We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 87: English reviews
Brighton, Michigan
Reviewed September 21, 2016 via mobile

It was an okay hotel for one night. Clean enough. Recommended dinner next door which was okay. The only issue I had was security. I asked for my bosses room number to bring him dinner and he told me. He should have called his room and let him tell me.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Americangirl10
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear Americangirl10, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I certainly appreciate you taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. It is nice to know that the cleanliness of the hotel is at par. However, we regret if the security measures in the hotel particularly in your desire to ask other guest's room may...

minnesota
Reviewed August 23, 2016

I booked 2 rooms at this Holiday Inn Express online over 4 months in advance for my family of 4. When we checked in at 5pm, the only rooms "available" for us were handicapped accessible rooms with 1 bed only in each of the rooms! UGH...not good news to tell your 15 year old son he has to share a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colderthanyou
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear colderthanyou, Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. We would like to apologize for the experience you had with your room reservations and the quality of the room you received fell below your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer...

Reviewed July 22, 2016

the people were sooo nice 5 points for that ! Also the location is good. But damn this place is dated. I had a clean room but this place needs a complete renovation! The interior looks old but that is a taste thing. Creaky tiles in the bathroom and old carpet are not though. Also A/C and fridge would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nonameavailablehere
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It’s good to know that the cleanliness of the room was very well to your liking. Our staff members strive to create a welcoming and relaxing visit for our guests and we are happy to know we succeeded during your stay. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our efforts and takes his time to share...

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed July 15, 2016

Was surprised at the high rate ($152.night) but stayed here under the assumption that it would be a newer facility with higher standards than the local alternatives. While I don't know about the relative standards between the competitors, it is not a newer facility, but a run-down one. The surprise came in the humidity of the room, which was excessive....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dbailey1953
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear dbailey1953, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We appreciate you choosing our hotel for your business travel, and we are sorry for not being able to exceed your expectations, especially with the condition of the hotel, and issues with the room temperature. We are sorry if the service of ourhotel could appear too...

Reviewed May 10, 2016 via mobile

We stayed two nights. It was a very nice stay. However, I was looking forward to their indoor pool, but it was shut down during our stay. It kind of looked like it was a small pool and the hot tub was cemented over. Overall, as long as you're not going for the pool this place is great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewed May 10, 2016

Our bed was comfortable. The only complaint I have is that the AC was so drafty, even in the bed across the room from it. Felt like a north wind blowing when it came on. Breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit options even along with all the hot food. Desk service was great - friendly and efficient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marijayne
Reviewed February 24, 2016 via mobile

Very nice and clean hotel. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good and area was very clean. Very quiet! I would highly recommend this hotel, very close to Amish Country and Mt. Vernon is a very nice town. Movie theater next door to hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harleyoso
Lynchburg, Virginia
Reviewed February 23, 2016

We stayed here on our way through town on a family road trip. We called last min to get the room and they were able to get us one. We liked that you didn't have to pay for parking at this hotel, unlike some of the bigger cities. The front desk staff were very nice and helpful. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandi J
Findlay, Ohio
Reviewed February 20, 2016 via mobile

Was only here one night but it is a nice place. The lady at the desk when we checked in was very polite and informed us of surrounding places. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The refrigerator was a little loud. The breakfast was good and the lady taking care of it was very polite and keep...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bigo1952
Hamilton, Ohio
Reviewed February 18, 2016

I stayed one night during the week. Overall the stay was decent. As mentioned in another review, though the room was clean, it was a little dark and felt older thus giving the impression of an unclean room. There were both firm and soft pillows to choose from on the bed. My only complaint was an older sodium type light...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay G
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon, responded to this review

Dear JDG250, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are delighted to read that your overall stay was enjoyable and glad that you had a satisfying breakfast experience. However, we regret to know that the lighting conditions in the room did not live up to your expectations. Our goal is to...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Vernon
3.0 mi away
The Mount Vernon Inn
The Mount Vernon Inn
#1 of 5 in Mount Vernon
265 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Vernon
Comfort Inn Mount Vernon
#4 of 5 in Mount Vernon
68 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mount Vernon Grand Hotel
Mount Vernon Grand Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mount Vernon
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
#1 of 2 in Mount Gilead
87 reviews
17.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center Bellville
17.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Splash Harbor
Comfort Inn Splash Harbor
#1 of 4 in Bellville
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Breathe easy at the completely non-smoking Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Mt. Vernon, OH that is conveniently located near many restaurants and businesses, all within a 5 mile radius. The beautiful Kenyon College and Mount Vernon Nazarene University are just minutes away from the hotel making it convenient to visit students and rest peacefully each night. Sneak a peak next door at the seven-screen Premiere Theatre that features new releases and weekend matinees. Treat yourself to a great game of golf at any one of the golf courses near the hotel including the beautiful Apple Valley Golf Course located in the heart of Apple Valley in Howard, Ohio only 7 miles east of thehotel. Visit historic downtown Mount Vernon the home of Johnny Appleseed and Daniel Decatur Emmett. Break away from the mundane and treat yourself to another way of life in Amish Country only an hour north east of Mt. Vernon.Priority Club members workout for free at Body Basics Health and Fitness Club located just down the road from the Holiday Inn Express hotel-Mt. Vernon, OH. After a refreshing workout, pamper yourself with a great massage, a facial or steam away the day in the fabulous sauna. Relax and enjoy a great Yoga workout or speed things up with a spinning class. Personal trainers are available for a personalized assessment. Cool off with a refreshing dip in the hotel swimming pool. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon

Address: 11555 Upper Gilchrist Rd, Mount Vernon, OH 43050-9084
Location: United States > Ohio > Mount Vernon
Price Range: $127 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon Hotel Mount Vernon
Holiday Inn Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon Mount Vernon, Ohio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Mt. Vernon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Check Check and double check if you want 2 beds in your room!!”
 of 5 bubbles colderthanyou, Aug 23, 2016 | Read review
“Try the Cinnamon Rolls!”
 of 5 bubbles Cannonballrunfromsf, Nov 21, 2015 | Read review
“Try not to a room near the elevator because the ice machine is very noisy..”
 of 5 bubbles Vermontsteve, Aug 16, 2015 | Read review
“I'd go with the second floor. Friends that stayed on the third floor said the rooms smelled like smoke.”
 of 5 bubbles franmom, Jul 29, 2014 | Read review
“Stay away from the ice machines.”
 of 5 bubbles koolfool, Jul 20, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay