We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Woodbridge on the Derwent

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Woodbridge on the Derwent
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 75: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff were very nice and welcoming and the room was clean. I was disappointed because I had booked there based on their website, which is very misleading.The photo they don't show you is that of the busy bridge just 1/2 block west of the property. You can walk out of the property to the east for about 1/2 kilometer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gs396
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this review

Thank you, gs396, for taking the time to review our 'Lovely' hotel and our welcoming staff. How disappointing that you did not have a full picture of what you were booking. Thank you for the opportunity to address several matters: - Your room is described on the website as opening onto the 'garden terrace overlooking the river'. As several web...

Healesville, Australia
Reviewed October 22, 2016

Woodbridge on the Derwent was a wonderful experience, from the moment we booked we were made to feel extremely welcome . We were greeted warmly by Laurelle and Tim with a welcoming drink in the Pavilion and then settled in our wonderful spacious room. The Derwent River flowed quietly past our double glazed windows creating a great sense of quiet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gaye H
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, Gaye H. We are delighted that you enjoyed Woodbridge so much. You know, it gives us all great pleasure to see our guests enjoying Woodbridge's very special and unique character: sipping wine in front of the fire in The Ballroom, deciphering the 'secret messages' in the art works, absorbed reading the history in the...

Reviewed May 30, 2016

With great expectations we booked The Woodbridge on the Derwent for our honeymoon. We were thrilled. From the warm welcome of our Hosts John and Laurelle, the quietly unstated charm and elegance of the Mansion and friendly, warm staff who cared for us. We enjoyed our evenings in their beautiful dining room. Delighting in a personalised menu devised and cuisine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lachimea
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this review

We will definitely look forward to those visits, Lachimea, many of which we hope will be to celebrate lots of anniversaries to come. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay - Woodbridge does have a way of embracing its guests, doesn't it? Thank you for the great feedback. We will pass on your kind words to Chef and to...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed May 28, 2016

We travelled to Tassie for a cool Autumn escape and found Woodbridge and New Norfolk. We spent a wonderful four nights in the Academy Queen Room. Breakfast and dinner were always a treat and the hosts were friendly and helpful. The rooms are well appointed in this grand old building from the early 1800s. There are many common rooms with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zzrbell
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this review

We are delighted that breakfasts and dinners were always 'a treat', zzrbell - I will pass on your comments to chef Celia and our wait staff, and especially our young 'staff in training' who were on during your stay. So glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again on your many trips to Tassie...

Reviewed February 29, 2016 via mobile

Mum and I stayed a week at Woodbridge and had a glorious time. Staying at Woodbridge makes you feel like royalty. Every need was catered for, the food was amazing and the house is impeccably maintained and furnished. John was a gracious and relaxed host, allowing us to feel like visitors at a friend's house. The little touches like snacks...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Naomi H
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Naomi H. I think that an extended stay such as that enjoyed by your mother and yourself, is the best way to make the most of Woodbridge. It enables one to settle in and feel 'at home', and it allows plenty of time for sight-seeing and participating in the many activities on offer nearby, while...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed February 28, 2016 via mobile

We went into the hotel and loved from that minute . Met by John with a great cup of yes in gorgeous tea cups which I want ! The house is really gorgeous with room after room of interesting History and great art . Loved the Molten Brown toiletries and stunning bed linen . Being able to have dinner in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary Paula W
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this review

I am so glad that you loved those tea cups that I purchased in Sri Lanka, Mary Paula W, but no doubt you also recognised the flaw in the design, in that the teaspoon does not sit happily on the saucer - one of the few times that I let my heart rule my head, as I am usually pedantic...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed February 20, 2016

We booked and stayed 2 nights in the three bridges room, overall this is an excellent very small hotel. The room was a nice size, big bedroom area, sitting /sun room and dining area. The owners made us feel very welcome. However if you are looking for the amenities of a large hotel then this is not the place for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wilbour12
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this review

Dear Wilbour12 Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our 'excellent very small hotel' and will certainly look forward to your return - we will be aiming for another 10/10 for dinners! Our staff are all smiles at being told that they were 'all excellent', and it was particularly well timed...

Tullah, Australia
Reviewed January 7, 2016

We recently spent the last few days of our honeymoon at Woodbridge and we were happily surprised to find such a wonderful place at short notice...... The Woodbridge has an enchanting setting, a unique history and architecture and is excellently managed and run by John and Laurelle, who truly have a great understanding of how to create a relaxing retreat...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MissTassie
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this review

Dear Miss Tassie Firstly, please accept my apologies for the delay in responding. This Peak Season has been particularly busy and, as you have observed, our priority is always the care of our resident guests. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your time at Woodbridge, and that we hit the mark with the 'relaxing retreat atmosphere' that we strive...

Greater Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed January 5, 2016

Four of us planned a holiday in Tasmania and booked two nights for two couples at Woodbridge on the Derwent. We made the booking on December 22 for mid February travel and within two days of booking, one of our party came down with a serious medical crisis and is now facing life threatening surgery. We contacted Woodbridge within a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank William B
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this review

Thank you for the opportunity to address this matter. You purchased a non-refundable on-line stay at Woodbridge. We are very up-front about our payment policies and Terms & Conditions. They appear in full on our website, and on all online reservations, and the online reservation will not process unless the 'Accept Terms & Conditions' field is clicked as read &...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed May 21, 2015

We recently stayed at Woodbridge on the Derwent for a well-earned break and to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. The blend of history, comfort and good old-fashioned hospitality courtesy of John and his great staff made this a long weekend to remember for us. The great location provided plenty of options for captivating and enjoyable day trips. Meals were excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rob L
john g, Owner at Woodbridge on the Derwent, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review Rob L. My apologies for the late reply - Woodbridge closes over the winter, and we have been on a break. We are so happy that you enjoyed your 30th anniversary with us, and here's to many more to come! You are correct when you note that there is so much to see and...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (43)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Norfolk
15.6 mi away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#1 of 45 in Hobart
387 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
10.6 mi away
Mona Pavilions
Mona Pavilions
#1 of 1 in Berriedale
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
15.5 mi away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
15.6 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Concierge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Woodbridge on the Derwent is a spectacular Heritage listed Small Luxury Hotel, on the banks of the Derwent River. Woodbridge has only nine luxury suites and rooms, and a maximum of 18 guests. Amenities include the Reading Boom, the Ballroom, riverfront Pavilion, sauna, hot-tub, complimentary bicycles and kayaks.The valley and the river provide walks, cycling, kayaking,fly fishing, wineries, cooking schools. Woodbridge offers personalised service, wonderful food and wine, and rich and luxurious rest and relaxation in one of Australia's oldest Grand Homes. Woodbridge is the only Five Star hotel in Tasmania ... more   less 

Additional Information about Woodbridge on the Derwent

Address: 6 Bridge St | New Norfolk, Hobart, New Norfolk, Tasmania 7140, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > New Norfolk
Price Range: $335 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Woodbridge on the Derwent 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Woodbridge on the Derwent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodbridge On The Derwent New Norfolk, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Woodbridge on the Derwent staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Woodbridge on the Derwent staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“The 3 bridges suite is the furthest from the road and offers the quietest experience”
 of 5 bubbles MissTassie, Jan 7, 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles 906rowanr, Mar 12, 2015 | Read review
“This hotel has only eight rooms, all are good.”
 of 5 bubbles evastinag, Dec 23, 2014 | Read review
“We looked through all the rooms before we stayed and would honestly have been happy with any of them! Sorry if that's unhelpful.”
 of 5 bubbles tomwootton, Nov 12, 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the river ... The suite nearest the restaurant is great and has minimal stairs”
 of 5 bubbles CliffG659, Jan 4, 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay