We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Gearhart by the Sea

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Gearhart by the Sea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 92: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

As mentioned in other reviews, all of the condos are individually owned and are independently decorated and maintained. For this reason it is important to look at the pictures online first for the particular unit that you want. Some will be well updated and others will be quite out of date. We have stayed in two different units and were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brandon B
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's difficult to rate this place as all the condos are individually owned so they are all different depending on how conscientious the owner is about keeping his unit updated. I can only rate unit 673 and the exterior surroundings. Our unit was a one-bedroom unit in need of some TLC. The mattress badly needed replacing, as did the dishwasher... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keeper40
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016

Gearhart is one of many gems along the Oregon coast. Quaint, largely underutilized, and close its bigger attraction Seaside without the hustle and bustle that makes Seaside feel more like So Cal than Oregon. Gearhart by the Sea is a reasonably priced place to stay. Comprised of privately owned condominiums, individual room experiences depend largely on which room you rent... More 

Helpful?
Thank J G
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2016

We arrived at GBTS really excited to spend a family weekend. Our son was home from deployment and it was supposed to be special. When we arrived in our room we were shocked: it was like time traveling back to the eighties. Absolutely nothing has been touched or updated in this room. The television had no service, the couch sounded... More 

Helpful?
Thank BPete2014
GBTSManager, Manager at Gearhart by the Sea, responded to this review

I appreciate your review even though we strive to have good reviews. For some unknown reason there was a glitch in the system and the room we put you in had not been cleaned. I have met with the staff involved to make sure this does not happen again. Unfortunately we did not have a room to move you to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Gearhart hotels

Manchester, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

I have now booked rooms at Gearhart By The Sea, more times than I can count. That should speak for itself. However, I want to give a huge thanks to the general manager, Paul Tice, and the rest of his amazing staff. I have personally stayed in 5 different units, ALL just what we needed! And have sent about 15... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shannwest07
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016

Our stay at Gearhart By the Sea was absolutely fantastic. When we checked in, we were greeted by a professional with a smile, everything was ready and in order as promised. Our room was clean, nicely furnished, had a world class view of the ocean and Tillamook Head. Each and every staff member was friendly and helpful, front desk, housekeeping,... More 

Helpful?
Thank beachbum0003
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016

We were on the second floor, had a great view, just a little noisy in condo above as the guests staying there liked to stomp instead of normal walking, that happens almost anywhere you stay so overall I would stay again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Greg W
Olympia, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016

Would not stay here again! The ad was good but reality was seriously disappointing.the room had plaster coming off the walls and the floors were filthy at best. The view was splitting hairs to even say you got a view. Again, Not what was advertised. You have only a 10% chance of getting a condo that an owner took care... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank flyer262016
GBTSManager, Manager at Gearhart by the Sea, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy the unit you are in. The unit that you mentioned does state online that it is on the first floor and has a limited ocean view. I do not know if you advised the office of wanting a better view we might have been able to move you to an upper floor... More 

Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016 via mobile

I booked Sunday through Tuesday for my husband and I as a little getaway treat. It was a last minute decision and since it was off-season, they still had plenty of availability. I didn't even think to ask what kind of room we were getting when I booked it over the phone, but when we got there we ended getting... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
Yelm, Washington
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

The condos are a little older but we had a top floor unit with a loft bedroom. They have wood stoves and nice lanai's. The room needed a little maintenance (bed leg broken) Full kitchen (but we didn't use it was vacation after all). The hotel across the street is run by McMenamins but the food menu was small and... More 

Helpful?
Thank johngraver
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gearhart
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
2.6 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#5 of 25 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 stars 1,018 reviews
2.8 mi away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 25 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 stars 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Coast River Inn
Coast River Inn
#12 of 25 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gearhart Ocean Inn
Gearhart Ocean Inn
#1 of 3 in Gearhart
5.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
#11 of 25 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Gearhart by the Sea

Address: 1157 N Marion Ave, Gearhart, OR 97138-4072
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gearhart
Price Range: $129 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gearhart by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Gearhart by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gearhart By The Sea Hotel Gearhart
By The Sea Gearhart
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay