We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 73: English reviews
Casstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed here the past two years for the DTWC and the hotel is nice. Staff was amazing and location is great. Called ahead and got a great view of the Kentucky side. It was a great location within walking distance of many restaurants. Track was less than a mile.

Helpful?
Thank JSOTZING
scook350, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, Please stay again. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016

Staff was very friendly. Room was very beautiful and beds were so comfy, we loved the pillows and the option of firm or soft was a nice extra feature. Pool area was nice, it made you feel like you were in the tropics. Only complaint was the small restroom. No free breakfast and the on site restaurant can be quite... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beth C
scook350, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Please forgive us if you were expecting a free Breakfast, Only the express hotels are permitted to do Free Breakfast, because they have no Restaurant. I do appreciate your staying with us and hope to see you again. I like your title "Great Mini Holiday", very nice. More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016

We had a one night in this hotel and the hotel itself was great. Nice clean rooms. Only a few small complaints. We were overcharged in the restaurant (kids meals were supposed to be free, including drinks) but we were charged for full priced adult meals. When we pointed this out, they came out with an amended bill but we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Avril_Milan
scook350, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review with us. I do apologize for the mix up at breakfast, yes, children under the age of 12, registered in the Hotel are given a coupon for free breakfast ordered from the Kid's Menu. It must be accompanied by a family member dining from the regular menu. Is not included in group Sales. Hot... More 

Germantown, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

We stay at this hotel when visiting our son at Shawnee State. It is a very nice hotel. The staff is always very friendly. The rooms are clean. The morning coffee is delicious, too. We have never had a problem with noise. We very much enjoy our stay at this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank noltefam7
scook350, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Please stay again. More 

Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
484 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2016 via mobile

We flew into Columbus airport during a snow storm. The drive to the Ashland KY area was brutal with no snow removal or highway workers treating the roads. I called to see if I could get a room in Portsmouth which would save me an additional hour of driving. Having already spent over 3 hours driving in the snow, I... More 

Helpful?
Thank terri E
scook350, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your story with us. I am very happy we were able to accommodate you. Hope you stop by and visit us again. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015 via mobile

We were visiting my son at college & this hotel is the perfect location for us. A little higher prices than I usually pay, but the centralized location makes it worth it. Front desk staff was friendly & the evening housekeeper was one of the nicest I have ever met in a hotel. My little kids loved the pool &... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill K
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
437 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2015 via mobile

The hotel & rooms were clean & nice. The restaurant had good food & service was good. Very nice pool area with a heated pool & hot tub. Make sure to walk to see the Murals on flood wall and walk by the Ohio River across the flood wall. It's only a block away and worth your time if you... More 

Helpful?
Thank JubileeJerry
scook350, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. You have described everything I love about our location. Please visit again. More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015 via mobile

Was intown over night the hotel is a older but nice clean and friendly they have k cups in the room. Also rooms are clean and the staff was nice. The only thing I fid not like was the elevator was small and I only saw one.

Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
scook350, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review with us. Please visit again. More 

Richmond, Kentucky
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015 via mobile

Would have loved the pool but it closes way too early. Ice machine didn't work. Elevator is tiny and slow. Plan on using the stairs if you stay here. Didn't get our reservation right. Very, very overpriced for what you get. They don't give rewards member treat bag like all the other Holiday Inns where I stay (even though there... More 

Helpful?
Thank JulesInKY
scook350, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Hello again, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us this time. As I responded to your review in December 2014, the pool hours are 6 am - 10 pm and has not changed. To be recognized as one of our IHG Rewards Club members and receive IHG points or gifts you need to book with IHG or with... More 

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2015 via mobile

Stayed while traveling through the area. Nice hotel that seemed to be recently updated. Rooms were clean and bed comfortable. Room had a small fridge, small microwave and coffee maker. Nice pool area, however giving it a 4 because disappointed in the hot tub. It appeared to not be updated with the rest of it. The bubbles did not work... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kelsey B
scook350, General Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review with us. The hot tub is scheduled for a refinishing soon. Please accept my apology. I hope you return in the future, I would love to get that other star from you. Thank you again for choosing our Hotel. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
4.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
7.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Wheelersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
22.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ironton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Piketon
3.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
23.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN River Cities
4.1 mi away
Super 8 Portsmouth
Super 8 Portsmouth
#3 of 6 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Address: 711 2nd St, Portsmouth, OH 45662-4001
Location: United States > Ohio > Portsmouth
Price Range: $130 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown Hotel Portsmouth
Ramada Inn Portsmouth
Ramada Portsmouth
Portsmouth Ramada
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Downtown Ohio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay