We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Motel 6 Portland Downtown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Motel 6 Portland Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 64: English reviews
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
182 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

The rooms were filthy. Smelled like smoke. There was so much damage to the room. The bathroom was absolutely disgusting. It seems appealing as a centrally located place at an affordable price. I've stayed at motels before and never had an experience where everything was as filthy as this place.

Thank ClumsyIsis
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016

Well I booked this for a week thinking it would be a good hotel for an affordable price.... A/C cuts out all the time, found black mold in the shower. Housekeeping does not change bed linens - had a stain from food on a pillow and they flipped over the pillow so the stain was not visible. Oh and the... More 

Thank Jared v
Laguna Hills, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015

Disgusting- shame on you Motel 6 for allowing these rooms to be rented out in the condition they're in. I am disgusted with this place and will have serious considerations of ever staying at a Motel 6 ever again. While I was writing this review a couple tried to gain access my room, I opened the door and was told... More 

Thank Graham C
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

I booked this place for a week while attending a conference at the convention center. I was excited because of the great location; within walking distance to the convention center and a few restaurants. However, the room was terrible!!! There was black mold in the shower, the toilet would not stop running, and it was leaking water on the floor.... More 

1 Thank Bill H
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015

This 'hotel' IS in a good location: by the Convention Center and Stadium BUT it is on the trolley line..and as it runs every 10 minutes..the four cars cross a loose man-hole cover at the corner where this hotel lies and makes a BANG, BANG, BANG, BANG as EACH car crosses that man-hole cover..from 5 AM to 1 AM...I do... More 

1 Thank susanne lenz l
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Portland Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Susanne, Thank you for sharing your post. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer the lowest price of any national chain by delivering the essential elements of a comfortable room for a satisfying stay, for this reason we apologize for the disappointment you describe with the expectations of our housekeeping cleaning of the guestroom. We... More 

Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015 via mobile

Concerned about the area but our room was situated on the back corner on the second floor of the third and farthest building from the office. It was quiet and clean. The wood laminate floors, modern towel holders in the bathroom and corner shower added to the sleek and clean feel of the place. Ask for a non-smoking room and... More 

Thank Judy T
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

There was no handle on the outside of the bathroom door. The only plug available in the living area was loose in the wall. There was no washcloth provided when I checked in. No channel guide for the TV. Wifi was intermittent; over a three-day stay it worked for a grand total of 20 minutes. And I paid US$120 a... More 

1 Thank jde1953
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Portland Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred during your recent stay with regard to our rates and the inconveniences you experienced. We are glad to be able to provide Wi-Fi to our guests and apologize for the dissatisfaction you describe with our policy. We strive to... More 

Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

Really bad wifi, and the beds was terrible, it hurt lying to in the bed. Great location with resturants and bars close by, and we was greeted well in the reception. Spacious room and clean. Would not go back here for more than one night, and that is if nothing else is available.

Thank hesy
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Portland Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Hesy, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad to be able to provide Wi-Fi to our guests and apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with our policy and the connection to the network. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the bed comfort... More 

Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

This is a great location for the convention center, but the facility is rundown and poorly maintained. There was no wifi in the rooms, so all guests had to go outside to get a signal. Our room had a door frame clawed and ripped off the wall, and a sink that never drained properly despite repeated reports. Bedspread full of... More 

1 Thank Sally R
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Portland Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Sally, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Please know the conditions you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality and we apologize for the dissatisfaction you experienced. We are glad... More 

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

When visiting portland, I always stay near the convention center for the great access to mass transit and easy walk to the Waterfront Park. For my last trip all the hotels in the area were booked but the Motel 6. I was a bit hesitent but booked it anyway. I got both a good nights sleep and a warm shower... More 

Thank tzlord
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All Traveler Photos (30)
Bathroom (5)
Room/Suite (4)
View from Room (1)
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (2)
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn at the Convention Center
Inn at the Convention Center
#77 of 137 in Portland
3.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
0.5 mi away
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#59 of 137 in Portland
3.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question


  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motel 6 Portland Downtown is minutes from Portland Intl Airport and within walking distance of the Portland Convention Center, Rose Garden Arena, downtown Portland, and a variety of shopping, dining and entertainment. Free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel 6 Portland Downtown

Address: 518 NE Holladay St, Portland, OR 97232-2020 (Formerly Shilo Inn)
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Price Range: $108 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Portland Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Motel-6 and Hotwire so you can book your Motel 6 Portland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Portland Downtown Hotel Portland
Shilo Inn Portland Convention Center
Portland Shilo Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay