We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
487 S Hemlock St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3046
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$349
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/25/22
Booking.com
$349
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/25/22
Trip.com
$334
View deal
Travelocity$349
Hotels.com$349
Priceline$349
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (277)
Room & Suite (172)
Pool & Beach (30)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 06/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Inn at Haystack Rock
Updated 06/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#14 of 14 hotels in Cannon Beach
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.2
Value
4.1
The Inn at Haystack Rock is ideally located within one block to the beach and three blocks from downtown. We offer 23 rooms from which to choose: from one of the guest rooms with a fireplace, to a spa cottage with a 2-person Jacuzzi tub, full kitchen and fireplace. You can also bring the whole family and stay in the two-bedroom suite with a full kitchen. Pets are welcome. Relax in our secret garden area and warm up around the fire-pit as you sip some hot chocolate. Take in the sight and sounds of the Spanish style fountain within the courtyard. We invite you to discover our little spot of paradise on the Oregon Coast.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Boating
Canoeing
Hiking
Water sport equipment rentals
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Dining area
Fireplace
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Seating area
Sofa
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
723Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 327
  • 244
  • 80
  • 50
  • 22
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Christoph S wrote a review Aug 11
25 contributions
+1
We reserved a "two bedroom suite" for an abnormous price in expectation of a cosy hotel close to the beach. What we got was a run-down appartment, with stained carpets, dirt on the floor and in the bathroom, unfriendly lighting, a nasty smell, broken light bulbs, and a tiny bathroom. The appartment was not cosy, warm (without AC) and close to a busy street. Staff was unfriendly and not understanding when we asked for a different room, and apparently used to hearing complaints of this kind.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We can generally not recommend any room in this "inn".
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Departure619547 wrote a review Aug 9
3 contributions5 helpful votes
The room had multiple issues from the first day- paper thin walls, the lights not working in the bedroom, door handle and drawer in kitchen broken, headboard broken with nails sticking out, no hot water the 2nd day, no plug in the bathtub for kids to take a bath, and when issues were reported nothing was done. Was assured the manager would call, but no one did. No other rooms available to switch to and no refund offered. The room was awful and I not only expect a refund, but a formal apology. We would never return to this hotel or recommend anyone to stay here!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Inn at Haystack Rock, Guest Services / Front Office at Inn at Haystack Rock
Responded 1 week ago
We are very sorry to hear that, but we can gladly talk with you to find out what happened and to be able to fix the situation.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carrie C wrote a review Aug 7
4 contributions1 helpful vote
TV and fireplace didn’t work the first day’s arrival and some of the utensils not there in the kitchen though did get quick response to fix things the next day. Was busy summer time stay and check in was late afternoon which wasn’t great since we arrived in the morning.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Inn at Haystack Rock, Guest Services / Front Office at Inn at Haystack Rock
Responded 1 week ago
our check in time is at 4 we never promise to check in earlier we are very sorry.If your room is ready before the agreed time, we always try to call the guest so that he can enter earlier
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Foodie1970 wrote a review Aug 6
Pasco, Washington290 contributions44 helpful votes
+1
Cute location if you don't mind the view of other cottages. This was a last minute trip and we decided to stay. Needless to say for the price we paid it was average at best. For what we paid after all of the extra fees ($400) one would think you'd at least have a view of the ocean. I've stayed at numerous places for half this price that actually had a view of the ocean or Haystack Rock. When my wife checked in the lady at the front desk was incredibly rude and condescending. The directions she gave were incredibly confusing and when we asked for a little more detail she rolled her eyes and waved us off. Reading other reviews I see this is a common occurrence with this individual. The only plus about this location is the 2 Blocks from the beach otherwise save your money and try another Motel/Hotel. Funny thing though....the bathroom is larger than the bedroom?? If your claustrophobic I do not recommend using the shower. I'm 6'2 and the shower is smaller than a phone booth. Overall average location with horrible parking conditions and incredibly rude customer service. Travelers beware.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Overpriced location. This should be your last resort if nothing else has vacancy.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Inn at Haystack Rock, Guest Services / Front Office at Inn at Haystack Rock
Responded 1 week ago
We are very sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced with our staff.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hacksaw wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
The ground level cabana style rooms are a nice throwback to the "good ole days". They are comfortable and clean. The only drawback is that people often sit outside at night in the shared patio area and talk loudly. The location is great with a perfect walk into town. The major disappointment that kept this from a higher rating was the experience at check-in with the receptionist. She was close to hostile the way she treated us and the other guests. We showed up at 3 pm, along with another family, and when we asked if the rooms were available for earlier check-in she scowled and said "check-in is at 4 pm" and didn't respond when we asked if the rooms were still being cleaned. When we returned after 4 , she waved her hand and said our units were down the road on the left. We drove around for a while and couldn't find them and returned. She repeated that they were indeed down the road and gestured to same side of road as the hotel. I finally figured out they were on the opposite side down the road from the offices after searching some more. So unfriendly and so intentionally rude!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Inn at Haystack Rock, Guest Services / Front Office at Inn at Haystack Rock
Responded 1 week ago
We are sorry for any inconvenience that you have experienced with our staff, and we are sorry that you have not been given the correct information. Indeed, check in is at 4 in the afternoon. We never promise that our guests that will be ready before 4.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mimi D wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions
The room was serviceable. Ours was right next to the road and cars could be heard during the night. The bedrooms were upstairs and felt hot and stuffy. The location was nice, but just a heads up if you bring kids with you. The parking lot is small and spots are not assigned. Our room had a parallel parking spot steps from our door. While preparing to check out, our 4 year old daughter came out of the room and walked around a car with a dog. The dog was leashed and lunged at our daughter as she walked by and bit her calf. I called to report this to the hotel when the office clerk responded with "I'm so sorry that happened. We have some complimentary chocolate at the desk but Check out is at 11 so if you need more time it is an additional 50.00..." Meanwhile my 4 year old is wounded and in tears. My 7 year old is crying and scared and my 74 year old Dad is also teary eyed. The office staff and management could have cared less that this traumatic event happened at their inn. Their lack of care and response gives them a poor rating. We will never return and will advise others not too as well.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Inn at Haystack Rock, Guest Services / Front Office at Inn at Haystack Rock
Responded 4 weeks ago
We are very sorry for what happened, we investigated and it seems that the owner of the dog provided you with the information about her and her dog, including a photo of her identification which you took with your cell phone. and in the call received by you personally you reported that there was an incident on our property and that everything was resolved with the person involved who just wanted to let us know that everything was resolved very kindly. A few minutes later you showed up yelling at our staff for our insurance, the personal phone number of the owner or manager and a full refund for the incident you had with the dog because it was our responsibility to pay for the damage caused by the dog. We deny that information until an investigation of what happened is done. and you were very upset. our front desk staff suggested all the help such as security camera videos even filing a police report if that was what you wanted at the time. An investigation was opened and the client involved said that she had already spoken with you, she had even given all her information and she did not refuse to pay damages. We are sorry for the inconvenience, we have everything on camera, even in the office in case you want to be report. we can gladly help.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kathy T wrote a review Jul 2022
Dallas, Texas1 contribution
The negatives: -thin walls.. you can hear your neighbors walking around, closing/opening doors. (This was my experience in Cottage 8) -overpriced (I paid about 330 + 50 pet fee for 1 night) -no views.. the cottage was right next to the front office so I had to close my curtains for privacy -no early check-in -PLEASE READ if you are traveling solo: I felt safe overall in the area until the next morning when I was getting ready to check-out, a random dude walked into my cottage... he looked like he works there (either cleaning or maintenance crew) but that was NOT COOL. He did not even knock before opening the door.. I've never had anyone walk into my room UNANNOUNCED before. This was scary because the door locks automatically when you close it. So you can't open it from the outside without a key.. Anyways, I'm not sure why he came in.. maybe he thought I had already left? (CHECK OUT IS AT 11AM... it was around 10:15AM when he walked in) The positives: -close to the beach -close to restaurants -small kitchen was nice -had a welcome kit for my dog (toy,treats, bowl, poop bags, towel, sheet)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Don't stay in Cottage 8
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Inn at Haystack Rock, Guest Services / Front Office at Inn at Haystack Rock
Responded 1 week ago
We are very sorry, our staff is new. We apologize again for the inconvenience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michele N. wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
They didn’t have a washer and dryer as advertised. That was disappointing because it was the reason we booked this place. And it was still on all brochures and websites when we got there… One bed wasn’t made up when we got there. Good location.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Inn at Haystack Rock, Guest Services / Front Office at Inn at Haystack Rock
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for staying with us and we apologize for any inconvenience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Misty W wrote a review Jun 2022
Port Orchard, Washington13 contributions8 helpful votes
We loved our stay at the Inn at Haystack Rock! Our cottage was perfect. Loved that it had a full kitchen, we enjoyed a lovely dinner in. After dinner I enjoyed a nice bath in the very large jetted tub. Also, love that they provide bath robes. The walk to the beach was a block away and Haystack Rock was a short walk down the beach. I have no complaints about our stay here. My family and I will definitely be returning for another stay here. I highly recommend the Inn at Haystack Rock.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Taslema Sultana, Owner at Inn at Haystack Rock
Responded Jun 14, 2022
Thank you for your kind review, it sounds like you had a great trip! We hope you'll return
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie M wrote a review May 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia3 contributions
Room was fine but way overpriced. We had far better value at other locations along the coast--50% cheaper with gorgeous views. The Inn name is a misnomer; it implies that you are close to Haystack Rock and perhaps can see it. Not so. You are paying for the location--the lovely town of Cannon Beach. No ocean views.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Taslema Sultana, Owner at Inn at Haystack Rock
Responded 4 weeks ago
Sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We hope you enjoyed the beach and town while here.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$181 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
inn at haystack rock hotel cannon beach
LOCATION
United StatesOregonOregon CoastCannon Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Inn at Haystack Rock
Which popular attractions are close to Inn at Haystack Rock?
Nearby attractions include Cannon Beach (0.3 miles), Icefire Glassworks (0.3 miles), and Tillamook Rock Lighthouse (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Inn at Haystack Rock?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and bicycle rental.
Which room amenities are available at Inn at Haystack Rock?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Inn at Haystack Rock?
Guests can enjoy free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Inn at Haystack Rock?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Inn at Haystack Rock?
Conveniently located restaurants include Insomnia Coffee Co., Crepe Neptune, and Lazy Susan Cafe.
Is Inn at Haystack Rock located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Cannon Beach.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Inn at Haystack Rock?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Inn at Haystack Rock?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Arch Cape Carronade Replica (1.6 miles).