We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Moolack Shores Motel

Show Prices
#14 of 26 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Moolack Shores Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Moolack Shores Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 137: English reviews
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2016 via mobile

Truly a magical spot. Great place and quirky rooms - there is something so epic about falling asleep to the ocean - and you can do that here with the amazing rooms so close! Great views, great location. So peaceful. Will absolutely be back! Stayed in the Camelot room and came back for some more in the Western room. Both... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cassandra B
SteveTicknor, Owner at Moolack Shores Motel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your great review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you love it as much as we do. We look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Dayton, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2016 via mobile

And we had one..:) Older motel but all themed rooms are very clean and the ocean view rooms are right over beach..:) wonderful (No privacy) but no problems with that.. and a woodstove in every room.. ..quiet quaint and will be back.. Thank you

Helpful?
Thank LeAnne H
SteveTicknor, Owner at Moolack Shores Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return in the future! More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015

Average Motel with comfy beds and friendly service.The views here are amazing and the beach access is great! I stayed in the Camelot room. Nice deck and cozy fireplace. Will definitely stay here again!

Helpful?
Thank seatlstarr
SteveTicknor, Owner at Moolack Shores Motel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for staying at Moolack Shores. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you next time! More 

Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2015 via mobile

We enjoyed staying at Moolack Shores Motel that we found by chance. We therefore stayed two nights instead of one. Watched the ocean from our window, had a fire in our iron stove and the next day took a long walk on the beach by low tide. Great!

Helpful?
Thank Maria K
SteveTicknor, Owner at Moolack Shores Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us . . . we are very happy you found us during your travels and enjoyed your stay. Please come back and see us again! More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

Great place with ocean view. Stayed in the antique room and would like to keep going back till I have stayed in each room. Would be perfect for winter storm watching and they have very good winter rates. Room was clean and pleasant. I was very pleased to have a real size coffee maker.

Helpful?
Thank Melaine M
SteveTicknor, Owner at Moolack Shores Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and we are very happy you had a "relaxing" visit! Many people love to come and watch the winter storms and whale migrations from out ocean front rooms. We look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

I found the Moolack Shores Motel online while searching for a place to stay in Newport, Oregon. After reading the reviews I decided this was the place of us and was happy we stayed there. It's right on the ocean. The view was fantastic. Our first night there we saw a beautiful sunset, listened to the ocean and the night... More 

Helpful?
Thank Granny15
SteveTicknor, Owner at Moolack Shores Motel, responded to this review

Hello we are very happy you enjoyed your stay at Moolack Shores Motel! The Western room is one of our favorites too...great views to the ocean and also south to the Yaquina Head Lighthouse. The Hawaiian Room is a big favorite of our guests as well with great ocean views and views all the way up the beach to the... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015 via mobile

We stayed in number 2 Nostalgia. Outdated and sub par cleanliness, but the sheets and towels were clean. Wifi didn't work very well. Sliding glass door lock was broken. But they did provide a stick to put in the door jam. No offer for fresh linens. The "private deck" wasn't very private, and the septic field was located within a... More 

Helpful?
Thank mtpackfan
SteveTicknor, Owner at Moolack Shores Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! We appreciate you staying with us. We make it a top priority to make sure the rooms are as clean as possible at all times and encourage our guests to notify us if something is out of place or not up to your expectations. We update our beds and furnishings on a regular basis, however we... More 

Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
543 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015

Each of the rooms in the motel has a different theme for their décor---we stayed in the Racer Room because it has a great view of the beach. It is a great location with stairs leading to the beach, tide pools (during low tide) and great photo ops of the light house at sunrise and sunset. Short drive to Newport.

Helpful?
Thank ballhawg
SteveTicknor, Owner at Moolack Shores Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for saying with us and writing your review. We are definitely different from your average motel with our themed rooms. Hope you liked it as much as we do and we hope to see you again soon! More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2015

My husband and I brought my sister (who is from Texas) here for 2 days. We stayed in the Lighthouse Room and absolutely loved it. Sis couldn't get over her very first view of the Pacific and spent lots of time beachcombing and taking pictures. She can't wait to come back here(neither can we)! Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Helpful?
Thank happynoncamper2015
SteveTicknor, Owner at Moolack Shores Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us and we are excited that we could be your sister's first experience on the Oregon coast! We are glad you enjoyed your room and that you had a great stay. Please come back and see us again soon! More 

Wentzville, Missouri
Level Contributor
161 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2015

My husband and I travel often and have stayed in rooms all over the U.S., Europe and Canada. I can unequivocally rate this place as terrible. We were travelling around Oregon on a 12 day vacation taking in the scenery. Most of our reservations had been made months prior to our trip but we left a few days toward end... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank JandM44
SteveTicknor, Owner at Moolack Shores Motel, responded to this review

We appreciate your business very much and we are sorry you feel this way. We are definitely not a "resort", we are a small independent motel that cares greatly about all of our guests. We want to make sure everyone that stays with us has the best experience possible. The $20 discrepancy in the room rate was due to the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

95 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (95)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (49)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Agate Beach Inn
4.1 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#4 of 26 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 609 reviews
4.7 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Starfish Point Condos
Starfish Point Condos
#1 of 26 in Newport
5.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
4.6 mi away
Elizabeth Street Inn
Elizabeth Street Inn
#5 of 26 in Newport
4.5 of 5 stars 879 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Moolack Shores Motel is your unique ocean-front retreat on the central Oregon coast. Our themed rooms feature stunning ocean views and there is easy beach access. Most rooms have fireplaces and either a kitchenette or full kitchen. We offer clean, comfortable rooms and will go out of our way to make your stay a very special one! Our location on the north end of Newport is just a 5 minute drive to town and about 20 minutes from Lincoln City. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Moolack Shores Motel

Address: 8835 N Coast Hwy, Newport, OR 97365-9514
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Price Range: $70 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Moolack Shores Hotel Newport
Moolack Shores Motel Newport, Oregon
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#7 Family Hotel in Newport
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing