We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
8835 N Coast Hwy, Newport, OR 97365-9514
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$259
FindHotel$259
Priceline$259
Agoda.com$259
Etrip$259
ZenHotels.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (185)
Room & Suite (103)
Pool & Beach (23)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 05/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 05/12/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 25 hotels in Newport
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.2
Service
4.3
Value
4.4
#Moolack Shores Motel is your unique ocean-front retreat on the central Oregon coast. Our themed rooms feature stunning ocean views and there is easy beach access. Most rooms have fireplaces and either a kitchenette or full kitchen. We offer clean, comfortable rooms and will go out of our way to make your stay a very special one! Our location on the north end of Newport is just a 5 minute drive to town and about 20 minutes from Lincoln City.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Beach
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Seating area
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
304Reviews4Q+A96Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 171
  • 68
  • 23
  • 19
  • 23
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mike H wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Our room was worn, dirty and very disappointing. A scrub brush, a paint brush, all new linens would be a good place for management to begin. If you like "nubby" sheets with holes in them, questionably clean bedspread and pillow shams, unwashed bath throw rug, moldy shower tile, and years of dirt on the woodwork, all with a fairly decent ocean view, Moolack Shores Inn just might be where you'd like to stay. Had nearby hotels had availability, we would have walked! Dirty, worn, creepy room!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peg Parsons, Other at Moolack Shores Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Mike sorry to hear this you never came to the office to let me know anything and you did not call the emergency number if you had all these issues.. I would of fixed your issues if you contacted me..
Read more
32family wrote a review Jul 2022
Washington126 contributions42 helpful votes
+1
This place is a great location, it is tired and needs someone to come in and do a deep clean and professional paint and touch ups. We stayed for 3 nights, reaching anyone in the office on the phone took multiple calls. Office closes at 5 and check in isn’t until 4 so not the easiest schedule when dealing with travelers, owner does give you her personal number once there so that was helpful. Check in was smooth, owners Son Peter checked us in, he was very nice and said he just finished cleaning our room, I try not to be picky but this place was not cheap and stains and dingy linens as well as just overall run down was a bit of a let down, we did not complain, because we had no where else to go, we just cleaned up ourselves and made the best of it. For anyone wanting to stay I just want to give an idea because the reviews are so much different than we experienced. First we were in the nautical room, you open the door and it’s a flight down, ducking your head head it’s steep, I was not expecting that at all, no carpet under the bed like in pics so sand in the bed no matter what, fridge/freezer wasn’t clean, ice build up in freezer with yellow I don’t know what. They do provide a keurig and plenty of k-cups so that was nice. They could trim the bushes so the ocean was more visible while seated on patio. Room was very cute but it looked like they painted and didn’t care. Bathtub had a dirt ring like it’s never been cleaned, tiny bathroom. It was all very doable but the price was not worth the experience for us. Maybe because it is down stairs a vacuum and mop don’t make it down? Sleeping was hard if anyone was up and moving above you, it was so loud. I’m not saying it’s bad, it just needs a lot of TLC and bleach!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: If handicap do not book nautical room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peg Parsons, Other at Moolack Shores Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
32 Family We have a emergency number on the front door of the office on a bright yellow paper .. I texted you and called you about all of your information for your room so you even had my personal cell phone number .. So you had both phone numbers .. we our remolding rooms we our waiting on our shipment to come in.. When we only have 3 workers its very hard to keep everything up.. We do yard work 2 times a week or more our grass just grows very very fast.. If you had so many issues I truly wished you would of contacted me and I would of made it better for you and your family ..
Read more
Ryan C wrote a review Jun 2022
Bear River City, Utah4 contributions
We stayed at the hunters room for two nights last week on our honeymoon and it was great. The room was very nice and the view and beach access were fantastic! A little stuffy on arrival but opening the windows did the trick. Listening to my new wife tell friends and family about our coast trip she brings up Moolack first with every recount!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peg Parsons, Other at Moolack Shores Inn
Responded Jun 20, 2022
Hi Red/Ryan Congrats I'm so glad you had a great stay with me.. I look forward to seeing you again Many Many Happy Years together Be Safe Peggy
Read more
karalk wrote a review Jun 2022
Boise, Idaho65 contributions6 helpful votes
We arrived today and I’m really happy with this place. The property is easy to find, beautiful location and looks very well taken care of. Our room (safari room, 5b) is small but its so well organised that it feels spacious. The little things that please me….. shiny sparkly-clean fixtures, bright bathroom lighting, 4 toilet rolls, binoculars in the room, little candies as a welcome gift, comfy bed, blankets for sitting on the deck. Things a hotel usually doesn’t bother with or care about, but Peggy does. The room is spotless. Huge window and a window in the door opens the room up to the ocean view. Bathroom is large and roomy. Peggy’s son greeted us and was friendly and welcoming. Can you tell we love it here?
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Front rooms face the ocean, side rooms have a side view of the ocean.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peg Parsons, Other at Moolack Shores Inn
Responded Jun 9, 2022
Hi Coral I'm so glad that you had a great stay with me,, So glad you enjoyed everything .. I look forward to seeing you again Be Safe Peggy
Read more
Sherrill wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
This hotel was wonderful!! Peggy and Peter were amazing!! The room was clean and well equipped with everything we needed. I would have rated it a 5 if we were able to get a room with a deck. We did have a room with a view and it was right on the beach. Next time I will ask for the deck room!! we will visit again! Spectacular!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peg Parsons, Other at Moolack Shores Inn
Responded Jun 5, 2022
I'm so glad you had a great stay with me.. Thank you for the kind words for Peggy and Peter
Read more
mary b wrote a review Mar 2022
Meridian, Idaho1 contribution
Beautiful area, unfortunately, the shower did not work in the Hawaiian room #10. We have been visiting the Oregon coast for 30 years and many of those trips have included stays at the Moolack Shores Inn. We hope things will improve.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peg Parsons, Other at Moolack Shores Inn
Responded Mar 29, 2022
We had a plumber come out and fixed the shower head we made a video letting the guest see that the shower was working never responded back when Peggy texted them to show that it was fixed that day when it was brought to our attention.
Read more
gringo6305 wrote a review Jan 2022
Huntington, New York24 contributions25 helpful votes
FANTASTIC AND ADORABLE!! PHENOMENAL CHECK IN AND HOST PEGGY! thank you, we absolutely loved this place. Charming and adorable. Gorgeous ocean front views. The place was very clean! Everything we needed. We cannot say enough about how great Peggy and Peter were at check in and during our stay. They were super welcoming and friendly ,and make us feel right at home. Hope to be heading back here soon!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peg Parsons, Other at Moolack Shores Inn
Responded Jan 19, 2022
Hi Gringo6305 Thank you so much for your kind words for Peggy and Peter it truly means a lot to us.. I'm so glad you had a great stay with us.. I look forward to seeing you again Be Safe Peggy
Read more
Cee B wrote a review Dec 2021
Sequim, Washington2 contributions1 helpful vote
The proximity to the ocean is fantastic. The sound of the surf is great. The entire place is in very bad condition. Toilets don't flush properly, showers trickle water, windows don't open or close, sliders don't slide, and whenever it rains, we're told all the units leak water from the ceiling...including ours. And...it's dirty. We will never stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peg Parsons, Other at Moolack Shores Inn
Responded Dec 9, 2021
Hi Cee You never came to me and said anything to me about any of these issues Especially not talking to you about leaking from ceilings in any of my rooms.. I truly would of done something for you . I'm sorry to hear that you would not stay with us again.. Be Safe Happy Holidays Peggy
Read more
Lindy C wrote a review Nov 2021
2 contributions3 helpful votes
We absolutely love coming to Moolack Shores. We generally reserve the Western Room everytime. This place is amazing. The upgrades/updates are much appreciated! We have never, in our 42+ years of marriage stayed in a place when the manager, Peggy, sends us holiday greetings year round, texts to see how we are between visits, and makes sure our room, trip, and stay are everything great it can possibly be. We are and will remain returning customers. Thanks Peggy 💞🍷
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peg Parsons, Other at Moolack Shores Inn
Responded Nov 28, 2021
Hi Alan and lindy I'm so glad that I have met you both . I enjoyed our talks I'm so glad that you we have became good friends I always look forward to seeing you both twice a year and we keep in touch throughout the year.. Happy Holidays I 'll see you in March .. Be Safe Peggy
Read more
Sherrie wrote a review Nov 2021
14 contributions1 helpful vote
It was king tide time and we wanted to be clise to the water. Our view from the Americana room was unobstructed all the way to Devils Punchbowl, complete with a bald eagle fly-by! Our room had a comfortable bed, a sitting area, big flat screen tv, and spotless bathroom with more than enough shampoo and soap. We had a refrigerator, microwave, toaster, plates, cups and wine glasses along with a keurig and PLENTY of coffee and creamer. Peggy, the manager, called to let us know our room was ready at 1, which was lovely. She really cares that guests have a positive experience during their stay. Some people are meant to be innkeepers, and she's terrific. The night we were there we had super high, noisy wind and pouring rain all night, and the king tide brought the waves up to the edge of the beach - it disappeared. The lights on the beach were nice. If I had to note any negatives, it would be that the owner needs to invest in some overall structural improvements and interior touch-up paint. This isn't a new building and coast weather takes a toll.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peg Parsons, Other at Moolack Shores Inn
Responded Nov 8, 2021
Hi NWWild Turtle 1 I'm so glad you had a great stay with me.. Thank you so much for your kind review truly means a lot to me Thank you so much for the kind words for Peggy it means the world to me.. I look forward to seeing you both again Be Safe Happy Holidays Peggy
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$186 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
moolack shores hotel newport
LOCATION
United StatesOregonOregon CoastNewport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Moolack Shores Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Moolack Shores Inn?
Nearby attractions include Yaquina Head Outstanding Natural Area (1.9 miles), Otter Crest Loop (3.2 miles), and Cape Foulweather (4.1 miles).
Which room amenities are available at Moolack Shores Inn?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Moolack Shores Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Moolack Shores Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pacific Kitchen at Nye Beach, Georgie's, and Local Ocean Seafoods.
Does Moolack Shores Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.