We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Lara House Bed and Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bend
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Lara House Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

157 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Lara House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 156: English reviews
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewed January 29, 2016

The Lara house is just blocks from the old town of Bend and Drake park. The house was build at the turn of the century and is perfect in every detail. The living room is cozy with a gas fireplace, comfy couches and wonderful decor. The breakfast is served in the sun room with views of the lovely lawn. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HugoHobbs
Sandy G, Owner at Lara House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that should you return to Bend in the future that you will think of the Lara House.

Indian springs, al
Reviewed October 18, 2015

When I stay at a historic house, I don't expect all the comforts of a newly built luxury hotel. Our stay at the Lara House was delightful. We were given keys and an entry code for the front door so that we could come and go as we chose. Breakfast was at a set time and there was an afternoon...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank N K K
Sandy G, Owner at Lara House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Bend is such a great place to visit with so much to do. We hope that when you come to visit your family again that you will think of the Lara House.

Boise, Idaho
Reviewed October 13, 2015 via mobile

As others have mentioned, Lara House has a great location right across the street from a lovely riverside park, walking distance to downtown. Our room (Shevlin) was beautifully decorated; the bed was very comfortable, too. If you are staying several nights, you might want to get a room with a bigger closet, but for 1 night, it was no problem...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IdahoGourmand
Sandy G, Owner at Lara House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Bend has so much to offer any time of year. We hope that you will return so that you can spend a few more days exploring the Bend area.

Boise, Idaho
Reviewed September 25, 2015

The physical setting and location of the Lara House is superb. However, after our second visit we've decided it will be our last. My chief complaint is the thoroughly horrible breakfasts we were served during our second visit, far below what is typical for this price point. Lest you think I am the exception in this view, one morning they...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank DaleBow
Sandy G, Owner at Lara House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. The room that you selected is our smallest and unforunately due to the layout and age of the house it only offers a small half closet. The rest of the rooms are larger and do have full closets in them. I hope after our housekeeping staff removed your comforter and...

palm harbor fl
Reviewed September 14, 2015 via mobile

We were on a two week couples road trip and six of us booked rooms at the Lara house B&B . We fell in love with the quaint and lively town of Bend. The Lara house was perfectly located just a few blocks from the downtown, Drake park, the restaurants and bars. It was the perfect combination of close to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank weberdeb
Sandy G, Owner at Lara House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Bend. Hopefully you can return in the future to explore more of what Bend has to offer.

New York City, New York
Reviewed September 2, 2015

Lovely, by not stuffy, decor, perfectly situated for downtown Bend and Drake Park; Knowledgeable innkeeper (white-water rafting, fishing, pub-crawling) and satisfying breakfasts. Free beverages available all day and even has its own free beer happy hour.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter S
Sandy G, Owner at Lara House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We are very glad that you enjoyed your time in Bend. There is so much to do and we are always happy to offer suggestions to our guests whether it be activities or places to eat.

Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed August 13, 2015 via mobile

Not only is Lara House extremely quiet and comfortable, it is also located within easy walking of everything in downtown. We walked to all our dinners and spent some time in Drake park just across the street. It is an easy drive to several great hiking sites. The room was very comfortable and the house has both front and back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rcooper_12
Sandy G, Owner at Lara House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We enjoyed you staying with us and we are glad that you could take advantage of all that Bend has to offer.

Croton on Hudson, New York
Reviewed July 15, 2015

My wife and I stayed here while touring Oregon. We came to Bend to see if we might like to live here. So apparently did everyone else who was staying here when we arrived. Everyone had bought a house, was looking for a house, or was having work done on a house they had bought. The rooms were lovely as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rs6er
Sandy G, Owner at Lara House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We hope that while you are house hunting that you can stay with us again. Bend is a great place to live and visit.

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed July 12, 2015

My husband and I just spent 3 nights at the Lara House and WE WILL BE BACK. The historic Arts & Craftsman home is simply elegant at every spot, filled with amazing furniture, lighting and decor. Most important was the amazing CUSTOMER SERVICE. Innkeeper Sandy Griffin and her team are gracious, relaxed, informational, genuine and pay caring attention to detail...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LaraHouseGuest
Sandy G, Owner at Lara House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Summit room is a personal favorite for many of our guests and is especially popular with our Honeymooners and Anniversary couples. Bend is a wonderful city and has so much to offer in the way of activities, dining and shopping. We look forward to your return.

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed July 2, 2015

We came across this wonderful B&B via google search on our cell phone while driving into Bend. Luckily there was one room available, and the location was very easy to find. Beautiful place! Right near a park and in easy walking distance to downtown restaurants. Innkeeper Sandy was very helpful with suggesting a few good choices for dinner, and offered...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank taffey68
Sandy G, Owner at Lara House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a good time in Bend. We hope that you will be able to return to Bend in the future to explore more of the great things that the city has to offer.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bend hotels
0.6 mi away
Wall Street Suites
Wall Street Suites
#1 of 43 in Bend
358 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bend
0.3 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#2 of 43 in Bend
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bend
0.2 mi away
McMenamins Old St. Francis School
3.3 mi away
Tetherow Lodges
Tetherow Lodges
#3 of 43 in Bend
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lara House Bed and Breakfast, a magnificent 1910 craftsman, offers a unique and luxury experience for adults seeking a getaway in Downtown Bend. Located in a historic neighborhood, the Lara House overlooks Drake Park and the Deschutes River and is only two blocks away from Downtown Bend’s wonderful boutique shops and fantastic restaurants.Our six guest rooms have world-crafted eclectic furnishings, exquisite linens, and down comforters, all with private baths. The common areas are cozy and intimate, but spacious enough to give you privacy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lara House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 640 NW Congress St, Bend, OR 97703-2512
Location: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Bend
Price Range: $169 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Lara House Bed and Breakfast staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Lara House Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“They are all beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles blissfulliving, Nov 22, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a tub and shower.”
 of 5 bubbles ruddlin, Jun 23, 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the Bachelor. All the rooms have a private bath as well.”
 of 5 bubbles alleykat888, May 9, 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms looked nice”
 of 5 bubbles HugoHobbs, Jan 29, 2016 | Read review
“We were in the Cascade room. It had a king bed and was away from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles NKK258, Oct 18, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question