We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,306 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,305: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed over Labor Day weekend. The first night we were there we were put in a room that the ac was broke. It got to over 80 degrees and no one slept well which put a little damper on our trip. The next day we were moved next door where the room was just as bad. The bathtub didn't... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Kcroucher
Management response:

Dear Kcroucher: We are very sorry you had such a disappointing visit to the resort. Unfortunately, we did not do many things well during your stay. We also apologize for the unkept rooms. All of our rooms should be cleaned and inspected before being assigned to a guest. We want all of our guests to have clean and comfortable accommodations.... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I reserved 2 rooms for September 3rd. At check-in, (we arrived late after spending the day at Cedar Point) the clerk was rude to every customer that asked for help. I paid in cash for my room, and my uncle paid with his card for his. There was a group of young women who were angrily waiting... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank antoinette m
Management response:

Dear antoinette m: We are very sorry for the difficulties you had during your visit to the resort. All of our rooms should be cleaned and inspected before being assigned to a guest. Recently, the resort was treated by a professional service. We are also sorry you were not treated properly by all of our Team Members. We expect all... More 

Travelers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Suburbs of Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked online the morning of our stay (a Tuesday) for the sole purpose of taking my son to a water park. When we arrived to check in, I was informed by another guest that the waterpark was not open. Nowhere during the online booking process was that stated. I called hotels.com and explained my dilemma. Their agent was great... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Lilspinster
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This "hotel" should be closed by the health department. We checked in late around midnight, girl at desk was nice. As soon as we walked into the building which I later found out was the older part, the smell was horrific. We walked into a room with what looked like oil spots all over the carpeting. The bunk beds you... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are staying at hotel from 9/3 to 9/5 once we arrived we did see it was a little outdated but wasn't going to let that bother us but once we got to our room we tried to access the WiFi we were suppose to get for our room it didn't work so we called about it and they told... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Lonnie J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Anywhere else is better than this place sometimes kalahari has specials and you can get a room there cheaper! First when we got there we stood at check in for 10 mins while the girl in the office played on her computer, when we got in the hallway of the hotel I noticed the rooms don't have outdoor Windows the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Alaina H
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here on 18th of august, reason was to visit Cedar point the next day. My friend booked 4 of us ( 1 child and 2 adults) through Groupon. $200 one night with access to the waterpark. Ok it's a long story, but I'll try keep it short. Entered through the rear entrance 4 from car park. Dirty filthy carpets... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank stardance99
Management response:

Dear Stardance 99: We are very sorry you were disappointed with your visit to the resort. We want all of our guests to have an enjoyable visit with clean and comfortable accommodations. We are glad your family enjoyed playing in the water park. It has a variety of attractions that parents and their children can enjoy together. The all-you-can-breakfast buffet... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What an expensive nightmare!!! Upon check in arrived to witness a so called GM (A rude clueless Indian man) cussing at 2 front desk clerks and actually thru a phone at them..In front of customers not too mention children..got checked in to a room..With a mouse in a trap under a bunk..the queen bed had dirty, bloody sheets on them..The... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Ivory B
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First and foremost, our hotel room was clean and the room was a decent size for families however it is very outdated. The elevator is hot, we didn't have a alarm clock and our lamp shade was tore and it has very limited staff. I called the front desk several times and no one answered therefore I had to walk... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roxxi G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The first 2 times I visited Maui Sands Resort my visits were nice for the price. The kids enjoyed themselves and always looked forward to coming back the following year. We stayed in the rooms that were located in the middle section of the hotel. The staff were very nice. The first visit breakfast was included with the original package,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Deanna D
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

352 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (316)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (137)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
2.8 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#14 of 35 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#3 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 stars 792 reviews
3.3 mi away
Breakers Express
Breakers Express
#8 of 35 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
See the Difference a trip to the Maui Sands Resort and Indoor Waterpark can be. You'll experience the little touches that you'd only find in any Hawaiian home. And always, the warmth of a smile, because once you're here, you're family. When you compare the value you'll receive at the Maui Sands Resort against the area's other lodging choices you'll be proud to call Maui Sands home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 5513 Milan Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-5858 (Formerly Maui Sands Hotel)
Location: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Price Range: $102 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 299
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark Sandusky, Ohio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay