We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Whaleshead Beach Resort

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Priceline.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Whaleshead Beach Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 125: English reviews
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2016 via mobile

This was our second time staying at Whaleshead. It's the perfect couples getaway.... relaxing and romantic. We had a warm, comfortable, clean and cozy cabin. Our view of the ocean and mountains was amazing. We'll definitely be going back.

Helpful?
2 Thank RKC42
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in OV9A. It's our fault that we didn't research more bc we didn't realize we were staying at a RV park as on home away the photos and description are misleading. Our modular home was less than 500'. We checked in with a rude women who made a big deal about the hot tub... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank kakkin
Daniell O, Guest Relations Manager at Whaleshead Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your timely feedback. I sincerely apologize for the manner in which you were responded to at the time of your check-in. We strive to provide every guest with a 5 Star experience and ask that you give Whaleshead Beach Resort and Spa another opportunity. Please call the office and ask for me as I'd like... More 

Brookings, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016

I do NOT like that every time I call to get information, I get a lot of "I don't know" in response. You should know what cabins have what, as far as amenities to accommodate your guest properly. My In laws would have liked a TV in the room, or to be able to enjoy the Jacuzzi with proper lighting.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Monique G

Travelers are raving about these Brookings hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2016

My family had a great vacation at Whaleshead Beach Resort. The cabin we rented OV9A was adorable! It was pretty, bright, clean and had wi-fi. The views from the cabin are amazing! Check in was easy and employees were very helpful and friendly. The coast of southern Oregon is the most beautiful to be found. Brookings is a nice town... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne A
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2016

To sum it up. The Front desk clerk or owner was very rude initially. Acting Like she was doing me a favor to stay there. I just smiled and checked in hoping the rest of the experience would get better. Nope! There was blood stains on the beadspread and hairs in the sheets. Lucky I brought my own sleeping gear.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank journeyman772016
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2016

LEAKING HOT TUB WITH DANGEROUS WATER SANITATION/MAINTAINANCE. NO BREAKFAST VOUCHER AS ADVERTISED WITH A LAME EXCUSE. INEXPERIENCED EMPLOYEES AND MANAGEMENT. This is really a beautiful part of southern Oregon. We enjoyed our visit TO THE COAST but were VERY annoyed/disappointed that the website reservation included a $20 voucher for each nights stay at the restaurant, yet when we asked at... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Dan B
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

We started out our annual winter stay on the Oregon coast in one unit, (OV9A) but the heating system promptly died. We were told there were no other cabins to move us to. The maintenance man brought us two space heaters and we made it through an uncomfortable night. The next day, we were moved to a much nicer, roomier... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Writergal49
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015 via mobile

I have been to Whaleshead many times, have used mainly the creek cabins and have always been happy with the homey feel - bedrooms, full kitchens, hot tubs etc - but this time was different. This particular cabin, C14, had several issues that had to be addressed while we were there. My understanding is that the park model cabins for... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank tinnpann
Barbara M, Manager at Whaleshead Beach Resort, responded to this review

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at Whaleshead. The owner has fixed all of the issues in the cabin and has offered to sent you a free night to stay with us again! I hope you consider coming back to stay with us..... More 

Brookings, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015

I have been here with 2 people over the course of about 10 years, and have seen it degrade immensely over the last 2 years, with the "new" owners..... The housekeeping is terrible, and the units are showing signs of age and neglect. The last time we went, we rented one of the nicer units on top of the hill,... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank brian p
Barbara M, Manager at Whaleshead Beach Resort, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear, that you wont come back to stay with us again.... The hot tub require a lot of maintenance! We don't know when hot tub are going to break and we do everything to keep them up and running. I'm very sorry you were called a liar from the outside manager. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2015

Love it here! Every cabin has a hot tub and there are so many to choose from. I prefer the ocean view, but there are many options. Its so quiet and the beach is accessible through a long tunnel. the dogs really loved running around and it felt like we had our own beach for the afternoon.

Helpful?
2 Thank Rae G
Barbara M, Manager at Whaleshead Beach Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review! Please come back and stay with us again.... Thank You again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

128 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (122)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brookings
8.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beachfront Inn
18.1 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach
8.5 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#2 of 8 in Brookings
4.5 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Howonquet Lodge at Lucky 7 Casino
18.1 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
18.1 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the beautiful and majestic Southern Oregon Coast, Whaleshead Beach Resort is the perfect venue for a romantic getaway or family vacation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Whaleshead Beach Resort

Address: 19921 Whaleshead Road, Brookings, OR 97415
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Brookings
Price Range: $171 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Whaleshead Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Whaleshead Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whaleshead Beach Hotel Brookings
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay