We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

McMenamins Kennedy School

Show Prices
#39 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
McMenamins Kennedy School
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

538 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 538: English reviews
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Like other McMenamins properties, the Kennedy School is a creative re-use of an older building - in this case, of an elementary school in NE Portland. The project includes guest rooms, a movie theater, a restaurant, some bars, a heated soaking pool, and probably some stuff I didn't even find. The room was small and not luxurious, but comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PlannerGeek
M J, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all of the details you included. I am hoping that you can tell me what room you stayed in as the comments about terrible water pressure are troubling. I can be reached directly at melj@mcmenamins.com if you wouldn't mind dropping me a note with the name/date of your reservation. We are glad you...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

From the drive up to check in to the rooms everything was fantastic. The old 1919 school is like being on a cruise ship. Everything has its place and just fun to walk around. We spent New Years with fantastic food music and fun. Met folks from other states. Everyone serving you was friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
M J, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your New Years. I will be sure to share your compliments with our team. We hope to see you again. Cheers, Mel Jensen Principal McMenamins Kennedy School

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I spent a week at this vast hotel made from a renovated elementary school and were impressed by the level of comfort and variety of eating and drinking establishments all under its one big roof. It's like visiting a retro space station where the walls are covered with school photos and art and all your basic needs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
M J, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit and appreciate your recommendation. We hope to see you again. Cheers! Mel Jensen Principal McMenamins Kennedy School

Eugene, Oregon
Reviewed December 17, 2016

This was my fifth time staying at the Kennedy School. The place is great, and has everything one could ask for. I found the shortcut from the airport this trip, and it is a great location for people to fly in. Several choices of food venues. Every room is themed on someone who had a connection to the property in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bb_organic
M J, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review

We appreciate your kind words and your multiple trips to the Kennedy school. We’re so glad that our staff, food and venue have satisfied all your senses. We absolutely cannot wait for you to return and don’t forget to bring your friends! Cheers! Mel Jensen Principal McMenamins Kennedy School

Carlton, Oregon, United States
Reviewed December 13, 2016

For 270.00 A night I expect more. We stayed there thanksgiving night. The only heat in the room was a small space heater. It took two hours to warm up the room. We had to call maintenance as the shower wouldn't turn on. There is no soap dish or place to put soap while showering except the floor of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eve D
M J, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review

I can’t apologize enough for your experience. I am so sorry that you had so many issues arise during your holiday. I have reviewed your maintenance concerns with our facilities team. I am hoping that you might be able to share a few more details regarding your stay with me. If you are willing, I can be reached directly at...

Watertown, NY
Reviewed December 11, 2016

We stay here as it is convenient to where our daughter lives. It is a fun concept. It is also an old building. I do not think the rooms are heated above 64-65 degrees. Sometimes the maid did not leave soap or shampoo. Unless I was a huge fan of the bars, I would NOT pay the $267 friday night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank birdwidow
M J, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review

Hello, we apologize that you were cold throughout the duration of your stay, it has been an unusually cold winter. We do provide heaters (in the room) and extra blankets (upon request), I am very sorry that this was not properly communicated so that you were comfortable during your stay. The housekeeping staff should have also left soap and shampoo...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed December 8, 2016

A school converted into a brewery/hotel is cool as hell. Sleeping in what used to be a classroom is crazy. The chalk boards are still up. It's not quite a party hotel since it attracts a pretty mixed crowd of all ages and family sizes. It's almost a constant party there. There's so much to see and do. It's great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank worldwidegoose
M J, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review

We’re so glad that you enjoyed our property and are telling your friends, we hope to see all of you again soon! Cheers! Mel Jensen Principal McMenamins Kennedy School

Reviewed December 7, 2016

I can appreciate the quirky charm of this facility, but it wasn't my taste and I felt it did not live up to the hype and fees. The idea is fun, but rooms have zero sound barriers. You will hear every sound above a whisper from your adjoining room - and I mean every sound. It almost seems like they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frenchietwo
M J, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review

We’re so glad that you enjoyed the boiler room and the beer that is provided throughout the property. We’re so sorry that your room wasn’t up to your standards but we’re glad that the front desk was able to help you move rooms with ease. We do apologize about the stay-over service, we should have replaced every towel, cup and...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed December 1, 2016

I'm trying to figure out why this property books up so fast and is so highly rated. Perhaps my taste in accommodations is too high? We only stayed one evening. We choose this hotel due to the ratings, the proximity to Moda Center and their dog policy. The front desk staff were lovely and helpful but the historic property felt...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joelskindle
M J, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review

We are so sorry that your stay was uncomfortable and you felt that your room and the property was not up to your standards. When was your stay and what room did you stay in? We want to make sure to follow up with the proper staff. Thanks for letting us know about the smoke smell as well, we haven’t...

Vancouver, Washington, United States
Reviewed November 28, 2016

My wife and I are and have been frequent guests of McMenamins for several years now we are about 85% done with our passport and have stayed at 4 of the Hotels. This past Saturday night we stayed at the Kennedy School for the first time, we have tried to stay here several times but they are booked out usually...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael S
M J, Manager at McMenamins Kennedy School, responded to this review

We are very grateful for your loyal patronage. We apologize for the negative experiences you had during your stay and have addressed these issues with the appropriate departments. Furthermore, we have recognized Lauren for her efforts. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know. We hope to see you again. Sincerely, Mel Jensen Principal McMenamins Kennedy School

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

425 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (260)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (99)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (165)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
King Room - English Wing (40)
Viewed
King Room - School Wing (47)
Viewed
Queen Room (39)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#43 of 137 in Portland
262 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#12 of 137 in Portland
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#24 of 137 in Portland
1,798 reviews
Jupiter Hotel
#65 of 137 in Portland
520 reviews
Inn at Northrup Station
#7 of 137 in Portland
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
McMenamins Kennedy School
McMenamins Kennedy School
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about McMenamins Kennedy School

Address: 5736 N.E. 33rd Ave., Portland, OR 97211
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Price Range: $154 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McMenamins Kennedy School 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your McMenamins Kennedy School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Kennedy School Portland
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#29 Family Hotel in Portland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from McMenamins Kennedy School staff and other travelers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from McMenamins Kennedy School staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The first floor rooms in the older building seemed like they would be loud”
 of 5 bubbles PlannerGeek, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“If you don't want noise, ask for one of the back and upper floor rooms away from the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles bb_organic, Dec 17, 2016 | Read review
“I ask for a quiter room and am generally satisfied.”
 of 5 bubbles birdwidow, Dec 11, 2016 | Read review
“the further from the gyms, bars, and restaurants, the quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles worldwidegoose, Dec 8, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room away from fire pit .”
 of 5 bubbles Joelskindle, Dec 1, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay