We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon

Hotel website
Hotel deals
11555 Upper Gilchrist Rd, Mount Vernon, OH 43050
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 85: English reviews
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

the people were sooo nice 5 points for that ! Also the location is good. But damn this place is dated. I had a clean room but this place needs a complete renovation! The interior looks old but that is a taste thing. Creaky tiles in the bathroom and old carpet are not though. Also A/C and fridge would be... More 

Helpful?
Thank nonameavailablehere
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was surprised at the high rate ($152.night) but stayed here under the assumption that it would be a newer facility with higher standards than the local alternatives. While I don't know about the relative standards between the competitors, it is not a newer facility, but a run-down one. The surprise came in the humidity of the room, which was excessive.... More 

Helpful?
Thank dbailey1953
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016 via mobile

We stayed two nights. It was a very nice stay. However, I was looking forward to their indoor pool, but it was shut down during our stay. It kind of looked like it was a small pool and the hot tub was cemented over. Overall, as long as you're not going for the pool this place is great.

Helpful?
Thank Lori S
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016

Our bed was comfortable. The only complaint I have is that the AC was so drafty, even in the bed across the room from it. Felt like a north wind blowing when it came on. Breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit options even along with all the hot food. Desk service was great - friendly and efficient.

Helpful?
Thank Marijayne
Level Contributor
131 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2016 via mobile

Very nice and clean hotel. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good and area was very clean. Very quiet! I would highly recommend this hotel, very close to Amish Country and Mt. Vernon is a very nice town. Movie theater next door to hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Harleyoso
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2016

We stayed here on our way through town on a family road trip. We called last min to get the room and they were able to get us one. We liked that you didn't have to pay for parking at this hotel, unlike some of the bigger cities. The front desk staff were very nice and helpful. The room was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandi J
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
346 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2016 via mobile

Was only here one night but it is a nice place. The lady at the desk when we checked in was very polite and informed us of surrounding places. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The refrigerator was a little loud. The breakfast was good and the lady taking care of it was very polite and keep... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bigo1952
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2016

I stayed one night during the week. Overall the stay was decent. As mentioned in another review, though the room was clean, it was a little dark and felt older thus giving the impression of an unclean room. There were both firm and soft pillows to choose from on the bed. My only complaint was an older sodium type light... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jay G
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear JDG250, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are delighted to read that your overall stay was enjoyable and glad that you had a satisfying breakfast experience. However, we regret to know that the lighting conditions in the room did not live up to your expectations. Our goal is to... More 

Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2016 via mobile

Have stayed in this hotel 10+ times in the last 10 years when visiting relatives. + pool + hot tub + close to all shops and Kenyon College + free breakfast + plenty of parking + literally next door to movie theatre + friendly staff - needs remodeling - older rooms, carpets, etc. make it not feel clean even though... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aly D
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear Aly D, Thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us. Your feedback is extremely important as this will help us to achieve our mission to provide the perfect guest experience. Thank you for noting our friendly staff and breakfast. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities and it is... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

I stayed at this hotel for a work function in the area for 4 nights. Overall I was not disappointed but not overly impressed. The beds were comfortable with a variety of soft and firm pillows. There was free cable and internet. There was a very small heated pool in a typical chlorine-stifling room. The continental breakfast left a lot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wildvet219
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear Wildvet219, Thank you for posting a candid feedback from your recent stay with us. It is nice to know that you were able to appreciate the condition of our beds, pillows, and also our free cable and internet connection. However, I was concerned to see that you were not impressed with our continental breakfast and especially with the cleanliness... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Vernon
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Vernon
Comfort Inn Mount Vernon
#4 of 5 in Mount Vernon
3.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Mount Vernon Inn
The Mount Vernon Inn
#1 of 5 in Mount Vernon
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mount Vernon Grand Hotel
Mount Vernon Grand Hotel
#3 of 5 in Mount Vernon
4.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
#1 of 2 in Mount Gilead
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
20.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield-South @ I-71
17.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Splash Harbor
Comfort Inn Splash Harbor
#1 of 4 in Bellville
4.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Breathe easy at the completely non-smoking Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Mt. Vernon, OH that is conveniently located near many restaurants and businesses, all within a 5 mile radius. The beautiful Kenyon College and Mount Vernon Nazarene University are just minutes away from the hotel making it convenient to visit students and rest peacefully each night. Sneak a peak next door at the seven-screen Premiere Theatre that features new releases and weekend matinees. Treat yourself to a great game of golf at any one of the golf courses near the hotel including the beautiful Apple Valley Golf Course located in the heart of Apple Valley in Howard, Ohio only 7 miles east of thehotel. Visit historic downtown Mount Vernon the home of Johnny Appleseed and Daniel Decatur Emmett. Break away from the mundane and treat yourself to another way of life in Amish Country only an hour north east of Mt. Vernon.Priority Club members workout for free at Body Basics Health and Fitness Club located just down the road from the Holiday Inn Express hotel-Mt. Vernon, OH. After a refreshing workout, pamper yourself with a great massage, a facial or steam away the day in the fabulous sauna. Relax and enjoy a great Yoga workout or speed things up with a spinning class. Personal trainers are available for a personalized assessment. Cool off with a refreshing dip in the hotel swimming pool. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon

Address: 11555 Upper Gilchrist Rd, Mount Vernon, OH 43050
Location: United States > Ohio > Mount Vernon
Price Range: $140 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon Hotel Mount Vernon
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon Mount Vernon, Ohio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay