We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
341 Beach Dr, Seaside, OR 97138-5707
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Algotels
Expedia.com
Booking.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (178)
Room & Suite (71)
Dining (19)

About

#10 of 27 hotels in Seaside
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.5
Value
4.3
The Gilbert Inn is a retreat nestled steps from the ocean in Seaside, Oregon. With eleven cozy escapes, The Gilbert Inn offers a setting with the perfect blend of comfort and elegance. Families, as well as pets are welcome here. Guests will love the comforts of the hotel including bathrobes, complimentary breakfast, private bathrooms and numerous seating areas throughout the interior and exterior of the hotel, including an inviting fireplace in the lobby. All rooms are accessed by stairs. After your day enjoying the beach and downtown activities, cuddle up around our outdoor fire pit. Make memories with your loved ones at the coast. We look forward to spoiling you on your next Seaside getaway.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Books, DVDs, music for children
Highchairs available
Non-smoking hotel
Street parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Hiking
Horseback riding
Bowling offsite
Fishing
Patio
Board games / puzzles
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
556Reviews1Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 338
  • 142
  • 41
  • 27
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Traveler488898 wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Everything was lovely except one small detail. There seemed to be an attempt to limit hot drink consumption with a limit to one k-cup.signage right by dispenser area. I'd much prefer hot water and more teas and coffees available all day. It's so cozy there, why limit hot drinks?. Felt off-putting to us. And k-cups are so bad for the environment...what about a plain old coffee pot? Minor detail but did put us off a bit.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: the turret room was quiet.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Taslema Sultana, Owner at The Gilbert Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We will look into your concerns. We hope you will visit us again some day. Mary - Front Desk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KirstenE16 wrote a review Nov 2022
5 contributions
Our stay is so relaxing and lovely. One block to the beach or to downtown. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The bed is very cozy and the soaking tub is just delightful Full free breakfast to order.we will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Taslema Sultana, Owner at The Gilbert Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will be able to visit us again soon. Mary - Front Desk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Whidbey Mom wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
We spent 2 comfortable nights at the Gilbert Inn. Extremely clean rooms, comfortable beds and great location. We felt very safe. The breakfast was basic, but included fresh cooked eggs and choice of protein. Plentiful enough to last us all day. All staff were courteous and professional. I would not hesitate to stay again should I be in this area and recommend highly. Cannon Beach is just about 15 minutes away. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. It’s location is 1 block from the Promenade.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Taslema Sultana, Owner at The Gilbert Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will be able to visit us again. Mary - Front Desk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thayne L wrote a review Nov 2022
Central Arizona, Arizona21 contributions19 helpful votes
We chose the Gilbert Inn to break the cycle of the usual motel stay on our trip along the coast. We were not disappointed in that goal and enjoyed the quiet pace of the inn. While we did miss having a refrigerator in the room there was a shared one in the breakfast area we could have used had we known it was there. Breakfast is limited to a few items you select in advance and they serve at your table. I choose scrambled eggs the first day and while it would have been nice to have a little cheese on them I enjoyed my freshly prepared meal. The second day I choose oatmeal and received a bowl of what I would call oatmeal soup, mostly water with some very small oatmeal flakes. So, while we enjoyed the relaxed pace the inn offered, we felt letdown a bit in the overall experience when compared to similar stays around the world.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Taslema Sultana, Owner at The Gilbert Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind review. We hope that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will address your concerns and we hope that you might be able to visit us again some day. Mary - Front Desk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sheryl T wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
Another great stay at the Gilbert Inn, rooms are beautiful and the breakfast was great. Served quickly and the staff is very friendly and hospitable. Just one block to the beach, shopping and restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Emma and Turret rooms have a view to the beach.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Taslema Sultana, Owner at The Gilbert Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks so much for your kind review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to another return trip. Thanks again, Mary - Front Desk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Terri S wrote a review Oct 2022
Hillsboro, Oregon8 contributions7 helpful votes
We stayed for 4 nights in a nice, but small, room on the ground floor of the newer wing. The location is great, right next to the Prom, beach, shops and restaurants. We never did eat breakfast because we slept in every day. The staff was very nice and friendly. The only complaint we had was that the toilet is very low, almost like a child's toilet. We would stay there again!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Taslema Sultana, Owner at The Gilbert Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will look into your concern. We hope to see you again soon. Mary - Front Desk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jesa H wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
I booked this room for my partner and I to celebrate our anniversary. We thought this place was cute and it also allowed our dog to stay with us. I paid the extra $25 for pet rent which says it "includes a basket, bowls, and dog treats". I also paid an extra $50 for the Romance Package. Which is supposed to include "a fresh flower bouquet from a local renowned flower shop, chocolates, sparkling cider, and a card," None of the things I paid extra for were in the room when we arrived. I worked in the service industry for a long time and so it kills me to complain but I paid a lot for these items that were looked over. When I asked the front desk he was kind of dodgy about it all. He gave me the cider and chocolates and was just like you're out of luck for the flowers and card. He did say he would refund me but I haven't seen it yet. It's only been 2.5 business days, to be fair. When I asked about the dog items he pointed to a bowl of milk bones on the counter and offered to get bowls for the dog. The way it's explained on the website made it sound complimentary, not the way he was describing it. I also never got a clear answer on what the dog "basket"was. I will not be recommending this place or staying here ever again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Taslema Sultana, Owner at The Gilbert Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We are so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We refunded your Credit Card Oct. 22nd. It usually takes Credit Card companies 7 to 10 days to show the credit. Mary - Front Desk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Loren A wrote a review Oct 2022
Springfield, Missouri1 contribution
Enjoyed the stay and learning about the Inn/founder. Breakfast was good. Rooms were very cozy. Dvds are offered to watch in your room which I thought was retro fun. However, the player did not work. The Inn is right by the promenade, and walking distance to shops and restaurants. Would stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Taslema Sultana, Owner at The Gilbert Inn
Responded Oct 26, 2022
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again. We will look into our DVD Issues. Thanks again, Mary - Front Desk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ned S wrote a review Oct 2022
Florida8 contributions2 helpful votes
We reserved and paid for the 1880's room six weeks in advance of our arrival to the Gilbert Inn because it was part of the original house. When we attempted to check in late afternoon, at first we were told by the teenage employee that we had already checked in; then that we did not have a reservation; and then blamed the reservation company for double booking the room. We traveled 3,000 miles and basically told we were out of luck. I will give him credit for finally figuring out that another employee (I believe he mentioned the manager) gave our room to another couple that checked in earlier. The only solution was to take the room the other couple reserved, which was part of the new addition - smaller, plain and mirrored any hotel room. Still no apology. When we checked out, I asked for the manager. The woman I asked was the manager so I expressed my displeasure. Again, no apology or much concern about what had happened. Furthermore she stated, "I do not know if there is a price difference between the two rooms." She is the manager - she knows! As we left, we did get a "sorry". All that totally irked my wife and me, and in checking emails after checking in, they had changed our reservation to show we had reserved the room we got stuck in. I do have the original email showing we had reserved the room we expected. It appears to me that this bnb is run and owned by persons who have no clue of the hospitality business. I am well aware of how a guest should be treated and this was very non-hospitable. Also I must add, as we left later for dinner I asked the teenage desk clerk for a recommendation. He had no suggestions whatsoever and was quite lost in being able to give any information. To be fair to the Gilbert Inn, I did contact them prior to posting this review. I heard nothing back after 4 days.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Don't choose the Matthew Room. It is a plain hotel room, not to be expected at a BnB.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Taslema Sultana, Owner at The Gilbert Inn
Responded Oct 19, 2022
Thank you for your review. We are so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We will look into your concerns. Mary - Front Desk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Annette P wrote a review Oct 2022
7 contributions
+1
Beautiful home and wonderful, comfortable room. The only reason I marked it down a star is that the house has so many creaks and strange little noises at night that it was hard to sleep. It was also pretty warm with no air conditioning. The sit down breakfast was wonderful. Our time there didn’t allow us to use the bikes, but, it sure is great having that option!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Park your car and walk. Gilbert Inn has a GREAT location. The Prom is feet away. Sunsets are...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Taslema Sultana, Owner at The Gilbert Inn
Responded Oct 12, 2022
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will be able to visit us again soon. Mary - Front Desk
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$98 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the gilbert hotel seaside
LOCATION
United StatesOregonOregon CoastSeaside
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GILBERT INN $94 ($̶1̶2̶7̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews - Seaside, OR

Frequently Asked Questions about The Gilbert Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Gilbert Inn?
Nearby attractions include Seaside Beach (0.1 miles), Turnaround at Seaside (0.1 miles), and Seaside Inverted Experience (0.08 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Gilbert Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at The Gilbert Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Gilbert Inn?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Gilbert Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sea Star Gelato, Dooger's Seafood & Grill, and Tsunami Sandwich Company.
Is The Gilbert Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Seaside.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Gilbert Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to The Gilbert Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Lewis & Clark Salt Works (0.5 miles).