We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Downtown Value Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Downtown Value Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 77: English reviews
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just got back from a 10 night stay in Oregon/Seattle. We stayed in 7 different inns, hotels, and motels and this was by far the worse stay for the price we payed. I would consider value to be a bargain but this was not the case. The total stay for one night was $200 on a Thursday night for... More 

Helpful?
Thank jessmxoxo
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear jessmxoxo, Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at the Downtown Value Inn. We were glad to hear that you found our staff helpful and service quick but disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your stay. We apologize for any inconvenience. We hope that you will try us again in the future. Best... More 

San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
HOTEL’S FAVORITE REVIEW
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2016

I was in town following my favorite band around the country by myself. I selected this place mainly because of its proximity to the band's venue, as well as the price. I was not disappointed. It is a 5-minute walk from Portland 5's Keller Auditorium. For a drive-out price of $90.37 (on a Tuesday in March), I had a large... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
About Hotel's Favorite Review
The Hotel’s Favorite Review is a recent traveler review pinned as a favorite by this property’s owner or manager.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016

I am not sure what all the complaints were about in reviews I read. I was a little skeptical at first because of the reviews but I stayed here for 1 night with low expectations and didn't want to spend hundreds of dollars. All the staff were excellent- friendly, helpful, and hospitable. They stored my luggage for me since I... More 

Helpful?
Thank lizbert
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear lizbert, Thank you for taking the time to share the experience you had at Downtown Value Inn. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us finding our hotel affordable, conveniently located and our staff "friendly." We strive to ensure that our guest do indeed feel welcome and at home with us. We hope your travels bring... More 

Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

I liked the location, the atmosphere, and the rates of this place. It was so nice to be able to stay conveniently close to Portland's downtown core at a fairly low price. While staying at this place, I was able to walk to the city's downtown core, and even when going to places that were beyond walking distance, I could... More 

Helpful?
Thank jd307
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear jd307, Thank you for taking the time to share the experience you had at Downtown Value Inn. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us finding our hotel conveniently located, affordable and that you "liked the...atmosphere..." We hope that you enjoyed your time in Portland and that you were encouraged to come back again soon. We... More 

Ko Phangan, Thailand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016 via mobile

I stayed in the 8 bed dorm as it was only $30 for a bed and it's right within walking distance of all of downtown. The location and the friendliness of the staff are the only thing saving it from one star. If you're driving, the parking is incredibly narrow, ended up scratching my rental ever so slightly because of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ed J
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ed J, Thank you for taking the time to share the experience you had at Downtown Value Inn. We're disappointed to hear that you found issue with some of your amenities and that you had an issue with the lack of parking but glad to hear that you found us conveniently located to Downtown Portland and that our staff... More 

Travelers are raving about these Portland hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016

Whilst the hotel is nothing special; The person who made our stay so good was the girl on reception named Molly. She gave us a very warm welcome and helped us tremendously with our visit to Portland. The room we had was a bit dated...but it was spacious and the bed was comfortable. Unfortunately, it was right by the stairs... More 

Helpful?
Thank SybSC
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear SyBSC, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Downtown Value Inn. We were disappointed to hear that you were dissatisfied with our hotel in general but glad to hear that you found our beds comfortable and that our staff made it a good experience. We do have a friendly and helpful team working here and... More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

This is my second time staying here and I must admit it was better than the first. Stayed in room 41 which was on what the hotel calls the first floor, but it involved climbing some stairs (about 10). I had my little brother and friends traveling with me this time so I asked for a double queen room. I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kari S
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We strive to create a warm and welcoming atmosphere to provide the best possible experience for our guests and we're glad to see that you noticed our work to improve our guests' experience during their stay. We hope to keep you coming back! -Guest Relations More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015 via mobile

This is a really good place to sleep and stay. It is so affordable even in summer at about $110 per night. Nothing fancy, but there is a tv, refrigerator and microwave. Not enough hangers for clothes, but they have an ironing board on request. The light rail and street car go by the hotel, so it is a little... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! We greatly appreciate the kind words of feedback you had for the Downtown Value Inn. We were glad to see that our facilities were satisfactory and that you were pleased with the service that you received during your time with us. We look forward to your return visit! More 

Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015 via mobile

Upon arrival the room and beds had obvious signs of bed bugs. We immediately left. When speaking to the management on our way out he was extremely rude and refused to refund our money. Since we were past the cancellation period there was nothing we could do. We found another hotel that was more expensive, but definitely better than bringing... More 

Helpful?
16 Thank 26255home
Lewiston, Idaho
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

I had a pleasant experience here. Yes, it's not the most modern hotel, but it is close to my office and the room was clean. The bathroom was clean, I had no issues with hot water or anything. The room has a refrigerator and microwave (great for warming up the pizza from next door) and they have FREE parking. It... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Carith A
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

We thank you for your feedback. We are glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay and that we were able to meet your accommodation needs. We hope to see you back again soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#45 of 137 in Portland
4.0 of 5 stars 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#26 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,678 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
Downtown
Hilton Portland & Executive Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Downtown Value Inn

Address: 415 SW Montgomery St, Portland, OR 97201-5518
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Price Range: $90 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Downtown Value Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Downtown Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Value Hotel Portland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay