We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountain View Motel & RV Park

Save
Share
83450 Joseph Hwy, Joseph, OR 97846-8150
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (52)
Room & Suite (29)
Pool & Beach (1)

About

#1 of 4 hotels in Joseph
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.4
Value
4.5
Stay at the Mountain View Motel & RV Park for quiet country-style lodgings and camping on four beautifully manicured acres. Find us on the Hell’s Canyon Scenic Byway two miles from Joseph, eastern Oregon’s inspiring art and outdoor recreation destination at the base of the Wallowa Mountains. The motel is open year-round and offers nine rooms, three of which are suites with full kitchen and dining area, separate bedroom, living room, and private patio. All rooms are smoke-free with free high-speed Internet, air conditioning, front door parking, flat screen TV, fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, and a sliding glass door that opens to a back deck with patio furniture and BBQ grill. All guests have access to free ice and coin-op laundry. Groups and families gathering here appreciate the mix of motel rooms and suites, along with RV camping and tepee rentals in the park. The seasonal RV park has 50/30/20 amp and water hookups with sewer station on site. There are three carpeted tepees that sleep four on thick comfy mattresses. They each have an electric fireplace and outlet to charge your devices. The park has WiFi, a clean shower house, fire pits, picnic tables, and water features. Pets are accepted in the RV park with exceptions, so please check the website for details. Hunters and motorcycle enthusiasts welcome. All reservations are directly booked with the owner by phone.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Vending machine
Patio
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun deck
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / closet
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English
109Reviews0Q+A21Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 67
  • 28
  • 6
  • 3
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
michelle g wrote a review Aug 2022
10 contributions1 helpful vote
Great scenery. The front of this place does not do it justice. The rv park is a really nice setting some with great views of the mountains other with horses that will come to you. The place is clean and quiet with free ice. It is less than 5 minutes to town.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Claudia A wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
We came to Joseph to greet our new grandbaby, but soon after his birth, everyone came down with the very contagious BA2 Covid. Except me. I fled! I cold called Mountain View and Scott the owner made every effort to work me in through the week. I moved to 3 different rooms here, so I can tell you this motel is consistently clean and well stocked, with attention to every need. Cathy the housekeeper will treat you like you are in her own home. Here is what you will find: A 10 room cabin style motel and 16 or so RV spaces one mile from the busyness of downtown Joseph. Each room has sliding door to a wood deck with table and chairs and some have a BBQ pit. Most decks look out over the beautifully landscaped RV park, gorgeous snow capped mountains, trees and TP's. It is very quiet and peaceful here. If Scott doesn't answer your call, he is out working on the property and will call you back. He is the reason this place is such a pleasure to experience. We will be recommending Mountain View to anyone who visits Joseph. C. Anderson
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jim B wrote a review Jun 2022
Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico21 contributions10 helpful votes
Scott is the owner and very friendly and hospitable. He maintains both the rooms and the entire RV park at the highest level possible. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The views of the Wallowa Mountains from the porch are perfect. There are laundry facilities on site. Overall it is the best place to stay in the Wallowa Valley. You won't be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ghoman31 wrote a review Sep 2021
Columbus, Ohio1 contribution1 helpful vote
We had a terrible experience with the owner here. We had a reservation booked here for weeks, coming all the way from Ohio with our 35ft trailer. When we arrived, he had his driveway blocked off so that we couldn’t even turn in. I had to get out on the road and move cones that were set up for my husband to even pull in. The spot he had reserved for us would not fit our trailer. He was not open to giving us any other spot, even saying that he doesn’t typically allow trailers as big as ours…. Why then did he agree to take our reservation?? At one point even saying that we should get a smaller camper. He wasn’t even apologetic and just acted like he was completely inconvenienced by us. We ended up not being able to find a reservation in Joseph anywhere and couldn’t follow through with any of our plans there. Such a complete disappointment. Beware that if you have a sizable trailer, you will not be able to stay here, even if your reservation is taken.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Hathorn, Owner at Mountain View Motel & RV Park
Responded Sep 21, 2021
Thanks for your recap, Gwen. Unfortunately, it contained some inaccuracies. First, the traffic cones WERE set up to demark a pathway across the freshly sealed asphalt driveway. There WAS a pathway. Second, we've had 35' trailers parked in that RV Site many times over the years by experienced drivers. We do have trailer length restrictions mostly to compensate for drivers who are NOT competent at backing. Third, you forgot to mention that I'd called another RV Park and secured an RV Site for you for that night, and gave their ph no and directions to your husband. Sorry your trip didn't work out. Scott T aledToverlooked the drivers who are d ac s
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
OregonMomoffive wrote a review Jul 2021
Oregon65 contributions53 helpful votes
This is an older property with small cabin like rooms. Some of the rooms have kitchenettes, but we stayed in a regular motel room. The rooms are small, but include everything you need. There is a small fridge, microwave, coffee maker, small table and bed. There is also a nice deck to sit on and a bbq to use as well. The place is spotlessly clean and beautifully landscaped. It was very quiet, could not hear those on either side of us. My only critique was that the bed was a bit lumpy and the air conditioner a bit loud. Great affordable option!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Hathorn, Owner at Mountain View Motel & RV Park
Responded Jul 28, 2021
Hi OregonMomoffive. Thanks for your kind words / review. First I've heard of any lumpy mattresses here, since we replaced all of the mattresses about 3 years ago. Nonetheless, if you're inclined, I'd appreciate it if you'd call and let me know which room you were in so I can check it out. 541-432-2982. Thanks. Scott
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
IDChargerGirl wrote a review Jun 2021
Boise, Idaho7 contributions6 helpful votes
We called last minute and were able to grab a spot for our camper. Scott was a fantastic host and it shows in this property. The grounds are immaculate and the bathrooms are the cleanest we have ever seen. The views are stunning. Right amount of mix of activity and quiet on a Friday night. We will definitely be going back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Hathorn, Owner at Mountain View Motel & RV Park
Responded Jun 30, 2021
Howdy ID Charger Girl! Thanks for rave review. I'm flattered. Just doing my best for all of us to have a good time. Meanwhile, the snow's been melting fast about 6 weeks early. HEAT WAVE! So looking for recruits to go up there and paint the peaks white. Are you ready? Happy Trails. Scott
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kathy wrote a review Apr 2021
Hudson, Wisconsin17 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
We are traveling from Wisconsin. We planned a long trip to get away from it all. I have stage 4 cancer, and want to see more of the world before l leave it. This little gem of a motel made my day. It quiet, comfortable and clean. The folks that own the place couldn't be nicer. Cabin like rooms with a beautiful view of the mountains. There are RV spots as well. You are close to Joseph and to Enterprise. So you are close to everything, but far enough away to have peaceful night. I reccomend this motel to everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Hathorn, Owner at Mountain View Motel & RV Park
Responded Apr 4, 2021
Why HELLO you Travelers from Wisconsin! I'm delighted that you came all the way from Wisconsin to the Mt View Motel & RV Park in remote NE OR "to get away from it all." AND thanks for your kind words. It was our pleasure to meet you. Best Wishes, Scott
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa M wrote a review Oct 2020
Bend, Oregon2 contributions1 helpful vote
Check in was a breeze. The guy was friendly and inviting. Answered all our questions and recommended a few places in town for dinner. The motel grounds are well maintained. The room is affordable and clean. It has all of the basic amenities you would find in a motel room. The bed is super soft. One of those beds you sink into. Spectacular view of the mountains from the back deck!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Hathorn, Owner at Mountain View Motel & RV Park
Responded Oct 20, 2020
Hi there Z6395NDllsam from Bend.... Whoa! Your review covered all the bases! Thanks for your "home run" review. Happy Trails Scott
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary S wrote a review Aug 2020
Redwood City, California28 contributions16 helpful votes
We stayed four nights and would have stayed longer. Perfect place for star gazing. Its quite and very spacious in most of the spaces. Ask for some shade if this is important to you. The manager Scott is very personable and we really enjoyed staying here. Showers and bathrooms were very clean.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: ask for shade if RV camping in the summer.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Hathorn, Owner at Mountain View Motel & RV Park
Responded Aug 14, 2020
Hi There P9086HSmarys... I appreciate your comment about shade. I've bee working on that for years. In 2015 I planted 5 Maple trees among the RV Spots. Everything was growing well until Spring of 2019 when unseasonably warm weather "thawed out" the trees and sap began to run. That warm spell was followed by a hard freeze that froze the Maples all the way through and blasted off their bark. DOA. We've replanted a hardier Maple variety this Spring and have high hopes (again) for more shade. Thanks. Scott
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
andyzPortland_Oregon wrote a review Jul 2020
Portland, Oregon32 contributions48 helpful votes
This is the cutest, tightest roadside in ever 85$ Clean Little fridge works Caring owner People staying in their RVS And teepee camping We are in room 3.... awesome Horseshoes, ice machine, gardens, well tended grounds Bravo Pete!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott Hathorn, Owner at Mountain View Motel & RV Park
Responded Aug 14, 2020
Hey Andyz... Nice list Pard BUT apparently I forgot to tell you about the swimming hole out in the back 40. Great for canonballs! Something for your future, eh? Bravo Pete!! to you too. Scott
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
mountain view hotel
LOCATION
United StatesOregonJoseph
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MOUNTAIN VIEW MOTEL & RV PARK - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews (Joseph, OR)

Frequently Asked Questions about Mountain View Motel & RV Park
Which popular attractions are close to Mountain View Motel & RV Park?
Nearby attractions include Valley Bronze Gallery & Foundry (1.7 miles), Josephy Center for Arts and Culture (1.7 miles), and Wallowology Natural History Discovery Center (1.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mountain View Motel & RV Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at Mountain View Motel & RV Park?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Mountain View Motel & RV Park?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Mountain View Motel & RV Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mountain View Motel & RV Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Arrowhead Chocolates, Old Towne Cafe, and Embers Restaurant.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mountain View Motel & RV Park?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Does Mountain View Motel & RV Park have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.