We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Whistling Winds Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lincoln City
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Whistling Winds Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

211 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 208: English reviews
dallas, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I loved that they restored this little motel, very cozy. We have stayed 3 times. Close to the beach and the casino. The room is very old school, has a very nice Jacuzzi in the room. There is no a/c, and the bed was the worst I have ever slept in. The bed was old and very uncomfortable. The pillows... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patti C
historicgetaway, Manager at Whistling Winds Motel, responded to this review

Sounds like you had one of the hot tub rooms. All the rooms have a coffee maker, microwave, and fridge, except the hot tub rooms, due to the size. We do offer coffee vouchers for a local coffee shop in those rooms. We hope you were able to make use of those. There is also a small cooler, which we... More 

Hillsboro, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

i stayed here with my family and fell in love with the comfort and convenience of the property and how amazing the staff is that when i had to stay in Lincoln city for work i made whistling winds my home.... there are many different types of rooms to choose from.

Helpful?
Thank missy4902016
historicgetaway, Manager at Whistling Winds Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so happy to hear you love this place as much as we do! We love having you, and your family stay with us, and we try our best to make your stay, a wonderful experience. We hope you come back in the near future! More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016

A quick & easy walk to ocean beach access, about 1 block away. Plenty of chairs for sitting outside on warm summer evenings. Local owned, with helpful and inviting managers. I like wood paneled decor, and room 6 was beautifully done with natural wood. Great value for the money. Very quiet at night. Lights were almost too dim for evening/after-dark... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda D
historicgetaway, General Manager at Whistling Winds Motel, responded to this review

Hi Linda! So happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We are so happy you enjoyed the chairs. The owner built them himself, and loves when our guest get to enjoy them. He also did the wood paneling. It's wonderful that you appreciate it. So sorry about the lighting. We will look into providing more lighting in the rooms. Maybe... More 

Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

Wow. Found this place by fluke on a July 4th weekend litterly by going down the wrong road. Fate led us to meet the Inn Kepper Andrew who was amazingly friendly from start to finish. We ended up in the Kontiki Room. It was stunning with its woodwork. The jet tub was massive. I am sure tubs like that were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dale M
historicgetaway, Manager at Whistling Winds Motel, responded to this review

Hi Dale, We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We aim to make every aspect of your stay wonderful. We are glad you enjoyed the hot tub. Pretty nice! Nothing better than a walk on the beach, and to come back, and soak and relax. Thank you for appreciating the hard work of the housekeeper! It... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016 via mobile

This was our first weekend away without the kids in over 10 years. We wanted a romantic getaway for our anniversary and found the Whistling Winds Motel website. It looked & sounded lovely so we booked 2 nights in the Love Shack themed room. After a 4 1/2 hour drive we arrived to check in. We were then told there... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JayNay523
historicgetaway, Manager at Whistling Winds Motel, responded to this review

Hello JayNay, We, like many other motels, do not offer housekeeping service during your stay, to conserve on water and waste. It's a practice that many motels have been taking on, and we feel it helps out the environment. We are more than happy to provide fresh towels, upon request. We gave you and your husband 7 extra towels, for... More 

Freiburg
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

We had one of their standard rooms. Nothing in special to report, everything was in the room, flat screen TV, coffeemaker and microwave. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The whole set-up was really comfy and we enjoyed our stay. The Motel is in a residential area and so there was absolutely no noise. Close to the beach,... More 

Helpful?
Thank freiburger09
historicgetaway, Manager at Whistling Winds Motel, responded to this review

Hi there! So happy to hear you had a great stay! We aim to make everything pleasant for you! Isn't the beach beautiful at night? Nice and quiet, and peaceful. We would love for you to come back again! Maybe a Jacuzzi room? Have a wonderful day! More 

Mulino, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016

Comfortable, clean very pleasant little gem for family gatherings. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was our first overnight family trip for mother's day. It was very special we look forward to returning in the near future.

Helpful?
Thank koreagirl76
historicgetaway, Manager at Whistling Winds Motel, responded to this review

Hi! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! It's always fun to come stay with family! We hope all your needs were met! We hope to see you again soon. Have a wonderful day! More 

Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

Came here to get away from stress. The hotel is adorable and very quick walk to the beach. I could hear the ocean from my room. Unfortunately due to other guests partying in the parking lot till 5am I didn't sleep nor hear the beach. This is to no fault of the hotel though. Very clean, and very friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank Phrrt
historicgetaway, Manager at Whistling Winds Motel, responded to this review

Hi there! So glad you enjoyed the Motel. Our Housekeeper is wonderful, and puts a lot of detail in making the rooms clean and fresh for you. Isn't the Ocean the best sound? It can lull you right to sleep. So sorry to hear about the people in the parking lot. Please, never hesitate to call us, and let us... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2016 via mobile

Great place to stay. Rooms are clean. Vintage cottage feel. I love how it does not look like every other motel, and don't have the hideous drapes and bed spread. Everything is like you would have in your own home. Cozy. Love it here.

Helpful?
Thank Julie H
historicgetaway, Manager at Whistling Winds Motel, responded to this review

So happy to hear you had a good time. We try to ensure every aspect of your stay is a wonderful moment. We hope to see you again soon! More 

Independence
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2016 via mobile

This is the best little hideaway. It is clean and cozy. Feels like home. It is beautifully decorated. I love the fact that the beach is so close. The sound of the water is so soothing. The views are amazing. The staff is very kind. I had no problems with feeling like I was just a room number, they treated... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lori V
historicgetaway, Manager at Whistling Winds Motel, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay Lori. We strive to make every aspect of your trip to Lincoln City a great, and wonderful experience! We really look forward to your next stay with us! Please feel free to call us anytime, with any questions or concerns! Have a wonderful day! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

371 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (7)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (286)
Viewed
Room/Suite (221)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (38)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lincoln City hotels
0.2 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#18 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.0 of 5 stars 582 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
The Coho Oceanfront Lodge
#4 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
Inn at Wecoma Lincoln City
#5 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#3 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 stars 932 reviews
4.2 mi away
Looking Glass Inn
Looking Glass Inn
#2 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel
Starfish Manor Oceanfront Hotel
#6 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 stars 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Whistling Winds is a restored 1930's Motor Coach Motel. This sixteen unit motel is nestled quietly in Lincoln City's residential neighborhood across street and 1/2 block to low beach access. Only 6 blocks to casino. On casino shuttle route. Prices Subject To Change Enjoy the sound of the ocean waves in our fireplace suite. Vaulted ceilings, warm rich wood and walls, hand built river rock fireplace and fully equipped kitchen adorn this beautifully restored cottage. Other units and cottages include: 3 jacuzzi rooms, 5 full kitchen rooms, 3 family units, 3 studios, 2 vintage studios and 3 vintage cottages. We are now No Smoking. For our Friends who Smoke there are Covered Porches and a Covered Tent Area. No Pets Please. We now have WIFI available for our guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Whistling Winds Motel

Address: 3264 NW Jetty Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367-4601
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Lincoln City
Price Range: $72 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Whistling Winds Hotel
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lincoln City
#6 Family Hotel in Lincoln City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing