We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
20300 NE Highway 240, Newberg, OR 97132-6739
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$199
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/27/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Only 1 left at
$199
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/27/22
Expedia.com
Only 1 left at
$199
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/27/22
Travelocity$199
Priceline$199
Agoda.com$199
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (180)
Room & Suite (75)
Dining (8)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Newberg
Location
4.9
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
4.9
Value
4.7
Travelers' Choice
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Perched on a gentle sloping hillside with commanding views of the Willamette Valley’s working farms and vineyards, The Setting Inn is a Willamette Valley couples' getaway and the ultimate Oregon Wine Country retreat. The Setting Inn is perfectly situated in the Willamette Valley just minutes from the top wineries and vineyards of Newberg, Dayton, Carlton and Dundee, Oregon; the heart of the Willamette Valley wine scene. Whether you are wine tasting in Dundee and Newberg, visiting for a wine country wedding, enjoying a luxury spa treatment in Newberg, or exploring the local restaurants in downtown McMinnville; our central location makes our hotel one of the best places to stay in the Willamette Valley. Select from a variety of luxurious accommodations and stay-packages to understand why The Setting Inn is one of the best hotels in Newberg for couples looking to relax and enjoy all that Oregon Wine Country has to offer. The Setting Inn Willamette Valley is a landmark that ushers in a new standard of modern luxury for Oregon Wine Country accommodations. Serene and natural northwest landscaping around the ten-acre property includes calming lavender, Cyprus trees, fruit trees and our very own boutique vineyard for you to take that perfect selfie. Outdoor fire pits, our inviting courtyard, our heated terrace, bocce ball court, stunningly modernized event barn and a variety of retro yard games create a charming ambiance to disconnect from your routine and discover the beauty of your Setting. Return from a day of wine tasting and exploration to your peaceful retreat and continue to savor the valley views from any of our inviting public spaces. For outdoor adventures, go hot-air ballooning over the Valley, explore the small rural towns of wine country, taste Oregon’s renowned local produce, take a day trip to the breathtaking Oregon Coast or even a quick getaway up to Mt. Hood for snow sports. The Setting Inn will connect you to your perfect Setting. For meal options, start your day off with our Europe-meets-Oregon inspired rustic continental breakfast delivered to your door daily, included with your reservation. Experience the craftsmanship of local Oregonian and Northwest cured meats, cheese, pastries and even a sparkling mimosa each day all from the comfort of your guest retreat. Additionally, many fine-dining restaurants in the Newberg offer pick-up and delivery which may be enjoyed in-room, on your private terrace or in The Event Barn, our signature social gathering space for hotel guests.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Hiking
Board games / puzzles
BBQ facilities
Gift shop
Electric vehicle charging station
Secured parking
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
First aid kit
Umbrella
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
312Reviews1Q+A96Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 288
  • 13
  • 5
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
GDH wrote a review Nov 20
Honolulu, Hawaii127 contributions86 helpful votes
This place is outstanding. Beautiful rooms, great breakfast, and terrific service. The GM, Yndira, and her staff does a great job. Very welcoming. Great location for touring wineries in the Willamette Valley. We will definitely stay here the next time we visit.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Yndira Marrero, Owner at The Setting Inn Willamette Valley
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Gary, Thank you so much for your kind words. We absolutely loved hosting you, and since you are not that far from us we are already looking forward to your return. Wishing you and your family a wonderful holiday season. Aloha, Yndi
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kevsails wrote a review Aug 2022
Little Silver, New Jersey23 contributions10 helpful votes
Property's Favorite Review
My wife and I enjoyed the lovely inn, beautiful grounds and facilities, and the staff was phenomenal. Special shout outs to Yndira and Naomi. We even received an upgrade from a smaller room to one of the largest. The location is central to all of the best wineries and dining spots in the Willamette Valley. The understated and elegant facility was comfy, welcoming and enabled complete relaxation. Loved it!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Yndira Marrero, Owner at The Setting Inn Willamette Valley
Responded Aug 29, 2022
Dear Kevsails, Thank you very much for such a lovely review. It was so wonderful meeting you both, and hosting you. We thank you for being such wonderful guests and we really hope you return to Willamette Valley in the future. Best, Yndi
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Luis D wrote a review Nov 18
My wife and I celebrated our 50th birthdays with 7 other couples. The Setting Inn was the perfect spot for our weekend celebration. The Inn was simply amazing. The views, grounds, privacy, game room, lobby and rooms were awesome. The rooms were large, clean and charming but with modern amenities. The game room became our groups hangout the last night as it was an awesome space to watch some games and enjoy some of the wines we bought. Planning destination events is no easy task and the manager, Yndira Marrero, made thing so much easier for us. Her recommendations for wineries, restaurants and other activities were spot on. She was a true gem! The staff was incredibly nice and accommodating, it really felt more like we had rented an estate than Inn. We are already thinking of when we can go back. Thank you Yndira for helping make the weekend a truly memorable one! Here to the next 50! Cheers!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Just book it. Don’t wait.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Yndira Marrero, Owner at The Setting Inn Willamette Valley
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Luis, thank you so much for taking the time and leaving us such a wonderful review. We absolutely loved celebrating with you all, and getting to know the entire group. We all truly hope to host you again, and we wish you a wonderful holiday season. Cheers, Yndi
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kevin b wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
My wife booked a room for us here for three nights in November to celebrate my 60th. She spent time researching a nice place and booked a room 11 days ago. Today she got a garbled VM saying they were canceling our reservation. When she called to find out why, she was told there was a "buy out" of all the rooms that coincided with two of our three nights. So we got bumped. I get that times have been tough for many businesses, but really! I wonder if the previous reviewers that got their reservations canceled due to a water leak weren't actually bumped like us due to a large party booking. So, back to finding a place to stay...
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Have a back-up plan.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Yndira Marrero, Owner at The Setting Inn Willamette Valley
Responded Sep 4, 2022
Dear Kevin, I'm sorry that you feel this way. As explained to your wife on the phone we had already sent the contract to the group prior to your reservation. Unfortunately when it was returned to us, you had already made the reservation. We cancelled your reservation with a 3 month notice, we understand that it is a special occasion for you, however we are giving you plenty of time to make new arrangements. Regarding the previous reservations cancelled due to our unfortunate leak, there is no need to speculate as we were closed for an entire month to rebuild our new property. We understand that when plans change it can be frustrating, however we can only hope that our guest can understand, we offer a 7 day cancelation without penalty, because we know that thing happen everyday where plans are changed. We wish you a great birthday, Yndi
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
emds10 wrote a review Aug 2022
Madison, Wisconsin, United States10 contributions4 helpful votes
We had a marvelous time staying at The Setting Inn while visiting several vineyards in the area. Our room was amazing, the view was spectacular and the morning continental breakfast was delicious ! We enjoyed Nespresso Coffee and tea throughout our stay and also loved the varied outdoor seating options.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Yndira Marrero, Owner at The Setting Inn Willamette Valley
Responded Aug 29, 2022
Dear Emds10, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to hosting you in the future. Cheers, Yndi
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Candace G wrote a review Jul 2022
Houston, Texas16 contributions1 helpful vote
My husband and I were on a road trip thru northern Oregon and spent two nights at the Setting Inn We absolutely loved it, the grounds were beautiful, we had room 4, it was a very large room with our own large private balcony with a view of the grounds and Willamette Valley, a really nice breakfast box was brought to our door every morning, including mimosas, local coffee in the lobby as well. The staff was really helpful as well, , They made reservations at two wineries for us, dinner reservations as well after our dinner reservations were cancelled due to Covid. They also helped with our Portland plans. We would love to go back and spend more time
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Two nights wasn’t long enough Try to go during lavender season
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Yndira Marrero, Owner at The Setting Inn Willamette Valley
Responded Jul 18, 2022
Dear Candace, thank you so much for your wonderful words. We absolutely loved hosting you and your husband, and it was our pleasure to guide you with recommendations. We are so delighted to be able to host wonderful guests like you both, and we look forward to your next trip to Willamette Valley. Cheers, Yndi
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CurlyRabbit wrote a review Jun 2022
Atlanta, Georgia174 contributions37 helpful votes
You cancelled my reservation (booked 6 months ago) via email because of a water main break and offered no help in finding an alternative (2 weeks before arrival), even after I called you asking for recommendations. Never received them. It was a last minute scramble for us, everything was booked because of Oregon Pinot Camp. Just now, I received an email from you thanking me for my visit and wanting to make sure we were satisfied. What a joke.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid this place. Looks great. Will let you down.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Yndira Marrero, Owner at The Setting Inn Willamette Valley
Responded Jul 1, 2022
Dear Curly Rabbit, thank you for your review. I'm sad to hear that you felt that we did not care when cancelling your reservation, I personally called the phone number on file for every single reservation cancelled. I'm sorry if we could not reach you and the cancelation email was how you were notified. I also apologize that you never received the recommendation email, as we sent them to all guests who accepted our offer of providing it. I apologize we were not able to host you, I understand how frustrating this experience was for you. Unfortunately Emergencies do happen, and all we can hope is that our guests understand that it is out of our control, and we are doing the best we can during a crisis. Regarding the automatic email, it has been paused since it is having technical difficulties do to the large amount of reservations cancelled. Cordially, Yndi
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Melanie H wrote a review Jun 2022
Ann Arbor, Michigan47 contributions63 helpful votes
For many, many months, we were looking forward to our stay here. Two days before our arrival, they cancelled our reservation due to a water leak. I get cancelling it. What I am disappointed about is how they handled it. It was basically "too bad and good luck" finding another place. Our wine tasting and dining reservations were all based on the Setting Inn location. As a result, we drove all over and spent a great deal of time in our car. I gave them the benefit of the doubt thinking they were a new establishment. Then I discovered this is their second location, the first is in the Napa. A luxury resort should have in place how to handle a catastrophe. The icing on the cake was receiving their automated email at what was suppose to be the conclusion of our stay asking us how we liked it. By the way, we ended up at Atticus Inn which was fabulous.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Yndira Marrero, Owner at The Setting Inn Willamette Valley
Responded Jun 30, 2022
Dear Melanie, thank you for your review. I'm sad to hear that you felt that we did not care when cancelling your reservation, when I personally spoke to you directly and apologized profusely, offered the names of other properties in the same area (the Atticus being one of them), and extended a 20% off the best available rate on your next reservation. I know you were extremely upset when we spoke, and I tried my best to diffuse the situation, because it was a situation completely out of our control, and as much as we wanted to make your anniversary great, we did not have a hotel to do so. We are a a team that prides it self on making our guests happy and feel like home, you can witness this by the wonderful reviews we have received on this platform. However, emergencies do happen, and we had to cancel many reservations not just yours, we did it the best we could at a time of crisis for myself, and my staff, I'm sorry if our apologies and discount offered as service recovery was not up to your standards. I also apologize that the automatic email was sent to you, unfortunately we were having to put out fires from all sides, including system errors. Lastly, I apologize we were not able to host you, but we do look forward to your return on a much more positive note, now that our property is officially open. We hope that you extend us the curtesy of showing you how wonderful The Setting Inn is. Cordially, Yndi
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Purvi Prema wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
I just want to start off by saying this place is pure magic! I rented the entire property for a bachelorette weekend and I couldn't have been more pleased. The entire property is just beautiful with the most amazing details! The views are out of this world, we didn't want to leave! Not only was this place perfect, but the staff was incredible. They were so helpful with navigating our way through wine country as well as catering to all of our needs! Indy, the manager really went out of her way to make this weekend special for us, I am so thankful I found this place online. When you stay at the Setting Inn they treat you like family. I cannot recommend this place enough! We will most certainly be back!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Yndira Marrero, Owner at The Setting Inn Willamette Valley
Responded Jun 11, 2022
Dear Purvi, thank you for writing such a lovely review. We are so happy your Bachelorette was wonderful, and had such a great time hosting you and meeting all of the girls. We wish you a phenomenal wedding, and a relaxing honey moon. We look forward to hosting you and the entire family again in the future. Cheers, Yndi
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AgentSmithDC wrote a review May 2022
220 contributions117 helpful votes
+1
It starts with the setting, on a hillside overlooking beautiful farmland in the heart of Willamette wine country. Dozens of vineyards are nearby, as is the lovely small town of Newberg, with numerous good restaurants. The attractive property is nicely landscaped, with great inside and outdoor spaces to relax or congregate. Our room was spacious, comfortable and well appointed. Staff is pleasant and attentive. We did not want to leave!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Check out Furioso and Nicolas-Jay vineyards, and SubTerra for dinner.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Yndira Marrero, Owner at The Setting Inn Willamette Valley
Responded May 31, 2022
Dear AgentSmithDC, thank you for writing such a wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the beauty of Willamette Valley, and our property features. We look forward to host you in the future. Cheers, Yndi
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$164 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Le Puy A Wine Valley Inn
LOCATION
United StatesOregonNewberg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SETTING INN WILLAMETTE VALLEY $161 ($̶1̶8̶8̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews - Newberg, OR

Frequently Asked Questions about The Setting Inn Willamette Valley
Which popular attractions are close to The Setting Inn Willamette Valley?
Nearby attractions include Willamette Valley (3.4 miles), Champoeg State Heritage Park (2.8 miles), and Sokol Blosser Tasting Room & Winery (4.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Setting Inn Willamette Valley?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness center.
Which room amenities are available at The Setting Inn Willamette Valley?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Setting Inn Willamette Valley?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Setting Inn Willamette Valley?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Setting Inn Willamette Valley?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rosmarino Osteria Italiana, Painted Lady, and Jory Restaurant at The Allison Inn & Spa.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Setting Inn Willamette Valley?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Setting Inn Willamette Valley?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Champoeg State Heritage Park (2.8 miles) and Hoover Minthorn House (3.1 miles).
Is The Setting Inn Willamette Valley accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.