We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Tranquil Retreat Cabins

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Bloomingville
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Tranquil Retreat Cabins
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 44: English reviews
North Ridgeville, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Upon arrival the A-Frame looked very cute and quaint from the outside. Immediately when walking inside it smelled of mildew. There were bugs everywhere. The hot tub smelled of mildew. The water was very slimy. We received two separate check in times. The first email stated 4pm the second email stated noon. The sheets & pillow cases smelled of sweat... More 

Helpful?
Thank dfischer03
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in the Cabin by the Cave. When we pulled in, the front porch light was on, plus the lights inside which was so very welcoming, we knew we could settle right in! Charming, delightful, lovely, peaceful, stunning describes this property. The hummingbird feeder gave us endless entertainment, we thoroughly enjoyed starting the day and ending it on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mindy M
daceealeese, Owner at Tranquil Retreat Cabins, responded to this review

Thank You so much for your review. We try very hard to make this a very reasonable price for people to be able to stay. We had a sofa/sleeper in the cottage but the mattress was thin and the bars were uncomfortable. We went to a futon with a 10 inch mattress instead. Much better than a sofa/sleeper. Since the... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

There were good and bad things about this stay. This cabin does sleep 8, but the kitchen is not equipped to handle cooking and feeding 8. The description said the kitchen was fully functional and stocked with everyday needs, but instead was extremely small with broken utensils and appliances. Be prepared to bring your own cookware, along with grilling utensils... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shandy C
daceealeese, Owner at Tranquil Retreat Cabins, responded to this review

Thank You for the review. We try very hard to make your stay enjoyable. The cabin is not suitable for cooking for a party that large. Most use the grill etc. and the fire pit provided. Your reservation was for a party of 4 not 8. Somewhere that amount of guests was not confirmed. When we built the cabin it... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I can not count how many times we have been to Tranquil Retreat. But each and every time is a treat no matter what the season. This was the perfect summer weekend for us it was beautiful with the flowers that Sharon plants and the hummingbird feeders on the front porch. The cabin is always spotless and the hot tub... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carol M
daceealeese, Owner at Tranquil Retreat Cabins, responded to this review

Carol, Thank You so much for the kind review. We try so hard to make your stay a comfortable one. With deaths in the family and a 96 year old mother with memory loss and broken bones and a son in and out of the hospital it has been a tough year or so. Then my housekeepers husband died suddenly... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2016 via mobile

When we got there we were so excited the place was so cute and secluded. Yes it was a bit dirty we cleaned a little for them. There were some holes in the wall that were fixed but not painted over there was missing pieces to the vertical blinds. On Monday morning my husband and I were being intimate and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicole D
daceealeese, Owner at Tranquil Retreat Cabins, responded to this review

I am so sorry for the inconveniences you had. We had a couple staying prior to you that got into an agreement and literally tore things up. We tried to get the walls etc. redone before your arrival. The blinds have been replaced by curtains and the walls are in the process of being repainted. The cabin has been rented... More 

Lincoln Park, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2016

My husband and I stayed in Priscilla's and we just loved it from the time we pulled in the driveway we could see the cozy lights up on the mantel of the fire place, the stream that runs on the side of the cottage, the hot tub in our private backyard, to walking in the cottage with the beautiful wood... More 

Helpful?
Thank evbreemama
daceealeese, Owner at Tranquil Retreat Cabins, responded to this review

Thank You so much for the review. It is quite amazing how one couple can see so many good things about a cabin that others only find bad. But that is people. I have worked in a customer oriented business for over 30 years and have seen it all and heard it all. As my Grandson Ethan said when he... More 

Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015

My boyfriend and I booked 2 nights. It was smaller than expected but still cozy. The hot tub looked like either it hadn't been turned on in awhile (lots of stuff floating in it) and just dirty ... we didn't use it. After the first night, we went out into town for the morning and afternoon. We came back around... More 

Helpful?
Thank clevelandgirl608
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

We stayed at the A frame for our first anniversary. We were very disappointed by the accomodations. Like many others on here my husband and I noted many broken things that were never fixed. The Bad: The hot tub water was opaque and smelled like fish. No BBQ grill even though it was said to have one on the booking... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Constance A
daceealeese, Owner at Tranquil Retreat Cabins, responded to this review

To our guests: I am very sorry for the problems at the cabin. My partner of 18 years is dying of Copd. He has not been able to do some of the repairs nor have we been able to get those fixed due to health reasons etc. Other family members in and out of the hospital for extensive tests etc.... More 

Dayton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

When we arrived we found there was no hot water. The cabin, which was supposed sleep 3 - 4, had one couch. Without cell service, we waited until the next day to go looking for the management address given on the website. Could not find it. Before the trip I tried to reach the managers but got no answer to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Joan M
daceealeese, Owner at Tranquil Retreat Cabins, responded to this review

To our guests. Sorry for the inconvenience to your stay. The cabin you rented did have issues with the hot-water. The heater went out apparently just prior to your arrival. We were not aware of the problem until after your stay. The hot water heater did get replaced. We have had a lot of illness in the family and were... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

Wow....Another great time at Priscilla's cabin. We try to visit two to three times a year. It was our first visit of the year and as usual the cabin was so beautiful and clean. Our sightings were two bald eagles in flight together. A red fox sitting in the front lawn and we got to see how they tap trees... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carol M
daceealeese, Owner at Tranquil Retreat Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you to our repeat guests. You guys have been coming to our cabins since we opened and have always left the cabin very clean and maintained during your stay. It is always nice to have such wonderful guests stay with us. You always find the positive things about your stay and don't ever try to stay for free or... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Bloomingville
11.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
12.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
24.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls
6.8 mi away
Ravenwood Castle
Ravenwood Castle
#1 of 1 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have 4 cabins on approximately 40 acres of cliffs, rock formations and Water Falls. The other one White Oak is on over 35 acres. The property's are heavily wooded and nature abounds everywhere here. Deer, fox, wild turkey, raccoons, red tailed hawks, are birds are everywhere. Come to a place that is truly magical. Come to Tranquil Retreat and let Nature entertain You. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tranquil Retreat Cabins

Address: 25963 Liberty Hill Rd, South Bloomingville, OH 43152
Location: United States > Ohio > South Bloomingville
Price Range: $79 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Tranquil Retreat Cabins Ohio/South Bloomingville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing