We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riverhouse on the Deschutes

Save
Share
3075 N. Business 97, Bend, OR 97703
5 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$239
Hotels.com$239
Priceline$239
Travelocity$239
Agoda.com$239
Trip.com$251
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (367)
Room & Suite (145)
Dining (48)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 09/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 09/24/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#15 of 50 hotels in Bend
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.2
Value
4.0
The beautiful Deschutes River runs through the property. Our spacious guest rooms and suites have river or property views. A great location with just minutes from downtown Bend. Relax in our indoor and outdoor pools and hot tub or stroll along our scenic river trail. You can even fish for trout right outside your room. At night, cozy up in your spacious accommodation and order room service. Indulge at Currents, our restaurant featuring unique Pacific Northwest cuisine and outdoor patio overlooking the Deschutes.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
1357Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 675
  • 355
  • 146
  • 105
  • 76
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Christina L wrote a review Aug 4
Kirkland, Washington33 contributions10 helpful votes
This was the worst experience of my life. We arrived at 4 pm ready to check in. We were told that our room wasn't ready and that they couldn't tell us when the room would be ready. They said they had 50 rooms that still needed to be cleaned and other people were ahead of us to get a room. Needless to say we left.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: I cant recommend this hotel. I wasn't impressed with the condition of the building. The front...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Property Management, Owner at Riverhouse on the Deschutes
Responded 2 days ago
Hello, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and feedback with us. The feedback you have stated does not align with our high quality customer service values. It is always our goal to ensure that each and every guest is receiving a memorable and seamless experience from the moment they check-in with us. Your feedback is valued and we apologize for any inconvenience you had experienced.
Read more
Dinidaho wrote a review Aug 3
Eagle, Idaho42 contributions36 helpful votes
I would give this hotel a better review but for the lack of housekeeping services which we were not alerted to until the day before our stay . We stayed 4 nights in a superior pet friendly ground floor room. We love how specious it was, especially with two sinks in the bathroom and plenty of space around the beds. It’s not a fancy hotel although it looks like the room we stayed in Had been redone in the last 5 years . The pool is large and goes to 6’, great for older kids . Housekeeping was friendly enough when we asked for more towels etc, it was just weird to leave dirty towels and garbage outside your room especially when paying about $500/night for the room after taxes and a $35/night pet fee .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Get a river facing room, the other ones face the parking lot
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Property Management, Owner at Riverhouse on the Deschutes
Responded 4 days ago
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you had a positive experience with our housekeeping staff. However, we have read the other feedback you have provided and can assure you that we are always working tirelessly to improve our property in the best way possible for the quality stay of our guests. Your feedback will be shared with the rest of the leadership team and we hope to welcome you back again in the future for the wonderful stay we know we can provide.
Read more
Stephanie W wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Had an amazing 2 day stay. Beautiful property, super helpful and friendly staff, beds were super comfy and you can literally hear the Deschutes river while lying on them. Had breakfast at Currents their restaurant and although busy got food and drinks quick and it was great, their coffee which is Stumptown was delicious and they had awesome Bloody Mary's. Highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Property Management, Owner at Riverhouse on the Deschutes
Responded 2 weeks ago
Stephanie, while it's always great to hear that a guest appreciates our beautiful setting and relaxing accommodations, it's a special thrill to know that our on-site dining has surpassed your expectations! Thank you for choosing the Riverhouse on the Deschutes, and for taking the time to highlight our terrific service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another five-star visit!
Read more
carlyL wrote a review Jul 2022
Roseburg, Oregon86 contributions6 helpful votes
After great communication leading up to our reservation we enjoyed a smooth check in with very friendly & helpful staff. Our beautiful & spacious room overlooking the river. We loved the bridge going across the river to get to the main building. Closed the screen at night so we could fall asleep & wake up to the sound of the river. Housekeeping was so sweet, they helped us find our room & on another occasion brought us more coffee pods when I saw them in the hall. Coffee on the deck in the morning was a perfect start. Only wish we’d of had more time to enjoy Currents on the deck which looked stunning or a drink at their large bar.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Property Management, Owner at Riverhouse on the Deschutes
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Carly! Thank you for choosing The Riverhouse on the Deschutes, it was wonderful having you. We are always happy to hear when our guests enjoy a positive experience with our stellar staff members, as customer service is highly important to us. We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed your clean and spacious room that provided excellent views of the Deschutes River. We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future for many more enjoyable stays!
Read more
Dawna wrote a review Jul 2022
Kennewick, Washington2 contributions
We only planned for one night but plans fell through so we stayed a 2nd night without hesitation. Clean comfortable rooms, nice view of the river. We didn't get to use the pool due to previous lightning...understandable but disappointing as it was hot out and weather had settled down/not to mention there was an indoor pool but they didn't allow us to use it either. Otherwise it was a decent stay. A little pricy for being an older hotel (a few issues but they were kindly resolved).
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: choose room with river view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Property Management, Owner at Riverhouse on the Deschutes
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Dawna! Thank you for staying with us at The Riverhouse on the Deschutes. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you chose to stay with us for a second night and enjoyed a clean and comfortable room, in addition to the scenic views of the Deschutes River. Your other feedback is valued and will be shared with the rest of our leadership team. We hope to welcome you back again very soon!
Read more
DieselGod wrote a review Jun 2022
Redcliff, Canada165 contributions62 helpful votes
We have stayed in hundreds of hotels over the years and I have to say this wasn't worth it even at the Trivago discount to $159. It's basically a disjointed motel more than a hotel, and they certainly do nothing to make it feel any different. The good: -Decently clean The bad: -No maid service -Uncomfortable bed -You would get more support from a napkin than those pillows. (2 only) -The hot water was just warm enough you didn't need to turn on any cold to have a shower. To be clear it's not a dump by any stretch but you won't be too happy paying their regular prices. I had a big laugh when I saw a note on our door letting people know their maximum room rate was $800 a night! Pure comedy right there! I guess my 22 yr old jeep at home is now worth $25,000 🤣.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Property Management, Owner at Riverhouse on the Deschutes
Responded Jun 30, 2022
Hello, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. We are so glad you were happy with the cleanliness of our property. However, we are disappointed to hear that your recent visit with us did not meet your expectations. Like many businesses we are working on the best way to meet our guests' needs and are actively increasing our staffing to do so. In the interim, we are offering light stayover service upon request. We would like to apologize this was not communicated to you during your check-in. We hope you will take a moment to reach out to our Front Office Manager Bobby at ruchida@riverhouse.com. We look forward to connecting and restoring your trust in us.
Read more
Lee R wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
They refused to make our bed. They don’t do anything to your room during your stay. There seems to be a disconnect between the “hotel” and the restaurant. It was ridiculous for such an expensive room.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Property Management, Owner at Riverhouse on the Deschutes
Responded Jun 30, 2022
Hello, Thank you for being our guest. We sincerely apologize for not living up to your expectations and that you had a less than satisfactory stay with us. We do offer light housekeeping service if requested. We do ensure that this is listed on our website as well as the reservation confirmation that is sent after securing a reservation with us. Your feedback is very valuable and we can assure you it will aid us in making the necessary adjustments to ensure the best stay for our guests. We would love the opportunity to speak with you by contacting our Front Office Manager, Bobby at ruchida@riverhouse.com to better address your helpful feedback. Thank you again, we look forward to hearing from you.
Read more
hannah F wrote a review May 2022
Eugene, Oregon18 contributions5 helpful votes
This hotel feels like a motel that has undergone upgrades to make it appear more high end, and they certainly charge as such, but it really is a pretty standard motel. I can’t speak to the restaurant/ patio because we were with our two young children and didn’t eat there. They have a weird system of charging you for your stay at check in, which is fine I guess, except we were charged $452 rather than the $399 I was expecting, and the girl at check in was unpleasant enough that I felt uncomfortable asking. The wallpaper was peeling in the bathroom. And when we went to go to bed, my 7 Year old found a piece of Nicotine gum in the sheets. It was pretty jarring. I don’t know if it was from the housekeeping crew or a previous guest. Also, the pool was nice, but in order to get there you have to hike through a busy parking lot uphill. We asked, but apparently there is no other way through. When we were returning to our room from the pool in drizzly weather uphill in the parking lot, carrying our kids, an employee drove past us in a golf cart and looked like maybe he was going to stop and offer a ride, but he didn’t. Overall this felt like an extremely overpriced motel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Property Management, Owner at Riverhouse on the Deschutes
Responded Jun 30, 2022
Hello Hanna, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. We are concerned to read your comments and cannot apologize enough for the difficulties you and your family experienced with our accommodations and the lapse in service. Your comments are noted, and we assure you to review them with our associates to find out what transpired and take appropriate steps to enhance our service delivery. We encourage you to try us again in the future. We are confident you will enjoy the exceptional stay you deserve.
Read more
jeffreysv wrote a review Apr 2022
Los Angeles. CA100 contributions79 helpful votes
Checking in to the Riverhouse, I guess I should have known something was wrong when the front desk told me they were going to charge my card for the entire stay up front. They indicated they were changing to a new point of sale system. What they didn't say was that they were too short handed to provide maid service and that they were still 90% occupied with a convention. For the record, they didn't tell me this when I phoned to book the room either. We found out after check in that the hotel is changing ownership. The place is nice. The room was clean. Meaghan at the restaurant was a pleasure. Our next meal there, not so much. Our server (let's call her Wednesday) seemed to have her mind elsewhere and likely so did the chef. Steve at the bar couldn't have offered better service, but I really shouldn't have to ask the front desk to bring toilet paper to my room. Great location, right on the river. Pretty patio seating area. The spa was apparently "understaffed" as well. I don't think it was the cop convention that booked out the spa. Upon checking for a spa service my wife and I were told there was one slot open on Friday and zero slots open on Saturday. Again, this would have been nice to know before we got there. I've worked in a service business for a long time. Understaffed is not an excuse. In my humble opinion, overbooking a hotel or not having sufficient staff and not communicating with guests about the conditions are really not great business practices.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
glca2018 wrote a review Apr 2022
Portland, Oregon3 contributions5 helpful votes
We had an upcoming conference here and the room cost for conference attendees was $189. Their website mentions to inquire for "offers" to extend the stay, and when we called they quoted an extra night for $289. Later when we decided to take advantage of their "offer" to extend the stay the desk clerk quoted us $405 to stay an extra night. When we expressed shock at quoted price change, and how their new "offer" was almost double the conference price, the clerk laughed and said "Oh the prices change multiple times a day." So it seems like this hotel has adopted the airline pricing model whereby the price of a hotel room varies depending on how many folks are looking at the website or calling in at a given moment. For folks who don't mind getting fleeced this is fine, but otherwise be very careful booking a stay here if you want to pay a reasonable rate
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Owner at Riverhouse on the Deschutes
Responded Apr 28, 2022
Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback! We apologize for the confusing communication regarding the room rates. Our offerings do change, based on availability and other factors, and we will be using your comments to see how we can improve this process. Please know that our goal is to offer terrific value and exceptional hospitality and we hope you'll return soon so we can improve your impression of us.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$224 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the riverhouse hotel bend, riverhouse hotel bend, riverhouse resort bend
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Riverhouse Hotel and Convention Center
LOCATION
United StatesOregonCentral OregonBend
NUMBER OF ROOMS
221
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Riverhouse on the Deschutes
Which popular attractions are close to Riverhouse on the Deschutes?
Nearby attractions include Sun Mountain Fun Center (0.4 miles), Three Sisters Viewpoint (0.3 miles), and Mountain Air (0.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Riverhouse on the Deschutes?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Riverhouse on the Deschutes?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Riverhouse on the Deschutes?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Riverhouse on the Deschutes?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Riverhouse on the Deschutes?
Conveniently located restaurants include McKay Cottage Restaurant, CURRENTS at the Riverhouse, and Dutch Brothers Coffee.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Riverhouse on the Deschutes?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Riverhouse on the Deschutes?
Yes, dry cleaning and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Riverhouse on the Deschutes?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Riverhouse on the Deschutes offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Riverhouse on the Deschutes have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.