We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
201 Osprey Lane, Independence, OR 97351
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
$149
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/17/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
$149
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/17/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com$169
Priceline$169
Travelocity$149
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (45)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (3)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Location
4.9
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
4.8
Value
4.6
Travelers' Choice
Just minutes from the world-class wineries of the scenic Eola Amity Hills and Van Duzer AVAs, located on the banks of the Willamette River in Riverview Park, and just 13 miles from Salem, Oregon, The Travelers Choice Award Winning Independence Hotel is a boutique hotel featuring Territory Restaurant in charming downtown Independence, Oregon. Just 3 miles from Western Oregon University, and in the heart of great cycling and kayaking trails and routes, The Independence is dog friendly, features complimentary breakfast, a rooftop deck, hot tub, well equipped workout room, premier bike-friendly amenities and breakfast, lunch dinner, a bar and our stunning restaurant solarium overlooking the Willamette River. Our rooms feature large showers, great views, luxurious bedding and towels, fantastic mattresses, original art, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, and a special space for 2 bikes in the entry area of our generously wide rooms. Riverview Park, in which the Independence Hotel is located, features 2 miles of riverfront walking trails, The Independence Amphitheater -- that features many concerts, movies, as well as recreational and cultural events -- a large children's playground, Willamette River put-ins for kayaks and canoes, a dog park and and a Frisbee golf course among its many amenities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycles available
Canoeing
Kids stay free
Electric vehicle charging station
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Patio
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
69Reviews1Q+A16Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 64
  • 2
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Deborah K wrote a review Nov 2022
Vancouver, Washington1 contribution
First, you'd be hard-pressed to find a town cuter than Independence, Oregon, IMHO. The charming downtown, the river, and the amazing architecture of the old houses surrounding the downtown area make this one special town. Add to that the Independence Hotel and there's every reason to visit Independence. Everything about this hotel made for such a great stay that I'm already thinking about the next time. First, every person with whom I came in contact at the hotel, both on the phone and in-person, was so nice and so accommodating!! The rooms are beautiful and really well-cared for and the fact that the hotel is on the river, with a short pretty path that runs along it behind the hotel) kicks this place a few notches up the Amazing Scale. Insider's Tip: In addition to the path behind the hotel along the river, if you cross the large parking lot on C St., right outside the hotel, there's another really nice trail (with a great-looking dog park about mid-way along the trail) that's a really nice two/two and a half mile (round trip) walk. Special shout out to Sam S. at the front desk and Ashley with Housekeeping. Both made my stay extra-nice. All in all, this is one great place to stay if you're in or near Independence. I'll definitely be back. Keep up the great work, y'all!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Colleen W wrote a review Jun 2022
Portland, Oregon2 contributions
Hotel's Favorite
We stayed for a wedding - as busy Parents of the Bride. The hotel was a fabulous headquarters for the event! The bride and bride squad used the Squad Room Suite for a couple nights to hang out, bond, and prepare and primp for the wedding day. The Squad Room Suite is perfect for brides and bridesmaids with a special area for the dresses, equipped with a high-quality steamer, terrycloth robes, and mirrors. There is an ultra long vanity with multiple lighted mirrors, outlets and lots of space for hair tools and makeup. Absolutely perfect! Plenty of room and supplies for snacks and drinks in the full size fridge and a living dining area for lounging. Last but definitely not least, the showstopper - the six well-appointed built-in bunk-beds! Our suite was perfect as well- and was the hub for napkin- ironing, folding and late night bubbly! The staff at The Independence was top-notch, supplying wine glasses to our suite, and making sure everything was perfect for the rooftop mixer the evening before the wedding. The food ordered at the restaurant and provided for the mixer was fabulous! The setting along the River is idyllic, and so relaxing and energizing at once. The town of Independence is adorable, and our overnight guests loved exploring the town and surrounding area! I can’t say enough good things about our experience at the Independence! Thank you Thank you Thank you for making our stay so perfect!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt Smith, General Manager at The Independence Hotel
Responded Jul 5, 2022
Hello Colleen! Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your amazing experience with us. It's reviews like this that we love to see and read. Our Squad room is so incredibly unique, and fits the wedding mold perfectly. Everything you mentioned was meticulously thought of for weddings in mind. And don't forget the dual temp wine fridge too! We're ecstatic that you had such a great experience, and hopefully this is something you can make an annual retreat out of. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Sincerely, Matt Smith - General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kristin B wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
My husband and I have stayed here while we are building our house nearby and have enjoyed our stay but this last trip has made me not a fan of your hotel. After driving 5 hours in pouring rain, I arrived to find that you had oversold the hotel and my reservation wasn’t going to be honored at 8:30 at night. No phone call to warn me ahead of time, no offer to help me find another room - just too bad, so sad. Very poor customer service and now we stay somewhere else during our trips down. I have never been so poorly treated by a hotel before.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Samuel Diaz, General Manager at The Independence Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your comments and alerting us to your experience. I have tried reaching out to you through Expedia and have yet to hear back. This was painful to read, as it is our highest priority to provide great hospitality and we have a strict policy not to overbook! During that time, we were experiencing an unusual technical problem with the third-party online reservations system (Expedia) that is supposed to report to our property, and was not, this issue caused the overbooking to happen on this day. We were able to fix the problem quickly, but it resulted in your overbooked reservation. As a customer, you are our priority, and we want to make things right so please reach out! I look forward to hearing from you soon! Samuel Diaz General Manager (503) 837-0200 samd@theindependencehotel.com
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jean C wrote a review Nov 2022
3 contributions3 helpful votes
A quiet comfortable hotel with spacious rooms and great beds. The restaurant offers a good selection of well prepared dishes for dinner. The hotel is on the river bank and has lovely grounds for walking around.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
bonavista wrote a review Sep 2022
Victoria, Canada45 contributions7 helpful votes
Pretty location on the river….and a good spot for visiting wineries. Very clean hotel, pleasant staff. The restaurant was casual with good options. Appreciated the complimentary hot buffet breakfast which was very good. Also, the town is cute and you can just walk over a block into the heart of it,
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
MikeT19278 wrote a review Jul 2022
San Jose, California172 contributions110 helpful votes
Spent most of a week here while attending WOUs graduation. Very well appointed room. Fridge, microwave, coffee maker in room. very nice bathroom. Breakfast buffet was great as well.Lots of places to walk around along the river and through downtown. The hotel's restaurant was very good as well.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt Smith, General Manager at The Independence Hotel
Responded Jul 5, 2022
Hey Mike! Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your experience with us. Our partners at WOU have been amazing, and we truly love hosting family for graduation. It's an amazing time in the grand scheme of life, and we love the energy that comes with the pride and excitement. Hopefully we can see you back up here in Indy soon. Sincerely, Matt Smith - General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wendy wrote a review Apr 2022
Modesto, California1 contribution
We love the Independence and have stayed multiple times while visiting family in the area. We travel with our pup and the hotel is very pet friendly and in the perfect location with the city park across the street, walks along the riverfront, and the dog park a short walk away. We wouldn’t think of staying any other place while visiting the area.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt Smith, General Manager at The Independence Hotel
Responded Apr 5, 2022
Wendy, thank you for your amazing review. We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to share your experience here on Tripadvisor! We believe that dogs are truly a person's best friend, and that's why we encourage our guests to bring them. Not only are we dog friendly, but the community and wineries as a whole embrace them. We're incredibly happy that you had a great stay with your 4-legged family member, and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Sincerely, Matt Smith - General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
blesdx4 wrote a review Dec 2021
Huntington Beach, California139 contributions98 helpful votes
Such a wonderful hotel, very upscale feel with good pricing. The rooms were large, Comfortable and quiet! The staff was friendly and helpful, used the hotel bar a few nights by the fire and everyone was so nice and helpful. The “free” breakfast was limited to a small “menu” but when I expressed interest in something not offered for free they were able to accommodate for a special diet, that was very nice! Outside has a beautiful view of river and nice walking path for a few miles. Also, very close to downtown area, easily walked for food and drinks. Only bummer we tried to use the jacuzzi both nights we were there but were unable due to Covid limitations on people. The gym was small but had good equipment which was a plus, just needed towels which weren’t provided. We will be back next year when we return to the area!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Top Floor for quietness and view facing the river
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt Smith, General Manager at The Independence Hotel
Responded Jan 3, 2022
Hello Blesdx4, thank you SO much for taking the time out of your day to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate the generous rating! I also appreciate your thoughtful and honest response. I take all of the feedback seriously, and look at how we can improve overall hotel operations. Hopefully we will have some COVID restrictions opening up soon to where we can make our hot tub more accessible, and I think putting towels in the workout room is a great idea that we will look into asap. While we do have paper towels, I can see how regular towels could be a nicer touch. We'd love to have you back with us in the summer time to really get the full experience of summer here in Independence. It makes the walking trails just a little nicer, along with our complimentary bikes you can ride around town. There are also a couple of options for kayak rentals here in Indy, that I would highly suggest too! Thank you again, and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Matt Smith - General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David wrote a review Dec 2021
Fairbanks, Alaska5 contributions
Been years since I have been back to Oregon, decided to stay in one of my favorite lil towns that is centrally located to my family. This hotel is absolutely top notch!! Rooms are great and staff is amazing! I mean everyone that works here is delightful! Housekeepers are smiling, front desk staff welcome you every time you enter! Sadie at the bar is a fantastic mixologist and to top it all off, Lawrence (General Manager) does it all!! Welcomed us at the front door, handled the logistics of catering my moms 80th birthday AND on Christmas Day….he was the bartender, server and cook!!! What a guy!! We will ALWAYS stay here!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt Smith, General Manager at The Independence Hotel
Responded Jan 3, 2022
Hello David! Wow, where to start?! First off I wanted to sincerely thank you for being our guest. I love getting comments like "Our home away from home!". It helps justify all of the hard work and care we put into what we do here. We love being a best kept secret, and enjoy it when people start including us as part of their normal vacation recommendations. Our housekeeping staff is so fun to be around, and they really love their jobs. Seeing them smile and greet guests isn't an act by any means. This is genuine hospitality, that you typically don't see in many chain hotels. Lawrence & Sadie are two fantastic people. They worked their tail off over Christmas to give our guests an incredible experience while visiting loved ones for the holidays. I will make sure that they are praised for their efforts! We appreciate you, and look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Matt Smith - General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jarred wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
Great room with lots of space to stretch out and unwind, fantastic view of the river, friendly staff. Will be staying here again! Especially enjoyed the on site restaurant and menu options available!!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt Smith, General Manager at The Independence Hotel
Responded Dec 13, 2021
Hello Jarred! Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to share your experience with us, and other travelers, here on Tripadvisor. I love your comment about having the space to stretch out and unwind. Our rooms (especially our suites) are above average in size, giving our guests the space they need to really unwind. With Independence as small as it is, it's the perfect little town to escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. I'm so happy you had such a great experience, and really appreciate your business! Happy Holidays, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Matt Smith - General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$149 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesOregonIndependence
NUMBER OF ROOMS
75
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE INDEPENDENCE HOTEL $135 ($̶1̶6̶9̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews - Oregon

Frequently Asked Questions about The Independence Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Independence Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Jubilee Champagne and Dessert Bar (0.1 miles) and River Gallery (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Independence Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Independence Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Independence Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Independence Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Independence Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Pink House Cafe, Mangiare Italian Restaurant, and Ovenbird Bakery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Independence Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is The Independence Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Independence.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Independence Hotel?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Independence Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Independence Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.