We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castaway Holiday Apartments

Save
Share
12 Harvey Street, Strahan, Tasmania TAS 7468 Australia
Destinia.com
FindHotel
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 7 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (23)
Room & Suite (23)
Dining (2)

About

#1 of 27 in Strahan
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
4.8
Value
4.7
Castaway Holiday Apartments offer affordable, modern, self contained apartments with two bedrooms and spacious living area just 5 minutes stroll from the town centre, harbour and restaurants. Our apartments are suitable for couples, families or groups, and offer full kitchen facilities for all your self catering needs.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Books, DVDs, music for children
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Show more
Room features
Seating area
Sofa
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
275Reviews0Q+A38Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 206
  • 62
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Tassal wrote a review Apr 2022
Launceston, Australia81 contributions31 helpful votes
Lovely holiday units. Owners obviously take pride in their business. Rooms spacious and quiet. Kitchen is well equipped with added extras like glad wrap and foil etc. Cleanliness was outstanding. We stayed in unit 3. A good supermarket within walking distance as well as town centre a bit further stroll on. Highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Helpful
Share
McKenzo wrote a review Mar 2022
Geelong, Australia107 contributions64 helpful votes
We stayed at this 2 bedroom apartment as we were in town to take a Gordon River cruise. The apartment is a short walk into the harbour where the cruise boats and a number of eateries are located. Whilst the apartment was fairly clean it needs some extra attention on the shower door surround and also on the window winders as there was a lot of dust on that area. I would also suggest that the crockery needs to be replaced as there was a lot of scratching on the plates which is extremely off putting to put food onto. We also had a could of live wasps and bugs in our apartment when we checked in which we had to kill so maybe a standard screen door would be helpful. There was only one pedestal fan in the apartment which would have been difficult if we were a group of four staying there as we had rather warm weather. The bed was a good sleep. There is a guest laundry with a washer and dryer of which a portion of the fee is donated to charity. The clothes line is on its last legs though. There is a IGA close by so that you can pick up any groceries as the apartment is self-catering.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Sierrahotelaustralia wrote a review Mar 2022
Sydney, Australia5 contributions
I've travelled far and wide overseas and more regionally and in Aus since Rona hit us. This time to Tasmania. Been to Hobart for business before and seen that bottom corner, but this time, two weeks looping round this fab state like a crazy dragonfly! Needed to stay in Strahan for two nights to get in the AMAZING Gordon River Cruise. Now, it's often hit and miss with accommodation. I won't name and shame, but we stayed in a place in New Norfolk that made me feel a tad unclean and claustrophobic and have to cancel the second night. It was that bad. (13...yes, thirteen....I counted.....gaudy cheap oil paintings of Roses across the two rooms. It went beautifully with the red velvet lounge and the black and orange swirl carpet) But it looked okay in the pics and the description read alright. So, you roll with the punches most of the time and 'comfortable' can mean many things and you just bite the bullet and book. So sitting in my Sydney living room months ago, I click on Castaway Holiday Apartments. Read some average reviews which talked about nice and comfortable...which is what we want, right? But when we got here, good old mate 'comfortable' was so much more. I have stayed in the 'gucci' king bed places with glass walled bathrooms in other parts of this state, but I would rate Castaway above them all. Why? Well, all these places have a bathroom and a bed and somewhere to sit and chill after a long day, but when we walked in here I was so pleased. Nicely (and thankfully plainly) decorated. (No rose oils, just a Tassie Devil pic and a lovely black and white snow scene shot around a local road sign) Nice muted tones and white walls and wainscoting (look it up) and immaculate smooth low pile grey carpet. Really easy on the eye. Spotlessly clean too. Comfy bed, great bathroom and full kitchen with everything you could need (if, unlike me....you cooked!!). But, being a bit of a critical traveller, everywhere I looked for flaws, I couldn't find them....I just found attention to detail that was anti-flaw! I'd look like a nutjob to list them all, but things like a box of DVDs, notes about restaurants recommended and those you need to book to get into (that is priceless intel right there). Things like a non slip mat for those of greater years than I. Clean and soft secondary blankets, hand towel in the kitchen. Now that alone is genius. How many teatowels have you dried your hands on?? Screens on every window. Curtains that actually meet in the middle and don't need a bulldog clip for privacy!! And then there's the hooks inside the front door so you don't do the 'where's the key' dance every time you want to leave. TWO hooks in the bathroom. A little movable stool near the shower to put your clothes or towel on. Instructions on how everything works that aren't passive-aggressive digs at how you should conduct yourself...we have all read them in some places. Drink coasters so your cuppa doesn't leave marks, reading lamps and somewhere (lots of places) to plug in your phone and laptop. A bin outside so your takeaway doesn't smell up the kitchen from the night before. An extension cord so you can sit on the couch and still power your connectivity 'things'. I know I am rambling now and you are probably really bored with this review, so I reiterate, Bev and Jim (onsite owners) are two lovely people who care about those that stay with them and have really thought like a guest to ensure that their guests have everything they need. Nothing in here is high end....but everything in here is quiet, clean and comfortable (that word!!) and tasteful and calming and.....it all works. Strahan can be a bit touristy, and Castaway is a very short easy walk up a slight curving slope from the restaurants and tour boats. But you won't have hordes passing your door. Thank you Castaway. I don't think I'll be back to Tassie soon, but for those who are coming to Strahan, look no further.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: This is a small holiday location....get in quick. Talk to Bev or Jim.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Terry V wrote a review Feb 2022
Hobart, Australia17 contributions10 helpful votes
Ticked all the boxes and more for us, perfect quiet location only a 5 minute walk to Strahan village and the cruise ferry departure terminals, the apartment was spacious, spotlessly clean, full size kitchen and a selection of DVD movies to play, the management were very helpful and accommodating, for though we had checked out they let us leave our car there whilst we did the cruise,
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from JAMES BAILEY, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments
Responded Feb 20, 2022
Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. It is our pleasure to make our guests feel at home, and provide all the information they may need to make their stay as comfortable and enjoyable, as possible. So pleased you took advantage of the selection of DVD's in the apartment, and the late check-out for the vehicle.
Read more
Janette M wrote a review Nov 2021
4 contributions
Lovely cosy 2 bed unit. Has everything you want. Small kitchen with stove, fridge, microwave, etc. TV, dvd, heater, fan, doonas and or blankets. Guest laundry and guest BBQ. Great location. IGA close by. The neatness and cleanliness of the unit was outstanding. Everything was absolutely spotless. Very pleasant and helpful service from Owners/Managers. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled
Room Tip: Parking at door of unit. Walk to hotel, harbour, IGA. Drive or walk to Hogarth Falls. Short,...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from JAMES BAILEY, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments
Responded Feb 20, 2022
Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here in Strahan and took advantage of our facilities; and we thank you for the kind comments with regard to the cleanliness of the apartment, always so important in these testing times, and thank you for such a positive recommendation.
Read more
AussieBella wrote a review Jun 2021
Adelaide, Australia181 contributions84 helpful votes
We stayed for 2 nights while visiting Strahan. Very welcoming owners and the unit was very clean and had absolutely everything we needed. The onsite laundry was most welcome after a weeks traveling, an honour box for $3 per wash and $3 for the dryer. Part of the funds are donated too! Very convenient to the IGA where we bought some provisions, a short walk. Also very close to the esplanade where all the action is, but is was too cold and wet to walk it. Would certainly recommend this property to anyone!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from JAMES BAILEY, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments
Responded Oct 26, 2021
Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. A wonderful review for fellow travellers to read through, and we certainly appreciate your kind comments. We do, as you said, donate to the Guide Dogs Tasmania, they do such a wonderful job and deserve all the help that the general public can give; we hope our little bit helps in some small way. We always extend a warm welcome to our valued guests, and love to pass on some of our local knowledge, just to make their stay in Strahan more enjoyable.
Read more
happyday59 wrote a review May 2021
Greater Bendigo, Australia107 contributions33 helpful votes
We were made to feel very welcome by our hosts and were allocated apartment 6. Property is neat and tidy with a communal guest laundry and BBQ at the rear. Our apartment was spacious and very clean. Kitchen was well appointed with full size fridge. Our bed was comfy and the lounge room ample for the two of us or a family of four. Local supermarket is two minutes walk away and it is an easy 8 minute walk to the pier, where the Macquarie Harbour/Gordon River cruises depart from. Would recommend and would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from JAMES BAILEY, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments
Responded Oct 26, 2021
Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here in Strahan, and the apartment and surroundings met with your satisfaction. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the rooms and our warm welcome extended to our guests on arrival, even down to advising on local activities and eateries.
Read more
sghauber wrote a review Mar 2021
Melbourne, Australia23 contributions4 helpful votes
We spent 2 nights in Strahan at the castaway apartments . The owners were very welcoming and informative about our stay. The unit was very clean and comfortable and well equiped. Attention to detail was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. We would definitely recommend to anyone coming to Strahan . It was walking distance to shops and restaurants as well 😊
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Response from JAMES BAILEY, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments
Responded Oct 26, 2021
Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We appreciate the time taken by all of our guests, to write reviews, it is always nice to get recommendations like yours about our apartments. We are so pleased the information we passed on was useful to you during your stay. We hope you enjoyed your short stay with us here in Strahan, and more expansively, our beautiful State of Tasmania.
Read more
FrancophileJane wrote a review Dec 2020
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia141 contributions53 helpful votes
We were very happy to spend two days at Castaways Holiday Apartments in Strahan, and certainly recommend them 100%. Previously we’d been at the wonderful Pumphouse Point at Lake St Clair, (different experience, but equally highly recommended), and I had had to share a room and bed with my lovely, snoring husband! At Castaways, I had my own snug bedroom where I could sleep in peace, and he didn’t have me elbowing him, either, as he had the queen-size bed in another room to himself! And because there were electric blankets, I was comfortably warm in the morning while reading in bed. Bev welcomed us kindly at check-in, and told us there was milk in the fridge, free wi-fi, and she recommended some sights for us to see. Later, when I visited Reception the next day to swop a book I had read, I was greeted by Bev’s gorgeous dog standing on his hind legs, paws on the counter, smile in his eyes (followed by Bev). The dog has so much character and you can see that the family are dog-lovers, as are we, because they donate part of the money that guests pay to use the onsite laundry to Guide Dogs. Also, there was an Animal Welfare tea towel in the kitchen. Digressing from all things canine, I should add that the apartment had everything we needed in the kitchen. We were able to self-cater comfortably, with the IGA a two-minute walk away for last minute items like ice cream and chocolate. There were lots of pots and pans, the right knives, crockery, etc and a proper size fridge with a separate freezer compartment. Often in holiday apartments you only get a tiny bar fridge (and then what do you do with the 1L of Valhalla ice cream you have just bought?! Yes, Valhalla ice cream was another delightful find in Tassie!) The bathroom was good, with a decent shower and separate toilet. It’s an easy walk down to the harbour from Castaways, about ten minutes away. Be sure to do the Gordon River cruise, and also walk along the exquisite trail to Hogarth Falls from People’s Park. Thank you to the Castaways Team, for a good stay!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from JAMES BAILEY, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments
Responded Jan 25, 2021
Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. As owners of this property we take great satisfaction to receive such an outstanding review; we never take anything for granted, and always work hard to make our guests feel at home in Strahan. The West Coast is a great place to get away from it all, and we are so pleased you took advantage of all the apartments had to offer amenities wise. You never know we may see you once again on the west coast of Tasmania, in the meantime, safe travels wherever they may take you.
Read more
lovinmidnight wrote a review Nov 2020
Launceston, Australia8 contributions
room was spacious well supplied and clean beds were a bit hard though. staff was . courteous, with a bbq area close to shops. Easy to find. with things close by to do. the rooms are far enough away from the road to offer a peaceful stay
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from JAMES BAILEY, Owner at Castaway Holiday Apartments
Responded Jan 25, 2021
Thank you for your review of Castaway Holiday Apartments. We appreciate the time taken to send through your review, and we do hope the short stay recharged the batteries.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$96 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaTasmaniaStrahan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Castaway Holiday Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to Castaway Holiday Apartments?
Nearby attractions include The Ship That Never Was (0.2 miles), Hogarth Falls (1.2 miles), and Morrisons Huon Pine Sawmill (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Castaway Holiday Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Castaway Holiday Apartments?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Castaway Holiday Apartments?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Castaway Holiday Apartments?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Castaway Holiday Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Coffee Shack, Risby Cove, and Bushman's Strahan.
Is Castaway Holiday Apartments located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.03 miles away from the center of Strahan.
Is Castaway Holiday Apartments accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.