We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Happy Hills Campground and Cabins

22245 State Route 278, Nelsonville, OH 45764
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nelsonville
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Happy Hills Campground and Cabins
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 60: English reviews
Sunbury, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Couldn't be happier! This was an important family reunion. The Owners bent over backwards and were very helpful and accommodating. They gave us all that we needed and took away stress. We camped the entire weekend. The grounds are clean and more important the shower house was spotless! We will go again and again!!!

Helpful?
Thank Cathy D
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The male owner was pleasant at first. Our site was clean but the ground was rough and very Unleveled for a camper. The pool was a small residential pool and the lake was a mud hole. The slide that they advertised was accessible only when they wanted it available. Mens Bathroom was dirty. The porch slabs for the RV are... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tessa N
happycampesr2011, Owner at Happy Hills Campground and Cabins, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are hoping that with your review, it will eliminate anyone considering camping with us who is only here to party and not take the time to read our rules, from making a reservation with us. Let me start off by addressing each of the complaints that you have listed here in this review, which... More 

South Rockwood
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well let me start off by saying that we are a very large group that camp together a lot during the summer. We have never had any issues with us being almost kicked out or the sheriffs being called on us. Now let me explain we had a corn hole tournament going on there was several neighboring sites that came... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kari S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A simple rivalry of Ohio State and Michigan can make us the Michiganders labeled as "You people". Can make the owner feel like all of Michigan people are from the slums of Detroit. Because Michiganders are "Trashy" This place is for old farts.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ace L
happycampesr2011, Owner at Happy Hills Campground and Cabins, responded to this review

The words "Michiganders are Trashy" never came out of our mouths, I've never even heard the term "Michiganders" so it wouldn't have come from us. This place is for campers who want to spend quality time with one another and/or their families. This is not a party campground. Us not being originally from Ohio, we take no part in the... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So we have about 5 families including ours in this campground, and they are so unprofessional. Saying that Michiganders are "Trashy". And using profanity in front of children. Just because we were partying at 10:30 when quiet time is 11:00

Helpful?
Thank Game D
happycampesr2011, Owner at Happy Hills Campground and Cabins, responded to this review

ok, so having 7 sites and a cabin is only 5 families? LOL. The words "Michiganders are Trashy" never came out of our mouths, I've never even heard the term "Michiganders" so it wouldn't have come from us. It was 11:20 when we had to stop the party on Friday night and yes, on Saturday night, it was only 10:30,... More 

Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a very pleasant stay during our 5nights. We stayed in the tent sites. However the site we had wasn't the greatest. i think it was 85, when that sun comes up in the morning it bakes the site. The site its self just isn't very well shaded. Not the owners fault, it is what it is. They even... More 

Helpful?
Thank Don M
Westerville, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

We had a great stay and really enjoyed the beach. The grounds were very clean and well maintained including the restrooms. Our daughter enjoyed the outdoor movie and the owners were very friendly and accommodating. You can tell that they love what they do... They even helped us out by jumping our car😀👍🏻.

Helpful?
Thank lislm9
Westerville, OH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016

I enjoyed my stay at Happy Hills. I ran into some issues with reservations/cancellations because I first went to Serenity, then decided I did not want to stay there and showed up at Happy Hills (same owners). The owners agreed to move my reservations from one to the other, which I appreciated. Since we were tent camping, the weather ended... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lois W
happycampesr2011, Owner at Happy Hills Campground and Cabins, responded to this review

Lois had sent us an email about this prior to putting this review out, here was my email response to her email. She also left without paying for 4 bundles of firewood and candy bars, $22. Thanks for sharing this information. We greatly appreciate it. It has been a challenge with this weather to get things up and running at... More 

Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

This campground could be great. The sites are decent sized. The restrooms are not immaculate as touted. They aren't the worst, but certainly not the best. To take a shower in the ladies room, you push a button which provides a certain length of time for water. The problem wasn't the length of time, because you could push the button... More 

Helpful?
Thank TakinBreeze
Vienna
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I really enjoyed this campground. There was plenty of shade, a short walk to the shower house, and lots of amenities. I appreciated how much I saw the owner, checking on the sites and the campground. The pool is a little bit of a hike but worth it. The campground was quiet and peaceful. The paddleboats and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kara Z
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelsonville
12.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
12.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
11.8 mi away
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Athens
12.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#1 of 10 in Athens
4.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Happy Hills Campground and Cabins is a beautiful campground in the Hocking Hills featuring a private fishing lake, swimming pool, game room, playground, Modern spotless bath house, a laundry facility and a camp store. Happy Hills is conveniently located to the State Park attractions, as well as great shopping, antique malls, craft specialty shops, golf, ATV and bike trails, and restaurants.A Great Family Place"Happy Hills is the perfect retreat for couples, family, or friends to enjoy nature."FEATURES - Camping Cabins & Spacious Sites - Premium/Deluxe Campsites with patio, grill, table & chairs - Beach area for Lake Swimming - Swimming Pool 2' to 5' - Fishing Lake, Fun Boats, Paddle Boats and Rowboat & Kayaks - Game Room - WIFI - Laundry Facility - Shuffleboard Court, Playground, disc golf, and Horseshoes - Modern Clean Bath house - Camp Store with Groceries, Snacks, Necessities, Firewood, Camper - Parts,LP Gas - Quiet leashed Pets are Welcome - All sites have a Picnic Table and a Fire Ring, (perfect for star gazing) - Shaded Primitive Sites - 45 Acres of Relaxation, Good Times, and Happy Memories - Walking/hiking trails - Open for turkey and deer hunting season - 8 miles from ATV trails - Shelter House with planned activities ... more   less 

Additional Information about Happy Hills Campground and Cabins

Address: 22245 State Route 278, Nelsonville, OH 45764
Location: United States > Ohio > Nelsonville
Price Range: $26 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 92
Also Known As:
Happy Hills Campground And Cabins Hotel Nelsonville
Happy Hills Campground And Cabins Nelsonville, Ohio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing