We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wild Rivers Motor Lodge

Save
Share
437 Chetco Ave, Brookings, OR 97415-8009
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Agoda.com
Priceline
Hotels.com
eDreams
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (28)
Room & Suite (25)
Pool & Beach (6)

About

#3 of 8 hotels in Brookings
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Finding an ideal family-friendly motel in Brookings does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Wild Rivers Motor Lodge, a nice option for travelers like you.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a refrigerator, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the motel.

If you are driving to Wild Rivers Motor Hotel, free parking is available.

For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Brookings, Wild Rivers Motor Hotel is located a short distance from Welcome to California (0.1 mi) and Thomas Creek Bridge (0.4 mi).

While in Brookings, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Wild Rivers Motor Lodge, including O'Holleran's Restaurant and Lounge (1.0 mi), Pancho's Restaurante Y Cantina (0.9 mi), and Art Alley Grille (0.1 mi).

If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out Azalea Park (0.3 mi), Chetco Point Park (0.6 mi), or Semi Aquatic (0.3 mi), which are popular attractions amongst tourists, and they are all within walking distance.

Wild Rivers Motor Lodge puts the best of Brookings at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family
216Reviews4Q+A46Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 83
  • 69
  • 46
  • 7
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
amanda s wrote a review Sep 2020
Salt Lake City, Utah1 contribution1 helpful vote
TRASH, we drove 900 miles for 13 hours after confirming with a lady we had our rooms earlier, for a dude names Cameron to say he gave our rooms away because our card was "bad" yet on booking.com all our other rooms were already paid!!!!!! he gave our room to someone else probably for more money! DO NOT STAY HERE THEY ARE AWFUL. dude even threatened us with authorities and I have it all on camera from him saying he gave out room away and to get off the property and he didn't appreciate being recorded either and i caught him lying on camera!!!!! our bank even said they DID NOT even try to charge the card for it to be "declined" they are liars. we even asked the sheriff and the other locals we ran into! they scam do not stay here. we slept in our can and then had to drive all the was back home because since it's a holiday weekend even the campsites are ALL GONE
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ken Bryan, Owner at Wild Rivers Motor Lodge
Responded Sep 10, 2020
Thank you for your review. We notice that this is the second negative review you have made for the same situation. It is not necessary to repeat yourself and we are sorry that you feel you have to embellish the true with false statements about the hotel, talking to the sheriff and “other locals”, and even stating that you drove 900 miles in 13 hours and that all your other booking.com reservations were paid. It is possible that this could have been the reason your card was declined. When booking through a third party, several options are available as in prepaying, pay the hotel, or pay directly to Booking.com. Our hotel allows prepaying and paying the hotel upon arrival, however it is understood that prior authorizations are done on cards to make sure funds are available so as not to “defraud an innkeeper”. We absolutely did not sell your room to someone for more money, that would be unethical and not the way I’ve done business in this hotel industry for over 40 years. In fact our direct booking rate is less that Booking.com’s rate because there are fees associated with all 3rd party websites. When you decided to get belligerent and abusive, then and only then did our desk staff cancel your second night. Your bank would not necessarily know whether your card was attempted, and we don’t even know we’re talking about the same card since all we have is what you reserved with. It is possible that you thought it was a different card that you used previously. We find it hard to believe that you slept in your “can”, I think you meant “car”, and that you drove all the way home the next day. The address we have on your booking is Utah. We also note that this is the only “contribution” to tripadvisor as is your other party’s review. It is apparent you signed up for tripadvisor just to attack our hotel.
Read more
Susan L wrote a review Aug 2020
Sonoma County, California49 contributions17 helpful votes
The hotel is conveniently located. The management is friendly and the room was spacious and clean. It's not a bad spot to stay while you are traveling up or down the coast. It's on the main street in town and convenient to walk to restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Ken Bryan, Owner at Wild Rivers Motor Lodge
Responded Sep 10, 2020
Thank you for your review. We appreciate that you mentioned “conveniently located”, “management was friendly” and “room was spacious and clean”. These are all the things we strive to accomplish on a daily basis while still dealing with all that is going on around us in this crazy year. We certainly appreciate your review and see that this is not your first contribution to tripadvisor. We are glad to see savvy travelers writing legitimate reviews. Again thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the near future provided you are traveling through the area again.
Read more
Darryl L wrote a review Dec 2019
Marana, Arizona445 contributions169 helpful votes
This is a throwback to the old, roadside motels from a generation ago. You can drive right up to your door. All the rooms and common areas have been renovated and are super clean and inviting. The room was large considering the age of the property and very adequate for our needs. The owner was on site and informative, helpful and super friendly. No, you don't have a lot of amenities but if you want a nice, clean room located on the main drag with very clean facilities, I highly recommend this motel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Ken B, Owner at Wild Rivers Motor Lodge
Responded Dec 12, 2019
Thank you for your review. We certainly pride ourselves in "super clean" as you mentioned. We appreciate you noticing and passing it along to others. Yes, this motel is a "throwback" to the "motorlodges" of the past. Even have a picture of the original building (5 rooms, each with a garage, or carport back then), built in early 1950's. The motel now has 2 additional wings (1986 build and 2004 build) for a total of 30 rooms now. This provides a wide variety of room types and rates to fit virtually any traveler and for any number of nights. We are always working on something (improvements, upgrades, etc.) in order to maintain the quality of the rooms and motel itself. We also appreciate you mentioning our staff as "super friendly". We try to make everyone feel comfortable and catered to. Again thank you, we look forward to perhaps seeing you again at Wild Rivers Motorlodge.
Read more
ladyannne wrote a review Aug 2019
merced, ca23 contributions8 helpful votes
Truly an epic fail, the owner blatantly lied. Easy to find, happy we had a full bed just like home but we were not prepared for the smell or the tiny size of the room. The fan over the bed turned on to try for fresh air sounded horrid. When I could not hang my clothes on the closet bar while my suitcase was on the stand, and my things would have to be on the floor, the only space to place them was in front of the baseboard heater, I had just had it. I found another fantastic place to stay with ease. We asked for our money back, and received only one night. I went back to ask the owner to reconsider refunding both nights because if the dog smell, he said dogs were never allowed in room 104. I proceeded to show him the photo I posted here, he lied again to my face. If paying our lawyer to get a $79 refund was worth it, I would. Avoid this place at all costs. P.S. it is for sale. Wonder why.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Ken B, Owner at Wild Rivers Motor Lodge
Responded Aug 17, 2019
Thank you for your review. Although we appreciate your comments, some issues you mentioned were in fact simply not true. When you booked your room (with me, the Owner), it was made very clear that this was our “economy” room, our smallest most economical as well as the only room left available at the time you booked. In fact, you booked your room for one night (Saturday 8/10/19) and a few days later added the second night (Friday 8/9/19), both nights were only available due to last minute cancellations. The ceiling fans in our non-air conditioned rooms are like any other ceiling fan anywhere in that they are motors and make some sound. The sound coming from this fan is like no other fan and simply not “horrid”, in fact the ceiling fans in my home make more noise. This room was inspected and cleared by our housekeeping supervisor (my wife) and co-owner of the hotel and no noise or odor was detected nor determined to be an issue. The person you talked to at the desk was not the “owner”, I am. You should be ashamed of yourself for calling out and verbally attacking a minimum wage employee for simply doing his job. He did not “blatantly lie” to you, in fact he only stated what was fact, that this was not, and never has been a “pet room” and no pets have been allowed in that room EVER. Our pet rooms have hard wood floors and your room has carpet as you are well aware of. When you mentioned as well as posted a picture of the “rags” that we provide in EVERY room for our guests’ convenience, you neglected to note that the sign mentions that these “rags” are for the guests’ convenience and that they are in every room in order to avoid guests from destroying our quality bath linens. You mentioned that there was no room to hang your clothes when your suitcase was on the luggage rack in the “closet”. What you did not mention was the fact that you could have moved the luggage rack out from the “’closet” simply one foot and your clothes would have had plenty of room to hang freely. Upon your departure from the room, we inspected and detected no smell, or noise from the fan and attempted to re-sell the room, but based on the time of day were unable to, therefore you were charged a one-night cancellation fee, as any other guest would be. As far as being “for sale”, we have no idea where you might have seen, or heard this information, and it has no relevance to your complaint or review.
Read more
j22445 wrote a review Aug 2019
22 contributions12 helpful votes
We loved room 103. Room included a refrigerator. Room was clean and beds were great. And unbeatable location near Samuel Boardman state park. This hotel is right near a gas station and just down the street from a grocery store. The clerk who checked us in was very polite. We were very happy with this motel. Only down side was that you could hear noisy cars go down the street, which was not the fault of the motel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Ken B, Owner at Wild Rivers Motor Lodge
Responded Aug 15, 2019
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you "loved room 103", certainly one of our popular rooms (2 room mini-suite with two beds, two TV's and 2 separate sleeping areas). We are very glad that you also mentioned "Room was clean and beds were great". We are known for our cleanliness, and most if not all reviews mention that attribute. As the saying goes (location, location, location), we noticed that you mentioned that as well. Sometimes being located on Hwy 101 as well as the main street through Brookings (Chetco Avenue), vehicle noise can be an issue. We are glad that you pointed out that this is "not the fault of the motel". In fact all 6 hotels in Brookings are also located on Hwy 101 (Chetco Avenue) and face similar issues I'm sure. Again, thank you for your review. We look forward to perhaps seeing you again at Wild Rivers Motorlodge.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$84 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
wild rivers motor hotel brookings, wild rivers hotel, wild rivers motel
LOCATION
United StatesOregonOregon CoastBrookings
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Wild Rivers Motor Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Wild Rivers Motor Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Semi Aquatic (0.3 miles), Welcome to California (0.06 miles), and Goldilocks Antiques (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Wild Rivers Motor Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and hiking.
Which room amenities are available at Wild Rivers Motor Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Wild Rivers Motor Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Wild Rivers Motor Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Black Trumpet Bistro, Oxenfre Public House, and Pacific Sushi & Grill.
Is Wild Rivers Motor Lodge located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Brookings.
Are pets allowed at Wild Rivers Motor Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Wild Rivers Motor Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.