We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center

Save
Share
215 S Depeyster St, Kent, OH 44240-3605
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$129
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/24/21
Booking.com
Expedia.com
$129
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/24/21
Priceline$129
Hotels.com$129
Agoda.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (76)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (13)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 10/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center
Updated 10/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 8 hotels in Kent
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The culmination of years of planning and collaboration between Alumni, University Officials and the Kent State Foundation, Kent State University Hotel and Conference Center provides the finest in accommodations, superb dining, libations and meeting facilities all adjacent to the Kent State Campus.Our fully-integrated facility offers the utmost in hospitality for faculty, alumni, students and their families, and of course, visitors to the charming community of Kent. Perfectly situated in the heart of the city, our Kent, OH hotel is just a short stroll from bars, restaurants, shops and galleries…all the fun things to do in Kent, OH.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Parking garage
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
1,160Reviews7Q+A39Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 709
  • 303
  • 93
  • 28
  • 27
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Robin C wrote a review Apr 8
Charlotte, North Carolina1 contribution
Wanting to look at apartments for my newly accepted Kent State graduate student. We picked this hotel for location. Room was nice and clean but we had no housekeeping come to our door for the four days we were there. We had so much trash accumulate due to the individual packaged “breakfast”. Also we had the same towels for four days as well. We saw where there was room service but never saw anyone on the hall to collect trays. Also quoted a different price much lower than what was charged. I will drive into Kent next time.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Thomas Scott, Guest Services / Front Office at Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Ms. Crabtree, We strive to make each stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible, and we appreciate that you brought your experience to our attention. I am the operations manager and I am the one that checked you into your room. I do try to communicate with all our guests concerning stayover housekeeping services. I obviously dropped the ball when checking you in. Due to COVID, all stayover housekeeping service has been suspended for the safety of our guests and staff. We are always receptive to guests needing extra towels, extra bath amenities or their trash picked up. The housekeepers you saw in the hallway were cleaning rooms that were needed for incoming guests. As far as the price you were quoted, we do send a confirmation to each and every guest with the entire cost of their stay, including tax. Please contact me if this was not done and I would be more than happy to work with you. I hope you give us another try, and I thank you for staying with us.
Read more
blee34 wrote a review Apr 8
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania1 contribution
The hotel from the looks is a beautiful piece of Kent State University, unfortunately upon reserving a hotel two times in the past 3 weeks for stays that have extended over 2 days due to school related task that required me to be in person. I was very uncomfortable the most previous stay. The shower pan was black, there was hair in the shower pan, debris in the corners of the bathroom and near the shower door etc. . i used shower shoes in the shower and throughout the room this most previous stay due to how uncomfortable i was with in the space. I had been moved to three different rooms and all of them were in between the same level of cleanliness to the point i did not complain anymore. Terrible house keeping. The rags were ripped, and stained.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Thomas Scott, Guest Services / Front Office at Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Mr. Lee, We are so sorry that you did not have a good experience at our hotel. We value your comments and I have discussed them with our General Manager and our housekeeping staff. I can assure you that you will never experience this again. We hope to see you again.
Read more
jimmusick59 wrote a review Apr 6
West Chester1 contribution
Always a great stay but front desk manager Tom in kent, ohio made it even that much more awesome with sunday easter brunch reco of local awesome place river merchant; moved us to larger exec room on second night which was just what we needed for family of 5, four adults, really appreciate Tom going the extra mile and most especially on this trip, thank you and we will b back lots more, love the terrace hangout area too
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Thomas Scott, Guest Services / Front Office at Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Mr. Musick, We always appreciate you staying with us! You will see some changes made to the terrace the next time you come. Glad we made your stay special. Hopefully we will see you soon.
Read more
Qualia33 wrote a review Apr 6
1 contribution
Because it's downtown, it has a lot going for it. However, it does not live up to the standards of other hotels of its price range. The sink drain was slow, we had no housekeeping, the front desk staff failed to let us know the policies regarding parking. They had to call me to have me bring my card by because they forgot to scan it when I checked in. The "professional" (non-student) front desk staff did not wear a mask consistently (or would keep it below their chin/nose). The "continental breakfast" included only pre-packaged carbs.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Thomas Scott, Guest Services / Front Office at Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Qualia33, We are so sorry that we did not live up to our usually high standards. We obviously dropped the ball with your stay. My Mom used to tell me that "communication is the spice of life" and we did not do a good job with communicating the fact that housekeeping stayover service has been suspended during this pandemic for the protection of our guests and staff. Our continental breakfast has also been altered due to what is allowed by the City Health Department for self serve breakfast. This does not excuse the other issues that you experienced. Hopefully, you will give us another chance the next time you are in the Kent area, and maybe by that time, this dreadful pandemic will be a thing in the past.
Read more
marlenepettine2 wrote a review Mar 2021
Finksburg1 contribution
Had a great 3 nights. Evening front desk lady wasn’t all that pleasant when asked to borrow a pen. Said NO. Found that strange and was rude about it. Other than that it was great. Will stay again and avoid front desk in the evening.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Thomas Scott, Guest Services / Front Office at Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center
Responded 3 weeks ago
We are very sorry for interaction you had with our front desk staff. Our goal is to always give our guests a very positive experience and we obviously failed here. We are happy that you otherwise had a great stay. Please forgive us, and don't avoid the front desk, we will be much better.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$135 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesOhioKent
NUMBER OF ROOMS
94
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center
Which popular attractions are close to Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center?
Nearby attractions include The Kent Stage (0.1 miles), Off The Wagon (0.1 miles), and Cracked Escape (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center?
Yes, a parking garage and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ray's Place, Fresco Mexican Grill & Salsa Bar, and Franklin Square Deli.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center?
Many travelers enjoy visiting May 4th Visitor Center (0.4 miles) and Kent State University May 4 Visitors Center (0.7 miles).
Is Kent State University Hotel & Conference Center accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.