Our staff did fix this when it was reported. I sincerely apologies for the oversight by our housekeeping to report the maintenance issues and that your father injured his leg. I have addressed our maintenance procedures with the housekeeping staff so that this does not happen again in future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
F S wrote a review Aug 2020
Spanaway, Washington
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived on 14 August 2020 around 6pm. It was 2 families of 4 staying in 2 separate rooms. There was a few people ahead of us to check-in and the woman working behind the desk was asking every person as they came up the last name on the reservation. My close friend who is a black male went up to the counter to check in and wasn’t asked if he had a reservation but was immediately told there are NO VACANCIES! He very nicely told her that he had a reservation and when she asked the last name, he gave it to her and she told him he couldn’t check in because his wife made the reservation. She realized really quickly she messed up when his wife called her on what she did. We didn’t appreciate the fact that he was racially profiled and definitely won’t be staying here again because of that. My close friend and I are in the military and have deployed to Iraq together. Aside from all that, the rooms weren’t very clean. The room my friend stayed in (room 201), the phone didn’t work and neither did the coffee maker. The surfaces weren’t clean in his room and my room (room 205), I cleaned them off with a white towel that turned brown after wiping them down....but are quick to leave an envelope for gratuity. The parking lot is tiny. If you want to have a decent spot, get there early and park your car for the day.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sherry McCroskey, Owner at River Inn at Seaside
Responded Aug 22, 2020
Thank you for taking time to provide your review. I am sorry to read that you felt the front desk persons miscommunication was anything than just that. As this was a busy Friday night and she was getting many inquiries for rooms, she said no vacancy because the hotel was sold out. As for requesting you be the one to check in, the reservation was made with a credit card in your name and it is policy that the card holder always be the one to check in and sign the registration. I truly regret that you were made to feel this staff had a personal reason for the mistake. I appreciate your feedback and will be sure to share you comments with our staff so this does not occur again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer L asked a question Dec 2019
Portland, Oregon1 contribution
Do you have smoking rooms?
Answer from Voyage786348
No
Jennifer L asked a question Dec 2019
Portland, Oregon1 contribution
Do you have kitchenettes?
Answer from Letizia B
Hillsboro, Oregon18 contributions8 helpful votes
My room was a suite with a kitchenette
Mikpar asked a question Dec 2018
Portland, Oregon174 contributions58 helpful votes
Do you still provide free popcorn?
Answer from Patricia S
Federal Way, Washington32 contributions5 helpful votes
No popcorn but they do provide fresh warm chocolate chip cookies at the front counter. They remind you at check in. Also, they have a good “free” breakfast which saves you time in the morning.
Michelle K asked a question Aug 2018
pet friendly?
Portland, Oregon4 contributions9 helpful votes
Yes, we are pet friendly! It's $15 per pet per night.
Answer from twister R
10 contributions2 helpful votes
Yes they were both salt water, but they close at 10 PM and open around 9 or 10 am
Brandi L wrote a tip Apr 2024
18 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid room 212 above the pool."
Read full review
Samantha S wrote a tip May 2022
19 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I was in a King room with a balcony overlooking the river and the firepits."
Read full review
Joelene T wrote a tip Jun 2021
17 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Due to Covid you might want to bring a coffee mug so you enjoy their good coffee"
Read full review
Kandice D wrote a tip Sep 2020
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms on the south side and the top floor are quieter."
Read full review
B3STAM wrote a tip Jul 2020
San Francisco, California1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"rm caters to a lot of families, I'd suggest getting the highest floor o/w you'll hear a lot of noise of children running above you"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Seaside area.
PRICE RANGE
$189 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesOregonOregon CoastSeaside
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RIVER INN AT SEASIDE - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about River Inn at Seaside
Which popular attractions are close to River Inn at Seaside?
Nearby attractions include Seaside Beach (0.3 miles), Turnaround at Seaside (0.2 miles), and Seaside Inverted Experience (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at River Inn at Seaside?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at River Inn at Seaside?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at River Inn at Seaside?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at River Inn at Seaside?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to River Inn at Seaside?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sea Star Gelato, Nonni's Italian Bistro, and Dooger's Seafood & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at River Inn at Seaside?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is River Inn at Seaside located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Seaside.
Are any cleaning services offered at River Inn at Seaside?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at River Inn at Seaside?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to River Inn at Seaside?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Lewis & Clark Salt Works (0.6 miles).
All Seaside HotelsSeaside Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SeasideHotels near River Inn at Seaside
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars