We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Westcliff Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Westcliff Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

541 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 537: English reviews
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This property had options for room choices, so be sure you understand what building you will be staying in. The oldest section is an older Highway style "strip" motel, close to the highway, but best rates. Behind this older part of the property are the newer units. We stayed in a 3 story with river views and a balcony. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank 3nebraskasisters
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

If you are sensitive to traffic noise be aware that this place sits right on the interstate (I-84). And across the river on the Washington side is a railroad. What we did to muffle the noise is to turn the air/heating unit to continuous fan on high all night. This worked for my husband and I also used ear plugs.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lourn
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! Yep, our newest building does not allow pets to keep them allergy-free. Thanks for your feedback on the mattress, glad your husband was comfy. There's no plywood in there, what you felt was the box base. The mattress is made of memory foam and gel with a bamboo talalay cover with a pillowtop pad, and we... More 

Marsing, Idaho
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We only stayed one night as we were passing through and we will go back for a few more nights. Nestled in the trees and a river view, there were picnic tables, benches and glorious gardens.Even tho it was next to freeway it was very quiet. Our room was updated and stocked well. EVEN glass wine glasses! Beds are important... More 

Helpful?
Thank mmplane2015
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Westcliff lodge was great - very clean, comfy beds, friendliest service. It has the attention to detail that you get from a family business. Inspite of being close to the I-84 the traffic noise was no problem -our room faced the Columbia River. Lovely grounds too.

Helpful?
Thank Murray G
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! We have more plans and improvements coming now as well, so our special little spot keeps getting better and better. Thanks again! More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

The grounds are lovely and the view is fantastic, but the view can be had from many places along the gorge, so do yourself a favour and keep going, this is NOT the place to stay. The hotel is sandwiched between the I-84 and a busy freight train line on the river bank (the interstate is easy to see on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Craig B
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and feedback. We have new beds and bases on order now, thanks for letting us know. We also use mattress toppers for additional comfort, and we can remove them if preferred. Thanks again More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Picture of motel is deceptive because view of gorge is from the back bldg. The lower price rooms are in front bldg, right beside the freeway. Truck noise all night and even with earplugs it was loud. It was clean and okay otherwise,but not as shown in picture unless you paid more.

Helpful?
Thank Linda A
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and feedback, sorry you feel like the pictures are different than your experience. I used a picture of our open space in back, as most of our rooms and gathering spots are back along the cliff. We do have rooms back there that are very close in price to our original building, so there's as much... More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Needed a quick first stop around Hood River and pretty dated but comfortable. The view out back of the Columbia River and Gardens is breathtaking. There looked to be newer units but we stayed in the strip motel out front. The ice machine is a hoot!

Helpful?
Thank Toothfairy311
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! Yes, our Classic building up front is our original, and our newest building opened just over a couple years ago. Glad you also enjoyed the grounds and view, thanks again! More 

Lillian, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Former name of lodge was Vagabond Inn. Wonderful room and view! We stayed in Room 21, which overlooked the beautiful yard and flowers and the Hood River. Convenient to downtown. Wine tasting and nice shops downtown. At the Pour House Restaurant we ate apple caramel pie, which was divine! Wish we had planned longer stay in Hood River.

Helpful?
Thank Gottoboogie
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! Yes, we did just change the name a couple months ago to tie in more with our community and honor my grandmother who named the neighborhood. Please do give us a call next time you visit and we can help you plan what you would like to enjoy around town for a few days! Thanks again More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Westcliff lodge is located on the cliffs of the Columbia River gorge and offers stunning views, comfortable rooms that have been recently updated but with an overall vintage feel that we absolutely loved. We actually rented out the full hotel for our wedding weekend, which was such a wonderful option and made us feel like we were walking around... More 

Helpful?
Thank vbronder
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks, glad everyone had such a great time at the wedding! It's those kinds of special memories everyone gets to take home with them that's really the reward; Roger definitely enjoyed creating those moments with you. Thanks again! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were booked for a 2 night glamping holiday when the weather turned cold, so asked if they had a room available instead. Reception was awesome and changed us over for no extra cost. The room was very comfortable with two queen beds and a huge shower. Would stay again. But avoid the diner next door unless you want to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wei C
Grant P, Owner at Westcliff Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! Sorry the weather turned a little chillier than we were hoping for, hopefully you have a chance to enjoy your glamping holiday with a bit warmer weather next time. Thanks again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

461 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (216)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (233)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Courtyard Room (35)
Viewed
Kitchen Suite with Jacuzzi (55)
Viewed
Partial View Room (26)
Viewed
River View Room (38)
Viewed
River View Suite (49)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn
0.2 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
0.2 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel
Columbia Gorge Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hood River
4.0 of 5 stars 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 9 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
16.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the Columbia River Gorge at the Gateway to the Beautiful Hood River Valley, the Westcliff Lodge is the ideal place for you to stay while exploring the area. Set on over seven acres overlooking the mighty Columbia River, on our grounds you will find a botanical wonderland including 110 foot tall pine trees and native wild flowers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Westcliff Lodge

Address: 4070 Westcliff Dr, Hood River, OR 97031-8711 (Formerly Vagabond Lodge)
Location: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Price Range: $84 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Westcliff Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Westcliff Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Motel Hood River
Vagabond Hotel Hood River
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay