We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Valley River Inn

Save
Share
1000 Valley River Way, Eugene, OR 97401-2215
Lowest prices for your stay
$140
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$144
View deal
Expedia.com$140
FindHotel$140
Priceline
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (256)
Room & Suite (188)
Dining (32)

About

#13 of 41 hotels in Eugene
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
Find tastefully appointed accommodations and upscale amenities in a stunning riverfront location at Valley River Inn. Our historic hotel in Eugene, Oregon offers 257 spacious suites & guest rooms with patios or balconies offering gorgeous views of the Willamette River, the Owen Rose Garden, and our beautifully landscaped courtyards. In addition to our cozy rooms and suites, our Eugene hotel offers an outdoor pool, indoor whirlpool, 24-hour fitness center, and on-site restaurant—the award-winning SweetWaters on the River—that serves innovative Pan-Pacific Northwest cuisine in an elegant riverfront setting. We’re located in the heart of Willamette Valley, close to everything you want to see and do in Eugene. Visit your favorite student at the University of Oregon, and take in an Oregon Ducks football game at nearby Autzen Stadium. Enjoy great shopping and dining next door at Valley River Center. Or spend the day touring local wineries and breweries. Valley River Inn has it all.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Table tennis
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Vending machine
Free airport transportation
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Green
1048Reviews16Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 460
  • 326
  • 141
  • 69
  • 52
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Deidre C wrote a review Jan 6
1 contribution
Everything you need to continue your travel plans with comfort, Cleanliness and convenience. Shuttle access to and from the airport. Walking distance to the mall. Restaurant on site is the best. Friendly staff and allows dogs to accompany their owners along the river walk.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from A K, General Manager at Valley River Inn
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thanks for sharing this glowing review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at Valley River Inn Eugene! It's our pleasure to accommodate you to the fullest extent. Your compliments for our cleanliness, convenience to the airport, location, restaurant, amazing team, and pet-friendly policies let us know we're doing our job. After all, we pride ourselves on your happiness. With this said, we'd love to share another perfect experience with you soon! Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback!
Read more
Justin H wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
The hotel was dripping with vintage charm - my wife and I absolutely fell in love with the design. Unfortunately, there were some major blemishes that were difficult to overlook in our overall assessment of the stay, especially for the prices being charged. The lack of furniture in the room outside of the beds was definitely disappointing given how much time has been spent making the communal spaces feel casual and cozy...sure, there was a chair, but with two or more people it leaves someone awkwardly sitting on a bed if you choose to hang out in your room - a very "motel-like vibe", and not in a good way. These are basic amenities that even the cheapest of places can afford, and the spartan feel of the room was immediately noticed. We also were the lucky recipients of a 3:15 am wake-up call that we did not request. Quality of sleep is one of the top things to consider, and basic mistakes like this can quickly sour a guest's experience. We managed to grab breakfast in the restaurant - the food was delicious and the view of the river was amazing! Sadly, we would have been customers on a nightly basis but the AARP-style operating hours the restaurant insists on maintaining left us staring at a closed restaurant door each evening we returned. Having the lounge open is twice as important when the rooms don't have furniture for lounging! This place should be a fixture in the community...the fact that it isn't is evidence that it only seems to be catering to the senior citizen crowd. Another issue we noticed was the lack of care for the ambiance in the evenings...lack of training and accountability with the staff is starting to become a trend, isn't it? Because the restaurant was closed, and there was no furniture in the room, my wife and I grabbed a bottle of wine and dragged some seats over by the fire in the main lobby each night. During those times, we got to listen to the janitor cranking the volume of their music while cleaning the bathrooms to the point that it was echoing throughout the lobby, the front desk staff watching clips on YouTube at full volume and then laughing so loud that it actually made us jump out of surprise, the security guard having a full volume conversation with the front desk from clear across the lobby, or the janitor coming back armed with a vacuum cleaner which he flipped on after clearly making eye contact and acknowledging our presence - he literally chased us away from the fire so he could complete a task that he could have done at any other hour of the day! Ultimately, the vibe and styling of the hotel is enchanting - it clearly knows it's own history and the main spaces take on a warm, cozy and vintage feel that is difficult to find these days. The rooms are disappointingly designed in contrast, and the lack of basic amenities (like furniture) is felt immediately, and leaves you wanting more. The restaurant can, and should be a not-to-be-missed experience for anyone in Eugene, regardless of whether or not they are staying at the hotel, but the hours of operation are so painfully limited that it is hard to plan a night out for dinner, drinks and conversation unless you want to start eating at 4:30 pm. In the end, the staff's care and consideration for the guests will make or break a hotel like this, and at the moment, the trend is not great. Guests seem to be treated more like impositions that are getting in the way of the staff's conversations or menial tasks, and this lack of guest focus translates to easily avoidable mistakes that further degrade the experience. The hotel has so much potential - it really should be the location of choice in Eugene - but until the design of the rooms and the training and accountability with the staff improve, I'm sad to say that it will continue to circle the drain as it loses more and more ground to the bigger, more guest-focused competitive brands.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose a different hotel and just visit for the restaurant
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Taylor, General Manager at Valley River Inn
Responded Dec 1, 2021
Thank you for returning the survey and the candid feedback. Our renovation for Winter of 2020 was sidelined; it is now split between Winter of 2022 & 2023. It will include the restaurant, lobby, meeting space, fitness room, hallways, guest room bathrooms and some furnishings. We agree it is overdue. I'll be reading your thoughtful feedback in our staff meeting today. Though we have faced short staffing, there are many of the items you mention we can make changes to while we return to staffing levels.
Read more
Kayleen C wrote a review Nov 2021
Roseburg, Oregon3 contributions
Staying at the Valley River Inn is like having hope in your heart for a struggling family member that has so much potential…then after 24 hours spent with them you realize they’ll always be a bum. VRI is such a bum. Lackadaisical staff with no interest in making sure check in/out is swift for their guest’s convenience. Yet we’re sure, said staff, expect their paycheck to be on time or perhaps even given to them earlier than scheduled. Yes, that same mindset is what a full price paying guest expects as well. Best to the beloved VRI. Perhaps one day management will bring someone onsite to begin the much needed, years overdue, remodeling of entire property, restructuring of staff, insisting on a sense of urgency and catering to their loyal guests. To thrive at the level this property demands would be, above all, a ceaseless welcoming demeanor towards each guest from the front desk to the restaurant staff to the maintenance employee, all staff must maintain a level of high quality service. This property deserves it. Hospitality careers are not for everyone. If you’d rather be home, be home. No guest wants to feel unwelcome. Once employees are aware of this and commit to stay or go, this will only strengthen the property’s goal to always be improving. With this overhaul we’re confident it would bring this old landmark back to it’s proper prideful place in beloved Eugene.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Taylor, General Manager at Valley River Inn
Responded Dec 1, 2021
Thank you for your review and the candid feedback. Our renovation for Winter of 2020 was sidelined; it is now split between Winter of 2022 & 2023. It will include the restaurant, lobby, meeting space, fitness room, hallways, guest room bathrooms and some furnishings. We agree it is overdue. I'll be reading your thoughtful feedback in our staff meeting today. Though we have faced short staffing, there are many of the items you mention we can make changes to while we return to staffing levels.
Read more
KJ1223 wrote a review Nov 2021
Seattle, Washington6 contributions11 helpful votes
Stayed here in June for the US Olympic Track and Field Trials. We had a nice room with a view of the river. The last session of the track meet was postponed due to excessive heat (temps well over 100 degrees). We extended our reservation by one night due to the now late finish time of the meet. Arrived at the hotel to check in (we had actually checked out of the hotel from our initial stay). Very long line probably 20 people deep. After 30 minutes line hadn’t moved. No employees thought of informing all in line what was going on. Waited 30 more minutes with no line movement. Finally after an hour plus of waiting a manager came out and announced that their reservation system was down and they were unable to check anyone in. They had no idea how long it would be before they could check people in. Manager guaranteed everyone if they wanted to back out of their reservations they would give everyone a full refund. We decided to take him up on his offer and book elsewhere. A month later when my credit card bill arrived I saw I had been charged for the night ….$400. Called the hotel several times. No one answered phone. Finally on the 4th attempt to call someone answered. Explained the situation. Was told no refund could be offered. Asked for a manager. Told none was available. Message was left. No phone call received back. Whole process repeated several days later. No one answered phone, finally after 5 attempts, someone did. Transferred to accounting after being on hold for at least 20 mins. Left voicemail. No call back. After giving up in frustration, noticed a refund had been issued to my credit card. Situation handled completely unprofessionally from beginning to end. Will definitely not be back. I am in Eugene for track events several times a year for extended stays and will take my business elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Taylor, General Manager at Valley River Inn
Responded Dec 1, 2021
Thank you for sending in your feedback, however dire it may be for me to read. I will speak with our staff about it today. We don't even have a time a manager is not available and I am sorry for the shockingly poor treatment.
Read more
Liz D wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
This hotel has gone downhill!!! It used to be , one of the nicest in Eugene.They just don't care anymore.Its dated, it's dirty, the employees even look ragged.There used to be nice, efficient, well dressed people, like the nice gentleman at the front desk, I think his name was Hans. now they all look like they work at fast food. I used to stay here all the time, will look for nicer place, they are so overpriced.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Greg Taylor, General Manager at Valley River Inn
Responded Oct 13, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to send in the review and the specific feedback. I'm sorry we have disappointed you. We did see our Winter 2020 renovation get postponed; it is now set to be split between Winter of 2022 & 2023. We agree it is overdue.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$104 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the valley river hotel eugene, valley river hotel
LOCATION
United StatesOregonEugene
NUMBER OF ROOMS
257
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Valley River Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Valley River Inn?
Nearby attractions include Willamette River bike trail (0.2 miles), Owen Rose Garden (0.2 miles), and Valley River Center (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Valley River Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Valley River Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Valley River Inn?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Valley River Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include SweetWaters, Texas Roadhouse, and Dickie Jo's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Valley River Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Does Valley River Inn have airport transportation?
Yes, Valley River Inn offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Valley River Inn?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Valley River Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Valley River Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Valley River Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.