We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 264: English reviews
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dust and dead bugs all across the bed headboard. There was dried blood on the bathroom floor tile. Some of the desk staff were rude. Management needs to address the cleaning issues with the housekeeping so that it is more cleanly as well as customer service with the desk staff. Very disappointing for the money spent especially when we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank sneakypete71
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

I apologize if you felt the front desk staff was rude. We usually get great reviews on the staff especially the front desk. I have also addressed your cleanliness issues with our housekeeping staff. More 

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The lodge is fine. Our room was clean, outdated, but otherwise okay but overpriced. We did a Sunday into Monday stay so that it would not be quite as busy. The pool was packed even still at 8:00 on Sunday. As people got out, they left so not sure if they were just able to spend the day even after... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cmichbin
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

I want to personally apologize for your experience in our dining room. I have addressed the issues with the staff and management in food and Beverage to ensure this doesn't happen again. More 

Cincinnati
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Deer Creek for a long weekend and to spend time on the lake in our boat fishing. The room was very clean and we had a nice view next to the pool. The in room fridge is nice to have cold drinks and food on hand. It was nice having a coffee maker, but the coffee (in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Luv2BeGrandma
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It's good to hear you and the kids enjoyed your stay. I apologize you had issues in the restaurant. We have recently hired and new Chef and will be rolling out a new menu next week. Please stop by and try out our new menu. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We held a graduation party for our daughter at the lodge last month... and had lots of last minute changes and requests for rooms, menu, etc. Zenia and the front desk staff went out of their way to find us the rooms that best suited our family. And the banquet menu and setup were fantastic. My daughter has a terrific... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kelly A
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

Congratulations on your daughter’s graduation! I am pleased to hear our staff did a great job and you and your guest had a memorable experience! I will pass your comments onto them. More 

Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went on a multi-family getaway and rented 3 cabins. We all had a fun time, and there was plenty to do for everyone. We did biking, swimming, and hiking and were happy to see the bikes for rent. I rated it 3 stars because we had a good time inspite of how dirty the cabins were. The lodging and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mary S
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

I can assure you the lifeguard was not drinking alcohol! However you and your family’s safety are our top priority! I have followed up with the staff as they are not allowed to have any distractions including their phone at the pool. I am also addressing the other issues you had during your visit. I know that does not change... More 

Seven Hills
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a really nice out of the way Ohio State park. It is right on the lake (deer creek). Nothing fancy. But it is clean and family friendly. The beach is just a short drive around the lake. There are boats for rental at the marina.

Helpful?
Thank CouncilSevenHills
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay! We value each guest, as we know that you have a choice when deciding where to stay and we are glad you chose Deer Creek. More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016

My wife and I actually stayed here for our one night honeymoon over 30 years ago when we were married (couldn't get off work for an extended honeymoon for 6 months or so...). So we were driving by and decided to stop by to see the lodge and eat lunch. The facilities were very nice, we walked some trails which... More 

Helpful?
Thank reasleyosu
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

Congratulations on being together for 30 years and coming back to visit Deer Creek! That is such a great story and we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit! More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile

My family loves Deer Creek because there is so much to do, but the rooms are extremely dirty. The bathroom this visit was the worst and even my kids were hesitant to go in there. Deer creek has so much to offer and we love our family time, but we are always amazed at how dirty the rooms are when... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jen S
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

I apologize for the experience you encountered. This is not the way we typically take care of our guests. I have discussed your concerns with the Housekeeping Manager and the Supervisor who should have double-checked the room. I know that does not change your experience but I hope that you can feel confident that we heard your concern and are... More 

Millville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

My family and myself have been renting cabins there for years. Its bee a little over two 1/2 years since we lasted visited. Will never go back. Front Desk Manager was nasty and rude to my sister. We spent 4 days there and we were supplied with 1 1/2 rolls of toilet tissue, flooring in cabin filty, picnic tables need... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Kathryn W
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Deer Creek Lodge and for reaching out to us about your stay. We have completed a full investigation of your concerns and in some cases, our findings differ somewhat from what you describe. In any case, what is important to us is that you are our guest and we truly are committed to provide the... More 

Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016

we had a king room, beautifully remodeled ( the whole place was under a remodel) as we were told. The staff was super nice. The lady that checked us in could not have been more professional, and nice. My only complaint was the indoor pool, and hot tub were soooooo crowded. We did not get a chance to enjoy them... More 

Helpful?
Thank Megan M
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review

It is great to know you were able to relax and enjoy your stay. We are continuing to update the lodge as was evident during your recent stay. Unfortunately it is not a complete remodel but will be completed in phases. However, I think the changes we are making will be appreciated by all. Thank you for your comments and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

158 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (115)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Sterling
23.4 mi away
Christopher Inn & Suites
Christopher Inn & Suites
#3 of 7 in Chillicothe
4.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
15.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Circleville
Comfort Inn Circleville
#2 of 4 in Circleville
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
23.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chillicothe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington Court House Jeffersonville
15.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Circleville
14.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington Court House
Holiday Inn Express Washington C...
#1 of 3 in Washington Court House
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by more than 3,100 tranquil acres, Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center is just 30 minutes south of Columbus, Ohio. We offer 110 guestrooms perfect for a quiet and romantic weekend getaway or a fun-filled family reunion. All lodge guestrooms have a private balcony or patio to give you a scenic view of the park, lake or outdoor pool. We also have 25 two-bedroom cottages (three with roll-in showers), each with a fully equipped kitchen, full bath, living room, dining area and a screened-in porch. Rafter's Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner; the gift shop operates seven days a week. Our 18-hole championship golf course is diverse, challenging and exciting for golfers of all skill levels. Other things to do: boating, fishing, hiking, cycling, camping, and many more recreational activities! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center

Address: 22300 State Park Road 20, Mount Sterling, OH 43143-9542
Location: United States > Ohio > Mount Sterling
Price Range: $116 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Creek Hotel Mount Sterling
Deer Creek Lodge And Conference Center Ohio/Mount Sterling
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay