Ravenwood Castle

Ravenwood Castle

                  Silversmith's Cottage
Traveler (454)
Room & Suite (141)
The Great Hall
Dining (59)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 1 B&B in New Plymouth
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.8
Value
4.4
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Property amenities
Free parking
Free breakfast
Game room
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Banquet room
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Picnic area
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms

Location

65666 Bethel Rd, New Plymouth, OH 45654-8936
383Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 274
  • 67
  • 31
  • 6
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kelly wrote a review Aug 2020
Kent, Ohio
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We went to Ravenwood Castle for a birthday celebration. The castle and grounds are beautiful. We went hiking, enjoyed drinks at the bar (alcoholic butterbeer and zombie killer were delicious!!), and played games on the outdoor patio. The castle was fully booked while we were there, but it was very quiet, spacious, and clean. We were able to socially distance from others, even when indoors. Staff were upholding all COVID precautions and constantly cleaning while we were there.

My only complaint would be breakfast. The first day we were served sausage pancake bake. The pancake was dry and tasted like a corn muffin and it was not enjoyable. The second day we were served corned beef hash which was not good. They had other options such as cinnamon rolls (very tasty!), granola & yogurt, fruit, hard boiled eggs, and cereal. We did not leave hungry by any means but I was disappointed in the main dishes.

WiFi is available with a good signal in the castle but we had no cell signal or WiFi in our room (Merchants). We had no cell service until we were about 15-20 minutes away from the castle.

Lots to do in the area. We went zip lining and river tubing.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jim Reed, Owner at Ravenwood Castle
Responded Aug 19, 2020
Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to leave such a nice review! I'm glad that you found the castle, grounds and Pub selection to your liking. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy our breakfast selections. We normally receive great reviews on our breakfast, especially the pancake bake. That being said we are definitely continuing to work on improving and increasing our breakfast offerings, and I will be sure to share your feedback with the team. Thank you again, and we hope you come back to visit again soon and take advantage of more of the activities in the area!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John F wrote a review Nov 2020
Stow, Ohio
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Two of my adult daughters, my wife and I got away for 3 days and 2 nights. We stayed in one of the cottages across from the castle.
The accommodations were fine: comfortable beds, clean bathroom, mini fridge, and the ability to control the building temperature. I really appreciated that we were able to bring different board games to the cottage and return them at our convenience.
Breakfast is included in the cost and the menu was slightly different both days (with a hot dish as part of the options). A pub in the castle allows you to also stay and eat lunch/dinner on premise (without having to drive 20-30 minutes to go to a restaurant - and they do have local establishments that deliver as well).
Overall, an enjoyable few days away!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Robert W wrote a review Jul 2020
Powell, Ohio
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Castle is in the middle of nowhere. You will not get a cellphone signal so download your map prior to going. They do have wifi so internet solved. They serve breakfast, and have great meals as well as drinks. Zombie killer cider was in tap when we went. The Cinderella suite has: nice king sized bed, bathroom, separate shower/hot tub, fireplace, a small TV and DVD player, sink, dishes (fancy), silverware, little fridge, microwave and coffee machine. The best things: friendly service, good food, good drinks. They even gave me a lettuce wrap for my gluten free burger. You have easy access to trails and to Hocking Hills. They have a ton of board games and rooms to play them in. If you need to get away from it. Try here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jim Reed, Owner at Ravenwood Castle
Responded Jul 10, 2020
Thank you for staying with us, and for leaving such a nice review! I'm glad that you found Cinderella's Coach House to your liking, and enjoyed our food and service! As for the Zombie Killer, it is one of our favorites as well, and in fact has a near-permanent spot on our tap lineup. Come back and see us soon, we'll have a glass ready for you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Larry A wrote a review Oct 2021
Stow, Ohio
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff are 5 stars, the cleanliness of the rooms 5 stars and friendliest guests. The Wifi isuch better than expected inside the castle. The location to some of the great locations is a plus. The morning breakfast is nice. Now why i could only give it 3 stars. When you're paying around 180 plus a night single ply toilet paper is very cheap. Do not waist your$$$ on the $50 frii and Saturday dinner at the castle. I understand having to wait in line to get your meal during covid. The fact is though when half of the food you get is cold and just sad. You start with a salad that is nothing special. My wife was lucky and got 2 tomato slices. You get your choice of ranch or vinaigrette. Then the main meal. Now it changes every week they say. Ours was on Friday pulled pork and chicken leg quarters baked that sat around to long. Cold green beans a good baked sweet potato. Oh desert were 2 chocolate chip cookies. In no way worth the $50 per person price. Saturday was same sad salad, mac and cheese with pulled pork mixed in. A very dry pork roast, baked potato and a baked apple betty with a scoop of ice cream. Unfortunately for my wife who hates pork she didn't have a nice meal. They also wont tell you the menu ahead of time when making reservations for it. We tried to cancel Saturday night dinner but you need 48 hs notice which i did understand. We ended going into town for some great meals on Saturday for lunch and for Sunday night dinner. Please stay enjoy the atmosphere and great staff just don't get fooled into the overpriced dinner. Almost forgot if you want ice please ask a staff for a ice bucket because they are not in the rooms and they have to get you the ice from the kitchen.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jim Reed, Owner at Ravenwood Castle
Responded Oct 12, 2021
Thank you for staying with us at Ravenwood Castle, and for taking the time to leave a review. I am glad to hear that you found the castle, rooms, staff and guests to be of five star quality. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your Great Hall dinners. As I'm sure we mentioned to you while you were on site, our dinners are catered in from the Lake Hope Lodge, one of the best restaurants in the Hocking Hills. The meals are typically quite well received, and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy them. As a side note, the dinners are absolutely not $50 per person. I just double checked your folio to ensure there was not a billing error, and can confirm that you were charged $24.95 per dinner, which is the correct price. Thank you again for staying with us, and I am sorry that one aspect of your trip so negatively affected your enjoyment of the rest of your experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Luke Richardson wrote a review Nov 2020
Lodi, Ohio
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent our fourth wedding anniversary at Ravenwood Castle, where we stayed in the Clock Tower. Just to get it over with, I will tell you the one thing that we would change: WiFi availability. I am sure that is because of the area and not really an issue with the Castle itself, but WiFi would have been great if it extended out to the cottages. That is it. Everything else was wonderful.

My wife has mobility issues, so when we found out that parking was not available right by the cottage, we contacted them a couple of days before our planned arrival. Michaelyn, one of the staff members, went out of her way to measure the distance from accessible parking to the cottage and to the other areas of the castle. Even before we arrived, they were going out of their way to make things perfect! Social distancing was in full practice, as were other precautions.

We ate in the pub the first night. The food was good, but the butterbeer floats were amazing. (We even got more the next day!) The employees on duty were extremely nice. One interesting thing that I noticed was that when I ordered something for my wife, the staff then spoke directly to her. That may seem a strange thing to notice, but when my wife is using her wheelchair, people often direct their comments to me rather than her, as if she is unable to order for herself. It is really annoying for us both. (I was just ordering the float for my wife because I thought she had forgotten. I am not one of those people who order for their wives!)

Another thing they accommodated for her was that someone carried our breakfast down to our cottage for her when she attempted to get it for us while I was still in bed. It was extremely nice of them.

There was a decent selection of DVDs, but when we went into the next town over to get a few things and to go to the Christmas shop, we picked up some DVDs at Goodwill and ended up leaving them for others to use. (Goodwill's selection was not that great, but it's something. )

Everything about the cottage itself was amazing! We will absolutely be back. I cannot say enough about how wonderful this trip was!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mandy W wrote a review Jun 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Thank you so much to the staff at Ravenwood Castle! Our friends convinced us to join them for a mini-renfest weekend and we were delighted with the idea! This was our first ever trip to Ravenwood and we were planning our next visit before we left the grounds. Amanda, Charlotte and Kayla treated us like royalty. They humored our "dress up" dinners and pub time and made sure our every need was met.

We chose the Woodcutter’s house and it was spacious and quiet with a great view of the woods for our morning coffee. The romance package took it up another notch. Our friends stayed in the castle and their rooms were beautiful.

Allergy Note - I cannot rave enough about how they did with my food allergy. I listed it on my reservation and emailed once to be sure we would be able to have dinner without a hitch. I knew from the moment I checked in, that things were going to go well. The front desk confirmed the allergy when they gave us our room key and confirmed that they had special items for me for each meal. Everyone I talked to was aware of my allergy and me made it feel like it was no inconvenience at all. Dinner was amazing and they even had margarine that I could use safely.

Again - thank you to the staff for making a weekend with friends memorable and relaxing!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: every room is amazing and they are all unique
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jim Reed, Owner at Ravenwood Castle
Responded Jun 19, 2021
Thank you for staying with us at Ravenwood Castle, and for taking the time to leave such a nice review! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the Woodcutter's Cottage, and that you and your friends were able to enjoy a mini-renfest while you were with us. Thank you also for letting us know that Amanda, Charlotte and Kayla provided you with excellent service, we will be sure to pass along your compliments. Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope you return to visit again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
beth h wrote a review Apr 2023
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a themed bed and breakfast. Don't go if you are looking for all the amenities of spa or expensive hotel. Don't expect great cell reception. But do go if you want to be around friendly staff, lots of games available to play, quirky and fun rooms and a chance to get away. There were a lot of fun castle-themed details throughout and a small but very kind staff.

We stayed in the Dungeon. It was dark, especially the bathroom. They had lots of lamps in the main room, if you wanted to brighten it up. It was cold, but there was a fireplace you could set to various temps to keep warm. The mattress was a little firmer than I was used to, but the bed was big and had stock holes in the head and foot boards - how fun! The included breakfast was served on real plates with real silverware and cloth napkins. It had several (but limited) choices for breakfast that they served to you - all tasty. We ate twice at the small pub. It has limited hours and you ring a doorbell when you are ready to order so the staff can come down to get your order. The Pub has a limited food menu, but was all good. It also had an extensive beer menu.

The Castle was about 20 minutes from most of the Hocking Hill hikes we did. Would go again!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
rlspinner wrote a review Jul 2020
Berea, Ohio
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We wanted to spend our 50th wedding anniversary in a unique way, but were also concerned about being in a virus safe environment. After a lot of research, we settled in on Ravenwood. We were very impressed with the staff. They made us feel safe and responded quickly to all our requests. The Queen Victoria room was perfect for us because we did not want to climb stairs. Offering takeout at breakfast was a great option. We also found the Pub food delicious and loved the massive selection of beers.

I took advantage of the trails during my early morning hikes. We also took advantage of the wine and cheese tray when you offered to replace the wine with the Sprecher sodas. We had never tasted them before and they were GREAT!!!.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jim Reed, Owner at Ravenwood Castle
Responded Jul 28, 2020
Thank you for staying with us at Ravenwood Castle, and thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review! Congratulations again on your 50th anniversary, and thank you for choosing to spend it with us! I am glad to hear that everything was to your liking. I especially appreciate your comments regarding our COVID precautions. We are doing our utmost to keep our guests and staff safe during these trying times, and it is great to hear that it is appreciated!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Audrey wrote a review Feb 2020
Dayton, Ohio
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a Sunday for the Silversmith's House. The house is beautiful inside. The downstairs has a nice size living room and kitchen area with a picnic type table, a sink, microwave and refrigerator and plenty of silverware. There's an adorable tiny bathroom and the bedroom was perfect for our two daughters, 10 and 18, years old. The upstairs is huge. The master bedroom loft is spacious and beautiful, with a large, comfortable bed and and a small balcony, to take in the incredible surroundings of trees. The master bath has a large, deep heart shaped tub. We enjoyed it very much. The main castle just a little walk up the hill was like something out of a book. The experience reminded me of what it would be like to stay the night at the Renaissance festival. The staff was very nice, friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jim R, Owner at Ravenwood Castle
Responded Feb 25, 2020
Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to leave us such a nice review! I'm glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit, and found the Silversmith's House to be to your liking! Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hweinga1 wrote a review Jun 2021
Cleveland, Ohio
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I recently stayed in the Queen Victoria suite at Ravenwood Castle. We were pleased about some things and upset at others. Our stay there was a definite mixed bag.

The Pros: * The complimentary breakfast was well-prepared and tasty.
* The grounds were attractive. It was great being in a wooded area, filled with trees, birds, and flowers.
* Our suite was spacious with a modern bathroom. It was very clean, which was appreciated.
* The staff was friendly.

The Cons: * The suite lacked basic amenities that we thought were standard, such as a clock or clock-radio, and a self-controlled thermostat.
* On our first evening there, the hotel's air conditioning was set so cold that we were FREEZING. (The outside temperature was in the low 70's.) Despite our asking the desk staff to turn the air conditioning off (or lessen it), this did not happen. We were forced to use the electric fireplace in our room to combat the frigid air conditioning. We did not expect to be so uncomfortable on a vacation trip that we had looked forward to.
* Despite the suite's charm, we found the bed to be hard, the sofa to be threadbare and sagging, and the dresser's middle drawer to be broken. Again, we would not expect this shabbiness.

Despite some strengths about it, we cannot see ourselves returning to stay again at Ravenwood.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The Castle does not have an elevator. It steps are a concern, ask for a 1st floor room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jim Reed, Owner at Ravenwood Castle
Responded Jun 19, 2021
Thank you for staying with us at Ravenwood Castle, and for taking the time to leave a review. I apologize that you did not find the temperature in your suite to your liking, but would like to assure you that we did in fact adjust the temperature at your request. While it can be difficult to balance the central air in a castle to meet all guests' personal tastes, we are typically able to strike a balance that is comfortable for all. In the event that is not possible, the temperature in individual rooms can be adjusted through additional means, such as the fireplace you mention. I am also sorry to hear that you found the bed to be uncomfortable. It and the sofa as well are newer units which we've had no previous complaints on, but we will look into them straight away. We strive to provide all of our guests with a positive experience, and I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. As a rustic country inn, the experience we offer differs significantly from a traditional hotel, the lack of electronics such as clock radios being one example. Many of our guests appreciate those differences and visit us specifically for that experience. We do certainly understand that what we offer is fairly unique, and that some travelers prefer a more traditional hotel experience. I am sorry to hear that you will not be returning, and we wish you the best wherever else you choose to vacation.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Amy
3 contributions
We stayed both times in the Dukes Dungeon and loved it. Big king size bed. Access to the outside and the only room I hue lower level. Very comfy and spacious.
soren s asked a question Mar 2019
Houston, Texas17 contributions20 helpful votes
is there separate bath and toilet to each room/cabin?
Answer from Jeffandie
Russell, KY9 contributions3 helpful votes
Each room has it's own private restroom
harleyw2015 asked a question Jul 2018
Minerva, Ohio3 contributions2 helpful votes
Do the rooms have blow dryers, or should I bring my own?
Answer from JLHT
Strongsville, Ohio327 contributions79 helpful votes
There was one in our bathroom, under the sink. I believe this is an included amenity, but I would call to check as not all rooms have the same amenities (ie. We had one of the only rooms with a TV, and even that was dated).
Brenda D asked a question Jun 2016
Findlay, Ohio2 contributions
Is there a pool
Answer from Kerry T
Dillonvale Jefferson County, Ohio1 contribution1 helpful vote
no
Answer from Michele H
Solon, Ohio10 contributions3 helpful votes
You'd have to contact the hotel directly for that. I was just a guest.
Ernest G wrote a tip Aug 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make SURE you can go before you put any deposit down, as you WILL lose it."
Read full review
Taylor B wrote a tip Aug 2022
3 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Fletcher's cabin was quiet, small, has a kitchenette."
Read full review
hweinga1 wrote a tip Jun 2021
Cleveland, Ohio6 contributions11 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Castle does not have an elevator. It steps are a concern, ask for a 1st floor room."
Read full review
Mandy W wrote a tip Jun 2021
5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"every room is amazing and they are all unique"
Read full review
hmgorden wrote a tip Sep 2020
31 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Use their website to select as each room very special."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the New Plymouth area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
ravenwood castle hotel new plymouth
LOCATION
United StatesOhioNew Plymouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RAVENWOOD CASTLE - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Ravenwood Castle
Which popular attractions are close to Ravenwood Castle?
Nearby attractions include Zaleski State Forest (4.8 miles) and On Guard Defense Training Center & Shooting Range (4.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ravenwood Castle?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Ravenwood Castle?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ravenwood Castle?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Ravenwood Castle?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Moonville Tunnel (6.6 miles).
Things to DoFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars