We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Pelican Sands Scamander

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Pelican Sands Scamander
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 72: English reviews
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2016

Our room was fabulous. The back deck looks out over the water, It was so quiet and peaceful and lovely to just sit and look at the pelicans who were just bone lazy and didn't move for 12 hours or sit and read a book sipping on a wine or beer. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was lovely... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BellaBelle222
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

This hotel was a lovely little stay in a quiet venue the host Graham is a lovely bloke and the rooms are very clean and comfortable the views from the room a million dollars but the rate is very very reasonable would definitely recommend you stay here I'm just on the reviews no I'm good thanks

Helpful?
Thank CookiefromHadfield
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016

I stayed in the spa room it was beatifully presented. Plenty of towels and lovely crisp linen. VERY comfy bed and surprisingly quiet considering it is just off the road. Really lovely deck accessed through double doors with a view out to the beach. It would be a lovely spot to read and relax away the day. Kitchenette was clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank Toni J
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2016

Loved the apartment with the waterfront location. The bed was big and comfortable, nice soft lighting, clean dining/kitchen and a comfortable space to hang out. The free use of the kayaks to go for a morning paddle up the river and across to the beach in the morning really took the experience to the next level. Thanks heaps!

Helpful?
Thank Alex R
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2016 via mobile

The accomodation is very clean. The towels were so clean and smell nice. We arrived late and found the keys in an envelope in the reception. The kitchen is fully equipped. No air conditioning but 4 electrical heaters in the house which made the rooms very warm in 20 minutes. It's a perfect place for family and the view is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ahmed A
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

As far as where it is in Scamander,it's the best . The units sit right on the estuary. If you love a sunset this is the place to be.The restaurant is fantastic, if you can be there on a day it is open. The owners were selling after many successful years of business and have done many improvements to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank holiday1962
Vienna Region, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016

Listed as a sauna self contained unit, the first view upon opening the door was promising. The curtains were open, and revealed a waterfront scene, with bed and sauna bath in the room. This is where the breath-taking experience ended. The kitchenette was tired and a fair few years old. It obviously had not been upgraded along with the sleeping... More 

Helpful?
Thank juliesr2015
MGill60, Owner at Pelican Sands Scamander, responded to this review

As I respond to this review I am still scratching my head. The Studio this guest stayed in is a Spa Studio FSC; we have never had a sauna nor advertised that we do. Opinions do differ, we understand that, however was our product offering so bad that a rating of 1 was fair? The kitchen is a modern laminate... More 

Port Macquarie
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2016

Don't be put off by this motel's external appearance. It is a very old motel but one that has been very well maintained. The room we had was large, clean, neat as a pin & comfortable with an external deck that overlooked the lagoon (about 50 feet away) & views of the ocean beyond that. They also have sit-on kayaks... More 

Helpful?
Thank robjac33
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2016 via mobile

This motel provides a good place to stop off when travelling the east coast of Tasmania. The room was clean and tidy and a small but well equipped kitchen. The host was helpful, relaxed and friendly. The views from the Motel are lovely which look out to the ocean over the estuary. Good value for money.

Helpful?
Thank Aralurnblue
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2016 via mobile

You get captured by the view from the room the moment you opened the door. So it was a lovely surprise. Nice, clean, self contained room with a new renovated bathroom. Kitchenette has toaster oven, microwave, electric stove, fridge, kettle and basic cooking utensils and cutlery. There's even electric blankets, room and bathroom heaters for colder weathers. There's additional single... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christel C
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (25)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scamander
0.3 mi away
Scamander Beach Hotel Motel
9.4 mi away
Tidal Waters Resort
Tidal Waters Resort
#2 of 3 in St Helens
3.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
8.7 mi away
BIG4 St Helens Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blue Seas Holiday Villas
Blue Seas Holiday Villas
#2 of 3 in Scamander
4.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
12.8 mi away
Bed in the Treetops B&B
Bed in the Treetops B&B
#2 of 5 in St Helens
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
10.0 mi away
Pelican Point Sanctuary
Pelican Point Sanctuary
#3 of 11 in St Helens
5.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated right on the waterfront where the Scamander River meets the ocean located midway between Freycinet and The Bay of Fires. Scamander is an excellent spot to stay, allowing you access to the many beautiful surrounding areas local attractions, National Parks, walking tracks, not to mention the fantastic surf beach located right at the front of the property or the amazing fishing, yes right off the lawn at the front of the property. 2 x 2 bedroom apartments, 3 Studios & 1 Spa Studio; all renovated, self contained & spacious; I even iron the sheets!Pelican Sands is a true getaway location, right on the waterfront where you can relax and re-charge your batteries. Owned & operated by Maureen & Graeme Gill - we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pelican Sands Scamander

Address: 157-165 Scamander Ave, Scamander, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Scamander
Price Range: $88 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelican Sands Scamander 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Pelican Sands Scamander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Sands Scamander Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay