We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ross Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ross Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 56: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We used Ross as a stopover point travelling up from Hobart to Launceston and decided to book into the Ross Motel. Ross is a tiny town with a bit of heritage to it. Firstly, the motel was well signed and easy to find. We booked for myself and my wife, her parents and brother. We stayed in apartments 6 (a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank QLDpom
Helen M, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review

Only too happy to help. Nice to have you and your family stay and great to have our efforts noted and appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to comment and all the very best for 2017. Kind regards Peter and Helen.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed overnight on the way from Hobart to Launceston. Such a delightful village, it was the highlight of our holiday. The motel is clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. It is well located and everything in town is within walking distance. Car parking in front of motel rooms for convenience. Would definitely recommend the Ross Motel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dianalloyd6
Helen M, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review

We enjoyed having you both and are pleased you found Ross interesting as we do. The town does have some great history. Travel well and we hope all of your holiday is memorable. Kind regards Peter and Helen.

Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When we entered this detached 2 bedroom apartment we felt a delicious wave of nostalgia. Scrupulously clean and perfectly maintained with pride this motel sits well within the atmosphere of this delightful town. Very clever layout provides great space for a family of 4. Single beds in the second bedroom as well as their own TV were welcomed by my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heather4660
Helen M, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review

It is terrific that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay in our motel and Ross. Thank you for taking the time to comment. We hope your holiday has been memorable.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very comfortable and clean motel in a great location. You can walk to the town and pub for a meal. Tiny TV set with poor reception but otherwise it was fine. Helpful and friendly desk staff. He recommended a couple of places to eat as well as gave me useful info on roads.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolina G
Helen M, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the town of Ross. If you could give us a call and let us know which room you had so we can test the TV as we have not had any complaints regarding poor reception. Thank you for taking the time to comment.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed December 16, 2016

The Ross motel is the only motel between Hobart and Launceston on the Midland Highway. How delighted we were to find this motel. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The units are very comfortable and well appointed. This is a very quiet motel as it is located beside a river and in a quiet town located about 1 klm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vince A
Helen M, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review

Hello Vince and we would like to thank you for taking the time to comment. We enjoyed having you and your wife and are pleased you found Ross interesting as we do. The town does have some great history and is well located. Travel well and we hope to see you both again. Seasons greetings to you and your family....

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed December 12, 2016

The Redline Bus dropped me off at a crossroads in the tiny town of Ross. I walked down the High Street to the very banks of the Macquarie River and found Ross Motel with its inviting red roofs given the strong cold wind, and the driving rain. Check-in was efficient and friendly in a cubby hole of a reception area....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stoic1948
Helen M, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review

Hello Arie, We remember you well as you came to the office a number of times but perhaps the bowl of toffees were the attraction or distraction. The heater is a very simple device and we are surprised that during one of your chats you didn't mention it. The weather is a challenge for transmission signals but we don't believe...

Shifnal, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 3, 2016

We used the camping site on our campervan journey around Tasmania - there was not a lot on offer at this site and if you wanted a shower you had to put 2x20cent pieces to get it to work. We did not have a shower as the washroom was freezing - camp kitchen non existing. Stopped one night

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alfie298
Helen M, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review

It is a shame you chose not to have one of our steaming hot showers, you would have been warm in seconds. We all do make choices and I am sure you would not find a heated washroom in a caravan park anywhere in your travels. We and many others believe 40c a shower is very cheap. At present we...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed November 6, 2016

Good location, room was perfectly equipped with everything that you need while travelling, eg, magnified mirror, hair dryer, perfect shower not a drop of water went outside the screen, microwave with fridge and coffee facilities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rscrepis
Helen M, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are very pleased you have enjoyed enjoyed your stay and your rooms.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed November 6, 2016 via mobile

I phoned the motel and booked a room for the one night. Helen the owner was very obliging and extremely polite in her manner. The motel room was very lovely and clean. We even thought of staying another night but didn't due to time. The bed was very comfortable and highly recommend the motel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynette C
Helen M, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our motel. We appreciate your comments.

Wagga Wagga, Australia
Reviewed October 9, 2016

Very interesting town to look around. On the highway before the town there was a billboard advertising rooms at the Ross Motel for X$ (can't remember exact price - but very cheap) when we got there you couldn't even get a camp site for that price, The motel room was many times the price. The people were very friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
Helen M, Owner at Ross Motel, responded to this review

Hello Tony, Gee you took a while to comment with your disappointment. We do not advertise the price of the motel on the highway as the prices are seasonally adjusted and have many combination of sleeping arrangement. We do have a sign in Campbell Town with the the words of Ross Motel and noting the cabins in the caravan park...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ross
0.0 mi away
Man O' Ross Hotel
Man O' Ross Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ross
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colonial Cottages of Ross
7.4 mi away
Ivy on Glenelg
Ivy on Glenelg
#1 of 5 in Campbell Town
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Lake Leake Inn
Lake Leake Inn
#2 of 5 in Campbell Town
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Somercotes
Somercotes
#3 of 3 in Ross
8 reviews
19.7 mi away
Oatlands Retreat
Oatlands Retreat
#2 of 3 in Oatlands
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 2005, deluxe 4 star riverfront Georgian style motel. All non-smoking ground floor rooms which are regularly upgraded. Walk to all the facilities in the historic village of Ross, Tasmania which includes Ross Riverside Antiques which regularly imports antiques from the UK. Continental breakfast provisions, Austar (cable TV) included in the room rate together with WIFI internet. All rooms have heating, ceiling fans, electric blankets, en-suite bathrooms with walk-in showers, microwave, fridge, electric kettle, crockery & cutlery. Car parking outside door and Guest laundry available. Ross is centrally located 1 hour from Launceston, 1 1/2 hrs from Hobart, 1 hr from East Coast and a great place to base yourself if touring Tasmania - you always come back to a comfortable bed. Walking distance to the famous Ross Bridge (1836) and other historic attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ross Motel

Address: 2 High St, Ross, Tasmania 7209, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Ross
Price Range: $86 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ross Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ross Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ross Motel Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ross Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“all ground level rooms with lovely gardens.”
 of 5 bubbles rscrepis, Nov 6, 2016 | Read review
“I can image that all rooms would be good.”
 of 5 bubbles 613keithj, Jul 5, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seemed great”
 of 5 bubbles gkwylie, Apr 14, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles Hall_10, Feb 17, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms would be excellent”
 of 5 bubbles 901kathleen, Dec 17, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay