We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

358 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 351: English reviews
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

From the planning of the event to the event date Nov. 18, my niece wedding ceremony and private dinning experience for her guest was excellent. The staff set up the room prior to our arrival with many special touches. They were attentative to our party and offered excellent customer service. The gazebo was well lighted and was a beautiful site...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 780renitaa
Detroit
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Once I heard our group was staying at the Crowne Plaza I thought "NICE!!" and as we pulled up everything was great till my interaction with the staff. I am a Gold Elite member and when I asked them if they could look up my member number I was greeted with a sharp "you don't get points" a few seconds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ebeauc3067
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation. I would like to truly apologize for the issues you had during your stay. We strive to exceed the expectations of every guest...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel might have been the best place for weddings three years ago, but that was three years ago. Many thousands of guests and turning over of rooms can easily change all that. The check-in experience was smooth. Paulina accommodated where possible, working with me where she could. The check-out experience was stressful as management cut housekeepings hours, not allowing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gavin H
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community. I am deeply disappointed to hear of your displeasure with the hotel. I do hope that you would consider staying with us once again. Joe Isernia General Manager

Hurlock, Maryland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was undergoing renovations. But, the staff went out of their way to make sure that this was not an imposition to us. The hotel was very clean, in spite of the renovations. The staff was friendly and outgoing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathiswann
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Our goal is to provide superior service and accommodations to each and every guest that stays with us. Each survey we receive is reviewed and shared with every associate in an effort to improve the service and accommodations that we provide our guests....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 6 nights in late October/early November 2016. I chose the executive king as a 'treat' to ourselves, but I should have chosen to spend my money elsewhere. The staff were polite (though I would not go so far as to say they were friendly, as we walked past reception several times without being greeted), and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dnalosh74
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I have taken note of your valuable comments and rest assured, these will be used to monitor and improve the quality and...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed 3 nights here on business. The amenities were great, the hotel staff was friendly and helpful and the food at the restaurant and bar were good. The king room I stayed in was large, comfortable and plush. If I had only one complain it would be that the ax in the room would not cool well. As a southerner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
Joe I, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Our goal is to provide superior service and accommodations to each and every guest that stays with us. Each survey we receive is reviewed and shared with every associate in an effort to improve the service and accommodations that we provide our guests....

Sterling Heights, MI
Reviewed October 22, 2016

The hotel is the old Sheraton and it's not new, but it's still clean and safe. When I checked in, Michelle at the front desk upgraded me to the 5th floor (concierge level). That was so sweet of her! I was once a frequent traveler who had gold cards with all the major hotel chains. In the past two years,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank professordoctormom
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at our hotel with us. We strive to provide the best possible service and guest experiences every day, and it’s always great to hear from our guests on how we’re doing. We try to make everyone’s visit a “Home away from Home” by providing the best comfort, the friendliest service and...

Reviewed October 20, 2016

This property exudes class and comfort. I was at the Crowne Plaza Cleveland South for a fund raiser and my friend and I stayed over. From the beginning to the end, the staff was terrific! Stephanie (sales & catering), Amanda (event staff), Jason (front desk) and the bartender in the restaurant (Aura Bistro) and our event bartender & servers were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YaYaYoung
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire staff, thank you so much for your kind review. We certainly do strive to provide all of our guests with the level of service that you described you received during your stay and I will certainly make sure I acknowledge the entire staff for their efforts. Thank you for taking the time to share your...

Ajax
Reviewed October 18, 2016

I was very disappointed when I booked this hotel and then asked for them to take into consideration a medical issue that had come up not even 5 hours later that wold make it hard for me to travel 5 hours to the hotel. They right away would not consider my medical condition and when I called directly to speak...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Crystal S
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community. I am deeply disappointed to hear of your displeasure with Price line's no cancel no changes no refund policy. Joe Isernia General Manager

Heber City, Utah
Reviewed October 17, 2016

Central Location...close to downtown. Rooms were a nice size. There were some small maintenance and housekeeping issues have been overlooked that but over all a nice stay! The indoor pool and hot tub were nice! Front desk check it was fast and friendly!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adraval
Joe I, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence, responded to this review

On behalf of our entire staff, thank you so much for your kind review. We certainly do strive to provide all of our guests with the level of service that you described you received during your stay and I will certainly make sure I acknowledge the entire staff for their efforts. Thank you for taking the time to share your...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

129 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (58)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (71)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Independence hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Cleveland/Independence
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cleveland Independence
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cleveland-Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Cleveland Rockside
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Cleveland Independence
Courtyard Cleveland Independence
#8 of 14 in Independence
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cleveland Independence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
*Recognized by The Knot as a 2013 pick for Best of Weddings!*Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Independence. The only 4 Star full service property in Independence Ohio. Located on Rockside Road and I-77. The Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Independence is the perfect location for all your corporate and leisure events. We are 10 minutes from downtown Cleveland and in the heart of Independence Business District. The Crowne Plaza Cleveland South Independence is steps away from many corporate offices and office parks; including the Cleveland Clinic Independence Campus, IBM, Alcoa, Microsoft, and many more. For those wanting to get out and experience our great city of Cleveland, we are a short drive to the Great Lakes Science Center, Cleveland Browns Stadium, Progressive Stadium, Cleveland Cavaliers Quicken Loans Arena, Playhouse Square Theaters and the famous Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. You can find shopping in all directions. We are loaded with comforts and amenities, including 100% smoke free, complimentary airport shuttle and local shuttle, valet parking for registered guest, and fine dining experiences in Aura Bistro and Lounge. We have over 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting space along with 178 guest rooms. Our unique indoor pool is sure to please all. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence

Address: 5300 Rockside Rd, Independence, OH 44131-2118
Location: United States > Ohio > Independence
Price Range: $92 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence Ohio
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Independence
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Alliance, Ohio
7 months ago
Alliance, Ohio
7 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland South - Independence staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We had a room on the first floor, but had no problem with noise.”
 of 5 bubbles kathiswann, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Executive continental breakfast only ran M-F, and was not good value for money.”
 of 5 bubbles dnalosh74, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“There is a little freeway noise, although it's not too bad. You might ask for earplugs if you're sensitive to it.”
 of 5 bubbles professordoctormom, Oct 22, 2016 | Read review
“As high up as possible and on the front side of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles WesleyL642, Sep 12, 2016 | Read review
“All Rooms are Good - Executive Floor rooms may be more spaceous and has added food available (see above)”
 of 5 bubbles DocMd613, Jul 21, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay