We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
65666 Bethel Rd, New Plymouth, OH 45654-8936
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (435)
Room & Suite (140)
Dining (57)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.6
Service
4.8
Value
4.4
Travelers' Choice
Nestled in the woods of scenic Hocking Hills, Ravenwood Castle provides a charming setting with a medieval flair. Whether you are planning a romantic trip for two or a unique getaway for family and friends, Ravenwood Castle makes for an unforgettable destination. Ravenwood offers a wide array of accommodations, from castle guest rooms and Medieval Village cottages to rustic Huntsman's Hollow cabins. Our guests enjoy dining in the Great Hall, or relaxing with a drink in the Raven's Roost Pub after a day exploring the caves and trails of Hocking Hills. Whether your vacation includes outdoor adventure or simply a relaxing escape from the stresses of everyday life, Ravenwood Castle is your destination. Leave the hassle, come stay in our castle!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free breakfast
Game room
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Banquet room
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Picnic area
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family

Location

Full view
376Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 269
  • 65
  • 31
  • 6
  • 5
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ernest G wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
We had reservations for Ravenwood in March of 2019. Due to the new covid restrictions, we decided to postpone our wedding renewal and my 50th birthday celebration. Ravenwood REFUSED to give us a refund for the accommodations, instead giving us a credit towards another stay. We went back and forth for several months trying to make something work, but never came to a resolution. Finally, as of March of 2022, they just kept our deposit. We lost $5k on the "deal", and will never say a nice thing about the site or its management. Completely ridiculous.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Service
Room Tip: Make SURE you can go before you put any deposit down, as you WILL lose it.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jim Reed, Owner at Ravenwood Castle
Responded Aug 24, 2022
Ernest, I normally thank guests for leaving a review, even if that review is negative. Unfortunately this review is so misleading as to be basically dishonest. To be clear, and for the benefit of future guests, you chose to cancel your wedding, it was not canceled due to COVID. At the time your wedding had been scheduled Ravenwood Castle was open and serving guests, and was prepared to host your event. You chose to cancel your event at the last minute, despite being well past the point in your contract where you would have forfeit your entire payment. Although we had no obligation to do so under your contract, we offered to allow you to reschedule your event at no cost and with no fee or penalty. We worked with you to facilitate this, but ultimately you chose not to reschedule your event. At that point, although we had already gone above and beyond your contract, we placed your entire deposit onto a gift certificate for you – again with no fee or penalty. This allowed you to keep your entire payment and lose absolutely nothing. You had two years in which to use this certificate, but again chose not to do so. Ernest, I feel it is extremely misleading to claim that Ravenwood Castle had “zero sympathy” with your situation. We attempted several times to work with you to avoid any financial loss on your part – despite the fact that you voluntarily canceled an event well past the cancellation terms you agreed to in your contract.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Taylor B wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
My husband and I were looking for a unique, secluded place to stay to celebrate our one year anniversary, and that is exactly what we got! It's got more of a bed and breakfast feel to it, but it is very charming and the set up really makes you feel like you're in medieval times. My husband and I stayed in Fletcher's cabin, which had a screened in porch, a loft, AC, a short walking trail to the castle, and no service. We didn't mind not having service, as it gave us a chance to enjoy the time more and to have fun watching movies, and we had the option to go up to the castle and hang out in the great hall or the pub to get service and play games if we wanted. There were also scavenger hunts to do, and that kept us plenty busy. Overall a great stay, and I'm sure a family with kids would have a blast. It's also a great central point for some of the caves, trails, and other attractions in Hocking Hills. Would definitely recommend staying here!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Fletcher's cabin was quiet, small, has a kitchenette.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
seescokid wrote a review Jun 2022
Grand Rapids, Michigan1493 contributions144 helpful votes
+1
Found it on google maps and wanted to do Hocking hills on way to Ark encounter in Ky. Surprised to find a open suite 6/13/22 less than a week out, but looked cool and unique. Reviews spot on. Shakespeare suite handicap access and bath. Comfy king and negative’s as mentioned right next to stairs for ravens roost pub and kitchen, Wi-Fi in room spotty on and off and weak. Breakfast not buffet and not filling for a large man. Best part was Sherry gave us FORTY % off for our 40th anniversary! Thank you!! Good beer selection and good meatball subs and chili fries. With no tv went to bed early
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Resort99326 wrote a review May 2022
7 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We stayed one night in the Dukes dungeon and had the greatest experience with staff. Everyone was so friendly and made us feel right at home. Our room was awesome and we had amazing burgers and soup and cocktails in the pub. Also an amazing breakfast the next morning.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
M B wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
We stayed in the Empress Room for a mother-daughter weekend. The blend of modern convenience with medieval living was fun and unique. Spacious room, comfortable furniture, beautiful colors and fabrics, balcony with a view, helpful staff, all were appreciated in this home away from home. Favorites were the forest deck, strolling through the Enchanted Village, games in the library, and so many photo ops. Don't miss the birds and cats sharing bowls in the herb garden.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Steve S wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We heard about Ravenwood from some friends and are so glad that we had the chance to go when we had a break from teaching. We stayed in Baker’s which was across the parking lot from the Castle. It was so quiet and peaceful. Breakfast was delicious (we loved our Cinnamon rolls on Sunday) and one of our favorite parts was eating in the downstairs pub. We drank beer, there was a good variety, and enjoyed some burgers one night. We loved all the board games they had and we borrowed a few DVDs from the selection in the pub to watch one night. It is close to a lot of Hocking Hills hiking trails and we went to Old Man’s cave and enjoyed it being less busy since we went later in the year. We are already planning our next stay!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Zarai wrote a review Oct 2021
17 contributions
+1
Pros: 1. STAFF IS SHORT-HANDED, yet have been very kind, curtious, accommodating to dietary restrictions and needs to the best of their ability, There was a tour given upon check in. 2. The woods and property are well kept, maintained and beautiful; the walking trails have rope for guest to walk down with 3. Had great variety of table top board games, books, DVD and cd selections. However DVD and cd selections could be improved with the addition of vinyl. Finally, Cd player needs to be replaced because it kept skipping 4. Complimentary breakfast was a nice wakeup call. 5. Our room was well maintained when we entered and housekeeping services provided. Cons **1. Having a 2nd fire exit would be appreciated for the 2th and 3rd floor suits. **2. Clearly marking where fire extinguishers are located would be appreciated; when we went up the stairs the fire extinguisher was located ON the floor, under neath the table. Not marked by any labels. **3. Having an emergency evacuation plan with route map upon orientation with guests upon arrival would be appreciated. **4. Not accessible to people whom have special needs: No elevators, No wheel chair ramp, No Brail, Not Enough Clear signage 5. Google maps needs to be updated; it's brought us up the exit drive, instead of the entrance. 6. Entrance and exit drive needs more lights and bigger signage. 7. Parking lot needs more lights 8. Entrance/check needs clearer directional signage. I walked in and did not know where to go to check in 9. Having the PUB hours listed on a white board, specials board and/or chalk board would be greatly helpful whereas I found out about the pub's hours while on the phone with check in office the day before check in. Here is a real example on what happened. While in the castle staff told me: Food: 3pm-9pm Alcohol: 3pm-10pm While talking to the staff the night before I was told: The bar is opened from 3pm-9pm without warnings of a dry bar on sunday. 10. Takeout menus from near by restaurants need to be updated because when we called on the restaurants listed, they informed that they no longer accept delivery orders, menu selections and prices have changed. 11. Unsencted items inside the bathroom would be appreciated. As a person with allergies to strong smells. I personally could not use the items provided **12. Taking part in a THEMED castle experience I would expect photography to be appreciated and accepted. But I was bombarded with constant reminders from staff not to photograph guests as they would not like to be in my personal photos. I would get constant "I can get fired for allowing you to do this" by staff or just plain stare from the staffing when they passed by. The GUESTS where more accommodating then the staff. Multiple people loved that we dressed up for our photos and where happily asking for their photo taken as well. Repunzle Tower Here is a veview and updates that the Repunzle tower needs: **TELEVISION WOULD BE APPRECIATED** 1. Wifi reception; they provide access but it doesn't connect; Guests must walk down 8 steps untill internet is connected. 2. There are no "Repunzle" themed decorations, the glass stained rose is more Beauty and the beast theme. 3. The lamps are not hooked up to one port, they must be turned off individually instead by a single power switch 4. There is no tower atmosphere/environment in the rapunzel tower because the windows are not large enough to have a decent view of the surrounding woods, there is no balcony unlike the level below us or surrounding cabins 5. Extra accommodation would be amazing: More blanket inside the room, temptured controller fireplace, a coat hanger and a clock would be appreciated. 6. Privacy settings: The bathroom window has no curtain, but the window is slightly tinted. The bathroom door does not lock. The Soaps provided had a strong smell to them in which I couldn't use them. 7. Understandable that bugs would be in nature and some could come inside. We didn't expect to encounter 3 Stink Bugs and 2 Japanese Lady Bugs coming though the rose stain glass window.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jim Reed, Owner at Ravenwood Castle
Responded Oct 27, 2021
Thank you for staying with us at Ravenwood Castle, and for leaving a review. I am glad to hear that you found the staff kind courteous and accommodating. As you mention we - along with most hospitality businesses in the country at the moment - are in fact short handed. Despite that, we do our best to provide exceptional service, and I'm glad that you found it to be so. As for the rest of your review, I will not respond to each item point by point, though I will clarify for future guests that the evacuation routes and safety notices you mention are posted on the back of your suite's door, as is customary and in compliance with law. I apologize if you did not find this and the other signage on site sufficient. We do have signs for nearly every item you indicated, and the staff is always happy to answer any questions you may have. Also for clarification for future guests, on site photo shoots are not permitted at Ravenwood Castle (except in your room) without prior authorization, as they pose a disruption to other guests' experiences. When we made you aware of this we also made an exception to allow you a brief opportunity to use the common area for your photos. We did have to ask you to complete your shoot as it was in fact becoming disruptive to other guests attempting to make use of the common areas. I'm sorry to hear that our efforts to make an exception for you and accommodate your photo shoot were not to your satisfaction, but we simply will not allow one guest's use of the property to pose a disruption to the remainder of our guests. Thank you again for taking the time to provide your detailed feedback. I am sorry to hear that Ravenwood was not to your liking overall. As a rustic country inn, the experience we offer differs significantly from that of a traditional hotel. While many of our guests appreciate those differences and visit us specifically for that experience, we do certainly understand that what we offer is fairly unique, and that some travelers prefer a more traditional hotel experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Larry A wrote a review Oct 2021
Stow, Ohio68 contributions12 helpful votes
The staff are 5 stars, the cleanliness of the rooms 5 stars and friendliest guests. The Wifi isuch better than expected inside the castle. The location to some of the great locations is a plus. The morning breakfast is nice. Now why i could only give it 3 stars. When you're paying around 180 plus a night single ply toilet paper is very cheap. Do not waist your$$$ on the $50 frii and Saturday dinner at the castle. I understand having to wait in line to get your meal during covid. The fact is though when half of the food you get is cold and just sad. You start with a salad that is nothing special. My wife was lucky and got 2 tomato slices. You get your choice of ranch or vinaigrette. Then the main meal. Now it changes every week they say. Ours was on Friday pulled pork and chicken leg quarters baked that sat around to long. Cold green beans a good baked sweet potato. Oh desert were 2 chocolate chip cookies. In no way worth the $50 per person price. Saturday was same sad salad, mac and cheese with pulled pork mixed in. A very dry pork roast, baked potato and a baked apple betty with a scoop of ice cream. Unfortunately for my wife who hates pork she didn't have a nice meal. They also wont tell you the menu ahead of time when making reservations for it. We tried to cancel Saturday night dinner but you need 48 hs notice which i did understand. We ended going into town for some great meals on Saturday for lunch and for Sunday night dinner. Please stay enjoy the atmosphere and great staff just don't get fooled into the overpriced dinner. Almost forgot if you want ice please ask a staff for a ice bucket because they are not in the rooms and they have to get you the ice from the kitchen.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jim Reed, Owner at Ravenwood Castle
Responded Oct 12, 2021
Thank you for staying with us at Ravenwood Castle, and for taking the time to leave a review. I am glad to hear that you found the castle, rooms, staff and guests to be of five star quality. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your Great Hall dinners. As I'm sure we mentioned to you while you were on site, our dinners are catered in from the Lake Hope Lodge, one of the best restaurants in the Hocking Hills. The meals are typically quite well received, and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy them. As a side note, the dinners are absolutely not $50 per person. I just double checked your folio to ensure there was not a billing error, and can confirm that you were charged $24.95 per dinner, which is the correct price. Thank you again for staying with us, and I am sorry that one aspect of your trip so negatively affected your enjoyment of the rest of your experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kellip3181 wrote a review Aug 2021
Homeworth, Ohio7 contributions7 helpful votes
We stayed in the King Arthur Room... I added the romance package and cheese and wine for our arrival. Everything was fantastic from the moment we entered the castle. We absolutely enjoyed all of the grounds, we loved all the patio seating areas that we could use, we played many hands of cards and honestly, we truly enjoyed the disconnect from "life" which allowed us to reconnect with each other. The Breakfast during the week was fantastic, so much more than what I expected!!! This is for sure a place that we both would like to visit again and possibly get one of the cottages outside of castle. You have a wonderful place and I hope many people come to enjoy it as we did!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jim Reed, Owner at Ravenwood Castle
Responded Oct 12, 2021
Thank you for staying with us at Ravenwood Castle, and for taking the time to leave such a nice review! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in King Arthur's Tower, and that you were able to disconnect and enjoy some quiet time while you were celebrating your anniversary with us! Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope you return to visit again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
J. Cooper wrote a review Jun 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
The pictures you see online does not even begin to show the beauty of this place. I figured it would be a nice place and a good time, but I was well unprepared for how wonderful the place was. The venue is perfect for so many occasions. If you want to recluse yourself away from the world you have the option here to do so. If you want to be out in nature, then there are hiking trails and some water activities within 20-25 minutes away. The staff was extremely accommodating and made the stay that much better. The pub closes at 10 pm and thus it eliminates having to worry about loud obnoxious party goers if you are trying to have a relaxing time in the castle. The library was such a comfortable spot in the morning to read and drink some coffee. I will return as much as possible. The two "complaints" I had were soooo small that it isn't even worth typing because it was me just being extremely judgemental just to find a complaint.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jim Reed, Owner at Ravenwood Castle
Responded Oct 12, 2021
Thank you for staying with us at Ravenwood Castle, and for taking the time to leave such a nice review! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and were able to enjoy some seclusion while you were with us! Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope you return to visit again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
ravenwood castle hotel new plymouth
LOCATION
United StatesOhioNew Plymouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ravenwood Castle
Which popular attractions are close to Ravenwood Castle?
Nearby attractions include Zaleski State Forest (4.8 miles) and On Guard Defense Training Center & Shooting Range (4.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ravenwood Castle?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Ravenwood Castle?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ravenwood Castle?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Ravenwood Castle?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Moonville Tunnel (6.6 miles).