We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 233: English reviews
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The location was nice and close to the beach and lovely mountains, I would suggest that this can be seen in one day. The park really didnt have that much to offer compared to other caravan parks, the BBQ's you have to pay for and free internet for 24 hours then you pay, mine only lasted 30 min and I... More 

Helpful?
Thank NewbyTraveller2014
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

No extra blankets or pillows for a night that got down to 2 degrees. The bedding provided was not sufficient and we were freezing. $140 for a sleepless night in a freezing cabin with heating that was old and didn't heat and they charge $25 if you leave any dirty dishes in the sink.

Helpful?
Thank EmilySK90
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here to get to the national park and get to wineglass bay, great location. staff were friendly cabins were clean well equipped and the reverse cycle aircon did its job, beds were comfortable, the only complaint I have is the position of the toilet, i wont go into too much detail, but is was not really thought out well... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob H
Iluka_Holiday, General Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hello Bob, Thank you for submitting a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found 'almost' everything to your liking. Hope to see you back again another time in the future. Kind Regards, General Manager More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location of the property is amazing. It's directly across the road from the beach and as you walk out of the caravan park there's a small group of shops including a pub (which had great food) and a bakery. We found the service at the Big4 to be really friendly and the proximity to Freycinet national park (a short... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gmoney33
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hello, We are really happy you enjoyed your experience & 'Iluka' met your expectations. This is truly a unique part of the world. We also appreciate you taking the time out to submit feedback. Kind Regards, Manager More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

Can't get much better than this location which is a literal 2 minute walk to the beach - just across the road. A very well stocked mini-supermarket with a surprisingly broad range of odds and ends is right near the park - but very expensive so best to stock up in preceeding larger towns. If you run out of something... More 

Helpful?
Thank Waratah10
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hello There, Thanking you for taking the time to submit a review. Yes, we do get very busy during holiday times as you discovered it is an ideal & affordable location to stay whilst visiiting Coles Bay & the Freycinet National Park. Our park does have big trees all adding to the 'bush' experience, plus we like to encourage wildlife.... More 

melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016

Fridge so noisy we had to turn it off at night. No heating. No instructions for anything. We booked a 2 bedroom cabin because that is what we wanted, but the second bed was not made up and no sheets provided. When I mentioned this at checkout, there was no word of apology. It seemed it was all my fault... More 

Helpful?
Thank serendipie
Iluka_Holiday, General Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hello There, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you found your stay disappointing. The heater in the cabin you stayed in was on the wall, & instructions in a bottom kitchen draw. The fridge has now been replaced, & is much quieter. The double/queen beds are made up in the cabins & bunk beds are not, these cabins... More 

Sale, Australia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2016

Great views from most sights, but the openness can also mean its very windy on the wrong days. Amenities good, close to hotel, bakery and general store. A bit more expensive than most Tassie parks because of location.

Helpful?
Thank COLIN M
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hello Colin, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. The views here are fabulous over Coles Bay/Great Oyster Bay, & delighted you appreciated the location. Hope to see you return in the future. Kind Regards, The Manager More 

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016

Stayed on a powered site in our own caravan Amenities were very clean as was the camp kitchen and surrounds. We arrived without a booking but the staff were friendly and helpful providing us with several site options. The park is next door to a basic Supermarket, Bakery, Take-a-way and Hotel with excellent beach and boat ramp across the road.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Randall C
Iluka_Holiday, General Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback, it is much appreciated. We are happy you found your stay pleasant, & yes, our location is one in a million. Even if a walk to Wineglass Bay is not in your plans our sensational Muirs beach right on our doorstep is just perfect for walking, enjoying the dramatic scenery,... More 

Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016

We were very disappointed over priced for a non powered site, best thing about the camp kitchen was the table. Stove took forever to heat up and we had to pay for the Barbecue. This was our worst camp stay in Tassie.

Helpful?
Thank mpa5959
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hi There, We are sorry your expectations were not met on your recent stay regarding the camp kitchen, but there are three camp kitchens and they all contain different appliances, one of which I am sure you would have found satisfactory. Kind Regards, The Manager More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on an unpowered camp site. We arrived late but reception was very helpful and informed us they would leave all the information out for us so we knew where to go. Area was great only minus was camp kitchen, the one furtherst back that was next to our site was not working, we tried... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maria F
Iluka_Holiday, Manager at BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet, responded to this review

Hello Maria, Many thanks for submitting a review, & we are glad you were able to retrieve your info when arriving after hours. The barbeques in the camp kitchen did have a problem & this has now been rectified. There were two other camp kitchens you could have accessed. Hope to see you return again another day. Kind Regards, Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (89)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coles Bay
11.3 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
18.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Bicheno
1.5 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 4 in Coles Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
1.3 mi away
Saffire Freycinet
Saffire Freycinet
#1 of 2 in Coles Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
17.1 mi away
Bicheno East Coast Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet (formerly known as Iluka Holiday Centre) sits opposite Muirs Beach at Coles Bay on the beautiful East Coast of Tasmania. It's an ideal location from which to explore world renowned Freycinet National Park and Wineglass Bay. The area is rich in stunning natural beauty, great walks and history. It abounds in fresh local produce from berries to wine and seafood. Whether a couple looking for a quiet weekend or a family wanting a fun holiday we offer a wide variety of accommodation options: 2 bedroom units, cosy cabins, powered and tent sites, YHA backpackers hostel. Minimum booking periods over long weekends, Christmas and Easter. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet

Address: 15 Reserve Road | PO Box 44, Coles Bay, Freycinet, Tasmania 7215, Australia (Formerly Iluka Holiday Centre)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Freycinet > Coles Bay
Price Range: $86 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your BIG4 Iluka on Freycinet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BIG4 Iluka On Freycinet Tasmania - Coles Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay