We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Panacea at the Canyon

15580 SW Fs 5480 Rd, Culver, OR 97734-9412
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (40)
Room & Suite (17)
Pool & Beach (7)


GreenLeaders Platinum level
Panacea is a small and exclusive off-grid luxury tent resort with 5-star resort amenities, nestled on 40 acres in the high desert of Central Oregon, with views of the majestic Cascade Mountain Range, Smith Rock and Crooked River Canyon. Relaxation, romance and adventure abound in a holistic natural setting where raw nature meets refined luxury. Only 15 minutes from Redmond Airport.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Breakfast available
Show more
Room features
Room service
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Great View
19Reviews2Q+A5Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 16
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Zab wrote a review Oct 2019
Portland, Oregon1 contribution6 helpful votes
My partner and I stayed here this summer to celebrate an anniversary. The grounds and tents are truly lovely. It's a rustic and peaceful spot, and the sense of being in the natural world while still being totally comfortable was just what we wanted. BUT. We had a few odd experiences that eroded my confidence in this business. -We opted in to the paddleboarding activity offered, and the owner drove us to a lake, but got lost, didn't seem able to follow GPS directions, and literally drove around for over two hours on back roads before we arrived at the destination (she had told us it was about a 40 minute drive). I was actually concerned that we were not safe. It was very odd and used up a lot of the limited time we had there. She apologized, but did not seem to understand how odd this seemed to us. -We booked a return stay for a night later in the year, and were looking forward to it. But less than two weeks before, we got an email (not even a phone call) saying that she'd booked the entire resort to a wedding and we'd need to rebook our stay. That was certainly rude to us, but knowing she has a small business, we rebooked without hard feelings. The date for our rebooked stay approached and we emailed with a question-- only to hear back TWO DAYS BEFORE we were set to arrive, again by email, that they had closed for the season and we would not be able to stay as we had booked with them. I had the impression that if we hadn't emailed, we would have arrived for our reservation to find the resort closed. I don't relish writing negative reviews. But for the price of this experience, the service should be flawless-- and these episodes left us feeling like we didn't matter to the owners at all. Too bad.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
6 Helpful votes
Response from Shawn Armstrong, Owner at Panacea at the Canyon
Responded Aug 16, 2020
We are truly sorry to hear that you were completely unsatisfied with your stay. Upon your departure, we were under the impression that you enjoyed the many amenities Panacea offers for the couples retreat. Regarding the lake, the sup afternoon is a suggestion for off property activities for which we do not typically provide transportation in our vehicle. The highway route was closed and the detour was not only inconvenient but truly horrible. However, we were able to arrange to have the vineyard stay open to accommodate a late wine tasting to finish the day. The complimentary stay was offered due to frustration with the drive to the lake and the learning curve for stand up paddleboarding. We did advise that bookings are weather dependent, particular at the beginning and ending of each season. Our decision to cancel was based on early freezing temperatures and terrible weather. Our weather can be unpredictable so waiting until we had a reliable weather forecast was necessary in this matter, however last minute that may be. Again, we apologize and were under the impression that you understood this factor. Unfortunately, we have no control over road closures or the weather. With regards to the wedding, we were accommodating a party who had booked prior but provided no downpayment due to miscommunication between the two families hosting. They contacted us later than is typical and we did our best to help them due to their extenuating circumstances. We do not turn away previously booked events to accommodate complimentary stays. Again, we are sorry you were so utterly disappointed in your stay. This review was the first we heard of it. Please contact us directly to discuss a partial refund. Be well, Shawn
Read more
Annainpdx wrote a review Oct 2018
Portland, Oregon1 contribution
My husband and I recently returned from our first stay at Panacea and we loved it! The landscape is beautiful with many areas to explore. The tents are phenomenal with very luxurious bedding and nice touches like the gas fireplace (we visited on a colder weekend), robes and foot bath. We loved the outdoor shower as well! Darren is an excellent host and we are so glad we were there for Saturday pizza night! Fun opportunity to socialize with other guests. We’re looking forward to returning in the future, hopefully at a warmer time so we can enjoy the soaking pool!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Cheryl B wrote a review Aug 2018
27 contributions49 helpful votes
Panacea is a great way to enjoy the outdoors without suffering! Amenities were top quality, the tent felt safe and comfortable, and breakfast was delicious. Outdoor bathroom is excellent and not at all "campy!" A few minor details missing to make it truly 5-star - our car bottomed out multiple times on the road and we couldn't access our food/drink from the shared fridge at all times. The beauty and peace made up for some minor inconveniences...enjoy!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
opalpics wrote a review Jul 2018
Chicago, Illinois1 contribution1 helpful vote
I recently stayed at Panacea, having only seen it online and learning what I could from reading the reviews. It far surpassed my expectations, from the service to the surroundings to the beautiful tents and accommodations. Sat eve pizza was FANTASTIC and early morning yoga was refreshing. Extremely quiet and peaceful at night, a thousand stars above and the MOST comfortable beds ever. I will DEFINITELY be back. Just loved it!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Laura L wrote a review Jul 2018
3 contributions
My boyfriend and I just returned from an amazing time at the Panacea. Before we departed for the trip I read some reviews and felt fully prepared for a unique experience. The surroundings are picturesque and we enjoyed wandering around the site. We stayed in the Moon tent and loved that it was perched a little high above some of the other sites. It had a lovely view and we enjoyed viewing the stars from the deck and from bed. Like many of the other visitors we brought groceries for the two days we were there. The indoor kitchen and outdoor grill made prepping our meals easy and we enjoyed getting to know the other guests. Another reviewer mentioned to bring a sleeping mask as the sun is bright and will wake you up very early. Also, we found that the tent would get very hot by 11, so we spent most of our time at the pool (a 12-15 inch wading pool) with stunning views. I would highly recommend the Panacea at the Canyon for someone who enjoys camping, but is looking for an elevated experience. Also, take advantage of morning yoga with Zia and book your hot air balloon trip in advance. Looking forward to visiting the Panacea at the Canyon again in the near future.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: The Moon, Fire and Air tents are perched a little higher than the other tents and offer nice views
See more room tips
$1,089 - $1,089 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
United StatesOregonCentral OregonCulver
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Panacea at the Canyon
Which popular attractions are close to Panacea at the Canyon?
Nearby attractions include Steelhead Falls (2.3 miles) and Big Dog Saloon (3.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Panacea at the Canyon?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a lounge, and a spa.
What food & drink options are available at Panacea at the Canyon?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Panacea at the Canyon?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Panacea at the Canyon?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Panacea at the Canyon accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.