We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bears Went Over The Mountain

2 Church Street, Geeveston, Tasmania 7116, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Bears Went Over The Mountain
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015 via mobile

Quirky but nice:) it suited me as I wanted to explore this part of the Huon and South, knew I'd be walking many of the day hikes so happy to have a comfy bed and clean ensuite waiting on my return. Continental breakfast set me up nicely each morning although I found it quite dark in the main area. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Restless59
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2015

Very nice accommodation and very friendly owners. Room was warmed prior to arrival and was very clean Good selection of coffees and tea in the room, We had the merry thoughts room with an outward facing enclosed veranda which gave the room extra character. Good continental breakfast and reasonable prices. The one small issue with Geeveston in the lack of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Craig S
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015 via mobile

We arrived in the cold rain and our thoughtful host had preheated our room which was pleasantly decorated. We were provided with a comfortable bed, a bright ensuite and plenty for breakfast. Our host gave us good advice to visit the Hartz Mountains national park and to recommend the sushi restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Toowoomba65plus
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015 via mobile

Very welcoming and polite operators. Very informative and honest. Rooms were clean and spacious, beds were really comfortable. Ensuite clean, and reasonably modern. Very pleasing experience. Continental breakfast supplied.

Helpful?
Thank Jess G
Brisbane
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay with our 2 kids. Breakfast was not fancy but filling before heading off to the mountains. Host very nice, friendly and informative. Great with kids too Nd very accommodating. We have not tried too much else in this town but enjoyed staying there. Cider was good with a twist and coffee was excellent!

Helpful?
1 Thank kazlolo
Leanne M, Owner at The Bears Went Over The Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you stay and we look forward to welcoming you again one day. More 

Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
435 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

This B & B has three rooms. The two that were allocated to us were quite small but both had en suites, which once again were rather small. Upon arrival our rooms were warm as was the welcome from our host. Included in the $120 per room tariff was a continental breakfast which was adequate, without being anything special (limited... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phillip8789
leanne m, Owner at The Bears Went Over The Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback. We were sorry to see room size did not meet your expectations, the rooms each have a private ensuite and are similar if not larger than the average hotel room. We think they are quite comfortable and were sorry to read of your disappointment. WiFi is available in all areas of... More 

Greater Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

Booked a romantic weekend (Easter Sunday) for wife and I. I became very ill and was required to proceed straight to hospital. Called in to inform owner knowing full well no refund would be forthcoming, only to inform them of my situation and they may then be able to re rent room. gave them our paid up paperwork at that... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Michael F
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Made to feel very much at home. Nothing was too much trouble. Bit of a different set up which meant the women in the party could shop whilst the men had a glass of wine! Rooms were comfortable, showers hot and good continental breakfast. Ross was very knowledgeable about the area and gave good advice on where to visit. Well... More 

Helpful?
Thank CozzersinOz
leanne m, Owner at The Bears Went Over The Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and for the feedback, it is most appreciated. More 

rotherham,england
Level Contributor
122 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Due to family problems Ross had to look after us while doing his normal daytime job,and a grand fist he made of it.His father-in-law let us in and showed us to our room and explained about the teddy bears.We were just about to have a sandwich when Ross came home and said hello,and after telling about the crash we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank royj
leanne m, Owner at The Bears Went Over The Mountain, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind feedback. More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015 via mobile

Good base from which to do the Tahune Airwalks from. We dined at the Kermandie pub 5 kms or so for dinner as meals weren't available at that time at the B & B. The rooms were very nicely decorated & bathrooms equally so. I am not normally too keen on B & B's as I am 60 & prefer... More 

Helpful?
Thank RobynBSydney
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geeveston
0.2 mi away
Cambridge House Bed & Breakfast
11.5 mi away
Driftwood Cottages
Driftwood Cottages
#1 of 4 in Dover
4.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Port Huon Cottages
The Port Huon Cottages
#1 of 1 in Port Huon
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Walton House Bed and Breakfast
13.1 mi away
Huon Bush Retreats
Huon Bush Retreats
#2 of 5 in Huonville
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
3.9 mi away
AirWalk Lodge
AirWalk Lodge
#2 of 3 in Geeveston
4.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay