We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Sawmill Creek Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sawmill Creek Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

365 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 361: English reviews
Level Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Visited the Sawmill Creek Resort for a conference. The employees were great. Conference center was nice. Hotel rooms need to be updated. One bed in my room seemed like it was going to fall off its legs. Rooms need help. Was nit the cleanest either.

Helpful?
Thank Doug M
Chicago
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

if you don't mind traveling into the past, this was probably a very posh spot in the 60's/70's. we enjoyed the grounds...definitely worth walking the nature trail, the beach and the marina. Our schedule didn't allow for golf or trying any of the hotel restaurants (other than for planned brunch, where the food and coffee were mediocre). The smells from... More 

Helpful?
Thank T8046FYnancyg
Halsey F, Guest Services at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and review! We're sorry to hear that you weren't able to enjoy some of The Salmon Run's food. It truly is amazing! We are, however, glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and some of our outdoor amenities. We'd love to have you back at your own leisure so you can enjoy some of... More 

Salina, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

An absolute wonderful stay. Suite was spacious and comfortable. Dining was very good with great menu choices. Grounds were neat and manicured. Easy access to golf course and lake area. Staff was so courteous . We took the Saturday afternoon wine tour and had a blast. Our shuttle driver was awesome. Enjoyed the leisure time on the beach. ........... Yes,... More 

Helpful?
Thank grega37
Halsey F, Guest Services at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the wine tour! Our drivers are more like guides, they're amazing! Thank you again and we can't wait to have you back! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booking in TripAdvisor was easy, but upon arrival we wanted to upgrade our room & denied the opportunity. We were told there was no way to make any changes. I am not sure who's fault it is that it was so difficult, but either way it was very very frustrating. An upgrade should not be so difficult. The resort overall,... More 

Helpful?
Thank LadyKTonTheRoad
Halsey F, Guest Services at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! Sorry to hear about your trouble while checking for a room upgrade. Without knowing the situation I unfortunately do not have any answers. But again, thank you for your review and we would love to have you back sometime soon! More 

Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We recently stayed at Sawmill while attending a meeting in their conference center. To call this place a resort is a bit of a stretch - more like a dated motel with some amenities, many of which were low budget or broken. First the high points: a decent restaurant (Salmon Run) for lunch with very pleasant staff and a resident... More 

Helpful?
Thank jewelross
Halsey F, Guest Services at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy some of our amenities that we offer. However, we are upset that you didn't get to fuller enjoy the resort. We will take all of our suggestions to heart and I will forward along everything to the appropriate department head. We do have some scheduled... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited this stunning resort the weekend of August 20th for one of my best friends wedding...WOW! Everything was top notch. I left a few personal items in the room and the housekeeping department were able to retrieve my belongings and contacted me. They mailed them back to me in NC in less than a week. Thank you for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ryan B
Halsey F, Guest Services at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we can't wait to have you back! More 

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at Saw Mill Creek the nights of August 5-6, 2016. The afternoon of the 6th I discovered 10s and 10s of bed bug bites and reported it to the front desk. I spoke with the Manager of Food & Beverage and was chastised because I did not call earlier in the day when the exterminator was there. And... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Xigera2005
Halsey F, Guest Services at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have a protocol that we must follow when there is a claim such as yours. This is to ensure that we take proper action if indeed bed bugs are found in a room. The exterminator is called because he is a professional and has been thoroughly trained to find such bugs. If the exterminator... More 

Travelers are raving about these Huron hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Georgetown, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place doesn't even deserve one star! The rooms are very outdated and not worth the price. We paid for a suite (with a fireplace) and the fireplace didn't even work. We went to the front desk asking about the amenities that the resort has (aka sunset cruise, travel to cedar point, shuttle service, etc) which is all stated on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank shannonknoch
Halsey F, Guest Services at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for you review. Unfortunately we are not allowed to disclose the groups that we have at the Resort while making reservations. Labor Day weekend is typically the busiest weekend in this area with Cedar Point being just down the road and a lot of families getting that last minute vacation in before school starts again. We are upset... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The private beach was the best part for us. The room was like any normal hotel room nothing special. We changed rooms the second night because we could not access the Internet or wifi. The second room was great for wifi but the floor was sticky next to the air conditioning unit. The beds were comfortable. We did have a... More 

Helpful?
Thank kareemish
Halsey F, Guest Services at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Resort and we would love for you to come back! I will be forwarding along your review to our dining room manager so that he can take the correct action in addressing the service that you received.... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you want a quick getaway from the city and don't expect anything, then this place is great for you. Below is a list of pros and cons regarding this "resort": Pros: - Quick trip from Cleveland or Cedar Point (the airport was less than an hour away) - Right off the lake - Right off of State Route 2... More 

Helpful?
Thank kitajenn8709
Halsey F, Guest Services at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I want to apologize on behalf of the Front Desk staff for the experience you encountered with them. I will forward along your concerns to the Front Desk Manager so that she can right the wrongs. We are scheduled for some updates in the winter of this year, and we would love to have you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
2:37
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huron
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn River's Edge
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
3.3 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sandcastle Suites
Sandcastle Suites
#17 of 35 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 509 reviews
4.8 mi away
Castaway Bay Resort
Castaway Bay Resort
#11 of 35 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 stars 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
  • Beachfront
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This lodge is set on 235 acres along the shores of Lake Erie, between the towns of Huron and Sandusky. Guestrooms offer TVs, phones with voice mail, wireless internet, coffeemakers, hair dryers, and irons with boards. Among the hotel's facilities are an 18-hole golf course, two swimming pools, a private beach, 4 restaurants, and convention meeting space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sawmill Creek Resort

Address: 400 Sawmill Creek Dr W, Huron, OH 44839-2261
Location: United States > Ohio > Huron
Price Range: $163 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sawmill Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sawmill Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawmill Creek Hotel Huron
Huron Sawmill Resort
Sawmill Creek Resort Huron, Ohio
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay