We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Island House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Island House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

368 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 367: English reviews
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our family had our Thanksgiving/Reunion get together at The Island House. Two of us shared a small room, with a queen size bed, 1 end table, refrigerator/microwave, desk and TV. The room suited us just fine for our one night stay. Yes, the hot water took a while to arrive, but it didn't bother us one bit. The hotel staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmsdean28
Worthington, Ohio
Reviewed December 10, 2016

This is the best place to stay in Port Clinton. The hotel is charming: Neat, historic building at the main intersection of downtown and walking distance to most of the city's shops, restaurants, marinas and city parks. Off-peak season rates make this fun place to stay an even better value. I come to this area each month for work -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott R
Michael P, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to leave us your kind insights. Happy Holidays :) Warm Wishes, Michael Phillips and the Island House Staff

Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Reviewed November 29, 2016

The rating is more for the staff than the facility. They were top notch. We needed a locale half way between Detroit and Cleveland, and convenient enough to the bigger airports, via expressways, and the location was perfect. This hotel is celebrating its centennial, so it may not have all of the amenities of a new facility, but that is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KittyF309
Michael P, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We enjoyed having your family with us an hope to have more soon for the next time a family gathering is organized in Port Clinton :) Season Greetings, Michael and The Island House Staff

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed November 28, 2016

The Island House is our regular stay place when visiting family in PC. When available, we always book the 2nd floor corner room that overlooks the river and lake. This past stay over Thanksgiving was quite disappointing for several reasons: The newly renovated restaurant and bar were "closed for the season". We were there July 4th and it had just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
Michael P, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Cheryl, We are sad to see that we let you down during your stay with us. I do apologize about the housekeeping matter during your stay and I will be discussing this with the housekeeping department at our meeting. As for the restaurant, it is a surprise to us that it decided to become seasonal in their hours. However,...

Webster
Reviewed November 15, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed here along with several other family members to get together with family. We were from out of the area and and chose this hotel simply because the event was hosted here in the restaurant/bar area downstairs. This hotel was built decades ago, and the layout reflects that. The hallways are narrow and the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WMHWebster_NY
Michael P, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a kind review about your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope to meet you and your family again sometime. Kindest Regards, The Island House Staff

Reviewed October 24, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights over the weekend. Staff was friendly and helpful. The room was small, but even the inside walls are very thick and would almost certainly be too expensive to move to make the rooms larger. Our room had a fair bit of noise from the road. Probably, other rooms could be quieter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manitoulin4
Michael P, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the time you took to leave us a review. Being on the national registry for being a historic building is both a blessing and a curse; not much can change without approval. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to meeting you again! With more renovations finished of course. All...

Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I came up for a weekend getaway. We enjoyed staying at the hotel. Our room was clean, staff was friendly, and it was quiet. We knew it was an older hotel when we booked it and that was the charm that we wanted as we are history buffs. Thank you. Oh and we liked that it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
Michael P, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words :) Until we meet again. . . The Island House Staff

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed October 17, 2016

Our room at the front of the hotel had morning sun and a view of Lake Erie. It was one of the smaller rooms in the hotel, and was a bit cramped with little space to move around the large comfy bed. This was once a grand hotel but we got the sense that the renovations were done by someone's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kandpohio
Michael P, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay. We truly appreciate your feedback as it helps us in the areas we need to put focus on within our property. We will use this review when brainstorming ideas at our meetings on how to improve our brand and give our guests a great memory of...

copley
Reviewed October 5, 2016

If you are curious as to how hotels were many years ago....this is a good choice. Nicely restored right down town. Proximity to Jet Express is a nice plus....and can park free while at PIB. If you are looking for a "HYATT" experience this is not the place for you. I would return. Not the cheapest in town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gary t
Michael P, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

God Morning and thank you for leaving us a nice review. We appreciate your business and hope to meet you again :)

Reviewed October 1, 2016 via mobile

Highly recommend staying somewhere else. The rooms are extremely over priced and the customer service is the worst of all the hotels I have ever stayed at. I don't think we could have had a worse experience

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Victoria G
Management response:

Good Morning Victoria, I am sorry and surprised to see this review. I've tried to search for your stay in our reservation system, but no one stayed in our hotel when I search the name Victoria G. Could you please contact me or email me so I can get more information regarding this experience? Thank you in advance, Michael Phillips...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Clinton
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Clinton
BEST WESTERN Port Clinton
#4 of 17 in Port Clinton
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#7 of 17 in Port Clinton
104 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 17 in Port Clinton
189 reviews
9.0 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#1 of 3 in Marblehead
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Island House is a unique combination of boutique hotel with historic charm. Enjoy an attentive staff, charming ambiance and World Class dining. Walk to Jet Express, fishing charters and nightlife. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Island House Hotel

Address: 102 Madison St, Port Clinton, OH 43452
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Price Range: $65 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Island House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Island House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island House Hotel Port Clinton, Ohio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Island House Hotel staff and other travelers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Island House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Corner rooms have many windows / streetlights and traffic noise may deter some”
 of 5 bubbles G3132LVscottr, Dec 10, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from the street are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles KittyF309, Nov 29, 2016 | Read review
“Corner rooms that face the lake have a great view. Nice sunshine comes through the windows in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles K3681MPcherylb, Nov 28, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on street side can hear street activity”
 of 5 bubbles garyt593, Oct 5, 2016 | Read review
“Corner King Suite on the second or third floor”
 of 5 bubbles itraveleverywhere, Sep 25, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay