Allison Inn & Spa

Allison Inn & Spa

I didn't have to ask for a kettle, it came in the room! Such a small but big thing for tea drinkers.
Traveler (619)
soaking tub
Room & Suite (332)
Jory Restaurant & Bar at the Allison Inn & Spa
Dining (74)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sun, Jun 2
$645
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 5 hotels in Newberg
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.7
Value
4.3
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Nestled in the lush beauty of Oregon Wine Country's Willamette Valley, The Allison Inn & Spa boasts 85 luxury Newberg, OR hotel rooms and suites with gas fireplaces, personal terraces or balconies, spacious spa bathrooms with soaking tubs, 42’ flat-screen TVs and complimentary Wi-Fi. Signature hotel amenities include fine dining at JORY, a pampering spa with 12 treatment rooms, a fitness studio and a swimming pool. While staying at this Oregon Wine Country hotel, explore the property’s 35 acres of fragrantly elegant gardens and pathways connecting to vineyards and a beautiful picnic area. The Allison is also a premier choice for meetings, social events and weddings, offering a variety of flexible event spaces for up to 480 guests. When it’s time for an adventure, head out to enjoy a number of exciting activities on your Oregon vacation, such as hiking, grape stomping, wine tasting, and so much more. Suitable for family vacations, romantic getaways, business trips and solo adventures, The Allison Inn & Spa offers something for every pursuit in scenic Willamette Valley.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Spa
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles2,375 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled in a prime location, the Allison Inn & Spa is celebrated by many for its proximity to local wineries and dining options, making it a haven for explorers. The hotel garners accolades for its professional service and immaculate cleanliness, with guests noting the exceptional attention to detail. Its tranquil atmosphere, luxurious spa, and beautiful pool contribute to a serene experience, although opinions on value do vary. The spacious rooms are well-received, despite some minor discomforts concerning room temperature and the absence of coffee makers.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Welcoming
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Attentive
Amenities
World-class

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
2,375Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,944
  • 245
  • 101
  • 49
  • 37
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mom of 4 wrote a review Jan 2021
Vancouver, Washington3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a lovely 2 night stay to celebrate our anniversary from 2020 (when everything was cancelled). The spa services were wonderful and worth the splurge. We felt pampered and enjoyed having a room just a short walk from the spa. It made the COVID regulations of “no locker room use” easier to manage. The in room soaking tub was huge and a nice treat. The complementary bath salts were icing on the cake. We hope to stay there again!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nomad783853 wrote a review Dec 2021
5 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We started visiting the Allison 10 years ago and have been regular customer at least once per year. Our last visit was in December 2020 with restricted amenities. We used to be able to spend the night, get two massages and have dinner and breakfast at Jory for around $900. We even came in December 2020 to support the Allison because of Covid and we know it hurt the Allison.

Going forward, we're not staying the night until the spa services are fully restored. The appeal of spending $400+/night was the pampering and convenience of using the spa nearby. In December 2020, we received massages but the steam room, sauna, showers and tea service was not available. In December 2021, there is no massage availability (staff shortage) and even with a massage, why is the shower, steam room and sauna closed? The spa treatment wouldn't be worth it. (Aside: The athletic club we belong to in Portland has all the amenities open including massage.)

The best part about visiting the Allison the last several times has been Jory. Despite the increased cost, we thoroughly enjoyed all our meals, especially the chef's tasting menu.

We'll save some money and use the Allison for fine dining only until services are restored.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Flyer240226 wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in a King room on the ground floor. Super clean, staff in every department was excellent. 3min drive to George Fox University. Room rates were too high for a time during Covid when the pool and the fitness rooms are restricted to appointments only. In the 3 days I was there, I could only get one appointment. No valet, no restaurant, very limited room service menu. Overall I would return when Covid has improved and the entire amenities can be accessible
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Celia L wrote a review Jul 2021
Scottsdale, Arizona83 contributions76 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in room 410, the grand suite, for 4 nights and was appalled by the truly poor cleaning of the suite. Never was a vacuum used, no dusting of surfaces, bathroom never wiped, toilet not scrubbed, missing floor mats (bath mats) the last 2 days of stay. The recycling is a joke, garbage and recycling were put in same trash bag when it was picked up, overall for over $2,000 a night it was beyond disappointing.

Hopefully management will read this and make the necessary adjustments. Nice property, great location, the weather was good, but cleaning needs a major improvement. Also in common areas, a lot of dust on floors that could be seen when the sun shined on floors etc.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wyosno wrote a review Feb 2021
4 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Then itself is a very nice property, and a nice location within Oregon wine country.
Traveling or visiting anywhere during Covid restrictions is challenging to say the least still hoping for a nice oasis away.
The property itself in the room was actually very exceptional.

However our five star expectations for service and dining were lacking.

At this time in room dining is the only option which is fine as we’ve traveled to other places with similar restrictions.

But to not have any food drinks available from 1:30 in the afternoon until five, and having a very very very limited menu was Frustrating.
The only real option for a nice dinner on Valentine’s Day night was a very basic filet mignon, Celeriac scallop soup and a chocolate parfait dessert.
Aside from that the options were a pastrami sandwich a hamburger etc.
Unable to get any other snacks outside of there a lot of times and no available for specialty drinks or cocktails.
The room was really nice the spa services were nice the in room dining and other amenities just made it less than perfect.
The spa has very limited hours.

In order to use the pool or the hot tub you need to make reservations which again I understand but when it’s only available till four in the afternoon on a weekend seems unreasonable also.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AnaFromTheBlock wrote a review Feb 2021
Lake Oswego, Oregon6 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Worst customer service! They will store your credit card number without your permission! We went for a spa service about 3 months ago and asked about scheduling another service in 3 months. They told us that their schedule was not open that far out but they would call us when it was. That's it.
Well, they did much more than that. They scheduled us for an appointment without our permission and simply emailed us to tell us they scheduled it. This was a big surprise for us but we thought we could make it and agreed. Then a personal emergency came up and we had to reschedule. Like all personal emergencies, it came up unexpectedly and not within the time frame of the Allison Inn policies. We called and tried to reschedule the services for the next day. They said they had no availability and furthermore, even if they did, they would still charge us $205 for canceling last minute. Mind you, this is not even an appointment we made!!! They made this appointment without our permission. They told us they would just call us when their calendar opened up in 3 months. Of course, they had our credit card number stored from the last time we had a service at the spa and used that to charge us the cancelation fee. We never signed anything either agreeing to their cancelation policy and we certainly never signed anything that authorized them to keep our credit card on file. Beware about giving this business your credit card! This is a terrible business practice. Had they just allowed us to reschedule the appointment that they made for us without our permission, we would have continued going here. Instead, they lost 2 customers for life just to be able to earn $205 dollars. Wow.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sarah Lamb, Other at Allison Inn & Spa
Responded Mar 26, 2021
We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us regarding your recent Spa experience. While we are extremely saddened to hear of your disappointment, please allow us to share some feedback as well. When the Allison Spa reopened we did so under limited availability due to the guidelines and restrictions we are expected to follow, this unfortunately does make allowing for short term booking of appointments difficult. Our email communication shows that you reached out on Saturday inquiring about making appointments on either that Sunday or Monday. Our Spa management team went above & beyond to accommodate what requests we could make all the while keeping you updated via email. All of the appointments that were made were verified and confirmed via email as well as the receipt of our cancellation policy. It is unfortunate that an emergency did arise and you were not able to make your appointments, however it was a same day cancellation therefore we did adhere to our cancellation policy that you had received in advance. We would also like to make note of the fact that we do not keep credit cards on file. Our system automatically encrypts all of the numbers and we can only view the last four digits. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with us, we take any and all feedback very seriously.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
anateeter wrote a review Mar 2022
Portland, Oregon1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Due to covid we were unable to make our honeymoon to Europe, but the Allison completely made up for it! The room was beautiful as was the spa and the pool, the food at the Jory was delicious (just as fresh and delicious if ordered via room service, which is unheard of), and the location was in close proximity to several wineries and delicious restaurants in Newberg and Dundee. We are so lucky to have had our stay at the Allison, and cannot wait to return in the future. This place is an absolute gem!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erin W wrote a review Oct 2021
Belleville28 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Allison is beautiful, clean, warm, comfortable, and beautifully blends into the scenery. The Jory Restaurant was delicious for breakfast and dinner, the Jory's own wine was fun to try, and the cocktails were great as well. The beds are comfortable, the room is perfectly appointed, and the spa/pool make you feel like you're in the middle of a magazine photo op. We had a wonderful time! The only reason for the 4/5 stars is that the staff was not very welcoming, all staff seemed super rigid and inflexible, and you always felt like you were putting someone out or annoying them (this is with the exception of a couple great/super nice staff). For this type of hotel, you just expect a little more friendly service and a "how can I make your stay better" attitude.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sarah Lamb, Other at Allison Inn & Spa
Responded Oct 29, 2021
Greetings from Oregon Wine Country! Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all that we have to offer. As we take great pride in providing warm, gracious hospitality we are disheartened to hear that we did not let that shine during your stay and your thoughtfully detailed review will be shared with the team. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again should your travels bring you back our way.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jason R wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A hotel as nice as this in Napa would run close to $1000/night. Be prepared to be ensconced in relaxing luxury! The large rooms have the perfect layout (very similar to a Four Seasons), multiple places you will love to hangout at, including by the fireplace, in the window nook/daybed, the enormous soaking tub (fits 2 people easily), dining table, and of course a huge king bed. The Spa is incredible as well.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sarah L, Guest Relations Manager at Allison Inn & Spa
Responded Feb 19, 2020
What a wonderful review of your recent experience with us! We cannot thank you enough for your kind words and thoughtfully detailed review. We are delighted to hear that you were able to experience all that we have to offer, including finding all of the most relaxing spots to rest and unwind. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
emw0407 wrote a review Aug 2021
Gilbert, Arizona1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall, this is a gorgeous resort. Easy check in and check out and the front desk staff was so nice. In room dining however could use a bit of help, training their staff to be courteous and on time perhaps. It may be a good idea to print out times for breakfast... on vacation wasn't expecting breakfast to end at 9am and then was told 5 minutes after 9 we could not get scrambled eggs. We also asked to customize the scrambled eggs from the brunch menu to not include the shrimp and cream cheese and were told the scrambled eggs cannot come plain or be customized. Also, we ordered 3 glasses of ice water. (Getting ready for my sister's wedding in a giant suite, we didn't have the means to go get ice at the time.) The girl on the phone told us we needed to get the ice from the end of the hallway and that there's "tap water" in our room. Ensure that guests are told about the filtered water available in rooms, perhaps. They also did not honor their 45 minute wait for food delivery and we had to call and ask for the status of the food, then had to eat it so fast because it was already so late. So although minor, not the kind of service we were expecting while paying that much money per night. Beautiful property, amazing room and comfy bed. The bathtub was also incredible.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
esrraman asked a question Aug 2020
Boynton Beach, Florida1 contribution
What would transportation costs look like to and from wineries for two people?
Answer from douglas m
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida1 contribution
Best think to do is rent a car or a limo service as the wineries are spread out.
Answer from Richard B
Eugene, Oregon752 contributions161 helpful votes
Cannon Beach is must! Try the Cooking School for a great food experience although a little pricy and need advanced reservation!
TrixJacksonHole_WY asked a question Mar 2019
Jackson, Wyoming129 contributions22 helpful votes
Are you Pet Friendly?
Answer from Andrea Desiree
Los Angeles, California23 contributions15 helpful votes
They once were but sadly now don't even accept service pets. Save your money and stay at one of the local B&B's!
Answer from Montanalu
Billings, Montana37 contributions37 helpful votes
Magness Memorial Tree Farm is in Sherwood 6 miles way and they have hiking trails. The Areospace museum is right there in Newberg. It contains the original Spruce Goose. There is a waterslide right next door as well. I am sure there are many bike trails as there are all over Oregon. Maybe check at a bike shop for maps.
Answer from Laurie S
Salem, Oregon26 contributions5 helpful votes
Newberg is only a half hour from Portland, where you can do a wide variety of big city shopping, museums, art galleries, etc. And there are hiking and biking and golfing opportunities near the Inn.
MissMaryPatricia wrote a tip May 13
11 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Free Valet Parking! Farm to table veggies & eatable flowers (eat up)!! If you ask you can get a tour of the Chef’s garden & green house!!"
Read full review
CristenB wrote a tip Apr 2024
Bend, Oregon28 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Corner Rooms are fabulous"
Read full review
Dotts0908 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Nairobi, Kenya1,322 contribution211 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is no signage but follow Google Maps faithfully "
Read full review
Danielle N wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Enjoy the spa. "
Read full review
Saramsh wrote a tip Jan 2024
Wilsonville, Oregon2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go early if you can, you want to enjoy every moment! "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Newberg area.
PRICE RANGE
$591 - $713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
allison hotel newberg, allison inn and spa
LOCATION
United StatesOregonNewberg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
85
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ALLISON INN & SPA - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Allison Inn & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Allison Inn & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Champoeg State Heritage Park (2.0 miles), Chehalem Tasting Room (1.8 miles), and Zerba Cellars Tasting Room (4.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Allison Inn & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Allison Inn & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Allison Inn & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Allison Inn & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Allison Inn & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rosmarino Osteria Italiana, Painted Lady, and Jory Restaurant at The Allison Inn & Spa.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Allison Inn & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Allison Inn & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Allison Inn & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Allison Inn & Spa?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Champoeg State Heritage Park (2.0 miles) and Hoover Minthorn House (1.8 miles).
Does Allison Inn & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
All Newberg HotelsNewberg Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NewbergHotels near Allison Inn & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars