We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Island House Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Island House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

346 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 345: English reviews
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If you are looking for a unique hotel, try the Island House Hotel. We had to stay three nights in Port Clinton and the Super 8’s, Holiday Inn Express’s and others just didn’t seem to fit the mood. Island House is a wonderful example of evolution, as the original hotel was built around 1886. Fire codes, demands for larger rooms... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Professorbobby
Michael P, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave us a nice review. It is always a pleasure to hear great insights from our guests regarding their stay with us. Until we meet again, have a great one! -The Island House Staff More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a long weekend for a family wedding. Rooms are not real large but clean and quiet. Beds were very nice and had a small refrigerator in room. The bar was beautiful and bartenders were very accommodating. When we stayed past the closing time, they just stayed because we were there! Hotel staff, excellent. Breakfast on weekday was... More 

Helpful?
Thank bernisuds
Michael P, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to host your family's wedding and we had a great time too. Until we meet again, take care. All our Best, The Island House Staff More 

Level Contributor
77 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Convenient location in downtown Port Clinton. Walking distance to the Jet Express. Old place but we'll maintained with a lot of history. Room was small but comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly too. Will go back next trip.

Helpful?
Thank Stuart K
Michael P, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We look forward to meeting you again. Kind Regards, The Island House Staff More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the Island House one weeknight with my family. My first impression was the slow, cramped, rickety elevator, but it got my luggage and I to our room. The room was clean and reasonably spacious with high ceilings and everything we needed except for maybe a place to set things in the bathroom. The best part was what... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
Michael P, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us a kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to meeting you again. Best Wishes, Island House Staff More 

Toledo, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've been staying at the island house for years and never have been disappointed. Our room was very clean & quiet. The staff was very friendly as usual. I left my face soap. The manager Michael got in touch with me and personally delivered it to my house!! That is customer service!! That went way and beyond! It was truly... More 

Helpful?
Thank missc826
Michael P, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us such kind words. I am glad that we've left you with always great impressions. It is truly appreciated. Take Care until Next Time, The Island House Staff and Michael P. More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were in Port Clint for July 4th. Weekend with friends and families. Been there many times but that was our first time staying at the Island House Hotel. It's an old hotel, but we didn't mind it as long as it's cleaned. We got a king bed, comfortable, big corner room. Some street noise but that is to be... More 

Helpful?
Thank jane m
Michael P, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay. I have many items to look into after reading this and would like to reassure you that these are not the standards I hold my housekeeping department up to. I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay and I hope you give... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Compared to previous experience at local hotels, the Island House was quiet, friendly and comfortable. The hotel has a long history of famous visitors but has all the amenities we needed for our stay. Ate at the hotel once and the food was very good. The continental breakfast is fresh and available for 4 hours each morning.

Helpful?
Thank S17K
Michael P, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some kind words. It was a pleasure taking care of you during your stay in Port Clinton. All our Best, The Island House Staff More 

Powell, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We would not recommend The Island House hotel. I understand that the hotel is historic, which I usually enjoy, but it did not feel well-maintained. The elevator had a strong odor, there were significant areas of paint peeling from the walls (which raises concerns of lead exposure in an old building, of course), and the room was not very clean.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank trsch
Michael P, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

We apologize that your stay at the Island House did not meet your expectations. Also, that I will be looking into this weekend more since these instances are not the impressions we want to leave our guests with. The WiFi is being looked into being that it gave such difficulty; our internet provider has scheduled a time to come out... More 

Winchester, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm torn with this review. The young ladies we spoke with at the front desk were kind and tried to be as helpful as possible. I liked the historic aspect of The Island House Hotel. It was a mostly comfortable and quiet stay...which was great. The room, with a king-sized bed, was small but we expected this because of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank SHall93
Michael P, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. It really helps us improve upon our service at the Island House. Gladly, we have taken care of all the issues you've encountered and apologize for them. If you ever decide to return to the area please call and ask for Michael Phillips the GM so... More 

Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Upon arriving Heather at the front desk greeted us with a smile. I staying with my family in a room with 2 double beds. The room wasn't very spacious but that is to be expected for an older hotel. Lots of history and charm. When we stayed it happened to be during a mayfly hatch which we had no clue... More 

Helpful?
Thank mcgrathfamily589
Michael P, General Manager at The Island House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a kind review. Heather appreciates your kind words as well and looks forward to your family's return. Kind Regards, More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (48)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Clinton
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Clinton
BEST WESTERN Port Clinton
#4 of 18 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 18 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.2 mi away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#12 of 18 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
9.0 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
3.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Island House is a unique combination of boutique hotel with historic charm. Enjoy an attentive staff, charming ambiance and World Class dining. Walk to Jet Express, fishing charters and nightlife. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Island House Hotel

Address: 102 Madison St., Port Clinton, OH 43452
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Price Range: $116 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Island House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your The Island House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island House Hotel Port Clinton, Ohio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay